221734 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Tawakoni / Thousand Trails was rated 7 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (903) 598-2260
CGID2867

Lake Tawakoni / Thousand Trails

Camp Information
Sites
319
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$3



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   6   7   8   6   9   9   2   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$3
Price reflects Thousand Trails Zone Membership. Stayed for 4 days and park was excellent. Was hunkered down during the ice storms and temperatures dropped in the low 20's We had 30 amp service and it worked great running our space heaters. No sewer at our location, but do not know of others. Great campground and will go back. Very few people there, but the time of year that was expected. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$1
We used this camp for an overnight stay on the way home from our summer adventure, and despite being off the main road was well worth the effort and cost savings. Strict speed limits in the park are correct for the agreeably bad road conditions, 5-10 mph is almost too fast in some places. The county road 1470 coming in is not very good either. Don't use MS-Streets and Trips to locate this camp, it'll put you in the middle of a pasture a few miles away from the camp. Take 276 to 47, south on 47 to (big TT sign here) 1470 head west and you'll be fine. We stayed in section 1, plenty of shade, gravel site, almost level, full hookup. New power stanchions at most we saw in this section. The pool was a short bike ride from the campsite and is large and well kept, no slides or diving boards, some shade on the west end. A bit strong on the chlorine, but that's to be expected these days. Bathrooms and showers were well kept and clean. The staff friendly and helpful at checkin. This is an older TT campground, but the fact that the lake still has water makes it better than some others in Texas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$1
Thousand Trails rate. Roads are terrible. County 1470 is rough all the way to the campground guard shack, and interior roads are worse, a lot worse. RV pads have once been improved surfaces but not any longer. The fishing pier is high and dry since the lake is low. Sites are all back-in with lots of room between neighbors, lots of trees and flags/iris. Staff & maintenance people were very friendly and helpful, responded quickly to a power stanchion problem (within minutes), and quickly repaired the issue. The campground is pretty quiet this time of year, and our neighbors were friendly. This is a pleasant campground with lots of space, and there are some waterfront sites. We enjoyed our stay here and will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
This is a membership park that is now also open to the public for a fee. Lots of nice shady sites but many of them are taken up by members with long-term leases. Internet is available ONLY at the Family Center. Pools are nice. Roads desperately need improvement. We are members so did not have to pay. Rate cited is the public fee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$1
Nice campground. Fairly level sites. Our AT&T cell and air card worked fine. We were able to get DirecTV and antenna TV. Quiet!! We enjoyed the peace and quiet of this location. We are thousand trails members - thus the $1 rate listed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$1
This campground is far from any sizable town, so come prepared. There is no 50 amp but did manage to run both ACs by putting the hot water heater and fridge on gas. The sites are wooded and large. We were backed up to the lake but no access due to the large number of lily pads around the shoreline. We were here during the week and had the entire place almost to ourselves. Nice adult pool and lounge area and we were the only ones using the pool. There was a large mowed area with yardage markers to be used as a driving range. The restrooms were clean and air conditioned. The family center was large and WiFi was available. The biggest problem with this park is the roads. There are big potholes and in some places the road is almost gone. Also, lots of the pads at the sites are eroded away. Many of the sites are being used as permanent summer locations. There is a storage lot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$1
We overnighted here going to Irving and when we left Irving. We absolutely loved it; the roads have some potholes but nothing that's not unavoidable. Only down side is the low limbs, our toyhauler is 13'3" and had to be very careful what roads we went down due to low tree limbs. Overall a great place and very quiet and peaceful. Will return and stay longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$1
We enjoyed camping at this park very much. The park was very clean, mowed and the people were very friendly. We enjoyed the adult pool and club house. We look forward to camping here again. Thank you TT. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2010
$1
Shame on you TT. I have been to TT parks that leave a lot to be desired but this one is the worst park in which I have ever camped, TT or public. The grass has yet to be cut and is knee high in the activity fields, some campsites were under water (one with a 5th wheel in it) and some of the electric receptacles were open at the back. On 40ft MH had to be pulled out of the mud by tractors after backing straight into a site. Add to that the distance this park is from anything and it makes a compelling case for going somewhere else and paying. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2010
$1
As a TT member, camping is free. This park is really far from everything. Quite. Closed except week ends during winter season. We stay here when we come for the Canton, First Monday Trade Days. Sites are spaced out well. Lots of trees and the resulting leaves on the ground. Little grass at the camp sites. Large grassed area in the center of the park. Wi-Fi only at the Activity center. Sites are generally level. Internal roads are dirt and should be graded more frequently. Many campers stored on sites. During the regular season when entire park is open all the time, there are lots of interesting activities at the activity center. Too bad there are not any 50 amp sites or pull-through sites. It gets very hot here in the summer. Our rig has two A/C's and we can only run one and sometimes not that, when cooking. Partly understandable that there is no Wi-Fi at the sites, due to how the camp sites are strung out over such a large area. Nevertheless, if TT wants to call itself a 1st class RV resort they need to upgrade the roads, electricity, Wi-Fi, and include pull-through sites at this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
Nice park, friendly staff with spacious sites. Some sites near the lake can get very muddy and wet during rainy season. Heavy units can get stuck in the muddy clay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$35
This was a return trip for us. There are some sites that are open for satellite access, and all sites are big enough for any size rig. It's about 20 miles to a real grocery store, which can be a drawback, but we've experienced worse. This is dependable and predictable, we'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$25
This is in the Thousand Trails park system, about 45 minutes north of Houston. Everything was very clean. Lake is very large, 22,000 acres. 3 nice docking areas. Since I was on a business trip I didn't get a chance to do any fishing but would like to go back to fish this lake. Plenty of room for big rigs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$25
This is in the Thousand Trails park system and was also very clean and spacious. Park is about 1.5 hours east of Dallas. There are no pull thru's at this park but the back-in spaces were very adequate. There were some very nice lake front sites available. Will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com