219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Caprock Canyons State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (806) 455-1492
CGID2881

Caprock Canyons State Park

Camp Information
Sites
206
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   9   4   9   10   6   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$20
This is a gem of the southwest. I wish I could post a photo or 100 to show you the magnificent views of this canyon. There is no view from the campsites, but only a short car ride for those who don't like hiking. And if you do enjoy hiking, bring your hiking boots! And your camera. My suggestion would to come in the spring or fall. August was way too hot. I am a Texan and should have known better. We did get to enjoy the canyon in the cool of the morning. The campsites are nicely spaced and each has a covered picnic table. Not much shade, but there are trees that give a little buffer from neighbors. There is one main restroom/bathing facility. Mostly clean - showers could use some care. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$20
Very nice park. Staff is very friendly. Several secluded campsites. Will stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$15
Wow, very hot while we were there! No shade for the RV or truck, but there was a shade shelter for the table and grill. Site had some slope to it, but not too bad. You can see the Texas State Bison herd here, along with prairie dogs, rabbits, and rattlesnakes! There is a very scenic drive, and some very scenic hiking trails. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
Great scenery, quiet, spacious sites with table and shelter. Wild Bison roam free in park, but not in camping area. Fishing lake with easy access. Great hiking and biking trails - horse trails too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
Upon checking in at the visitor center, we were greeted by a "less than friendly" park ranger and volunteer. I was glad that we were able to use our Texas State Park Pass discount that was available, as I would have moved on. If you choose to camp here, I would make sure to fuel up before making your way to the campground. Also, make sure you have plenty of food, as you will have a long way to travel to get groceries or find a good place to eat. We've been to Palo Duro Canyon, and I would certainly skip Caprock for Palo Duro, any day of the week. The mesquite bushes did very little to provide shade. The bathrooms had broken tiles and "un-invitable." Cell service and internet were NON-EXISTENT! I had to "beg" to get the free audio CD tour of the park. It was also: uneventful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
Very scenic state park with level sites with good space between. Nice shelters with table and fire ring (buy some wood for campfire in Quitaque). Numerous mountain bike and hiking trails. We saw bison up close (do not approach or try to feed), a roadrunner, and a prairie dog town. Very friendly and helpful personnel at the interesting visitor's center. Be warned the center closes at 5 PM. Only ding was confusion on the assigned sites. We had made a reservation weeks in advance, but camp host was confused and did not have correct information as to site that was assigned. The campground was crowded and it was every man for himself. No sites were marked as reserved and some people were blocking sites with chairs, and people without reservations were taking sites, although the sign at the entrance said all sites were reserved. Camp host was clueless as to assigned sites. The site assigned to us was incorrect, a 30 amp instead of 50 as reserved, and someone had already taken that site anyway. To be fair, the host said it was his first day on the job. Suggest they put notices on the sites as "reserved" with name of camper. A minor annoyance. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$20
This is a beautiful state park. The canyon & the drive through the park is stunning. We saw numerous deer when driving through & saw the bison. Campground is very nice & sites are level. Lots of hiking trails. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$22
Great place to visit. The trailer area was way out of the way where the actual views were. You have to drive to soak in all the beauty. If you are a tent camper, you can sleep where all the beauty is, without water or electric hook-ups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$20
This campground is located in a mesquite thicket. The mesquite trees provide a moderate degree of privacy from neighboring campers but not a lot of shade. The campsites are all back ins and paved and level. Rate shown is for a 50 amp site. 30 amp sites are only $15. This park is home to the Texas state bison herd. The canyon is beautiful and it is a short (1/2 mile) walk to get to it. It is not visible from the campground. There are a lot of trails here for hikers and bikers and horseback riders. The restrooms were clean, but the showers had some tiles missing, and it looked like they needed a makeover. The visitor center is new and has a store that sells t-shirts, hats, etc. but no camping supplies. It is only 3 miles in to Quitaqua where there is a well stocked grocery store. We would stay here again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$15
Ruggedly beautiful, remote state park. Campground is set among a bunch of mesquite trees. The campsites are spaced far enough apart and, with the mesquite trees, there is plenty of privacy. There are quite a few hiking trails and the drive into the canyon is stunning. The Texas State Bison heard also roams through the park (but not the campground). It was definitely worth the trip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
A great state park. Has large level sites with good electrical and water connections. Tremendous views but very very hot in the summer. We would come again, but during a cooler season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$15
Fantastic views although Honey Flats campground doesn't have the canyon views. Clean restrooms, large sites with privacy, shaded picnic tables and fire ring in Honey Flats. Good hiking. Good interpretive programs at the amphitheater and the bison herd is really interesting to watch. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$18
Beautiful area, nice hikes. Privacy between campsites and quiet. Bison herd allowed to roam but not near campsites. Lot's of wildlife in area. Lake is down but pretty to look at and I saw people catching fish. We are in a 34' fifth wheel, no problem getting in to a site. The only complaint I have would be the three dollar entry fee per day for camping. Why not just say the camping per day is 18 bucks? I guess if you pay 70 dollars for a Texas pass it will go back down to 15 dollars. Seems like a long way around to me. Just charge "out of state" people 18 and Texas 15...I'm from out of state and I don't mind paying a little extra since I don't pay state tax here. I just don't like feeling tricked. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
