206534 User submitted reviews online!!
Highlands RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 51 user reviews. Phone: (760) 873-7616
CGID284

Highlands RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
103
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   3   8   8   8   4   5   6   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$40
Park was perfectly adequate for us in all respects. It is older, and looks like a fair number of permanent/seasonal units, many of which were unoccupied over the holidays. Little contact w- staff, but seemed nice. Water, power, cable, WI-FI, Sprint phone signal all worked nicely. We backed in in the back as far away from the street as possible, and road noise not an issue. Grassy area around office worked for the pooch's dog walks. Rating suffers from minimal landscaping, not much to look at in park (snow capped mountains nearby are awesome), and sites pretty close together. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
Ok park, just ok. It is very tight and crowded: the sites are less than 4 feet apart if you both have slides out. Everything else is ok. We think is would be good for 1-2 day layover, certainly not a week or two for vacationing unless you do not mind hearing your neighbors! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
We stayed at Highlands for only one night, but really liked this park. The dogs had a very nice patch of grass to visit, with a trout stream included. We were new to RVing and did not know about cable TV. The owners helped me figure out what to buy and get hooked up. I would recommend this park anytime. Very clean sites and bathrooms. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
An older park, but well maintained. There seem to be a number of long term folks staying here, but all sites are kept up and folks we talked to friendly. Each site has a cement pad, table and narrow but adequate black top parking site. Numerous free cable channels. We had our own Wi-Fi so cannot comment on the parks free service. The park is handy to local businesses, even though located right on Highway 395. The park is quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
We stayed here for a week and used the park as a base to visit the surrounding area. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The sites were level, but narrow, and on asphalt. No problem getting on the pad. The site came with a concrete patio. The WiFi was free, but fairly slow. The park also had free cable. The laundry room was clean and had new washers and dryers. We did not use the shower or restrooms. We will definitely stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2012
$40
Pads for your rig are very narrow. Check sites first to be sure you can make your turns without hitting anything. Depending on the site you choose (pull throughs) you WILL run over there concrete slab if your rig is large - 37'+. If you need to use there showers be sure to check them first. I took pictures of there showers/restroom to prove how filthy they where when we were there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2012
$36
The price is ridiculous. Forty bucks unless you're a Good Sam member. In the off-season! However, it is a clean, well-kept facility with nice, friendly staff. A few other caveats: Sites are far from level with very narrow pavement. Chances are you'll park with at least one wheel off the pavement. I would give this park an "8" if they'd drop the price to something reasonable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
This is an OK park, nothing special. Mostly pull throughs. Lots of shade. Road noise not a problem. Sites are narrow but adequate. Good for and overnight or if you want a base for the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
This park provided a site with a small concrete patio, a picnic table and shade. It is easy to get both in and out of. It is right on the highway, which makes it very convenient, but not very quiet. The dog area is a nice grassy area with shade trees, it is not fenced and it is right next to the street which scared our dog. The office staff was very friendly. The Wi-Fi was reliable as was the cable TV. it was a great place to stay overnight. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
We stayed here on our way home from Mammoth Lakes. The park is very clean. It has a nice grassy area for the dogs (not fenced). The sites are a little small but level with enough room for our toad. The office staff was extremely nice and helpful. It is close to shopping and the casino (0.7 miles). It is great for an overnight stay. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
Nice, clean park on the north end of town. The pads are paved and level. Our spot had no trees so it was very hot in the afternoon, but many of the other spaces had shade. (Daytime temperatures were in the 100 plus range while we were there.) But Bishop is a great place to visit and this is a nice park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$40
Was surprised by higher rate than advertised, but it's cold and our heater is running non stop, so it seems fair. Clean, easy park. Sites narrow but ok for one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2012
$40
Probably the nicest RV park in Bishop but way overpriced in my opinion. No discounts of any kind are offered by the staff that seems to have a "take it or leave it" attitude. Lots of long term folks but the park seems to accommodate overnighters, too. Very noisy from the constant traffic on Hwy 395 which runs right next to this park. We were happy to leave after one night and relocate to the to another place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
