218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Mustang Island State Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (361) 749-5246
CGID2870

Mustang Island State Park

Camp Information
Sites
48
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   6   7   7   6   5   5   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$20
This is a state park that has so much potential if the State of Texas would grant some money for updates and additions to the park; it's frustrating because privately owned parks are able to manage and profit so why can't the state. The campground is set up like a large parking lot. Your picnic table may be on the wrong side of the RV depending on your site assignment and the space between RV's is tight. We got lucky and ended up in site #48 (at the end of the row with no neighbors on one side) so we had a little more room to spread out and actually had some grass, although it was full of sticker burs. The site was level, the electricity was consistent for our 50 amp rig, but the water pressure dropped as the park filled up with campers (especially at night when everyone was taking showers after coming in from the beach). The bathhouse was filthy and the floors had so much sand it looked like the beach. The beach access is very nice and showers are provided to rinse off before loading back into your vehicle. We really enjoyed the bay access for wade fishing across the highway from the main part of the park. We would return here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$30
Stay for the amazing gulf coast beach. Sites are set up on a parking lot type of area. Bathrooms okay but showers really need updating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2014
$20
Good News - The park offers 50amp service which is a good thing and something that a lot of state parks don't offer. The distance to the beach is a little over 1/4 mile (from the middle of the park and even closer if your near the office). Wi-Fi is available which is a good thing as most state parks do not even offer that but the signal at best is weak. We are in site#26 and our I-pad drops the signal often. The campers two sites closer said their tablet was having problems connecting also. Our netbook with an antenna booster had better luck but still slow. If you have internet connection with your phone you will be happy to know the signal for AT&T and Verizon both work well. If your into running, the highway has nice wide shoulders but I would caution that it is a popular practice for slower vehicles to pull over onto the shoulder to let faster ones pass them by so be careful and as always run against traffic. The better alternative would be to run on the beach which I thoroughly enjoyed with the exception of the wind. The beach has a nice area for the family that is closed to vehicles which makes it safer. Each site has nice sturdy picnic tables with canopies. The sites are all back in and the lay out makes it easy to get into and setup. The sites are also very level. There are 3 shower stalls for both the men and the woman with plenty of hot water. The shower stalls are on the first floor and the restrooms are on the second floor. The people in the front office were friendly and helpful. Bad News - My biggest complaint which is really no fault of the park is the heavy winds. The wind were strong enough to cause us to pull one of our slides in so that the canopy would not tear. Showers especially could use some updating. This might include having sinks in the shower area. Bathrooms are not heated and the temps did get down in the 30's several nights. You are at least 5 miles from any town which may or may not be a problem for some. There is no site sewer hook-ups but there is a dump station near the entrance to the park Conclusion - All in all it is a very nice park and I would definitely stay he again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2013
$20
If you don't need utilities, skip this place and go camp directly on the beach. If you need water and electric, and you're OK with the 14 day limit and no view, then stay here. The sites are in a side by side position (2 rigs share a slab). Go find a site before you register and pay because the office people will assign two giant rigs right next to each other even when the park is half empty. Allow 30 minutes for check-in even if no one else is in line. Showers are lukewarm and bathrooms unheated. The little prickly burrs are everywhere; do not walk on the grass. I did enjoy walking to the beach in the mornings for sunrise, and hearing the ocean even though you can't see it behind the dunes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$18
Internal roads are paved, sites are back-ins (lots of room to maneuver), level and are spacious, facilities worked well, site was satellite friendly.Sites are basically parking spots with covered picnic tables. Staff were friendly, park WiFi worked well but can be slow and signal is best near the office, Virgin Mobile MiFi worked well, AT&T cell service was good. The park was quiet. Rate is based on weekly rate with a Texas park pass. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
This is a basic campground right on the Gulf of Mexico. The campground is a basic parking lot with picnic table and shade cover. The showers are clean but rather old, same with the bathrooms. Nice and quite and very good fishing on the beach, you can drive right out on the beach. Had a great time, very nice area, very nice park personnel. Would definitely stay here again. Make sure you have mosquito repellent. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
This park is great from the point that it is extremely accessible to the Gulf - just a short drive or walk away; however, it is pretty bare bones - just the bare essentials. While the restrooms and showers were clean, they are pretty old and in need of updating. The park staff is very friendly and it was quiet overall. If you want to find a site close to the beach and do not really care about anything else, this is your spot! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
We camped one night in a hook up site and two nights on the beach. The campground area was OK, just a parking lot with electricity, water and a covered picnic table. The bathroom/showers were very run down but clean. There was plenty of security, even on the nights we were parked on the beach. My only problem was all of the garbage strewn everywhere, around the park and especially on the beach. I think the state has a responsibility to clean up the beaches. They're collecting money ($20 per night to camp on the beach - including the park admission fee) so they should be able to afford a few trash bags and folks to pick up once and a while. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$18
