214974 User submitted reviews online!!
Fort Richardson State Historical Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (940) 567-3506
CGID2808

Fort Richardson State Historical Park

Camp Information
Sites
68
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   10   10   10   8   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$22
Yet another gem of a State Park. Very well maintained with helpful staff at check in. Roads and pads are asphalt. Our site required some leveling, big rig access was just adequate. We were here during the week and it was very quiet but at the weekends it does get busy. Lots of privacy with wonderful shade trees, fire ring, picnic table and plenty of space for the towed. Bathrooms were old, outdated and needed a good clean. Pet friendly and plenty of places to walk your pet. No WiFi but cell was okay. Apart from the historic site in the park, there is little to see or do in Jacksboro. We would stay here again.  We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
This is a great campground with large sites. We camped in site #8 and it was a long level paved pull through with water and 50 amp and a picnic area with trees. The site itself was not in the trees so satellite worked. We enjoyed watching the deer. In addition to the campground fee we had to pay $3 each for a state park fee. We highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
This state park is a gem of a small park. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We stayed in site 8. Great tree area at picnic table. Level site, very quiet and the sunsets and wildlife are great. This is the third trip and we will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$22
Small park but very clean, sites are far apart staff is exceptional in helping you out. We camped here in site 8 this weekend was very windy but we still enjoyed the peace and quiet. Deer every night. The historical area with the hospital, barracks, houses were outstanding do not miss going through the buildings. We will be coming back We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$31
Great state park. Sites are all paved and for the most part level. We were given the camp host site as there were very few people in the park - very quiet and clean. Close to town, but remote. Plenty of wildlife in area. Nice not to have to smell campfires because of burning ban. No Wi-Fi. We definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, especially the deer and rabbit and SKUNK sightings on early morning walks. Really enjoyed the guided tour of the fort - very neat. Lots of extras around the park and very well maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
I stopped here as an overnight stop. On the afternoon I arrived it was 107 degrees, but the friendly staff made sure I had a shady spot, as the park was almost empty. Just before sundown I toured the main part of the old fort, which was interesting. I was disappointed that there was no Wi-Fi, as so many Texas State Parks now offer it, I guess I considered it a given. I was able to pull in a couple of TV channels over the air. As others have reported it is a beautiful and quiet park, I would consider staying there again. Hopefully, at a cooler time of the year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$15
Rate is daily rate with park pass discount for 30 amp water back-in site. Asphalt paved roads and sites are well spaced offering a degree of privacy. Two sections to the campground, with a few full hookup sites in the back areas. Sites vary from open to shaded. Good satellite reception and Verizon service. Interesting historical exhibits in the park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$22
This is a beautiful park with campsites well spaced and paved. There is easy access to the Fort Richardson Historical Site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
A great place to stay. Nice and quiet and a well kept park. The personnel in the office were nice and helpful. A real nice place in the middle of town. Will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
This is a very nice park, with hiking and biking trails, and a fishing pond in the park. 3 miles from the campground is a small lake that is part of the park. There is a nice beach and picnic area at the lake. Remittance of the old fort still stand in the park and they have daily free tours of the fort. The park and facilities are clean. We will stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
We stayed at the park for 5 nights in conjunction with the park's "142nd Fort Richardson Days" celebration. We love this park since it is only 60 miles from our home. The park has a great staff and there's lots to do and see for the whole family. This park will become a regular destination for us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$20
What a jewel of a park and so close to the Fort Worth area. This was our first time to camp at the park and had no idea such a nice park was only 60 miles away. We really enjoyed our 2 night stay. We've already booked a site for the middle of April for the "142nd Fort Richardson Days Celebration". We are looking forward to the Civil War reenactment at the historical Fort Richardson site. The City of Jacksboro and the "Friends of Fort Richardson" have done an excellent job restoring all of the remaining buildings at the fort. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$20