Paved access roads and paved sites with concrete patios. Sites are fairly short and at 36 feet with a toad we barely fit by pulling the tow bar completely in. Area outside the paved/concrete area is small gravel. The concrete patios were cracked and broken where people have driven rigs over them. The paved sites are full of depressions where leveling jacks have sunken in. The park is quiet at night. Has a nice dog walk area at the front of the park which could be difficult for a dog to make early in the morning because of the travel distance. Verizon worked okay. They do not offer any discounts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
The park seems overpriced for what it is. The concrete pads and asphalt at most of the sites was broken up and in a state of disrepair. In the laundry, the washing machines worked but there was only one operable dryer. The rest were broken. The picnic table at our site was "rickety" and broken. The Wi-Fi was reliable and had a strong signal. The campground employee we interacted with was friendly, helpful and polite. Decent campground but not at $40. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
Location is very good even though it's not in the middle of Bishop (1 mile west). Spaces are slightly close to each other but it didn't feel too crowded. All hookups worked very well and are well laid out. Wi-Fi internet also worked well and consistently (a nice change from a lot of other RV parks). There is a fair bit of shade throughout the campground. Very nice dog walk area. Did not notice any traffic noise even though the park is conveniently located next to 395. Check-in was very easy and smooth but no discounts whatsoever. Owners were very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
Located north of town a couple of miles. Good pull throughs with easy access for all sizes. Restrooms were clean, park neat, people pleasant. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
This is a great place for the fishing and hunting enthusiast but not a destination RV resort. The spaces are narrow on gravel with raised concrete pads for the table provided. If you are towing anything it will run over the edge of the pad on the way out of the spot. Not bad but be aware of the short pull through spaces. Everything worked on the hookups with lots of cable stations. We use this park as an easy one night stop between Reno and Orange County. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
I stayed there with friends in another Motorhome. It is a very clean and quite Park. It is close to 395 but there was little or no road noise. I will stay there again when in the area. They could use a fenced off dog area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
This was a nice park for over night. Sites are tight, so we couldn't understand why, when they had low occupancy, they gave as a site right next door to someone else where their awning reached right to our mirror. They allowed us to move, but the sand & dust probably blew from our exhaust straight into those poor peoples patio. They have a nice area grass for pets, but it's right on Highway 395, and no fence in case your pet got away from you. Would still recommend and would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
This was our 5th stay at this park. Perfect stopping off point before heading to North California, Oregon or east to Nevada and Idaho when traveling from Los Angeles. Staff are friendly and good Wi-Fi. Can walk almost next door to Mahogany Smoked Meats for sandwiches and iconic smoked bacon to stock up RV. Great shade trees when Bishop gets over 100 degrees. Good place to base or just for one night. Park is very quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
We only stayed here one night. It was a little on the expensive side. The sites are a little close together for my taste but the hookups worked fine and it was a nice quiet park. We would stay there again for a longer stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$14
We love this RV park. The staff are very friendly and so helpful, truly wonderful people. The sites are big, it's quiet, the bathrooms are clean: really clean, the showers are great. The rate listed above is low because we are staying here for about 3 months, so we get the monthly rate. These ladies have made it easy for us to come and stay in this most beautiful area of United States and get to see all that this area has to offer. So very majestic here. Thanks Highlands staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$40
A just OK park: a little expensive for what is offered. No discounts available, office does not have a store attached. Seemed to be a lot of pretty permanent RV's here. Office friendly enough. We were here for just a overnight stop. Access inside the park was very good for big rigs. Blacktop roads and sites, cement patios, otherwise sand. Grass dog park area! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$16
The rate reflects our monthly stay. This is an older and outdated park, but it is tidy, clean and quiet. The sites and roads are paved and each site has a concrete patio with a picnic table. The dog area is a nice grassy area with large trees. They supply bags. There is also a fish cleaning station. The wifi was good. We will stay here again next spring. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$40
Price was not worth the value. Will look for another campground on next trip through. Staff was not overtly friendly and office closed at 5. They did have a nice grassy area for the dogs. Sites were reasonably level. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$40