The sites are level but close together. We were in site #1 so we had an open side. Our neighbors were in a tent and a pop up camper so it didn't bother us. We were able to access the WIFI from our location. It was fun to feed the seagulls right outside our door. The beach is close by and was very clean. Very nice to ride bikes and walk on. We enjoyed Corpus and Port A. There is a laundry about 6 miles from the park which we full timers always appreciate. We put the fifth wheel on the Port A ferry to travel to our next location. That was a first for us but no problem at all. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$20
Monday, March 18. Mustang Island State Park, Mustang Island, TX. This part costs us $20 with a Texas State Park Pass and if we stay another night it would have been cheaper. There are 48 sites on a parking lot with another three or four hosts sites. All sites have water and electricity and a little cover for the picnic table. There are also a number of primitive sites right on the beach mostly for those tenting. The park has hot showers, picnic shelters on the beach, swimming and fishing. The sites aren’t bad and within walking distance to the beach. This is one of the few undeveloped barrier island habitats on the entire Texas Gulf coast. Wild mustangs used to roam here. The Gulf of Mexico is on one side of this thin strand of land and the Corpus Christi Bay on the other. Everything washes ashore here as this island protects the mainland from hurricanes. This is a big birding area and in the spring and fall birds can be seen migrating north or south. It is about ten miles north of Padro Island National Seashore. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$20
This is another typical Texas park. Well taken care of but basic. The sites are double side by side sites with Lanai over picnic tables. The campground is basically a parking lot style setup, but clean and reasonably care for. No fire pits, but there a raised grill for cooking at each site. You cannot see the beach or the ocean from the campground because of the sand dunes, but the beach is close, you can hear the ocean. The restrooms are open air toilets and showers, a little chilly in cool weather, but clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2012
$17
The rate reflects use of a discount coupon and Texas Pass. We stayed here for 6 weeks, so obviously we liked it, more due to the location than the park per se. As others have noted, the spaces are tight on one side with the design of side by side hookups, especially if both rigs have slides. The picnic tables with ramada on the other side are also placed side by side, leaving a cozy outdoor dining situation. In short, it’s basically a parking lot with a reasonably short walk to beach, though no view of the Gulf. The beach was great while we were there, although volunteers said it can get piled high with seaweed later in the year. Of course, rough seas bring in a lot of garbage, but provided us with hours of entertainment doing beach clean-up. A couple of companies deliver propane on site with a somewhat regular schedule and competitive price. There’s a laundromat conveniently located about 6 miles away. Grocery shopping is quite a bit farther away, but not a problem since we were making frequent trips into Corpus Christi (a great city!). Birding in this area is absolutely wonderful. There were ranger-led beach and wetlands walks which were tremendously informative and highly recommended. Staff and volunteers were very friendly, adding to the pleasantness of our stay here. The internet was useable, but not the best. Our only hesitancy to return here for a “winter Texan” stay was the salt air which wreaks havoc on everything metal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2012
$22
Well, what can I say about this park. Like the other reviewers, they are right. It is basically a parking lot, which means sites are level and you have a very small patch of 'grass' in front or behind your rig. But you can't complain, what do you expect. You are walking distance to the beach but can not see it from the park. Also the staff was very nice. That is about all the good things to say. As for what to expect other than that. The picnic table is very small with them being barely covered. Ants are everywhere and DO bite! Just setting up your rig will absolutely cause you to get eaten up by either the ants or the mosquitoes. The beach was in horrible condition while we were here. Seaweed everywhere. Trash, diapers, plastic bags, old cups, old lumber all over. I am from Texas and knew not to expect much but some friends really wanted to come here so we decided to join them. Of course, we had a good time with friends but don't expect much. Know what your getting. I would recommend this place to someone wanting to visit the area for family and friends or to go out fishing, but other than that not much here. Also please don't think I am being harsh like another reviewer said, just trying to let you guys know what to expect before you come out. If you do decide on this place stay positive and make the best of it. My wife and I will not be coming back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$16
We stayed here for 3 nights as a central location to do area activities, including the beach. The sites are close together and not at all private, but the vicinity to the beach is excellent and the park staff are excellent. The campground was quiet at night. The picnic tables and covers for them are very small, making finding shade on a hot day hard unless you have an awning. The beach was clean and very accessible, but the bathrooms by the beach were out of commission and looked like they got hit pretty hard by some storm. The bathrooms were clean, but outdated. I think we will stay here again in a few years. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$16
