221717 User submitted reviews online!!
Space Center RV Park was rated 5 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (281) 554-8800
CGID2828

Space Center RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
126
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   8   6   4   6   7   5   8   3   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2013
$35
We have stayed here several times because it is close to family members. The park is very crowded, lots are close together, hard to maneuver inside park and is on a noisy highway. Lots of full timers in park. The last time we stayed, however, the condition was much worse. The park was very unkempt and trashy looking. There were deep ruts in the ground beside the pads and was very hard to step out of the trailer without falling. We had a family emergency and needed to leave two days early and management would not even discuss a possible one or two night "credit".....just a future stay credit, not a refund. The park had many open spaces the whole time we were there so it wasn't "capacity" issue. We will not be staying here again and I would not recommend it to anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$15
We stayed here three months, thus the $15.00 per night rate. Campground very convenient to Kemah, Galveston, NASA, Houston, shopping. Very friendly and helpful. Pool and hot tub was nice. Interstate traffic noise is loud. We had trees buffering much of the noise. Short walking distance to Cracker Barrel. Many campers stay year-round working in the area. No senior activities or gatherings. We will be back next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$38
Really noisy as it is on Highway 45. I had to wear ear plugs to get to sleep. We camped here because we wanted to visit Johnson Space Center and leave the dog in an air conditioned rig. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2012
$27
Rate was stay 2 nights, get one free. Best location for visiting the space center but that is all that can be said for it. Narrow sites, no tables. Space between sites was grassy but ours was rutted from vehicles driving over it. Had to be careful not to turn ankle. Traffic on I-45 is noisy. Had to leave rig closed up and use AC even though weather was nice. There are other campgrounds in Houston on major arteries that are not as noisy. The campground is about 23 miles from Galveston so it is a good location for visiting both Houston and Galveston. Path through to Cracker Barrel, otherwise you have to buck the traffic. We would not stay here again unless we were visiting the Space Center - and then we might consider driving further to stay in a nicer quieter campground. Staff was friendly but that didn't make up for the lack of space and noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2012
$38
Run of the mill campground. Sites were narrow. Staff very helpful and friendly. Convenient location, but a lot of Interstate noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$38
This place is close to everything in the Clear Lake area. Cracker Barrel is a great place nearby to eat! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2011
$38
We stayed at this park for a couple of weekend days. The spaces are cramped, the place is extremely noisy, the access is a one-way-out so if you want to go North you have the uncomfortable U-Turn under the overpass at 96. The staff is very nice. Some of the residents not-so-much. The laundry closes at 9PM and they only have 4 setups for wash/dry which means that everyone is clambering to get in. The pool is decent and so is the hot tub (again restricted after 9 PM) including a written threat that whomever enters will leave the park IMMEDIATELY. (This is against Texas Property Code regarding Manufactured Home Communities, which in the definitions includes RVs). I was here with family on business and I needed Wi-Fi. If you expect Wi-Fi, forget it! It's terrible in this park. Overall a 5. If they had a decent WiFi and were not so restrictive with their amenities they would have had a 9. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$38
We stayed here for a "shakedown" night since it was close to where we purchased our trailer. Our site was about halfway back in the park and didn't seen overly noisy to me. If you want a perfectly serene camping spot, don't pick a park on a major Interstate. That seems pretty simple to me. It's like buying a retirement condo next to the pool and then complaining about the noise. There were back-in and pull-through sites. My trailer is 10' longer than my old one and even with not being used to it, I would have had plenty of room to back it in. I don't know what a lot of the comments here on small spaces are about. How much room do you need to park a rig? There seemed to be a mix of RVs in the park, with many looking a little dilapidated, so there must have been some full-time residents there, although I wouldn't pick it for a permanent residence. The staff was very pleasant and helpful, but then, I'm not a very needy person. The park is located near shopping and eateries, i you need that. All in all, it was a pleasant stay We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2010
$38
We had planned to stay at this park for two nights. Found the park to be located right beside a very busy interstate which made the site extremely noisy. Pad and access road was rather narrow making it difficult to park. The host was very sympathetic, even offered to move us to the rear of the park. We decided to move on and try a different park. We had payed for two night but the host graciously reimbursed us the cost of the second night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
This park is very noisy as it is right next to the interstate. The spaces are very narrow and not at all easy to get in and out of. This park is very close to a lot of great restaurants and not very far from Kemah. We would probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$34
An OK park for a couple of nights to maybe see NASA tours or the area. Tight spaces. Tough to get into or out of. A large majority are workers rebuilding Galveston from Hurricane Ike and Katrina. Seems fairly safe, no problems that we encountered. Next to hwy 45 so get freeway noise if site is to the front. Not a long term park. Would look for another park with more space before staying here again. We are staying a week and the rate is $235.00 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2005
$28
