217876 User submitted reviews online!!
Forest Retreat RV Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (281) 354-9888
CGID2861

Forest Retreat RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
110
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   8   10   10   10   10   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$42
This is one of the best parks we have ever stayed in. All sites are paved and level. The Wi-Fi work great and cell phone coverage was good. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Site price included FREE ice, coffee in the game room, and fax service. The grounds are very clean and well maintained. This is one RV resort that we will return to when we are in the Houston area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$45
This is our second overnight stay here and really like it. The bathrooms are plentiful, spacious, modern and very clean. Cement pads and roads. Good size for us. It accepts ROTTWEILLERS WHICH gives it high marks with us. We don't travel with our dog, but I get very upset at RV parks that have blanket breed restrictions. This park would be perfect EXCEPT we never could get WIFI. Very weak and slow occasionally. We even tried it at non peak times but still could not get strong enough signal. We noticed a lot of mifis in the park so others may have issues also. Love the free ice. Like I said, of over 200 RV parks visited, thus one would be perfect if the wifi worked. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$45
Deluxe pull-thru sites have cement pads for coaches, small cement patio, and larger grassy area between sites. Park well maintained, very clean, excellent Wi-Fi connection, and friendly staff. On past stays here, laundry and showers were clean & well maintained, but haven't checked this trip. Pet friendly and far enough away from freeway to be very quiet & peaceful. Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$52
I gave it an "8" primarily due to the cost. We had Good Sam and got $5 off. Our site was a "deluxe". I would hate to see what the "premium" and "ultra" sites cost. The park is nice. Sites are cement, with cement pad for car parking. This is the first park we have seen in the last 500 miles that is almost sold out. It is near some of the hospitals in Houston. Free WiFi and a free DSL line in the day room. No charge, and allowable, to wash your RV at your site. But, you can't wash your car. Very nice dog park. Nice outdoor pool, but I would expect a hot tub and maybe an indoor pool at this price. No picnic tables. They have a central area for a campfire. It is less than a mile off the highway and you have no highway noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$18
Rate is based on monthly. WOW! This is one nice park! Clean, neat, friendly, free cable, Wi-Fi and ice. When we first arrived, I had an open ground error on my EMS. Within 1/2 hr the CB and plug were changed and we were good to go. Grass is green, cut and trimmed every week. There is just nothing negative to say. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$41
Nice park. Concrete pads and patios. Private, tiled and large size bathrooms that are much nicer than most home bathrooms. Friendly staff. Clean park. The grandchildren loved the pool. Close proximity to major shopping, restaurant and recreation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$38
This park lives up to its high rating. Now if only all the people who walk their dogs, rev their Harley's and smoke outside did as the resort rules request. Very nice facility. Definitely plan to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$45
We stayed in this park for 1 month. Rate for the month in a deluxe site was $520 plus electricity. The electricity was $169. This park is very clean. There is a pool and a laundry area. We did not use either. The park is quiet and full of mostly older people. There were very few children. The cable TV is great, however the Wi-Fi was spotty at best and nonexistent most of the time. There is only one dumpster at the entrance to the park, however, if you set out your trash between 8 to 9 in the morning, they will pick it up. There is plenty of area to walk dogs, however there is no "dedicated" dog walk area. No trash cans other than the 2 dumpsters at the front. Very nice park and we will stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$41
Very clean park. Well maintained. Wi-Fi not adequate except during the day when full timers at work. To get HDTV, you must have a new TV with a special tuner, otherwise the signal is standard 4X3 type. According to the manager, the owner doesn't want to spend the money to upgrade the Wi-Fi. No phone lines available. Rates just increased. However, the owner seems to be putting that money into their pockets, rather than upgrading the facilities to what they advertise. I did speak to the manager about this. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$40
Excellent upper scale park near Houston. Concrete roads and pads, 50 amp and sewer; nice management. We have camped here overnight three times on our way to and from Aransas Pass, TX. Plan to be there again in fall. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$41