I liked the park but feel a little repair work would improve its appearance. Almost every cement slab had broken corners, and the asphalt roads had lots of repair done to it. The fall colors were lovely, and I would stay here again even though I think it was a little high priced. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
Good access for 40 foot coach, and room for your slides. Trees are there for shade but not to the point of blocking satellite reception. Quiet park that can be used as base for outdoor activities in the area (hiking, biking, fishing. etc). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
We have been staying at Highlands RV park for many years now. The staff is courteous, the park is very clean, the sites are ample size, check-in is easy and it is close to everything in the Mammoth area. We stayed here for two weeks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
Great RV park! Friendly staff, clean restrooms, showers and laundry room. Lots of shade. The only negative is that the sites were very narrow. Slide-outs ended up "invading" the neighboring site. Otherwise, the site was great and we were very happy with our 3-day stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
Used this park one night on our way south through the Owens Valley and then later another night on our return north. Has very cooperative and friendly management. They are nice about letting you pick your own spot. Has a grass area good for walking the dog, it's not fenced though. Nothing fancy or resort-like but a good, clean, safe place for an overnight or even a few days exploring the area. This was our third visit to this park and it is consistently pleasant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$40
This is similar to a "parking lot" type campground: meaning it's all paved with dirt between the sites. The sites are mostly pull-throughs, though there are a few along the west wall that are back-ins. There are a lot of full-timers along the east and north walls. The sites are pretty level; the paved portions happen to be a bit narrow for my taste. Having come here two springs in a row, we've noticed that the campground fills up nightly: mostly with people heading north or south along the 395. It's not really a destination campground: no amenities such as a playground, store, pool, etc. But it's a clean, well-kept place, with a very friendly manager who lives on site. I agree with the previous reviewer's concern about the price - $40 is high, compared to the $28 you pay at Brown's Town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$40
Our site was not level. Park has good internet and cable TV. There are many long term tenants and many rigs in storage throughout the park. Overpriced in my opinion (and in the opinion of several people I saw pull in, read the price on the board, then leave). Rating based on price/value, otherwise a decent place to overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$40
Stayed four nights. Friendly, competent office/management staff. It was nice they let you pick your own site. Be careful, if you vacate your site and plan to return later, you must put the picnic table across the space or someone will snag it - especially during the busy season. Very quiet, peaceful park. First place we've ever seen with 9pm quiet time rather than 10pm. We had a good level spot. Dog walk area is big and grassy but could use to be fenced in - could not go off leash as it was right next to the highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$39
We pulled in after dark, the office was closed, and left in the morning, so we didn't use much of the facility other than the dog walk area which was nice, large and supplied with pick-up bags. However, there is a very, very LOUD siren in the fire department parking lot across the highway. It is used to alert personnel of a call. The siren went off around 7am (three blasts of about 10 seconds each), followed about 10 minutes later by emergency vehicles responding from that location. Ugh. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$40
Clean and quiet. Spots somewhat narrow-had to park a few inches to side to allow slide to clear service box. Friendly, helpful staff. Had trouble with 50 amp plug, but found it had a crack in the plastic, and were able to move. GREAT restaurant right across the street. Nice dog walk area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$39
Very nice park at the north end of Bishop. All sites are large and clean. Some of the pull-through sites are a little unlevel but still nice. Good access for large rigs. The staff was nice and friendly. The do not offer Good Sam or other discounts. Stayed here in a 35' fifth wheel and will come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$39
Park is clean and a good stop on the way up or down Hwy 395. The price I felt was a little high but again this is California and everything is pricey. Warning: If you have a large rig be careful with the trees when you pull into your space. Also, the pads have a crest so leveling might be a little tough for some rigs. We will stop here again if we are passing through Bishop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$40
Stayed Saturday and Sunday while waiting for Diesel repair place to open on Monday. Sites a little difficult for a 40' MH to get level on and slightly narrow. Friendly folks and a nice clean stop. If you need repairs in Bishop, Brit's is the place, very professional. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$39