This state park is unlike the two others we have stayed at in Texas. It is a piece of asphalt about 150 feet wide and maybe a quarter mile long, with parking for 48 RVs in close proximity to each other. The closeness of the sites reminded us of the many private RV "resorts" we saw in the area that were even closer together. As another reviewer noted, people can park their motorhome rigs to maximize their privacy by having the door not directly face other campers. Staff was very accommodating in allowing changes to site assignments. In our case, we were at the end of the park, so there was no one on one side of us. The park was quiet and relaxing during our week long stay and was full most nights that we were here in early March. The showers have no privacy at all for the dressing areas, but do have shower curtains between the dressing area and the shower stall. We did not like this arrangement. The campground is only 8 miles from Corpus Christi (and 14 from Port Aransas), and is a convenient place to stay while visiting or birding in the CC area. Activities while at the campground are limited; we walked on the beach most days which is only a short walk away. Dunes provide some protection from winds off the gulf. There is no shade on site but each site has a picnic table with a pergola over it, but on most evenings it was too windy to enjoy sitting out. Birding in the area is outstanding with many first bird sightings. Rate does not reflect the $4 fee per person per night that can be avoided by purchasing an annual pass for $60. The pass, with camping discounts, pays for itself in only a few overnights. In spite of the limitations of the park, we'd stay here again when in the Corpus Christi area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2011
$16
Calling this park a "parking lot" is a bit harsh. There is lawn, picnic tables, and charcoal grills separating every other site. Staff does a good job of pairing motorhomes that can pull straight in with trailers that back in for the best privacy possible. Beach is great and convenient. Ranger patrol were frequent, and the gate is locked after 10pm. Campers are given the combination on check-in. Propane trucks came by about 2-3 times a week. Buy the annual day use pass for $60.00 and this is the best beach campground value anywhere at $16.00 per night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2011
$24
We are trying this park as an alternate to Nueces County, Padre Balli Park; locate south about 7 miles on North Padre Island. Another poster had reported that park has exceeded its value at $23/night and I agree. Others have described this park, distance to the beach, etc, very well. I find the general layout/facility very well done and a better sense of safety and security here. The rate was $16 plus $8/day for the entrance fee for the wife and me. On the plus side is the Wi-Fi. It is available in the park office and office parking lot and may be available at your site depending on how close you are to the office. We have 2 to3 bars and decent speed in site 3. The down side is the showers which are unheated with no entrance door or privacy for the dressing areas. There is a shower stall plastic curtain but it is 12” too short. The shower head is fixed, in the wall, and directed at the entrance to the shower which guarantees the dressing area will be wet concrete. Peeling paint and a crude design reminds one you are in a government facility. I would stay here again for access to the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$16
I've stayed at this campground on several occasions. It is centrally located to Mustang Island/North Padre Island area. As others have mentioned, it is basically a large parking area with water and electric hookups. It is easy to access sites. Staff is very friendly and the campground is reasonably quiet. While no cable TV is available, I was able to receive over-the-air broadcasts from several local stations. WiFi worked better this trip than in the past and AT&T cell signal was typical for AT&T. Showers are a bit "tired," but this is a beach park. Restrooms were very clean. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$18
WiFi here was spotty but acceptable. You park in a gaint parking lot. AT&T cell signal is very weak. You have about a 5 minute walk to the beach. The park personnl are very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms are ok not great, but clean. You do not have much of a view and are very close to next camper. We would probabaly stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$16
We stayed here for 1 week. The sites are close and there is no sewer. Overall it is a quiet park with the sounds of the gulf. We enjoyed the strolls on the beach. Wished it was a little closer, or at least that we could see the gulf, but still it wasn't far. There is a ferry if you are coming from Port Aransas. At low tide they will not allow fifth wheels or motor homes on the ferry. We waited for an hour and a half and then decided to make the loop around to Corpus Christi and come in from the south. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$17
I stayed here two weeks. Sites are setup where you have another site within 6 feet but the other side has a covered picnic table with 30 feet from the next site. Water and electric hookups are at the rear of the site so depending on what site you get you may need 20 foot of water hose or electric cord. Sites are level and paved with a grass area where the picnic table is. Park has Wi-Fi at the main office building. I was able to get Wi-Fi at my site using my external Wi-Fi adapter. Speed was good but it quit working for a few hours couple of times. Verizon cell and data signal was strong. There is an easy accessible dump station at the entrance. The ocean is a 5 minute walk from the RV camping area. There is a paved parking lot near the ocean or you can drive and park on the beach with your car or truck. Camping is allowed right on the beach and I seen a number of class C and 5th wheels camped on the beach during my stay. Beach was always clean with exception of a few things that washed up from the surf. Camping area and beach is well patrolled with the park rangers being visible but not objectionable. The entrance gate is locked during the night. I really enjoyed my stay and only marked it down a bit for no full hook ups and for being a bit cramped on one side of each site. I will stay here again the next time I am in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$24