The nightly rate does not include day use fee of $3 per person per day (buy an annual Parks Pass) Clean, well maintained park and friendly staff. Be advised Woodall's 2008 info is incorrect - there are 60 sites, not 23 as listed and some are Water sewer and electric. I strongly suggest you call the park to confirm availability as it does fill up; especially on the weekends. Sites are paved, most have good space between them and are "somewhat" level, water and electric are on the side and easy to access. There are lots of trees, deer, birds, etc. Cell and wireless excellent, over the air TV OK; especially if you have HDTV. There are 3 miles of maintained trails (three separate trails) in the park and an 18 mile round trip crushed rock bike path (fat tire bikes only) that leaves the park to Twin Lakes. Issues I have - (1) electrical power shows 122v on the voltmeter BUT drops rapidly when you turn on a few things; this is not a normal occurrence for me so I know it is a park problem. On a related note, we parked in a pull-thru #8 and when we went to hook up shore power, discovered both the 30 and 50 amps plugs were installed upside down. I was not going to have my cords bend to that degree so we moved. I notified the ranger and explained the problem, so perhaps it will be fixed but as of today (five days later), no work has been performed. (2) The sites are "somewhat level" and that is being generous. We stayed in #7, used levelers and were still tipped. (3) Whomever laid out this park was not an RV'er. The majority of the back-in sites require backing in on the passenger (blind) side. You have to drive past the site, then turn around further down the road so you can return and back-in. The few pull throughs seemed as out of level as the back-ins. In all fairness, I only tried three sites and settled on the third one so perhaps the other sites in the park are not as bad. (4) There are two main areas to camp but only one dump station for the whole park and guess what - it's on the wrong side of the road. You have to cut across the road, dump, cut across the road again, then go toward the camping area to find a place to turn around so you can head toward the exit. It could be a problem when this place gets crowded. Finally, a few words of advice to big rig Class A's and C's - unhook your towed as soon as you can, stay in sites 24 - 41 and don't plan to dump on your way out. There is a serious dip in the road over Lost Creek on the way to the park's sole dump station. You know your rig better than me, do a recon in your towed and make your own decision but if you choose to ignore my advice, don't claim ignorance about the dip when you bottom out! It may sound as if I don't like the park, but I do. The park is quiet, not crowded on the weekdays and since we have a 28' fifth wheel, the dip in the road at Lost Creek does not affect us. Fort Richardson is of historical interest and I enjoyed the biking and hiking offered - all positive factors in my review. I will return here if I am in the area but will not make this park a destination to seek out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$18
The park is clean and the people were nice. We stayed two nights. This is a very nice place to camp at a reasonable price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$27
This a great park for the family with great hiking trails and very clean bath house. The staff was great willing to help in any way. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2007
$22
Unlevel gravel sites. Only four RV full hook-up sites and none are shaded. When we arrived at our assigned site, there was another camper in that site and it was well past check-out time. We called the office. They suggested we select another non-full hook-up site or drive into town to kill some time to await the previous campers to leave. They were not willing to contact the late check-out RVers. Staff was friendly, but unresponsive. We stated that's not acceptable. They then finally offered us to select a shelter site, which is full hook-up. We are Texas State Park annual pass holders and want to support the state park system, but this experience causes us to question whether we will continue to do so. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
Neat park with parts of the old fort restored for walking around and checking it out. This park is RV park friendly with a nice bike trail. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$16
The is a very quiet park and I have stayed in it before. The walk along the small creek is very refreshing on a hot day. Also love the deer wandering through the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$24
The is one of the best maintained I have stayed at. The sites are very wide and clean. I did not use the CG bath houses. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$18
A fantastic park during the week but a nightmare on the weekends. Lots of people cruising around, drinking and making noise on the weekend. During the week - absolutely delightful. Lots of trees, stream, and a great place to relax and take a nice walk through the park. The Fort is nicely restored, the RV sites are large and well groomed. Just don't go during the weekend!!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$16
Campground area is very neat and well kept. Lots of places to hike and explore for the kids. Also has a neat bike path. Jacksboro offers plenty of great restaurants, i.e., BBQ, Mexican (yum), and some home-town cooking (chicken fried steak, etc.). We've added this to our list of favorite campgrounds and have already booked for March 2006. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$14
Very nice, clean park. Historical area quite interesting. Sites are very clean - some are shaded and some are in the sun, but picnic tables are all shaded. We camped in a fifth-wheel in 2004. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$16
Very nice state park with good paved pads. Small creek running through the park. Historical park with the old fort hospital and officers quarters being preserved for the future. Very quiet relaxing stopping place. We only stayed one night but will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com