218707 User submitted reviews online!!
Galveston Island State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 60 user reviews. Phone: (409) 737-1222
CGID2780

Galveston Island State Park

Camp Information
Sites
66
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   6   6   8   8   6   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$20
Another great Texas State Park. There are two camping areas, Beach and Bay side. We stayed four nights in the Bay side and glad we did. Very windy and I'm guessing very sandy on the beach, not so much on the bay side but still had a nice water view. The showers are in the tent area, a few minutes walk from the RV area. The shower/rest rooms looked new and very nice. The park gates are closed and locked from 10pm to 7am but campers are given the lock combo in case you need to come or go during that period. The Bay side campground is very quiet. The Beach campground is right next to the main road and I suspect pretty noisy. It's about a 10 minute drive into town. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
This park has two different sections. On section is beach front and the other is on the bay side of the island. We chose to stay on the bay side since I hate the corrosion problems that result from staying too close to the waterfront. The bay side sites are in a wagon wheel configuration, have no shelters or shade and are water and electric. We used the day use area to access the gulf to go swimming. The day use area has toilets and outdoor showers to get the sand off when you leave the beach. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$22
Lovely campsites with shaded picnic tables on the Gulf side. Wi-Fi access was recently added. AT&T cell phone reception was decent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2013
$35
The price we paid was full price without buying the Texas state park pass for $70. There is a daily entrance fee to this park of $5 per person per day on top of the $25 a day fee. For the money I would not recommend this park. Yes, it is ocean front but very exposed to the elements, i.e., no trees for shade. It rained for the duration of our stay so the beach was pretty well a nonevent for us. The bathrooms are OK, but the hot water but could be a bit better maintained. Our check-in experience was not the best; the staff member was very abrupt and not very helpful. She was there to do a job but she had no passion. The park is a considerable distance from any shops or services. Sites do not have sewer hookup. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2012
$25
What makes this park a good destination is the location. A few steps and you're at the beach. At night it's also very quiet apart from the very nice brawling of the sea. The reason why I give only six points is the price. For a site at the beach with hookups the rate is 25 USD. Additionally, you have to pay a 5 USD entrance fee per person. So effectively, the rate for two persons per day is 35 USD. I think that this is a little too high considering what you get in return, e.g. the restrooms are OK, but there is no soap. There is no Wi-Fi. I realize that State Parks rarely have WiFi but most of the time they charge less. There are no separate bins for recyclables like plastic bottles etc. Lights in showers can't be turned off after you're done because there is no light switch. So the bottom line is that it's nice and quiet but too expensive for the value. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
Campground was next to the ocean with a fire ring and shelter over picnic table. It was nothing fancy and didn't give a higher rating because it was not full hookups. Besides camping fee there is a daily entry fee. We bought annual pass for $70 as we will camp in other Texas state parks. Pass also gives you a discount on camping fees. Nice location, friendly park staff and beautiful location near the beach. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$20
No Wi-Fi or cable, but nice to be right on a beach for a good price. Good sites and quiet except for wind and waves. Several hikes available across the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
Very basic campground in semi-remote location just a short walk to beach. Surprised it was still there after all the hurricane issues not long ago. Try it if you want a quiet beach stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$15
Wow-a real hit with my family. Not luxurious, but great beach location for the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
The main thing this park has going for it is location. There are really no amenities other than the beach. No Wi-Fi, no restrooms in our section. We were on the bay side and the nearest showers are about 1/2 mile away on the other side of the highway. Plus these showers have no ventilation making things rather miserable in the 98 degree weather. We will opt to pay a bit more and stay in one of the nicer parks next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
There are two separate campgrounds: beach side and bay side. The beach side has showers, but the bay side does not, at least at this time. They are still recovering from the hurricane. The individual sites are beautiful, regardless of the particular campground you choose. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
We stayed on the ocean side. Ocean side has three different sections. The middle section has no showers but the outside two do. We found the showers and rest rooms to be very clean and convenient. Large covered picnic tables at each site. Plenty of room and easy to back into. Only about 50 yards to the beach. This beach is great for a family! The staff was the friendliest of any park we have ever stayed at. We are planning on returning for many more trips to the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
