214403 User submitted reviews online!!
Kerrville-Schreiner Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (830) 257-7300
CGID2821

Kerrville-Schreiner Park

Camp Information
Sites
120
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   8   6   9   10   9   7   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$28
Stayed 4 days, but didn't use restrooms or showers. However, outside of buildings are fairly new. 50 Amp FHU site, but the water and electric are on the wrong side so had to run the cord and hose under MH. Nice covered picnic table at each site. Nice city park on the River. Fairly Quiet even with highway close by. Only 5 other campers here. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2013
$23
It was hard for me to rate this park since we wound up leaving before staying overnight. We reserved 2 nights during Texas Spring Break Week. When I made the reservation I explained to the lady that we have a 37' fifth wheel (like I always do). Upon arrival, she seemed concerned to learn that we had that large a rig. There were only a few sites open (they assign them to you upon arrival). Long story short, all of the sites were short, but I could have squeezed into them. The big problem was they had thick tree limbs overhanging about 12' off of the ground. We are about 13'-4" tall. Consequently we had to leave and try and find a new place to stay. The girl in the office could not process a refund and said a check would be mailed. Next day I get a call from the park asking if we left early since no one was in our site. I explained all over what happened and was again promised a refund. Seems like a nice park but better tell them 4 times what you are driving or you might not get in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$26
Nice pull through sites. Farther off I-10 than it looks on the map and signage to find it non-existent. We chose 30 amp...50 is $28. We felt it was a bit high for what is offered. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2012
$28
I was misled about the "riverside" sites--this park is located on both sides of the highway, and the 'riverside' just refers to the 'river side' of the highway. The 2 loops on the 'river' side are very close to the highway and plenty of traffic noise. The 30 amp sites (I was too late to get a 50 amp site) are less than 200' from the road. The 50 amp sites are a little farther away from the road, and closer to the river, but still not 'Riverside' sites. Only cabins are on the river. If it were hot summer, one AC might not cut it at the 30 amp sites. Shower/restrooms older, but clean, and get lots of use. A popular park over holidays. If you want quiet, and don't need 50 amp, then I would use the 'other side' of the highway sites--they are far enough from the road to keep the noise down. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$28
We have used this park a number of times as a quick get-away location. It is only about 1/2 hour from our home. This trip we made use of a 50 amp pull-through site and found it very nice. The only strange thing for me was the location of the utility connections. The sewer connection is on one side of the site and the water/electrical connection is on the other. The utility connections are placed quite a ways from the covered patio, so you have to run a long water hose and an extended sewer hose if you wish to have your RV door near the patio. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
This was a beautiful park with plenty of space for privacy between camp sites. Nice bike trails and hiking trails as well as a playground for the children. Awesome place to float in the river, fish or canoe. We stayed in Pecan Loop and there was some road noise, but it couldn't be heard from inside our camper. And honestly the location of the river and all it had to offer, cancelled out any "road noise" issue. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
Very nice RV Park. Staff very helpful when looking for places to go see. Lots of trees. If you are looking for that true camping outdoor feel this is the place to stay. Very close to the river. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
The park was nice, sites were level. Had lots of wildlife and very scenic nature trails. Staff was not very friendly and kind of rude! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$28
I rated this park a 7 due to the huge amount of road noise in the river side area of park. We stayed in the Sycamore circle area and the road noise was very loud. If you stay across the highway (not near the river), the sites are further from the road and this is probably not a problem. The sites near the river side are fairly tight as well. They were much more spread out on the opposite side of the highway. The area was nice and the river access was great. The park personnel were easy to deal with and very helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$26
What a great park. Formerly state park, now city operated. Very large park (500+ acres) with a comparatively few RV and tent sites making for a very quiet park. Coded gate only allows registered users in. River side has only 10, 50-amp sites with few trees. 10 more 30-amp FHU sites with more trees. Hill side has 20, 30-amp FHU sites with lots of trees, plus 20 or so 30-amp water/elec only sites with nearby dump station. Not your traditional RV park. No side by side sites. All FHU sites are pull through and all on the hill side are spaced along each side of the road so that your curb side faces a large well kept open area and beyond that an unkempt "wild" area. Deer roam in and out of the "wild" area into the camp sites. Cabin and tent sites are in different areas. Several miles of quiet roadway for walking/biking and several more miles of off road developed hiking/biking trails thru dense woods. Very dark at night as only lights are at the scattered restroom and other buildings. No WiFi or cable TV. Not a problem for us, but may be for some. Did not use park restrooms/showers, but a peek inside they appeared clean and well kept. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$26