We camped here for 6 nights during the 100 year celebration of the Southern Bison Herd. The herd has been released in the park to roam their original grasslands. The sites are large and very easily accommodated our 39' 5th wheel. 30 and 50 amp service is available. Each site has a covered picnic table with a grill/fire ring. There is a burn ban currently in place. We rented horses from a man in Quitaque and he delivered them to the park for us. A trail ride was part of the weekend celebration and the folks kindly let us tag along on our horses. I highly recommend doing this is possible because you get a very different perspective of the canyon from the bottom of the canyon on the back of a horse. There are great hiking and riding trails. There is also the Trailway system which is part of the park but accessed outside of the park. It was a railway that had been abandoned and has the only RxR tunnel in Texas. Good for hiking and biking. The canyon is glorious and the history of the area is part of the lore that made Texas great. The bath and showers were very clean. I would go back as many times as I could. For those who cannot handle heat, I would recommend camping in the spring or early fall. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$17
As with other Texas State Parks, this is a great place. We loved the views and scenery. The campsites were level and well spaced. All of the facilities worked just fine. The bathhouse needs a little updating but it worked just fine. The new registration center / visitor's center is a great place. Our only disappointment was the claim of the buffalo being near the park. They were so far as way that all you could see were little black specs. We attended the interpretive Ranger's program. It was well done and very interesting about the primitive people that used to live in the park area. She had a spear and an atlatl that we got to throw. Neat!! We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$15
The scenery was great and the campground was very good. There is a dump site nearby but none of the sites have direct sewer hook ups. Water and electricity is provided. It is a good cheap place to stay for a few days to a week at a time. Low rates of $15 are available if you become a state park member - $60 per year. Otherwise an entrance fee of $3 per person is required. It is well worth it if you camp with them more than 10 times per year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$15
Nice place, but a poor comparison to Palo Duro Canyon. Camp sites are quiet and private, but have no view. Fire ring, covered picnic table, level sites and plenty of space. Bathrooms okay, no WiFi and cell signal was fair. It is a long, long way from anything, so stock up on food. Quitague is the nearest town and there is nothing there. However, this cg is a lot better than some private cg's we have stayed in. Probably would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$18
This is a beautiful state park. Site was slightly unlevel. Ample space between sites. Nice hiking paths. Bathroom/showers were OK. They were short handed the weekend we went so did not have the planned activities so that was a bummer. We will definitely be going back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$15
This campground has beautiful scenery to enjoy and the "official" Texas state herd of Bison. They have many viewing areas for the bison and a very informative center located at the main office. There are a few Bison Statues located throughout the park in the open fields. These bison are not real, although there are plenty of "live" bison around. The park is well maintained and clean. Stock up on groceries before you go, as the nearest large supermarket is 52 miles away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$15
We really enjoy this campground. On Saturdays they open what they call the Discovery Center, which hosts educational games and activities for children. The playground is just an old slide and swing set, but our kids still had lots of fun, and they were updating the one by the lake when we were there. Very friendly staff and volunteers, nice little fishing lake, and plenty of pavement for a family bike ride (if you don't mind riding hills). There are lots of great hiking and mountain biking trails too. If you're up for it, drive down to Monk's Crossing and ride your mountain bikes to the old Clarity railroad Tunnel. We pulled the kids in bike trailers and they really enjoyed it. Each site in the Honey Flats Area (the area with hookups), has a covered picnic table, grill, fire ring, and lantern stand. You can easily find shade for a tent, but most of the trees are really too small to provide much for a camper. In all, it's definitely worth a visit--we've done two, and plan to do more. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$18
This area is on the edge of the Llano Estacado, the great flat plain that extends to Roswell NM. The red beds in the canyon contrast with the greenery to make some dramatic country. The miles-wide park offers fishing in Lake Theo, well maintained trails into the canyon and along the rim. Accommodations for horse people attract groups wanting to camp and ride. The Rails to Trails path is a bit rough, desolate and long for bikes. Staff was friendly but some were not well informed. The camp area is surrounded and closed in by mesquite thickets so you can't see the canyon from your RV but there is plenty of space between sites. Host site has full hookups when available but has a horizontal connection instead of normal vertical. Cell phone is weak but available. The grocery in Quitaque does not take credit cards. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$15
This is a fantastic place, if a person can handle the almost constant 30mph wind. The views are spectacular, the hiking is anywhere from easy to challenging, and the sites for equestrian camping are first-rate (although w/o electricity). The staff is the best you'll find anywhere: friendly, informative, helpful, and full of that West Texas personality. The restrooms were spotless, warm, and the hot water inexhaustible. The only negative (besides that cussed wind) were the bees and yellow jackets that came out when it warmed up and the wind died down. This park is maybe even prettier than Palo Duro, and doesn't have the crowds. If you're a Bob Wills fan, Turkey is about 10 miles away. Lubbock and Amarillo are approx. 2 hours away, but close enough for day-tripping to sights...and Caprock is a welcome refuge from city traffic. We've stayed here before, and will stay here again. And again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$15
