223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Dellanera RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (409) 797-5102
CGID2779

Dellanera RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
65
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   10   10   10   9   7   7   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$42
I called from the road and the ladies were very kind and found us a site for 10d ays with a great attitude. Upon arrival and after setting up, we walked down to the beach and it was horrid with seaweed. Now, this is no fault of the RV park, so we toughed it out. Apparently this has been an ongoing problem for the whole city since April, and it is really smelly! We did not get any beach time, and coming from CO that was disappointing! They do try and move it around, but it is still there. We did enjoy the city attractions, movies about the city, shopping, walking the Strand, Pleasure Pier, and delicious restaurant foods. We even brought some shrimp home with us frozen....for this winter in CO. The staff was friendly and kind, the park was clean, laundry was inexpensive (($1.25 wash, $.75 dry) and everyone there we met was friendly. Overall I would return, but will check in advance next time to assess the beaches. I suspect this park is amazing when the seaweed is not visiting! I would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$34
Excellent park! We had a spot that backed right up to the ocean. Lots of stuff to keep the kids entertained. The park was clean and easy to get to. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$34
This was a nice park, right on the beach, great showers, friendly office people, and a small store. We stopped for one night, after getting set up and taking it all in we went back to the office and stayed for a second night. One night was not going to be enough. I can't say enough for going to sleep with the sound of the surf. I'd come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$43
We stay at this park every summer. We love the fact that it's so close to the beach. The sites are good size ,and I don't feel like were being packed in. There is grassy areas next to each RV, along with a picnic table and grill. The sites are level, concrete pads, with a joined spot for tows. There is a park store that carries a few trinkets, and items, plus a community room. On the property is a small playground for the kids, and also rinse off showers. The park is well maintained, and I picked up after. I enjoy this park, and can't think of anything I don't enjoy here. Again, the people are friendly, the park is clean and best is the views and fact that it's close to the beach! A++ Dellanera! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$44
Rate is $42 + $2 for 50 amps. We stay here every time we come to Galveston in motorhome. All concrete pads and drive ways and you can walk to beach. The park is owned by the city of Galveston. Well lighted at night, shopping near by. The park is poorly designed, as all parking pads face inside the park and not toward the beach. No discounts. Paid public parking makes for a crowded park for access to the beach. We did not use bathrooms. We were the only class A as mostly campers, trailers and towables all sizes. The park is full, so suggest you make reservations in advance during the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
We camped at this park for a week. Very nice park for not a lot of money. Short walk to the beach. We did not have a reservation and they took us in for the week. Very clean grounds, and the restrooms were clean. Wifi not the fastest but it worked. We loved this park, we will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
Well maintained park. Level concrete pads. Good Hookups. Easy access to a great section of beach. Pet friendly. Great Sprint 4G signal. Wi-Fi was weak. Nice laundry room. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$37
Seven rating for location and facilities. Six because of poor internet which kept disconnecting. Paved roads, narrow, level, concrete sites. Good dog walking. Good antenna TV from Houston. Clean laundry. If you want to be at the beach, this is the place. Would stay here again and put up with going to McDonald's for internet, but we love walking on the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$55
We stayed here in February and it was cold and windy for most of the week so we didn't get much beach time, our site was right on the beach but with a fence between the beach and our site, the sound of the surf was amazing while sitting in your camp. Sites were concrete and fairly level, fairly well spaced from your neighbor, utilities were good, Wi-Fi was strong. Didn't use the restrooms or showers but the laundry area was very nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$34
It is the closest park to town as far as I know. It is quiet. Was very windy during our 3 night stay. Good view of the Ocean. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$34
Location, Location, Location! This park sits directly on the ocean, just a few feet above the beach. Our site had a breathtaking view of the beach and the ocean. The beach is long, sandy, and is very walkable! The park is city owned and managed and they are doing a fantastic job. Unlike many public campgrounds, this one has Wi-Fi, a store, a laundry facility, and sewer hookups. We were (literally) happy campers and extended our stay beyond our original departure date. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$24
My boyfriend and I were planning a vacation to Galveston. We always stayed at a state park when we took our camper out and when I tried to book a week there, they were booked. So I found this RV park. We had never stayed at an RV park but we knew that was the only option when going down to Galveston. When we arrived, it only took about 10 minutes to check in and was immediately directed to our site. The site we got was very level and had a great view of the gulf. They also had 2 paths to the beach, restrooms, and a laundry room (W:.$.75 D:$1.00) that came in handy because I didn't pack enough clothes. Also, at each site there was a table, and if you want to have a fire you can bring your own fire pit. (You have to supply your own wood.) All of our "neighbors" were very friendly, and for the first time staying at an RV park, it went very well. We brought our dog along and there were plenty of other people that brought their animals as well. It was very friendly. We plan to go back to Galveston and will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$34
