218027 User submitted reviews online!!
Canyon of the Eagles Lodge & Nature Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (512) 334-2070
CGID2823

Canyon of the Eagles Lodge & Nature Park

Camp Information
Sites
33
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   7   3   9   9   5   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$36
We stayed 4 nights in site #14. Asphalt interior roads and pads, crushed granite patio. Fire rings provided and firewood available to purchase from host ($7/bundle). Good 50A electrical service, conveniently located sewer hook-ups, good water pressure but poor water quality (>600 ppm dissolved solids). RV campsite fees $36/night PLUS $4 per person per day entrance fee PLUS $6.50 reservation fee resulting in a per day cost of over $45 per night. Well groomed hiking trails. Beautiful setting and scenery. Site 14 faces west. Best sites: 17, 19, 13, and 18. You are routed to check in at the lodge, but there is no area to park your RV and the road is very tight. The road in the adjacent campground is good. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
Despite the rain (and the area needs it!), we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Well maintained, plenty of shade and with the exception of space between slots 10 and 11, most are comfortably spaced to prevent you from having to feel you are camping with your neighbors. Slot 11 had the advantage of a path down to the lake! For those who want a nice restaurant or amenities of the resort, they are only a short walk away. Located just 60 miles from NW Austin, it is an easy get-away for the weekend, highly recommend it. Price kept it from receiving a "10" though. $32 per night, plus $5 administration fee, plus $4 per adult per night. It adds up, but we will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
Wow! This park was fantastic, a 9.5. Easy in and out. Nice big sites, not exactly level, but better than Inks Lake which is nearby. Beautiful lodge facilities, a restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We didn’t eat there, so can’t report on the quality of the cooking, but the menu was interesting and varied. Lovely, clean pool with a great view of Lake Buchanan. The lake is very low right now, so it looks rather sad, but still scenic. Bluebonnets and wildflowers everywhere. Miles and miles of gorgeous walking trails. Birds galore. Saw and photographed the endangered Black-capped Vireo. Lots of Painted Buntings. Highly recommend this place for a Spring trip, April being the choice month for birding and flowers. Saw many snakes, so be aware. Almost rated a full “10”. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
Canyon of the Eagles is a very nicely maintained park and we definitely enjoyed our stay. The sites are well maintained, fairly large, and easy to get into and out of. Since it is an LCRA park, it is a little expensive. The sites are $20 a night plus a $4 day use fee for each adult so for us that was $28 per day. We enjoyed the hiking trails but the lake level was so low, we didn't do any water activities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Canyon of the Eagles, a LCRA "resort" (expensive for us) run by concessionaires. The resort is nice, with cabins a pretty good restaurant and beautiful views of Lake Buchanan near Burnet TX. There is an RV park just down the hill a short way from the resort. It was OK, but not sure we'll go again. Not allowed to use the pool at the resort (but allowed to spend $$ at the restaurant) and the lake access for swimming was VERY limited, summer in TX near a lake and can't get in??. There was a very nice amateur celestial observatory on the property that was a highlight. As for the RV park itself, spaces were $23 per night PLUS $4/day/person use fee, sites were narrow, not level, views of lake very limited. So, our next trip (from San Antonio) in this direction will be Ink Lake St Park. Been there before, good lake access and views! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
We stayed for for two weeks in April. Very nice, quiet park. Contrary to a previous review, we were invited to use any of the facilities at the lodge, which is located next to the RV loop. These included pool, restaurant, live music performances and a cowboy poetry night. Cell service is very iffy here. The lodge has a wireless network signal, but we could not connect to the Internet from there, and nobody seemed to know how to troubleshoot. When we were there, the park store and kayak rental concession were closed. We did bring an inflatable kayak which we paddled around the lake in. The lake is very low right now, and the Vanishing River cruise (which we did not take) does not travel its traditional route up to the northern part of the lake due to navigation issues. Instead, it visits other sites on the lake. There are many things to do in the surrounding area, but the campground itself is at the end of a 15 mile road, which in turn is 3 miles from the nearest town, so dashing down to the grocery store is close to a 4 mile trip out and back. Overall, we loved this place and would definitely go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$20
This park was very quiet and beautiful. There are lots of trails to walk or bike through. We took the Vanishing River Cruise but did not see any bald eagles. The lake levels were down about 15 feet due to a drought; so, there were places along the hiking trails that didn't have water that should have. Overall, we really enjoyed this spot. We would definitely stay here again. For reservations call: (512) 715-0290 We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
Until this year, we would rate this park a 9 or a 10. THIS YEAR, LCRA has split the park up to different concessionaires, with the lodge and adjacent RV park being run by different companies. You no longer have access to the lodge facilities - this includes the pool. After 5 years of coming to this park, we won't be back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$20
this is a LCRA park in Burnet on Lake Buchanan. Beautiful view of the lake at some campsites. Facilities are very clean. Park Host on duty. It is 20.00 a night with a 5.00 user fee per adult. There are trails for bird viewing as well as wildlife. There are 2 fishing piers and one is great for watching the sunset and listening for wild ducks, cranes and other wildlife. Very relaxing environment. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$35
Very nice park. Will be coming back. Really friendly staff. Paved sites. No cable but we didn't even miss it with all the beauty, hiking trails, lake. Small and quiet. We loved it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$22
We enjoyed staying at the park, the brush/grass around the sites could have been trimmed better as it was quite tall which made setting up a little inconvenient and required regularly cleaning burrs out of socks & shoes. Also, they could have better explained how they collect the fees for staying at the campground. Overall it was a good experience and we will return to the the park in the future and would recommend the park to friends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
Nice park, and park host was very helpful and friendly. Plenty to do in the area to include some great hiking trails of varying length. The trails are also bicycle friendly. The lodge is located very close to the RV park and has a gameroom restaurant and pool that were all very nice. We were slightly disappointed by a few things. The park is in a somewhat isolated area, the closest grocery store is in Burnett, about 20 miles away. My expectation was that the park store would have some basic essential items, bread, milk, water, firewood, and posibly some fishing bait as the park is located on a lake. No such luck, so my advice to future campers would be to bring everything that you will need for the length of your stay. The isolation does have its advantages as the view of the stars at night is incredible. The park is also very quiet. In addition to the base rate of $20 there is a $5 per day charge for everyone over 13. We ended up paying $30 a night which was probably appropriate, however if my kids were older $35-$50 a night, I feel would be excessive. Some other things you should be aware of: The lake levels are low and about half of the hiking trails are closed from 1 Mar - 31 Aug for various birds mating in the area, even with those trails closed there is still plenty on hiking. Also, depending on your cell phone carrier there is limited to no cell coverage. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
This was our second trip to the park. Full hookups, free wireless, swimming pool, beautiful views of the lake from the lodge area. There are many things to do here. Fishing, boating, swimming, hiking, biking. There's a large observatory where they give tours of the sky. The Vanishing Texas River Cruise operates from the park, giving lunch and dinner cruises up Lake Buchanan and up the Colorado river - in the winter you can see bald eagles nesting along the river. Definitely one of our favorite parks near Austin. Much less crowded than Inks Lake or Bastrop State Parks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2005
$20
Awesome park owned by the LCRA (Lower Colorado River Authority). Definitely recommend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2004
$25
Near Burnet, quiet/in the country, easy getting around, in a large park, Vanishing Texas River Cruise, paved wide sites, small store We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com