219095 User submitted reviews online!!
Huntsville State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (936) 295-5644
CGID2806

Huntsville State Park

Camp Information
Sites
190
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   10   7   7   8   1   6   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$35
Short drive from I-45. Good paved roads & shade trees. We got a fairly level, paved pull-thru site with full hookups near Lake Raven. Plenty of room for our 38' RV. $35 includes $25 camping fee, plus $5 admission fee per person. We enjoyed our stay, and would stay again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$20
A nice park that is shaded and grassy. It was a pleasant experience. Well marked and groomed hiking trails that are also used by bicyclists. Busy on the weekend but, there were few campers during the week. Easy to get into and out of park from the highway. Would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$25
Great park, pretty tight turns throughout. Sites are a little snug, but the scenery makes up for it. ATT Cell Service OK, not many OTA channels for TV. There are a lot of trees, but I did see folks with satellite setups so I am pretty sure you can get a signal. Price was with full hook ups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$35
Large park right off the interstate but very peaceful. It was a cold, wet afternoon when we stopped so we didn't get to explore much of the park, but we had a great pull through site with patio, picnic area, and a view of the lake through the trees. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$20
On a mid-week overnight stay in January, there were few sites occupied. Many of the sites are very short and obviously not level. Some did not look correctable. Our initial site was far too short for a 30 foot motorhome plus car, and the staff readily changed us to a site we preferred. Each site is paved and includes a concrete picnic table. I did not see any pull-through sites or sewer hookups but may have missed them. The rate shown does not include the $5 per person per day entry charge; our $70 annual pass pays for itself very quickly by waiving the daily entry charge and including camping discounts. The camping area is nicely shaded by well spaced tall pines. The showers are very private with free plentiful water. There was NO TV reception on our antenna, but Verizon wireless worked well, as did Tracfone cell service. The park was on a boil water notice during our stay. We only stayed one night on our way south, but enjoyed the place and would stop in again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
Good place for an overnight if you are traveling through the area. Showers were like an oven as they had no ventilation. They where sort of clean but not unusable; same with toilet area. I cannot evaluate the park amenities but they seemed adequate. Most sites seemed large and accommodating with shade cover. Gets lots of usage by locals. No over air TV reception; good cell and broadband coverage. One good thing, I was issued a State of Texas Veterans Pass which waived the usage fee. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
This is a very nice, quiet park during the week. It gets crowded and noisy on the weekends. We camped here the week after Easter and there was a lot of litter in some of the camping areas. The staff was doing their best to get the place cleaned up. The restrooms and showers were pretty messy on Sunday, but were clean by Monday afternoon. Wi-Fi service was iffy. We were in site #36 which was too far from the antenna for reliable service. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
We have stayed here several times and had a wonderful time. However, staying here during a holiday was disastrous! "Day Campers" are allowed to use the park which caused extreme over crowding. These "Day Campers" littered the park, swimming water, and bathrooms. We felt sorry for the staff who had to clean the park facilities after these people left each day, only to have to start all over again each evening. Almost all of these individuals spoke Spanish only. We were outraged at the number of them that they had to let in. It wasn't fair that we paid $30.00 a night to camp and they were coming in with car loads for $12.00 a day. We couldn't go swimming or use the picnic areas because there was standing room only and they littered the grounds with trash. State parks should be able to limit the amount of people so that the paying campers can still use the facilities that they planned to use for their vacation. They even left dirty diapers in the floor of the showers. It was disgusting! "No pride, No shame." We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
Very shady park. Overall it was OK, but there was not a level site in the campground. Like most state parks this one could stand more maintenance and cleaning in the restroom areas. Good location, not a bad stop over place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
We stayed in site #12 (full hook-up site) on the lake front. We did have to level our RV a little bit but no big deal. We love the full hook ups, plentiful trails for walking/biking, the horse rides, the beach, and the shady site. This park is very close to Huntsville and the park store offers a small selection of items to keep you from having to leave for ice, bread, milk. etc. We highly recommend this park for a nice weekend getaway if you are close to the Houston area. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
We stayed here the weekend of our daughter's wedding, and asked for one of the shelter sites to be close to the lodge. We had good water pressure and the electric was also good. We did not use any of the facilities except for the lodge, and they were very clean. Very nice state park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$20
We camped in Prairie Branch Loop in a 16 footer. The site (151) was too short for the trailer plus truck. The sites in Prairie Branch appear to be mostly all gravel/packed sand with many having a drop off from the asphalt loop road. We dragged bottom coming in our site. Some of the sites were very unlevel: more suited to tent camping. At many of the sites, the picnic tables were on the driver's side. There was a fire ring with grate at our site but no grill. The restrooms were clean but old. There wasn't a good place to dress after showering. Even though there was an "anteroom" outside of the shower, there were no hooks or bench. The bench was out in the main part of the restroom. One of the 2 sinks was not working. (I think they are supposed to be re-doing the restrooms). We did have a great view of the lake but had a sidewalk to the fishing pier less than 10' from the back of the site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$18