We enjoy the Deer Field Loop as a rural setting where you don't look directly at your neighbors. As the name implies, plenty of deer for the dogs to bark at. Only 30amp service on that loop, but plenty of shade. Excellent hike/bike trails. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$26
This is a very pleasant park and is extremely well maintained with clean rest rooms and properly maintained grounds. The sites are pull-through, roomy, and easy to get out of. Most have picnic tables, though mine was too far from my site to be of any use. The facility, although excellent, rates a 7 for two reasons. First, the local TV coverage lists 5 or 6 local stations; however, the only one available was one that showed old episodes of Knight Rider and The A Team. I knew up front that the park did not have wi-fi, and I thought that would be OK. It wasn't. So for future stays, that's a deal breaker for me. In this day and age, even a lot of the Texas Parks & Wildlife Parks have or are getting wi-fi. I think Kerrville could keep up with the changing times, so for that reason, I would not stay there again, even though, once again, the facilities were very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
Very nice. Easy in and out, even in a big rig. Roomy level sites with plenty of shade. We stayed on the river side of the park. Water is easily accessible, cool and clean. There was only one other rig in our area so it was quiet. Deer all around. Some road noise heard outside but not too bad. Have stayed here before and will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$23
There are 4 different areas to park an RV in 2 main areas of the park. The section across the Farm to Market road is a larger area and less congested choices of 30 amp and 50amp. The area on the Guadalupe side has 30 amp and 50 amp. All sites on the river side of the park are full hook ups, pull through sites with paved parking. This area has parking near the Farm to Market road that has awesome shade trees with most sites being 100% shaded, but you have road noise. The area nearest the river has little shade but covered picnic tables. All sites have fire rings with pull out grills. You can have your dog on a leash, but wierd deal is, no dogs are allowed in the river. The showers do not have shower curtains, but clean facilities. I have camped here twice and will camp here again. I can tell you some days the office staff (hired city employees) are very friendly, and some days short and curt. I guess the boss came through, since both were affected. Or a demanding camper. Who knows, but when they are nice, they are very pleasurable. There is a swimming area on the river, a vendor rents kayaks for $15/hour and tubes for $5/hour. The river is cool, clear, with minimal, or non existant current. They have a large meeting building with a/c and a kitchen for rent. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$26
We stayed on the campground side across the road from the river, which meant more privacy and big spaces, but you have to drive over to the river to kayak or swim. Restrooms are far away from some sites, but clean. We were here right after a huge storm, so there were many trees down, but overall, this was a very nice park to visit. We saw more wildlife here than we have in all the recent parks combined. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
Beautiful ex-state park now city ran just east of Kerrville. Big sites for the most part spaced fairly far apart. Lots of trees, and talk about deer, jackrabbits and other wildlife! WOW! Nice gathering building available to be rented with a full kitchen. Sewers and dump stations easy to get to and use. Would return in a second if in the area again. Only downside we saw is that because of the sheer size of the park, the restrooms and showers are kind of far apart. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$26
The August post pretty well says it all. We camped in the lower area by the river and were able access the www via unsecured Wi-Fi. We have used this park a number of times, including winter when only the lower section is open. The restrooms are heated. Holidays can book out so call for reservations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$21
This park was formerly a Texas state park that has now been ceded to the City of Kerrville. For those wanting a good location from which to tour the Texas Hill Country, this park is hard to beat. It is a short and scenic trip from the German accented city of Fredericksburg with its excellent restaurants and surprisingly impressive wineries. Its also only a short drive to the thoroughly Western dude ranch community of Bandera. Then there are the scenic hill towns of Boerne, Blance, Ingram, and far too many others to list. If you want a real taste of Texas this is a good start. The RV sites are all pull-through and are actually very shady. Though this part of Texas is generally only covered with short, stubby mesquite and cedar trees, the Kerrville park is loaded with large oak and pecan trees that shelter you from much of the Texas sun. While the shade is nice, there are lots of low hanging branches that can be challenging for large rigs and even relatively modest size ones. The restrooms and showers were clean enough but a little shop worn. Other than its location in the heart of the Hill Country, the best thing about this park is its location on the beautiful Guadalupe River. There are no RV sites fronting on the water, but it is easy to get to the river for some kayaking, tubing, or just taking a swim. Since we camped during August in Texas it was, of course, very hot, but the river and the ambiance made our stay a great one. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$23
