218884 User submitted reviews online!!
Sugar Barge Resort & Marina was rated 8 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (925) 684-9075
CGID279

Sugar Barge Resort & Marina

Camp Information
Sites
114
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   9   8   7   9   9   7   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
Super nice and clean. Right on the delta. Boat Launch right there has perfect grade. Easy in and out. Clean park nice sights. Have gone cross country this summer and loved this one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$33
This park continues to be nicely maintained. The staff is excellent. This time of year, it is quiet and very pretty with lots of trees and grass. This is a perfect place if you like fishing or golf, both nearby. We stay here almost every spring and will be back in the future. We love the country feel in the middle of a huge metropolis. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$33
Stayed here with a group. Excellent kitchen/meeting room facilities. Employees are very friendly, helpful, and attentive. I would recommend this place to all individuals and groups. The only down side is that the sites are not on concrete and 50 amp service is not available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$32
We have stayed here before and this park continues to be one of our favorites. It is located on an island with a country feel. You would never guess you are in the middle of a huge metropolis area. The sites have a cement patio slab but you park on grass which can be muddy and soft in rainy weather. No cable TV and okay Wi-Fi. The park is well maintained, but it is the quiet country peacefulness that is it's greatest asset. You should make reservations because it is a popular rally park and will fill up most weekends. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
The site was level. We were very close to the lunch ramp. The camp ground was well kept with friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$31
We stayed here with our large RV group (49 rigs). These people run a great park whether you are with a group or by yourself. The staff go to extremes to make sure you are happy with your stay. Great spot and lots to do near and far. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
Stayed here 1 month for $600.00. Nice grassy sites but not are all level. Friendly staff and helpful. This is a beautiful park. Well kept, clean and safe. Has boat launch and rentals. We would stay here again in a flash. Very pleased. Good free WiFi. AT&T cell phone service poor but Verizon works good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$39
Some sites are nice & big & shady- others like the 3 we had were very tight & no shade. We had a 30 amp site & blew the breaker a number of times. The park was full & lots of power was being used, but it was a problem! Wi-Fi at our site was weak, and you had to "reconnect" every 30 minutes. The worst part of the park is they don't enforce there own rules. Lots of dogs & cats running loose, and noise, parties & loud music till 3 in the morning! My kids almost got in a fight trying to get the partying folks to quite down. We never saw anyone from the staff after 8 PM. We wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
Super nice people. Lovely flat setting near the levee with launching and storage available. Walk to some restaurants (open intermittently). Sunny usually, wide lawns. Great place to walk, bike-levee and level. Blackberries abound. Wonderful RV club place. Some sites in very windy area. Well run and cared for. Clean and safe-locked at night. One of my favorites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$40
We have stayed in this park many times, and sometimes for long stays. It is in a country setting near a river. It is a quiet, well maintained park. We don't use their facilities much but have no complaints. Over the years we have encountered a revolving staff, but never anyone that wasn't helpful or friendly. Free Wi-Fi with good connection. No cable but does pick up channels with antenna. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$40
This is a beautiful, quiet, clean campground, the staff was very helpful and friendly. We will stay here again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$40
Everything as stated before. Price per night is $40 but a Good Sam discount of 10% is available. Place was over run with stray cats that get into everything (food, messing under RV's) and need to be controlled. Staff is very nice and the maintenance staff was especially nice. You must ask if the 50 amp sites are available. May stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$30
We stayed here while visiting friends on the island. It would not be a destination park unless you were a fisherman or boater since it is close to the Delta. The showers and laundry are adequate. The park is out in the country so it is very quiet with nice trees and grass. The sites are level and spacious and the park is secure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$40
We went here just to check it out and were very surprised at how nice the place is. We had a nice site that had grass. The bar and restaurant was very nice. We also brought our boat. The docks were lighted and looked very new. The facility is gated and seemed to be secure. On the negative side the boat launch ramp will require you to pay them to launch your boat with their tractor or bring along a a truck to launch. My boat trailer has surge brakes and their tractor did not have the right trailer wire harness adapter that would disengage the brake when reversing down the ramp so this took time to deal with but eventually we got it the boat in. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
Very nice, older park that is well maintained. The staff is very friendly and nice. We were assigned a spot that because of the way some others were pull into, we would not have fit. We asked for help and were immediately given a different spot, with an apology. The Sugar Barge Restaurant closed the weekend prior to our arrival and will not re-open until May 2010. We were disappointed about that. We will definitely return to this park, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
We really enjoyed our stay in this park. Friendly staff. Close to water. Nice swimming pool. Gated entrance was a nice touch since you are out there with no security. They do cater to a lot of RV clubs. Always something to do. We will come back to check out the restaurant. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$32