This city owned park is right on the beach. It is closer to town than the state park. Seawall Blvd takes you right to it. Our only complaint was that it was very windy, but that may just have been a luck factor. We would go there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$38
We made reservations months in advance for Mardi Gras weekend. We have stayed here before and love being on the beach behind the dunes. Operated by City of Galveston. Very friendly folks. Used my own Wi-Fi router and sat TV. Well kept. Many long term/snow birds. Best location. Will only stay here when in Galveston...We live in Kemah just 20 miles up 1-45/146..Love the downtown Galveston area and Post Office street and all the art galleries.. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$18
The rate shown is based on the winter monthly rate. The improvements continue at this park. Along with the new palms planted, there are plans for a playground for kids. Wi-fi works pretty well most of the time, and again, there are plans to improve the service with more power. If you stayed here in the past, you will be pleasantly surprised by the spacing between the sites. They are not as close together as they were before, and there is some breathing room. Sites do face away from the beach, but every site can see the water. It was not a deterrent to us, and we were thankful on windy days not to have the sand blowing at the windshield. Staff is very friendly, knowledge, and responsive. Park is kept very clean and rules are enforced. Very convenient to Galveston activities. The park is on the beach, no roads to cross. On the east access, it's just a ramp now, but they are building a wood ramp access in the near future. It's very easy to access. There is a wooden ramp access on the west side. We like that they reserve by site #, not just "a space". Two items kept this park from getting a 10 from us. One, because this is a public park run by the city ,it is open to "lookee-lou's" and on weekends there is a lot of extra traffic through the park including some "solicitors". The only other deterrent to us was number of dogs running loose (without leashes) on the beach. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
I have to give this park high marks based on location more than amenities. The roads are asphalt, and the sites are concrete. There isn't much grass. There is a picnic table at each site and it is located on a partially dirt and grass area. There is a small store which mainly sells souvenirs and t-shirts, rather than camper necessities and a laundry located in the building with the office. The office staff were very friendly and helpful. There isn't a playground for children. However, it is right on the beach, and there are great views and a boardwalk going down to the beach. We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to going back to this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$43
This park was destroyed by Hurricane Ike. Rebuilt and opened late June 2011. Concrete drive & pads. Sand and dying grass elsewhere. Palms just planted...Very friendly staff. Apparently not designed by a RV person. Row overlooking dunes & beach is back in. Pull through in middle looks north away from beach. Mainly 5th wheels, trailers and several popups. Beach location is best feature - as park is located on beach north of dunes. Very clean park run by City of Galveston. Wi-Fi was 1 bar and we were close to office. Location is great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$42
Very quiet with back in sites both on the beach side and the canal side. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$45
We have stayed at this park before and reviewed it, but it is now reopened after a reconstruction following Ike. The park is very nice and, as before, in a good location on a beach but near Galveston proper. The price given reflects a full-hookup pull through with a one time $4 fee for 50 amp service. There is no shade or ground cover to speak of, so the stiff wind, courtesy of TS Lee, blew a lot of sand around. Things should be better once the area gets some rain and the grass has grown. The staff seems to have gotten its act together. I admit it was kind of rough back when I made my reservations right after it opened. The new layout is much less tight (though with less sites) than the original pre-Ike. The premium sites in front are now gone and the best sites are the pull throughs in the middle. I recommend the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
Enjoyed our 2 nights here. So good to see the place up and running. 2 years ago there was only the sign left. Management seemed poor and confused, but they had only been open 2 weeks. Great to camp right on the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$42
It's open again as of June 24, 2011. So glad to see the City of Galveston is making a strong comeback after Ike! Great park with close proximity to everything Galveston has to offer. Simply walk over the boardwalk to the beach for a nice stroll or a day at the beach with your family. Not a lot of amenities for family's unless you're coming for quick access to the beach and/or local points of interest in Galveston. Sites are level, hook-ups are in an accessable area (for us at least), small strips of grass are at each site for a patio area but it is pretty much a big parking lot other than that; which is ok if you plan on spending time on the beach or somewhere else, that's the reason we come to Galveston anyway. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2011
$1
Drove by here while in Galveston. They are rebuilding it with what looks like full service - including cable (the truck was there that day). However, the sites look VERY small and cramped. Few trees but not much landscaping. Maybe that will come later. Looks to be ready to re-open by summer. Not sure on rate, site wanted something. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2011
$1
Looks like they are starting to rebuild. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2009
$1
This park is no longer in existence since Hurricane Ike. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2008
$38
This park is located very close to the beach. They have some paved sites and some gravel/sandy sites. We had reservations for a paved deluxe site, but unfortunately it was too small for our coach. We then were given a gravel site with full hookups which was fine. Unfortunately the 50 amp service worked for a while, then lost one leg, so were down to 30 amp service. I hooked up to another nearby power source and had 50 amps for a while then lost the other leg. (I had never had just leg 2 before.) Wasn't long and my batteries began to deplete, so I plugged back in to the first power source and got by just fine for the night. The scary thing is that the wiring is bad and it could easily have been the neutral that was bad and pushed 240 volts thru my coach and ruined all the electrical. If you stay at this park, please make sure and have a surge guard or equivalent. It was nice being close to the beach. Since the park was not full it was just fine. If it were full, it would have been awfully tight given the small sites. I consider this a pricey park, given the lack of amenities, but it's proximately to the Gulf and lack of other RV Parks allow them to demand the fees they do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$34