This is a camping, RV parking area located within the state park. It is situated between the beach/dunes and the highway. It is about a 5-10 minute walk to the beach access area which is also a day use area. There is some road noise. Sites are back to back sites. Each site has a picnic table on a partially covered pad. The entire area is one large paved parking area so there is plenty of room to maneuver your RV. We didn't see much of the park staff except during check in. They were very helpful and quick with the check in process. The dump station was easily accessible. We would stay here again if in the Corpus Christi area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
The beach access is not convenient. We did not have a homey feeling at this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$16
We had a wonderful three night stay here. The park was clean and well patrolled by the park personnel. The sites were paved and grouped in pairs. You were very close to your neighbor on one side, but had lots of room with a nice covered picnic area on the other side. There were two park hosts here but, they were not to be seen. The beach was a 5 to 10 minute walk from the camp sites. We really enjoyed the beach. It was nearly deserted with just a few walkers and people fishing. The sand was very hard and you could easily drive a car ( 4 wheel drive was not needed) on it in designated locations. The rest rooms were closed one day for repair. The dump station was in good repair and had plenty of water available. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$16
We were really pleased with our stay to Mustang Island. The view of the ocean was breathtaking. I was pleased with the security. You had to pass them in order to enter the park. I was concerned that the showers did not have separate doors. I felt that anyone could walk in on you. Over all we were pleased with the sites, covered picnic areas, and ocean access. We were right near the ocean. Waking up to the sound of waves hitting was fantastic. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$16
This is a basic RV park, but absolutely amazing beaches. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$16
A very nice state park, very large land holding, and is right on the gulf. Water front dry camping is available but any towing is your responsibility. Bathhouses need maintenance. While we were there it was very windy, too much so for awnings. You can drive on the beach here and the national park is only 6 or so miles away. All in all great natural scenery and quiet. Take the ferry in Port Aransas and go to the mainland for a special trip. We found the restaurants in Port Aransas to be quite nice and fairly reasonible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$24
While Mother Nature takes her toll on the park, the ranger staff makes every effort to make ones stay pleasant. Salt and sand have their way of aging everything they touches. The park staff was extremely helpful and was always available. The Assistant Park Ranger, Juan Sanchez is one of the most helpful rangers we have come across in our three years of full time RVing. He is certainly an asset to Mustang Island Park. We enjoyed our stay and will certainly return. Whether it will happen or not, a lot of big changes are scheduled for this park and hopefully, they will come true. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$16
Nice spaces and easy to park the RV. Bathrooms on the beach were is serious need of repair. Others were in good working order. Staff was great, and gladly refunded our last night since we left early. The only downfall was that you can not see the water from these sites, however you can hear the waves crashing. Beach was practically empty and we had it pretty much to ourselves. We would come back if ever in the area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2007
$24
Personnel were not well trained and was not familiar with the area. Check-in took an extremely long time due to the lack of training. The value of this campground is not worth the cost. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2006
$15
The biggest drawback to the State Park was the showers. They were grungy and need an overhaul. Other than that we enjoyed being at MISP. Being just a short walk to a very long beach was very enjoyable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2006
$14
We were so disapointed in this State Park. The sites were parking lot style. And site are very close together. The staff was not very helpful. The rate of the beach is 8 , the park 2 . We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2006
$15
This is a great park if you like rustic parks--it's not concrete slab parking with swimming pools and hot tubs. The pads are paved with plenty of room between campers and each site has a covered table. There are two rows of pads; one with a view of Corpus Christi; the other with a view of the sand dunes. The Gulf of Mexico is just on the other side of the dunes, a quick 5 minute walk, and the beach is natural (expect seaweed, shells and wind-blown sand). TV and cell phone reception is good. There's no road noise and the only sound we heard was the wind blowing (yes, it seems to blow consistently). Staff seems laid-back, helpful and friendly. Despite misgivings after reading other reviews, I found Mustang Island State Park to be very enjoyable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$15
We were disappointed during this week-long stay at Mustang Island S.P. The beach (hidden from the RV park by the dunes) had large quantities of dried sea weed and extensive trash. The first thing we did was pick up about 20 cigarette butts from our site. Each site has a picnic table with a shade barrier overhead, and a grassy area on one side. Each paved site is intended for two RV rigs. One thing has changed this park's character, which the original planners could not foresee: all the huge rigs (and those with slideouts) have resulted in potentially very cramped sites (unless you are lucky to have tenters on both sides). My slide-out and my neighbor's almost touched. The only upgrade in this park in the last ten years that we could see (beside shower renovations) was the addition of special sites with sewage for the camp host (s) outside the general RV area. State park personnel were obviously hardworking and doing their best to make a pleasant campground, but could not keep up with the demands. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$15
$3 off per person with state park sticker. No trees. 1/4 mile to beach. Paved Road. Covered Picnic table. EZ in-out. Just a large parking lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com