We were forced here due to high winds and all the spots we had stayed before being full due to the beginning of fishing season. This will now be our go-to place on our way home from AZ after winter. The spots are adequate in length and width. We have 4 slides and had no problems. When we pulled in the office was closed for about 30 minutes but one of the long-term residents advised us to pick a spot and then go to the office when it was open. The park was not full so we had no problem finding a spot. The dog run is not enclosed but is all grass, huge, and they have bags and a big trash can. Nice for our 4-legged child. The wi-fi was great and the cable was also great. It is a little pricey but for a spot this clean and confortable, it is worth it to us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$30
We lived there full time for a year and half. The staff were very accommodating, and helpful. The park was always nice and clean. Spaces were large and roomy. Everything was always in working order. Everybody was nice and friendly ,If you needed help or information, it was always available. We would definitely stay there again Full Time or just as a overnighter. Thank You for making our 1st RV experience a good one. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$39
If I were to rate this park strictly by other options in the area it might get a "9". There aren't too many places to choose from and, from what I saw, they didn't look too great. This was a nice spot for a few days. Lack of a pool or other type of distractions knocks it down a few pegs. Overall cleanliness was very good. Sites were clean and well maintained. Good selection of cable channels. Utilities were all in working order albeit for a leaky water hookup. Office staff was very friendly. I've read a few other posts saying that the sites were level and generally they were in good order. The sites were paved but I found them to have a slight crown to them. I also wasn't the only one using the majority of my leveling blocks. But again, it wasn't anything worth complaining about. This is a great park for exploring the local area. We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$39
This was an overnight stay for us. We found the sites and interior road to be paved and level. The restrooms and showers are nice and clean although a little old. You do not pay extra for showers like other parks in this town charge. Wi-Fi was at no charge, and it worked fine. There was minimal road noise even though the highway was very near the park. There is a great little Mexican restaurant that has a congenial owner. We would not stay here again however just because it's a basic no frills park at a rate much too high for what you get. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$32
This was a two night shakedown with the new rig and the staff was quite accommodating knowing we were on a break in mission. They positioned us in an end site, second row pull through which made the docking easy. With relatives nearby we hitched rides around but a few restaurants are in walking distance plus the Piute Casino is nearby (another place to camp). We needed to test all the equipment so boon docking was not an option but is possible at the Casino and the K-Mart lot for an overnight. This is a highly popular stop for fisherman and the CG has a fully setup fish cleaning station! We'd go back again. Watch the low hanging tree limbs though. Also, forget using your TV antenna; satellite reception is sketchy due to the trees but the cable hook up is good. A very clean CG with lots to do nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$30
Nice RV park with many shaded sites. Pads are asphalt and relatively level. Only drawback is the sites are pretty close together making it cozy with your neighbor. They have pull through and back in sites. The park is located close to town and also a reasonable driving distance to Mammoth Mountain and fishing lakes and streams. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
We felt this park was a little expensive for what is provided. Spaces are narrow and you have to pay extra for WiFi. It was a clean park with nice shade trees. It was okay for overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$30
Nice park located close to downtown Bishop. Clean, quiet and well maintained. Located on Hwy. 395 and easy access for big rigs. We would stay here again when passing through Bishop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$22
Nice clean RV park. It's not the prettiest of campgrounds from a scenery standpoint. There is a brick wall surrounding the RV park. All of the sites are clearly marked, wide enough for a slide out, are level, and have full hookups. There are a few trees but for the most part don't plan on a whole lot of shade. Bathroom and laundry facilities were spotless. They have a small recreation room with a pool table, movies, and books. They have free wifi at good speeds and you are in cell phone range if you need it. The staff was very friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$33
Stayed here 4 days. Nice park that is close to every thing Bishop has to offer. Located about a mile North of Bishop. Highly recommend and would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$30
Clean park with paved interior roads and sites. Concrete patio slabs with picnic table. $2.00 charge for modem connection. Thought park was overpriced for what is here. Spaces close together. Would probably stop again as a stopover if passing through the area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$30
This is a clean, well maintained park with a great view of the Sierra Nevada and White Mountains. It is close to quality services and places to eat. Within a few miles is some of the best trout fishing in the world. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com