Very nice city park with side road pull throughs. Good vegetation and loads of birds at our feeders. Some annoying noise from highway close by. Camping loop on other side of road is much more desirable. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$20
Very nice campground on the edge of town. Easy access with lots of sites for big rigs. Quiet and peaceful. Good satellite reception. Good cell phone service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2008
$22
Stayed here two nights. Very small sites. A little road noise in the evenings. Pretty grounds and would be nice for a day use but not crazy about the sites. Bathrooms and facilities were spotless. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$21
Nice spread out park, lots of DEER. Sites have picnic tables, level. This used to be a state park, so it has many of the state park amenities. Restrooms were clean and well kept as were the showers. A nice stop over with plenty of grocery stores, shopping and eateries near by. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
For the price it is really a ten. The deer come to your site in the afternoons...and I mean to your site. My wife, from Alabama, saw her first jack rabbit and there are some of the most interesting cedar trees you have ever seen. We stayed on the side away from the river because more wildlife is on this side, including antelope. We will be back this fall when the deer have horns. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$21
One of the friendliest and pleasant parks in Texas. We stayed on the river side and loved it. Hiking trails very nice. Some look to be "permanent residents" and that is the only drawback. Beautiful park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$32
We camped here for one night in March 2008 as a stopover between Goose Island State Park, TX and Brantley Lake State Park NM. It was our second time camping here. The park is beautiful with great walking trails and good biking. On this trip, Spring Break was in progress so the park was full of families. The large number of people presented no problem whatsoever although parks take on a completely appearance and dynamic when they are full versus when they are half empty. Besides being a great park for hiking and biking, it is close to shopping and golf and also to Fredericksburg (25 minutes) and San Antonio (one hour). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$21
We have stayed here many times and have always enjoyed it. The deer are plentiful and for a bag of corn you can almost get them t eat out of your hand. We like the area across the road from the river better than on the river. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$15
We stayed a week and it was our first trip out in our new trailer. The park is immaculate, beautiful and we loved the visits from the deer. Despite the continuous rain, we really enjoyed our visit. We will definitely return to this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$15
This is a Texas Hill Country setting at its finest. We stayed in the "hillside" area of the park and enjoyed a spacious site and abundant wildlife. The park is clean and really a pristine setting. The staff is courteous, polite, and informative. The "riverside" area is great for the water lovers and includes a great playground area for the little ones. This is a Texas "top ten" park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$15
Kerrville-Schreiner was our first stay of any length, six nights in our new fifth wheel. We had researched it and the reviews we saw were bang-on. This park is excellent. In April, the weather is warm. The hiking trails were extensive and wonderful. The city of Kerrville is five minutes away and has lots of shopping, golf, wi-fi, etc. Deer visit the campsites at least once a day. The sites are large with plenty of shade, good for our golden retriever. We camped on the side farther from the river as was recommended to us. Although not a state park, this is a great place to camp. Hill country is beautiful and Fredericksburg, 30 minutes away, is a must-see. We drove into San Antonio to see the Alamo and tour Riverwalk. It was only one hour's drive to those spots and they are well worth visiting. Biking in this park is easy and very enjoyable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$17
This is another example of the quality of state parks built by Texas. We stayed in the Deer Run section. Grandkids came for two nights and loved feeding the deer, some of whom would come almost close enough to touch. The park is immaculate, the staff is friendly and the setting is the hill country at its best. Bathrooms are very clean and it is quiet at night. When we stay here, year after year, we stay for at least five days. The city of Kerrville is quite close and has one of the best Luby's I have ever seen. I can't say enough about how much we like this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2005
$17
Beautiful park...not much to add to above post. We also like the "Hillside" area due to the deer & antelope. Park manager is a fanatic about keeping park clean & presentable. Also good place to volunteer...very nice staff! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2004
$17
We have stayed here on several occasions, and this park was a Texas State Park, but is now run by the City of Kerrville. Great park, in 2 sections, across a road. There is the river side, and the hill side. We always like the hill side best, More room, deer in campsite. They have upgraded from the state park, to have almost all sewer sites. The river has been cleaned up, and a fishing dock added. This is a place to bring your dog/kids to go camping, a real family campground. There is a daily entrance fee of $3 for over 12 years old. Your state park pass is still valid to get in for free. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com