This is a great campground. We really enjoyed our stay. The ambience is very nice and it is not too far from Houston. Lots of things to do and there is a nice park nearby. The free ice is nice and the amenities are excellent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$40
Nice new park with nice office staff. All paved and fair amount of long term guests. But all sites clean and neat with nice looking rigs. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$41
We have reservations for 2 months at this park at the monthly rate. We are in our first week of our stay. We were so pleasantly surprised at the quality of this campground. After reading reviews and looking at pictures on line we decided to try this park for our first time of long term camping. Boy did we ever hit it right the first time. We love this place! The bathrooms/shower house and laundry facilities are kept immaculate. All roads and sites are paved and level; wonderful for bike riding. The grass even in Jan. is edged & kept very neat. There is no garbage anywhere and all dogs are kept on leashes. The club house is so nice and inviting. Well lit park. You feel very secure here. The managers of this campground are very friendly and do an excellent job. Their on site head of maintenance is very helpful and friendly. We would highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$42
We really like this campground. The people are extremely friendly and attentive. The roads and sites are all concrete and for the most part very level. This is one campground that I really like the restrooms and shower. Definitely the place to stay in NE Houston area. We stayed here a couple of nights! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
We spent 22 days here. The price reflects a monthly rate. The managers are wonderful. They are so nice and helpful. The RV Park is very clean. The restroom have separate entrances and are very big and clean. The pool is cleaned each day and it very nice. There is free ice and coffee all day each day. Most sites are big. There are some that are rather close together but you can put your sides out and have plenty of space on each side. There is a concrete pad at each side. Each side is concrete. The clubhouse is very big, with very comfortable furniture in the TV area. During the long hot summers, shade trees are needed. There are no shade trees. There is one section that is back in and has morning shade and one area that is also back in and has shade starting around 4. We would come back again for an overnight or long stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$34
We spent a week at this park and it appeared to be fairly well maintained. It has all paved roads and sites which are very level and our first impression was positive. The restrooms/showers were large and private and looked nice but the shower heads were not very good and there was no place to sit except on the toilet stool. Hookups are all toward the rear of the site and the electric boxes are so tall and close to the edge of the site it was difficult to get our slide out extended and still reach the sewer connection. Although this park is above average we felt it was a bit expensive for what they provided. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2010
$41
The location of this park is what sells it! It is one of the nicest parks in the area because it is close to Hwy 59. Other comparable locations are far away. It is clean and maintained well with concrete sites and private bathhouses. This park states they are pet friendly but only allow pets to be out on a leash while being walked, preferably out of the park. There is not a dog walk or area within the park you can take your pet. They also state they are kid friendly but only on rare occasion are there activities for kids. There is a nice park within walking distance that we used frequently! The shuffle boards and horseshoes are not entertainment children would appreciate. We stayed at the campground as full timers and struggled to keep our site looking uncluttered enough for management while trying to provide entertainment for our child. The Wi-Fi is horrible! Rarely a day went by without having to call and request them to reset the routers or have to put my work to be done on hold until I could successfully get online. If you frequently use the web this is not the best location. Overall I rate this RV park at a 4 due to the effort put forth in maintaining and keeping it very clean. Beyond that we feel that the management/owners need to to focus on each guest case by case while following regulations as opposed to enforcing rules as black and white forgetting that people also live full time at Forest Retreat RV Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$30
Great place to stay. It is really quiet and peaceful. The amenities are super nice. The bath and laundry facilities are really neat and well maintained. The owner and his manager and both available to assist with any need you may have. They try their best to accommodate your requests while maintaining a very tidy park. A great choice for the location just north of lots of venues that the city of Houston has to offer. The park sometimes has some low areas that retain water after a lot of rain, but that would be the only reason I cannot give this place a 10. The "Sonic" ice is great and it is free. Lots of great things and too many to mention. The free Wireless Internet service is the best anywhere we have been to date and it is a fast DSL connection. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$27