Absolutely loved this place. The "new" set up is not that bad: a little backing up is no big deal. Our 4 sites were level, clean and dry. Bath house well maintained. Staff was WONDERFUL. Beach is less than 50 yards away: beautiful views and sea birds. Galveston was a little disappointing, but that is not the park's fault. Would give it a 10 but there's no sewer hook-up at the site. This place is not the Taj Mahal but wonderful for beach camping (best I've seen). Can't wait to go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$25
We stayed on the beach side. Did not do much in the park because of the cold. Spent most of our time sight seeing. Beach was very close by. Campsites was very clean and level. My wishes for this campground would be more sites and Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2011
$35
Rate shown for beach site and includes $10 entrance fee for two. Site was a paved back-in and not level. Also, one must back up on the access road to many of the sites. Many site pads were covered in water due to heavy rain. Good sized picnic shelters at each site, but again many were in water. No cable TV, but plenty of off the air channels. No WiFi either, but plenty of beach to take a walk on instead. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$25
Other reviewers hit it on the nose. Beautiful sites, well spaced, facing the ocean. Yes, the backing in arrangement seems strange, but is manageable. Beautiful deserted beaches in January, we walked for 2-3 miles in every direction without seeing another person. Showers were undergoing renovation while we were here, new tile and unknown what else. Only areas 1-12 and 25-36 have restroom/shower buildings. Area 13-24 has nothing. We ended up staying 10 days and will definitely be back next winter for a couple of weeks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$25
We stayed here for 4 nights, and loved it, wonderful views, great walks on the beach, level site, lots of space around the RV, BBQ, covered table, no Wi-Fi, very quiet, clean bathrooms, perhaps a bit too far from town, but once you are there the shops, and restaurants are great, being on the beach side does mean it is windy, the bay side is cheaper $20 a night, and it is more sheltered. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2010
$25
Having read the reviews of this park, we got what we expected. That’s not to say we were disappointed. Our main objective in visiting this park was the ocean view from the campsite. In this regard we were not disappointed. The campground was satisfactory. The sites were large. The power and water were adequate. The relatively low price was somewhat offset by the $5.00 per day, per person entrance fee. I was a bit disappointed in the condition of the beach. I noticed quite a bit of trash and even broken glass. Galveston was a nice town; however, I don't anticipate a return visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
The ocean side sites are plain and simple but do give a great view of the ocean. There are paths going over the dunes to the beach. Nothing but the dunes are between the spots and the beach. Note that you must be able to back up your rig, or entering and exiting will be difficult to say the least. Also, we saw 2 dead rattlesnakes just a few miles down the road from the park. I didn't know they were that numerous on the island. The park web site warns of snakes. Take it seriously and don't get off of the roads and trails. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
We camped one night on the "beach side" sites. Hurricane Ike appears to have eaten part of the road that looped closer to the water, so you have to back your rig in to your site all the way from the central access road to each loop. If you're not good at backing, check the map and try to get a site closest to the central road. There is a sand dune blocking view of the surf, but the walk is not very far at all to the beach. You have a lot of privacy when you visit the beach so we enjoyed our stay here, and the location was ideal for touring Galveston or if you plan to catch the ferry to the Bolivar peninsula. Not much to do on the ocean side except visit the beach. Restrooms were clean and adequate, but nothing to rave about. Each beach site has a concrete shade shelter over a picnic table. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
Previous reviewers are all pretty accurate. It's been a long process getting this state park back online within a very limited budget and they've done a good job. The restrooms and showers are, uh, adequate. We stayed here for a full week while our son attended classes at UTMB. You're on the beach (short walk), great view, 50Amp service and good water - FOR $25/day!! The alternative is a decent hotel in Galveston at $150+/night. Of course the beach is the attraction and it's fine. Clean, brown and very sparsely populated since the park's property is very large and the day visitors aren't allowed in the campsite area. Each site has it's own, covered shelter with a picnic table. The park rangers are all very helpful and friendly - from those patrolling and working outside to the office staff. Word of caution - if your pets are under 10 pounds, keep them inside or else the smaller mosquitoes will carry them off! (The large mosquitoes just swallow them whole). With an on-shore breeze, it's not too bad on the beach side but the Bay side is awful and you'll be eaten alive. With an off-shore breeze, the opposite is true. Summer = mosquitoes. That's life on the upper Texas coast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
