223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Village Creek State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (409) 755-7322
CGID2838

Village Creek State Park

Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   7   8   8   10   10   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$15
This campground is very close to town, which makes it easy to run and get the few things you always forget. (but yet you're still camping in the sticks). Canoeing, swimming, biking, and hiking in park. Sites are very close together, but level. Most have very good shade and cover between sites. Others are better suited camping with a friend. No 50 AMP or sewer. Staff was polite and helpful, with the exception of one grumpy ranger. He insisted that I come check in prior to finishing eating breakfast at 8:30AM. (we had reservations, pre-paid and showed up after the 5PM closing the night before). Just one guy having a bad day. We would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$15
This is a great smaller campground in a large park. Sites are a bit at an angle for water control, but paved and smooth. Fire boxes all have benches placed closely for a good view. The trails, though marked, are still a bit confusing, but show a lot of the beauty of the park. Trees are tall and offer great shade. We loved it here and would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$15
This is a lovely state park, not too far off Highway 10, and well worth the extra miles that it took to get there (not long). It has lots of nice trees (which of course I love) and nicely spaced campsites. We are camping with a friend, and we were able to park right next to each other. Not too many people out and about at this time of year. There is vegetation growing between the sites for more privacy. The people who checked us in were very friendly and welcoming. My only complaint about that was the strong unpleasant smell of cigarette smoke. Yuck. Seems to me people should not be allowed to smoke in that kind of public building. That's the only reason I gave it a 9 vs. a 10. There are great hiking trails, a ton to do. Beware, however, there are ticks galore for the dogs! Make certain you check your pet over and treat with tick stuff before arriving, and then check all your own cracks and crevices. They love to be between your toes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$18
This is great park if you love to paddle and hike. It also has some great walk in camp sites right along the river. Staff is very friendly. The sites are not very level and I would think a big rig would have to be selective about a site. Not only is it not level but its difficult to back in. I am in a 24 foot class C and I wasn't able to get level. The electric and water sites also have tent pads, fire rings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$18
The campsites are very nice, clean and well kept. The are large spacious and level. We had to be a little careful lining up our camper to make sure slides cleared but not a big deal. Restrooms were in excellent shape and so were the showers. You are very close to restaurants and stores but you feel pretty isolated in the woods. We went there after severe storms and most of the trails were under water which is why I only give it a 8. Very nice place to spend a few days, but I warn you the mosquitoes were quite bad even in early March. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$20
Typical Texas State Park. There are hiking trails and access to river for fishing and boating. Restrooms and showers were adequate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$15
Wow, we were really impressed with this park. I found very little info about it online, and only a few reviews, so was very skeptical about spending our long weekend there. First off, it is a very small park, but we found that to be very cozy! The campsites are very close together, but laid out nicely. If you were visiting with more than one family, this place would be ideal BE ADVISED if they are full, and you are the last one to check in, SPOT 6, has no picnic table, or fire ring. It is just a parking spot! Also, it POURED rain while we were there, however, the spots/fire ring area/pad are all made of crushed granite, NOT DIRT! This is very important, as last time we were at Brazos bend with the rain, everything was covered in MUD! The shower facilities were the best I have seen in a state park. I wasn't as impressed with the trails. They were very difficult to maneuver, with numerous large roots, and parts of the trails were very soft white sand, so soft that we had to walk our bikes through those parts. There is a very nice playground, and a HUGE group pavilion with large BBQ pit. The walk in campsites were made of crushed granite as well, and were very nice and not muddy at all!! Overall, it is a small park, but we cant wait to go back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$15
This is a hidden jewel of a state park. The park is beautiful, although there are some scars of recent Hurricanes Rita and Ike, it will not deter your enjoyment. Plenty of trees, plants, birds and other wildlife. We saw squirrel, deer, rabbit, doves and raccoons. The park staff here are the the most friendly and welcoming of any state park we have ever visited. They made us feel like they were here just for us. Informative and knowledgable about the park and area, pride of the park is evident in all of the employees with whom we had contact, from volunteers planting trees, to the rangers who were very nice. One of the few parks we've visited that had trail maps made up and waiting for you. The trails are great!! Easy to walk and the guides provided give you highlights and insights. This park is for walking, exploring trails, canoeing, and relaxing. We will absolutely visit here again, we are looking forward to it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$15
Like most of the Texas State Parks that we have stayed in, this one has a friendly staff and well-maintained sites. During our 5 night stay there were very few other campers so we had our choice of sites but during summer months this place is probably pretty tight. Only 30 amp power is available, no sewer hookups and many of the sites don't appear to be very level but the price is right! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$15
This was a great campground - our site was very level and spacious. Each site had a fire ring with benches on 2 sides of it, as well as a picnic table, all in very good shape. There is a creek for canoeing, trails that are good for mountain bikes or hiking. Nice small park - close to Big Thicket and to several cities/towns for restaurants. Try Larry's French Market and Cajun Restaurant in Groves - great crayfish. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$15
This is a nice park. Only thing is that the sites are close together as you would have in a private park. However, it is OK and you are in the middle of the woods. They have recovered from the hurricanes of the past few years. You are only a mile and a half from downtown Lumberton. It is a very popular park for people with canoes. They have several good restaurants and a WalMart Supercenter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$15
A nice park with clean restrooms, private sites, and nice hiking trails. It is an odd location (call to get directions if you're coming from the north; there are only signs from the south!), but once you're in the park, you forget that it's surrounded by a neighborhood. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$16
A great state park with quick and easy access to the city amenities. Canoe rentals are located nearby and you can take a short or long trip or an overnight trip with the outfitters. There are plenty of trails to take long walks and most sites are nice and spacious. It is a smaller park but great for a weekend get-a-way or a longer stay if you are a full timer. We will return again in the summer and enjoy swimming at the beach area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2005
$12
Nice small basic state park. Very family friendly. Dump station well situated. $2 per person per day use fee added to nightly rate. Some sites fairly large with other quite close together. Sites have large fire ring with bench seating, picnic table and tent pad. Wooded area with creeks and swamps near hiking and bike trails. Not a lot of bells and whistles but clean, well-run park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$12
Very clean and well maintained park with friendly and laid back staff. Also quiet yet close proximity to supplies. The good: quiet, nice creek to rent a canoe and paddle down, trails. Bad: sites close together, lots of mosquitoes and snakes, very brown creek water (but still fine for swimming because has a sandy bottom). Decent park but not one of the finest of the state parks. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com