Very nice park, all concrete pads and roads. Good Wi-Fi service, cable TV and morning newspaper if your up early. Easy access to US 59 and not a bad drive to most of Houston and surrounding area. We went out to Brenham to tour Blue Bell Ice Cream and loved it. Friendly owner and manager who are happy to answer all your questions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
Good park that is almost great. The park has great bones and some great features but is lacking a few things that would make it great. The roads and sites are paved and level. Odd location of off-door patio - suited more for motorhomes than trailers. Grass needed mowing and watering since it was 100+. Pool was nice. Clubhouse was nice and offered free morning coffee, newspaper and bagged ice which were all nice touches. Bathrooms were private with showers and were nicely done. They did need a good cleaning - they weren't overly offensive but did need a little more regular attention. The park needed a playground and to up their daily upkeep and this park would be a 10! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
The last poster tells more lies then cops and politicians. The owner don't even drink, not even beer. But he does have a temper and can be a grouch. The manager is the greatest human being you will ever cross paths with. Top service is what you get here. We just left from an extended stay. This is one of the best RV parks in the southwest USA. Very large lots, you will never be cramped. You have garbage pick up right at your door every morning, free newspaper every morning and always hot coffee at the ready. They put on a super bowl party for all RV guests for FREE and holy shoot was it an expensive spread. You have a large Equestrian park next door with all kinds of events such as Rodeo, barrell racing, custom and antique car shows and fairs and most of them are free and just a minute walk away. There is baseball going on every night as well as a large fishing pond. Close to everything, clean modern restrooms, clean modern cheap laundromat. Don't park on the grass y'all, you would not do that to your neighbor, don't do it there. $395/m and $495 for premium ultra large backup to woods lots. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2009
$32
I have not reviewed a campground in the past, but based on my experience with the owner of this park I feel compelled to warn potential campers. I parked (mistakenly as I found out) on a patio pad as I was trying to move my rig around to gain better access to the utilities. I was nearly accosted by the drunken owner and his staff as they pointed out the parking error. I became nervous for the safety of my wife and myself. I was threatened with eviction and physical harm. I probably should have called the police, but didn't want to further exacerbate the situation. Obviously I won't stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$30
Based on the comments of the previous review I feel compelled to enter this review. We stayed at this campground for six months. The park and facilities are immaculate. The owner and his staff work hard to keep it that way. At NO TIME during our stay did we see the owner or any of his staff give any appearance of being drunk or even been drinking. My wife, a traveling nurse, intends to return to the area hospital in the future and we will definitely stay at this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$35
Outstanding facility. Wife and daughter raved about the clean bathrooms; they even have granite countertops. Great office/lobby area, large entry into the facility. Spacious, level, paved pull through sites, with convenient hookukps. Good wifi. Courteous staff. Great location to northern and eastern Houston areas. Far enough off the freeway to make it quiet, yet easy to find. Will definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
This park is excellent! We stayed 4 nights. It is in a quiet area near Hwy 59 which is a large freeway into Houston. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$33
This was the second year that I have spent a month or more here. It is a little north of Houston, but it is the best that Houston has to offer. US 59 is under construction and getting to and from the park was very difficult, but should be easier very soon. I'll be back next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$29
Very nice park, quiet, friendly staff, easy in and out. I'm not sure why the two bad reviews, but the rules for very few, I didn't notice any pretentiousness on anyones part. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2008
$29
This is one of the nicest RV parks we have stayed in, the grounds were well maintained and the common buildings were spotless. The office staff greeting was friendly and we were led to our site. The site layout was spot on. In addition, there is also free coffee, daily newspaper, WiFi and cable TV. If the owner is demanding of his clientèles and in return this is what we get - I am all for it. We will certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2007
$29