Sad. Very sad. This park used to be one of the nicest state parks before Ike. Now it is but a ghost of its former self. The beach side, where we stayed, can be very difficult to get into or out of. While the map shown on the TPWD website shows 3 roads either into or out of each of the 3 camping areas, two of these roads, in fact, do not exist. There is but one road for each campground. As an earlier poster said, you will probably have to either back in to your site or back out when leaving. The grounds are not maintained well and there was considerable trash in and around the campground, our shelter lacked part of its roof, and only just before we left were the tall grass and weeds around the site being cut. It is a shame that the State of Texas has not done a better job of rebuilding this potential jewel of a state park. I would recommend anyone considering staying here call the park and inquire about the seaweed conditions. When we were here it covered the beach from dunes to the water in a smelly mass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
The bathrooms were very dirty and one was out of order our entire stay. The showers were dirty and had standing water on the floor. Trash was everywhere and the dumpsters were full and smelled. It was only a short walk to the beach from the camp sites. It is way over priced for what you get. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
Hurricane Ike really decimated this park. On the gulf side, instead of three oval loops of about 24 sites each, there are now only three blind alleys of 12 sites each. The inland (lake side) sites were relatively unaffected. Compared to what I believe was the only other RV park on the island (Dellanera), which is now a bare lot, the state park was fortunate. The restroom and shower facilities are replacements; not as large as before, but of average cleanliness for a public park. The gulf, thank heavens, is just as beautiful and fun as it was before. It's particularly nice to be able to let your pets play on the beach and in the water. As usual, this was one of the high points of our trip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
We stayed in the beach section of the SP campground. This is further divided into 3 sections along the frontage road. Each has about 14 sites in a T shape fronting the beach. Entrance to the section is in the middle and there is no turn around at the ends of the T, so everyone must either back down the road when entering or back out when leaving. This is not a big problem, the road is wide and not too long (300 yards). If you don't like backing, then camp in the bay side circle. However the only 50 amp+water service is beach side, the other has 30 amp+water. Each beach side site has a shelter and fire ring. We had no problem with drainage even though it rained heavily during our stay. Beach sites are about 100 yards from the beach. The water front is visible from the campsites so the view is great. The beach is hard packed sand, suitable for riding bikes and several miles long. At this time, reservations can ONLY be made via the state PHONE reservation system. We when online several times only to find the "campsite unavailable during the time requested", which to me means full. However, after visiting the park in person (and not being allow to make a reservation), we followed the suggestion to call the master number, and easily made a reservation. At this time in mid March, the park was not full. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
We liked this state park. We camped on the "bay" side. Sites are large, level, grassy. No fire-ring at the site. Had a picnic table. Our site backed up to the tidal basin. Good birding from our site. Our cost included a $5 park fee. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2009
$25
We sympathize with this campground: their losses to Hurricane Ike were tremendous, however it appears that they are in no big rush to restore quality camping. The concept of water drainage seems to be to just let the rain water drain into the sites. We had to "wade" through two inches of water to hook-up utilities and do the same to unhook. Granted we had some rain, but the sites were assigned regardless of the standing water. Our advice is to stay away from the beach sites for now! The bayside sites looked good and we will go there next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
This is a great State Park Campground. If you are in the area, don't miss this one! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$28
Great park. Texas beaches are sometimes lacking but this beach is well maintained. Not a lot of seaweed when we there. If it had sewer it would be 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
Great park, one of our favorites. You pay a little extra for "premium" site, but have an ocean view. New Bathrooms and showers were almost completed when we were there. We were here for 8 nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2008
$12
This is a decent park right on the ocean. It is perfect for walks on the beach or surf fishing. They were completing construction on new bathroom facilities when we were there, and they looked like they would be very nice. Since it is on the beach there is no shade, but the proximity to the water is great. We already have our next camping trip scheduled to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$20
Love going to Galveston and staying here. Wish they had full hook-ups. They are putting in new restrooms but they weren't complete and they usually have internet access but it was down for upgrading. This is our 2nd year of there during Mardi Gras and wish I could be there right now! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$25
Nice, large level sites. Mine had some drainage problems after a day of heavy rain but it wasn't horrible. Windy but that goes with being near the ocean. Beautiful, clean, well kept beach. I paid the extra $5 to be adjacent to it. No ground fires allowed on those sites. No trees so no privacy. As somebody else mentioned, multiple new bath houses were under construction. Staff was great as I've always found to be the case in Texas State Parks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$20