Great campsite right on the beach. If you want to just walk a few meters and be on the beach, this is the place for you. My kiddos loved it and it is close to all attractions. Only thing missing is a gate to control who comes and goes and repair the playground. Try the Seaside Beastro right across the street, food was awesome! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$25
I just don't get the negative comments from some earlier reviewers. This is a lovely spot. Maybe it gets loud and crowded in the summer. We stayed here for two weeks, and liked it a lot. It's only about 200 yards past the end of the Galveston seawall, for a terrific bike ride into town along the seawall. Staff were friendly and helpful, each site has a concrete patio and picnic table, and we've been in many places with much less space. This is a municipal campground, and we thought it was excellent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$37
All Paved, right next to the Gulf, Wi-Fi didn't work at all unless you were in the room with the router. Close to a lot of points of interest. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2007
$28
The park has a great location - on the Gulf of Mexico. Staff was friendly and helpful. While the WIFI was not great while we were there, they were in the process of upgrading. They have some newer pull thru sites that are wide and paved. We didn't really miss having cable, even though we do not have satellite, as we picked up aome Houston stations for the weather report we needed.We enjoyed our stay and will stay there again when we are in Galveston again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$28
Great park was very quiet when we stayed. Close to beach and away from hustle and bustle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$47
The rate given is for the full hook up premium sites, which is an important element in our stay. These sites are quite nice and avoid some of the crowded in problems other reviews have mentioned. There is even a little landscaping between them. You are right on the beach and very close to Galveston proper, if going into town is your thing. Galveston has some interesting sites. My wife enjoys the shopping on the Strand and I enjoy the Mexican food and seafood. We thought the restrooms were very clean, in spite of use by both RV campers and people using the facility for the day. We did not see any of the rowdy behaviour mentioned in earlier reviews. The choice of campsites makes all the difference in the world. The sites at the back beyond the premium sites are tighter. To get premium sites you apparently need to reserve early or get lucky on availability. The bottom line is: close to the beach and close to town, this is your park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
This is parking lot camping at its worst! Literally door to door camping! Not much nice to say about this place! Avoid it if possible. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2007
$40
What can I say, this place was the worst, wouldn't recommend, stay away or bring a baseball bat! "Ghetto"! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$35
I stayed at the park with my family for a week and we had a great time. We stayed in the premium pull through site and it was nice. Plenty of room and personal picnic table. Can walk to the beach and the bathrooms and showers were clean. They have a small store on site, but we did not shop there. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2005
$34
No security at night, people stay in their cars during the nights. Running and having parties. There's no pool, dirty bathrooms, and the beach is super dirty. Don't stay here. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2005
$25
The location of this RV park is awesome. We were backed up to the sand dunes on a beach front site. However, this is where the compliments end. The sites were really close. The grounds were poorly maintained. Most of the sites are gravel and mowed down weeds. Our site was full of weeds that had tiny prickly things all over them. I arrived on a Wednesday, and on Friday I learned that an elderly lady (who also arrived on Wednesday) had fallen down the stairs and the staff refused to help her back to her RV (her wrist was injured and she was bruised and scraped all over her arms and upper body). Nor would the staff hook up her RV. We checked on her, took her ice and food until her son arrived to take her home. In short, if you need help, don't count on the staff. I watched them frequently gathering in groups, driving around, but rarely working. I loved the setting, but I was disappointed in the park. While I was there I visited Galveston State Park just a few miles West, and it was alot nicer. The next time we'll be staying at Galveston State Park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$27
All cramped park with narrow sand and dirt sites. If it rains this quickly turns to mud. Park is sited so that you are only a few steps from the beach and is close to Galveston proper. It offers easy exit and entrance from San Luis Pass Rd. While it does support big rigs it is a tight park with close quarters. When our slide was out our neighbors could not use the seat on the back of their picnic table. The connections were at the back so we had to be careful with positioning so that we could extend the slide and not hit the power pole or the picnic table. This caused us to need the full 20' of sewer hose. The park does offer both back-in and pull through even though their website says back-in only. It also offers wireless internet but the system was down when we were there and I was told it did not cover the entire park. There is road noise, both from the amount of traffic in the park and the closeness of San Luis Pass Road. The park has a small store and giftshop. While I would go back I would want to see what else was available first. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2000
$22
Nice park on the Texas Gulf Coast. Full hookup (back-in / sand) sites are $22 per night and pull-thru (newer and paved) sites are $25 per night. 50amp service is appx $3 more per night. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com