What a nice park. Very clean. The owner does not put up with problems. He believes good people bring more good people. Call ahead for directions because their is construction and the ramp was closed when we came though. The owner was very helpful. Would stay their again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2007
$29
Park was nice, but there were some obvious uppity people here. I guess since my pusher was more than 10 years old with 17,000 miles, and looks like I just drove it off the floor from the showroom they were a bit choosy on who they let in the park. I was not thrilled about this at all. Upon getting to the park, I noticed that this is only for those that want to show off and "keep up with the jones" attitude from others that were there long term. Not my idea of camping or having a good time with neighbors and new friends. I would only stay a night passing through at best. Give me a more friendly park and somewhere I don't have to feel like I need to be a millionaire to stay any day. While the park is ok with kids, I would not say the same for some of the guest. Nice park if you like concrete and electric boxes. No trees except the ones that were recently planted. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$29
This is a very clean, well kept and nicely appointed park. The price given is the nightly rate with Good Sam discount. We were escorted to our site and aided in positioning and set up. As to the earlier "dictatorship" comment, the written rules were given upon check in, and my impression is that the owner runs a pretty tight ship. WiFi, cable, daily paper (limited supply), ice and coffee are included in the price. I could not get the WiFi to work due to low signal strength. Restrooms are very clean. Though located in the woods, it has been cleared for the park, so no trees. Turns to the park are well marked. The water on our site got deep during a heavy rain due to the fact that the grassy area was a little higher than the pad and flowed that way to the storm drain. Other pads seemed to not have as much of a problem. The pool was not open due to the cold, but looked inviting for warmer weather. Note there is a lot of construction on US 59 leading to the park, so that is a sign that the urbanization from Houston is heading in its direction. Despite that, access to the north end of Houston is convenient and there is a "country" feel. All in all, a very quiet and peaceful park. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$25
Manager was friendly, led us to our site, but let us park ourselves. Just the way it should be. Sites are all concrete and most have a parking pad in the rear for your tow vehicle or towed. Almost a mile from the highway so very quiet. Free WiFi that works well. Some low spots that puddled in the rain, but nothing dangerous. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2007
$32
I would highly suggest not staying at this park. The owners are rude and have dictatorship thoughts. They will evict tenants on the spot for no reason. The park is not kept clean and floods frequently during heavy rains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$29
The owner/manager set the stage upon our arrival. A smile and a great big hello greeted us in a well decorated registration area. He showed us around and taxied us to our site. We especially liked the free daily Houston paper and the ice. Off the main drag, quiet, easy access to the highway and Houston, well maintained landscape and just some of the pluses. Free WiFi and Cable. When you combine everything this park has to offer, I would definitely stay here on my next trip to the Houston area...even if it meant having to drive a little further. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$29
VERY quiet and peaceful. No freeway, trains or planes. Convenient to most shopping and airport. Grounds are well maintained. Spaces are wide and long. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$26
This is our second visit to this park and it has improved from its initial months almost a year ago. It is an excellent big rig park. The grounds are immaculate and well maintained. There is a county recreation park right next door for exercising. Manager is very friendly and helpful. They offer free newspapers and ice as well as free WiFi connections We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$26
Returning after one year, park is in excellent condition now that grass has grown. Owner has continued to improve and add to new park. Lots of concrete added to original pads to provide parking for extra vehicle and pad for stepping out of rig. Lost a lot of trees due to some sort of bark beetle but that makes getting satellite reception much better. Park is very convenient to Houston via 59. Shopping at Humble just down the road. Peaceful and quiet in park. Owner very nice and professional. Great park. We are staying a month for an excellent rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$26
This is an excellent new campground worth a visit. It will be a "10" rating when the soil settles in a bit and the grass takes root. The owner/manager lives in the campground and is very friendly and helpful. Weekly and monthly rates are also available. This is an excellent spot to camp when visiting Houston from the northeast end of town. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com