Our first visit to a Texas State Park facility. They are installing new washroom and bath facilities in each camping area. Every site has a concrete shelter with table. For a $5.00 fee you can upgrade to a waterfront site located adjacent to the dunes - excellent view of the beach and gulf. We were pleasantly surprised when after 24 hours of rain our site was drained and the surrounding grass was only damp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$25
If you love the beach and want a site right on the beach, this is it! We have site #24. It is the closest to the water we have ever been. This park would get a ten if they had sewer connections. You can select 30 or 50 amp electric. All sites have water. The location is great to enjoy all that Galveston has to offer. Bring you hiking boots, boats, kites, and bikes. You can use them all here! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2008
$20
The fees are $20.00 per night plus $5.00 per person so we bought the Texas State Parks Pass for $60.00/1 year which gets you in at all their parks free. Only have to pay the camping fees. We have been here several times over the years and always enjoy our stay. Right on the Gulf of Mexico. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$22
This is one of the nicest State Park Campgrounds I have ever visited. Friendly, clean, well run, good utilities. Not many activities for kids but with the ocean and the setting the kids should discover nature as it should be anyway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$25
This campground is right on the beach, with premium sites $5 extra, on the first row closest to the beach. The sites are nice and big and easy to back into. Free WiFi is available, although it blocked one of our favorite online game sites. The lack of sewer hookups keeps me from rating it higher. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$20
There isn't a whole lot to this State Park other than the ocean. Your only about 30 feet from the beach, which is nice. The sites were fairly level and spaced apart. We would definitely camp here again, just for the proximity to the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
We checked in in the rain. Site was underwater. Fire ring was under water. Rain kept coming. Wi-Fi works but not the fastest. Weird setup to the sites: your fire ring and picnic table is on the hookups side of your rig, instead of the same side as your entry door. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
Lovely area .Never been to the gulf before. Sight seeing was great. I just wish they would spend a little more time in the restrooms. Everything else was great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Would of preferred the new "Jamaica Beach RV Park", but unfortunately they were all booked up, so had to take what I could get, overall campground was so-so, the only nice thing to say was it was somewhat spacious. Jamaica Beach RV park would of been the best, but this was second best for the money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$24
We were a bit concerned when we first pulled up friday afternoon and saw all the campers, figuring we should have made reservations. The park staff was helpful and marked about 15 sites we could look at that were available. We quickly found a good spot and checked in. The park was clean and freshly mowed. We backed the 31' motor home easily into our spot and had no problems with room for the super slide. We could see, hear and smell the Gulf of Mexico from our site and it was only a short walk to the beach. The only small drawback is you have to walk across about 15 yards of seaweed that washes up on the beach to get to the water. The sea breeze makes for some nice naps outside under a canopy during the hotter part of the day. I can't wait to return and do some more beach combing for seashells and shark's teeth. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
I think this is the best place we have ever stayed. The Volunteers are wonderful. The staff is great. The ocean view i awesome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
All reservations were full however there was still plenty of room on the bay side of the park. This is the first time that we have stayed on this side. I was very impressed and will probably start staying on this side. The sites were spread out and the access to the water was excellent. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$25
Real nice RV park, paved roads and parking. Picnic table with roof and cement floor, bbq grill. Clean restrooms, but need updating. Green lawn all around. 100 ft from beach with board walk to water. Wi-Fi at park but didn't use it. Three large areas to camp and a large picnic area. Be glad to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
This is a nice park, all spots have a covered picnic table. The premium spots are along the sand dunes which are covered with plants and divides the park from the beach. You can see the beach if your in a high profile RV. There are plenty of access bridges over the dunes to the beach. The restrooms were clean but could use some updating. While we were there the beach was covered with some kind of sea weed and jelly fish. I don't know if it is like this year around but I doubt it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$25
This is a beautiful park right on the Gulf of Mexico. Each site has a covered picnic area on a concrete pad. We loved the huge sites, 35-40 feet apart. WiFi access was terrific. No sewer hookups at the site, but there is a sewer dump at a central location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