We camped in site #8. Plenty of room to park our truck (1 ton dually) and 34' trailer. Biggest complaint was lots of flies and bees, which surprised us given the time of year. Park is home to official state bison herd, but we never saw them. We tackled some of the trails on mountain bikes, and they are technically challenging. Scenery is beautiful! Sportsman was our pick for best restaurant in Quitaque. Local hardware and grocery stores have basics; closest town with more than the basics is Plainview, about 48 miles from park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$15
This is a beautiful park. Campsites are clean and have fire rings. There are tons of trails to choose from and lots of wildlife. Restrooms and showers were clean and private. The only complaint -- bees and yellow jackets attacked when we first set up camp. We stayed at site 18 in the Honey Flat. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$20
Great campground in a fantastic State Park. This place has a little bit of something for everybody! Come and spend a few days in a true natural wonder. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
Would have been a 9 except the sites are hard to back into. They are 90 degrees to the road instead of 45. We had a deer bedding down for the night in the empty site across from us! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$15
A VERY nice state park, which we'll visit again. Beautiful trails, large private sites in Honey Loop, and very clean bathrooms. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$12
Great place to camp in a super nice State Park. Rangers were friendly and helpful and the Buffalo herd was a bonus. This is the place to go for quiet and outdoor fun. Stars can be seen for a trillion miles. You will love this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$15
Nice. The sites were relatively private and had trees for shade. We intend to return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$15
Great for tent camping. OK for trailers. I have been there with a tent and with a trailer. The walk in tent sites are right in the canyon with spectacular views. Unfortunately the RV sites are outside in a little forest with no views into the canyon. But nonetheless the park is great for hiking, biking and photography. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$25
Nice location with big private sites. The park is well kept and has lots of nice places to hike. Be sure and take a lot of supplies with you because things are limited in Quitaque. There roads are well kept making access easy. A great experience. Very warm, though, in August. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2005
$17
This is a wonderful, beautiful park. It reminded me of a mini-Grand Canyon! We walked a 6 hour hike one day ~with 3 young kids~ up the canyon to a place called Fern Cave. There are several shorter hikes as well. There were lots of kids riding their bikes on the paved paths, and they even had a small play ground for the kids. There is a large herd of bison living on this state park, but we never did see them. (Maybe we'll see them next time!) The sites were big, and there were bushes and small trees separating most of the sites for privacy. Each site had a nice covered picnic table, a place to hang your lantern, and a camp fire pit. The bathrooms and showers were immaculate, well stocked with soap and hand dryers. We were there when it was cold, so we appreciated the heaters in the bathroom! The staff was very friendly and helpful. We look forward to returning to Caprock Canyons State Park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2005
$14
We spent New Year's Eve 2004 here with 2 kids. Park was very quiet; less than half full. Very well maintained level paved sites. Plenty of room and isolated from neighbors. Although no shade for RV's, park has large covers over all tables. Excellent hiking trails through very rugged and gorgeous canyon country. Buffalo herd is difficult to see; isolated by a very tall fence. A viewing area is supposedly being worked on. At least 2 excellent playgrounds; very kid-friendly. Torrential rain had washed out the main road beyond the equine campground and everything in the back half of the park was shut down as of Jan. '05. Restrooms and showers were acceptably clean. We will definitely visit again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2004
$14
The park was very well maintained, but when we visited in October, they were having an "extreme" problem with wasps and yellow jackets. They were nice enough to warn us at the office when we checked in. We didn't think it would be a problem, as we were not afraid of bees. But, after only being in the park for 10 minutes, they were already trying to find their way into our rig. We had a 2001 Fleetwood Prowler 5th wheel and thought we were pretty safe. However, while my husband took a nap, I ended up fighting / killing about 12 that found their way inside. We ended up heading to Amarillo the next morning to find a Wal-Mart and some wasp killer. We went to 5 stores before finding any. The cashiers at Wal-Mart told us that people in that area were also having similar problems and that's why they were out of spray. We bought 5 cans of spray, just in case. Got back to the rig that afternoon and found about 20 more inside. Even after getting home from our 4-day weekend, for weeks we found dead ones all over the place. Had to vacuum and sweep everywhere to keep from stepping on the dead ones. The camp was really lovely, the weather was perfect (cool and clear) but we wouldn't go back during that time of year because of the bee problem. Not sure why the bees were swarming unless they can tell the weather is changing and they're looking for shelter. It snowed there the week after we got home. Really feel that the state (campground folks) should spray in order to control their numbers because it was not pleasant worrying about being stung. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$14
Sites are well seperated via trees and shrubs. All are back in but access is made easier due to depth and width of each site and a great access road. Park has miles of hiking/biking trails and is home to a moderatly sized buffalo herd. We've visited three times and plan to return. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com