We came with a group for the weekend and liked it so much we decided to stay an extra day. The staff at this park is warm, friendly and very accommodating. Sites are level with plenty of grass in-between with a nice mix of sun and shade. The park is gated overnight, which is appreciated. Wi-fi was just a wee bit spotty, but it's free! This is a nice peaceful spot for a pleasant getaway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$37
Bethel Island is peaceful and beautiful. Sugar Barge is the only decent RV park on the island. Be warned if going in the summer time, this park is only 30 amp. If you have two AC's like many of the newer coaches, you are going to be toasty. The staff was friendly. We will stay again, but, I will not stay in the summer again due to the oppressive heat, our coach inside reached about 98 degrees, it would be to everyones benefit to upgrade the electrical to 50 amp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$38
A wonderful park well organized and with a very friendly and helpfull staff. My only concern (and its a personal quirk) is that I would have liked to have had cable TV. The sites are all level and well gravelled with plenty of grass around and between the sites. The restrooms and showers were exceptionally clean and well maintained and the staff and owners (who we met) were all very pleasant and hospitable. There is a nice marina next to the campground and 24 hour security which was appreciated by us both. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$32
Very nice park by the water. It's set out in the country. They have a nice pool, rec room, marina and restaurant on the water. The folks in the office are great and helped out when our trailer needed repair. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
Crowed and busy on weekends. Spaces were very tight, not much room for vehicles. Extra vehicle charge is $1 per day! I stayed for three months while working and had to move within the park to three different sites. WiFi was OK if you have a straight shot at the clubhouse otherwise very iffy. Potable water looked like irrigation water, straight out of the delta! Very brown and dirty at times, only safe for showers. It is the only safe park on 'Methel Island', I will not come back to this area due to inadequate RV parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$30
Sites are large enough for big rigs, but they were all back-ins, on fairly narrow streets. With us parked on one side of the street, another big rig was unable to get into the site directly across the street from us. Very pleasant landscaping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$33
Friendly employees, very relaxing atmosphere. Clean restrooms and showers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2006
$28
Our friends booked us all into the park. We were told they were very busy that weekend and we got the last two sites available. When we got there we were put in the most pathetic site we had ever seen. We had barely two feet clearance between us and the large dumpster! We couldn't put chairs out because what was left of our site we had to park our tow vehicle on and the bumper will still out a bit into the road. When we asked to move we were told there were no other sites available even though the site directly behinds became vacant the morning after we arrived and stayed vacant until we left. I would think sites would be first come first serve! Also the price was no different than the other sites even though it was MUCH smaller and had no picnic table. We had to grill on the ground! When we asked for them to compensate on the price they refused to give an inch! We will never go back to this park. It may be clean but the customer service was atrocious. The campgrounds being clean doesn't mean much when you are parked next to an overflowing dumpster! Pool is small and not very well clorinated. Geared toward the retirees. The marina, the restuarant and the bar staff are friendly and helpful. Won't stay at the rv park again but will go to marina and restuarant. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2006
$38
The place is way overcrowed and full of drunken teens.You can't even see the water from the campground. The whole town of Bethel Island looks like it's full of meth heads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$28
Very nice park, will go there again. Staff were very nice, they even let us stay in the pool till 9.00pm. The reason I only gave it a 9 was the sites are very tight, luckly we had nobody next to us curbside, so it was like having 2 sites for the price of 1. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2005
$27
Great park, well maintained, wonderful camp hosts. The restaurant (Rib Shack) is closed. One minor detail, you are camped about 10ft below water level. The whole island is that low and is protected by an aging levee system. Do not take Hiway 4 from the I 5 to this place as that is one treacherous road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$28
Great park, well taken care of. Busy on the weekends. Very friendly office staff. Grassy sites w/concrete pads. Short walk to a great restaurant on water (Rib Shack). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$29
Very nice, clean and friendly RV park. However, all RV's are required to change sites every two weeks (no exceptions). We stayed there in the summer and 30 amps was not enough to operate our two air conditioners. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$28
A nice park on the California delta. Fairly new park with boat launch ramp and nice grassy sites. Nothing but good to say except the bathrooms were somewhat dirty over the weeknd and were not even looked at until Monday (we arrived on Friday - regular staff does not clean the bathrooms). Wonderful staff of workampers who were great to talk with and did a great job. Staff said the owners are considering expansion since they have so much business. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$28
A beautiful park on the California Delta. Friendly staff. Grassy sites with cement pads. Nice playground and there is fishing at the end of one of the boat docks. Super clean bathrooms. There is a restaurant and mini market there also. My family enjoyed this park so much we plan on staying there many more times. This is the park we compare all others to, we also recommend it to all our camping friends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$25
Week-ends can be crowded but a quiet park weekdays. 50amp service is to be installed soon in some spaces. This campground is on the California Delta so bring your boat (a short walk to the water. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com