The campground is well kept and clean. Sites are spacious and each has a shelter, picnic table, and fire pit. All sites in loop A were within reasonable walking distance to the beach. The beach was clean and uncrowded. Very friendly family atmosphere. The restrooms were not what I would call clean but were not filthy either. They are old and desperately need renovation but are adequate. I would definitely stay at this campground again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$15
Great gulf front/view state park. Very happy they have WIFI. Nice spacious spots. Would have given a 10 if they had sewer hookups at site and bathrooms were better maintained (clean but needing repairs). Price quoted with state pass. We were told the rate was going up 1-12-07. Only one campground of 3 was open. We were told they were only allowed to open the other sections if "reservations" were at capacity. We got last two sites without reservation but did notice they opened the section section later in the day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2006
$21
We found the grounds to be clean, with all sites within walking distance of The Gulf of Mexico. The state seems to do a good job of cleaning the beach front. Each site has a covered picnic table, but placement is different at each site. If placement is important, drive around and select your site before registering. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
We camped at Galveston State Park labor day weekend and found it an excellent camp ground. The check in was fast and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The grounds were immaculate and the showers and bathrooms were kept clean even on a busy weekend. We had a 3 hour drive to get to this park and we usually like to stay with-in an hours drive. There are many things to do in the near vicinity. On one side of the park is a more primitive camp area with shelters and tent camping. The staff on that side was very nice. There is a great nature walk and look out area to view sunsets over the marshland. This may very well be one of our favorite camp grounds. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$21
Always a pleasant stay here, and you can't beat Galveston seafood. Park charges an extra $10/night for the "waterfront" slots. This is somewhat capricious, because the intervening sand dune makes the Gulf equally invisible from all the slots, but for once it's nice to see the government not being stupid about exploiting the power of the free market and "voluntary" user fees to pay its bills. I think it's a relatively new policy, because I don't remember this price differential from 2003. There is "no swimming pool" only if you don't count the Gulf of Mexico. :-) The water is warm, the beach is sunny, and the bathing is fine. Every site comes with a little two-wall ramada and picnic table. The showers are clean and private, two-room high-wall affairs. (No A/C in showers/toilets.) Check-in at the office is often slow and unorganized, but that is the only low point about this park. The scenery and the environment is just gorgeous, including all the colorful kites being flown on the beach and in the park areas. We always spend at least two night here, even if we're just "passing through." We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$25
Really nice camping right on the beach. Kids just had a blast. I did not think the showers/restrooms were clean. We've also camped on the gulf in the Florida panhandle and I liked that a lot better than Galveston because the beaches are cleaner and prettier there. There are a lot of fun things to do around Galveston/Houston; we had a great trip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2006
$22
Nice park. Almost all sites are nice. Some have ocean view. Some sites on a bend have less privacy behind the site than others. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2005
$31
The $31 a night included a $3 each per person per day for entrance to the park which they require and a $25 "premium" site rate. The site was $25 and then 2 people at $3 each per day for $31 per night. It was worth it. We liked the park and the people running it. We also paid $15 per night and $6 per day entrance fee for a "standard" site which was also nice. The premium sites are first come first serve. They also have some sites which are bayfront versus oceanfront. It was very very windy at the ocean sites and others said it was that way most all of the time. Could not use awning. The bayfront sites were much less windy if this matters to you. Also the bayfront did not have the salt spray problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2004
$31
Nice park with level sites and nice covered picnic tables. This park is right on a beautiful beach. The only problem we experienced was that someone else "stole" our site while we were out driving around during the day. The individuals had set up 2 tents in our site. The campground host was nowhere to be found, and the people refused to move. So, we wound up sharing our site for the night. The intruders left early the next morning, and the park ranger was nice enough to give us a refund for that night's stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$20
Great park by the beach very clean and quiet We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$21
Roomy. Paved Roads. 300 ft to beach. No trees. Ez back-in. $3 off with state park sticker. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$26
We camped here in Feb '03-during Mardi Gras. However the camp was very quiet. Large sites. You can reserve a 50 amp site, but the premium sites are first come first serve and are $5.00 more per night. Our Fifth wheel backed up to the small dune and we had a GREAT view of the gulf and beach. Each site has a COVERED picnic table. No sewer at sites, but dump station is available. Not a lot to do at the park except the beach. Park is about 10 miles from city of Galveston which has many things to do. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com