This is a beautiful park, with lots of shady pine trees. Great trails with some nice caches. Great paddling on Lake Raven, but be careful of the gators. Not real easy to get to from the south because you have to travel through Houston. Be ready to do some SERIOUS leveling!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$20
Beautiful wooded park on a lovely lake. Playground, boat and fishing docks, swimming area, lots of hiking and bike trails. We were at a large and well-placed site right across from the lake (site 155). Many of the sites are not level - come prepared to level your rig (that's the only reason I didn't give the park a rating of 10). We will definitely come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2010
$20
Most of the sites in this campground are far from level, although a few level ones can be found. Fire ants are also a problem. There is good walking and bicycling. Verizon connectivity is good. We would rate the campground higher, but the shower rooms were unusable; they were heavily mildewed and had a scummy feel to them, although there was no visible dirt. We do not intend to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$26
Really nice State Park. First come, first serve; we got there late and the most level spots were taken. Otherwise half circle drives were so bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$16
Nice park, but I'm giving it a 7 because the girl at the HQ who assigned our site put us in Prairie Branch loop. Fine for tent trailers and short motorhomes, but much too tight an area for my 55' combo. I managed to get into #132, but when we departed, I had to literally back out of the loop to leave. Quite nerve-racking. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$16
Nice and clean. Enjoyed fishing and relaxing in this wooded retreat. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$16
Nice park & less than 15 minutes from Huntsville TX. Park encompasses Lake Raven where you can fish, boat,(electric motors only), canoe/kayak, or swim. Nicely laid-out sites with lots of shade & mostly pull-thru. Concrete stairs down to lake level in the area we stayed at. Small playground, fish-cleaning stations, nature trails, and wildlife observatory with baby alligators, etc. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$16
We stayed in Raven Hill Section. The roads and spots were newly paved. We had to try several spots before finding a fairly level one. Take plenty of wood for leveling. The spots closest to the water seem to be the most level, but were first taken. Enjoyed the quiet, spacious area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$16
Nice park , friendly people, would always recommend this park. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$16
We enjoyed this park. Most of the sites are tree covered and are not too close together. Quite a few sites are gravel and are very uneven. Bring lots of lumber to level out your rig if you get one of these. There are some paved sites if you are lucky enough to get one. Lake Raven is a nice size lake. They rent canoes and fishing equipment if you need it. My daughters had a great time here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$26
Great family park. The waterpark was great. We will definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$20
Though this is a nice park, as are most of the Texas state parks, I will confirm the previous reviews that it is showing its age. We stayed in the Raven Hill loop and it is not as well equipped for larger RV's as are many of the newer state parks. Pop-ups and smaller trailers would do just fine. I almost had a calamity at the first pull through site I tried due to a tree leaning into the path. The upgrades and renovations mentioned in an earlier review seem to mainly be directed to erosion control. Though highly appropriate, they do not help the site size and leveling problem. Several of the old concrete picnic tables are broken. My electrical box was in need of repair (it would not have passed code inspection). The restrooms were not as clean as I have seen at other state parks. The shower facilities are not as nice as at newer state parks. Sewer hook ups are not available at each site, but there is a conveniently located dump station. The staff was helpful and friendly. We would stay here again due to the location, but will preferentially stay at other state parks in the region if we have a choice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2006
$12
Like others have mentioned this park is in need of a upgrade and it appears that is in progress, It's a very old park so the "Land Yachts" will have some problems with the small spaces, also as mentioned all spots are unlevel. Nice little lake and hiking trails, will be great once they finish construction. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$12
Wonderful park. The only reason it didn't get a 10 was because a lot of the sites are not level in one branch. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The site we stayed at needed some repairs (the wood that held the elctrical service was rotting). There are many trails to hike, canoes to rent, a great bathhouse at the swimming area, lots of wildlife and plenty of space between campsites. We liked it so much that we are going back in a couple of weeks. Large park. make reservations in advance because it fills up on the weekends. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$12
Most Texas state parks are in good shape and nice. This one is in need of repair. The sites are broken asphalt and very unlevel. They also are bordering on being too short for anything but pop ups and under 25'. Several trees need trimming hanging over road. Very crowded and there isn't any good place to park a rig while checking in. Staff is very friendly as are all the state parks. This one just needs to clean up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com