If you don't want a good nights sleep this is the place to go! Right next to I-45. This place was not set up for RV'ers but for the money. The sites are narrow & small. When we made our reservatons for 5 days the person said that there was only one site left & it was a corner site near the interstate but would try to move us when we arrived. So I thought I would try it & see what happens. When we arrived they had some sites for us to check out alright but they were small back-in's & I would have never fit in them. So they said if we can stay there for the night they will try to move us in the back tomorrow. Anyway we stayed 2 days with out sleep & headed south on I-45. The only thing this park has going for it is the amenities being close to the Space Center & etc... The management was nice but no help. When we checked out they gave us a one day refund instead of three but I really didn't care, just get out of there & get some sleep else where. Never again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$30
I just read the previous entries and had to respond. I visited the park in April with my two daughters (girls weekend). I was unaware of any ownership change, but had no problems with the staff. In fact, the gentleman that runs the free breakfast each morning was very nice. The food offered was great and the kitchen was spotless. The meeting room was quite large with TV, books, and games. There was a very nice fitness center which we used each day. The pool and hot tub was extremely clean, though I did notice a couple of tiles missing. I loved the setup of the bathrooms and showers and thought they were very well maintained. The park was extremely clean and, though there were full timers, they kept the area around their RV's very clean. The only downside was that the park is right off of I-45 and so pretty noisy. However, the location to area attractions was great! Kemah boardwalk was a full day of fun with great restaurants, lots of shopping, and carnival like games and rides. There are several movie theatres and a mall nearby. Galveston is close enough to spend the day while still far enough away to protect my RV from the saltwater. Maybe not the best park if you are looking for a weekend of hanging out at your RV and resting under the trees (there are none). But a great park if you want to swim and visit lots of area attractions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$32
This park is under new management since the previous comments were posted. We stayed here for three nights in June and found the park and management to be great. Our kids really enjoyed the swimming pool,and we loved the hot tub. The restrooms and showers were very clean. To our surprise, there was continental breakfast each morning in the meeting/rec room, with cereals, toast, rolls, fruit, coffee, and juice. We had a flat tire on our travel trailer before we left, and within five minutes of my husband starting to change it, the manager and two fellow campers came over to offer their assistance. Overall, our experience was great and I would highly recommend this park! P.S. It's about 10 minutes from NASA, 15 minutes from Kemah Boardwalk, and 25 minutes to Galveston. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2002
$32
We stayed here late last year one night for the opportunity to visit the Houston Space Center on our way to Galveston. This is a very tight park, and it is challenging to drive our 40' coach through the tight turns. We arrived late at night, and although I did not drive off of the roadway on my way into my space, the owner stopped by in the morning and gave me a hard time about some wheel ruts that were at my site. He threatened to charge me to fill them. The spaces are small, it is right next to the freeway and we heard truck traffic all night, and they charged us $5 to leave our coach in it's site for 2 hours past the checkout time of 11am. Pass on this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2002
$30
I personally don't like Space Center RV and I won't be back! The Managers at the site were RUDE, to say the least!! We arrived at the park very late one night and the next afternoon the Manager came over and yelled at me. (He was very rude and abrasive. Getting into my face when he was yelling at me.) He was yelling at me for speeding in the park (going more than 5 mph), said he was giving me my second warning and I was asked to leave. I hadn't been in the park that long, I wasn't speeding and I hadn't been given any warning prior to that episode. I felt this was case of mistaken identity and told him just that, but was still asked to leave. We had paid for entire month, so I asked for my money back. Here's the kicker: they refused to give me my money back. It is apparently their policy to give NO refunds. Period. That is just wrong! Especially when you paid for an entire month and were there less than 24 hours. Space Center RV has a lot of amenities to offer, but I'm sorry all the amenities in the world don't matter to me if the people you are dealing with are rude, abrasive and inconsiderate. You should think about all this before you stay at this RV park. There are 2 other RV parks just down the road that have very friendly staff. Try these before going to Space Center. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2002
$40
Rude management...inconsistent with enforcing park rules...very confrontational if you aren't from anywhere up north!!!! It is by far the worst rv park management we have ever encountered!!!! We have been fulltiming for over 3 years...staying in parks all over the USA. We have a high end 5th wheel and the park says no rigs over 10 years old!!! Well that is a joke!!! One of the motorhomes has the engine sitting in front of it for almost 3 weeks and is at least 20 years old!!! The brochure is really overstated in regards to the park!!! Where else can I get a true picture of some of these rv parks that are dumps but put out glossy brochures??? We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2000
$32
Employees live on site and are friendly and helpful with any problems that might arise. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2000
$30
A beautiful campground ruined by surly unhelpful staff and management. Very rude. Staff doesn't like overnighter's, just long term guests. A waste of a great location. Don't bother stopping for an overnight stay, if you are not turned away, you will wish you had been. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2000
$28
A well thought out new park with great amenities, but the overall effect is ruined by surly management and generally hostile unhelpful staff. Unless you are very thick skinned, a definite avoid. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com