219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Stephen F. Austin State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (979) 885-3613
CGID2899

Stephen F. Austin State Park

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   9   10   10   8   10   8   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$22
After driving in the traffic nightmare of the Katy Freeway, we were glad to get to our campsite at this lovely state park. There are numerous camp sites, but only sites 1-40 have full hookups, but only 30 amps. Sites 1-40 are also all pull through. Other sites have water only, and others are tent only. The campgrounds are vast, and forested with open meadows under the trees, making for a lot of shade. Each of the pull-through sites had a picnic table with a mowed area like some type of yard and patio, really unique. Lots of hiking and biking opportunities. Tons of deer. Rich in bird life. Hawks literally picking squirrels out of trees at our campsite. Purchasing a Texas State Parks Pass costs $70, but all future daily entrance fees are waived, and you get four second night 50% discounts, a good value. Staff was friendly. Trucks on I-10 some three miles distant could barely be heard, but were not annoying. Trains can also be heard from nearby Sealy. We bicycled out of the park, past a nice golf course, to visit the San Felipe State Historic Site. Museum was really nice and informative. For supplies, I would suggest a locally owned grocery store in Sealy called Bills. Great produce, meats, and Latino foods. Relaxing place, and we would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$22
Great campground. $22 for full hookups and nice sized lots. We had a church outing here during our camping trip. Lots of room for the kids to run and play. This is a great park so close to Houston. The sites are level and they do a good job keeping the restrooms clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$22
Only stayed 1 night but wish we could of stayed longer. Park is only a couple of miles north of I-10 and easy to find. Check in was easy, they have a huge TV on the wall with a map of the park on the screen that shows you what sites are available and which are not and then you pick the site you want, pretty cool. The big trailer loop are all pull through sites, inside and outside sites with a large grassy area in the middle. Our site was fairly level, 30 amp was good, voltage on both legs was 120 and steady, water pressure was good, sewer hookup was standard threaded PVC. Each site has a huge yard with picnic table and fire pit. There are several TV stations available over the air, Verizon signal was good. Lots of hiking trails, there's a golf course right there plus lot's of historical stuff as well. Yes, we will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$30
No Wi-Fi except at office and we didn’t try it. Antenna TV worked fine. Lots of nature paths so great if you want to walk in the woods. Lot of trees and big RV spots. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$22
Flat, spacious and clean campground. Very friendly and helpful Rangers at office. Easy biking and hiking trails. Wonderfully quiet and abundant bird life. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
One of the more unique layouts.  A big loop with drive-through sites, each with full hook- ups and a grassy area the size of my back yard! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
Breath-taking park. Large sites, spaced far apart around a large meadow where deer congregate at daybreak. Short walk to the Brazos river where I thought of wagon trains coming through 150 years ago. We have AT&T phones and air card for the laptop and had no problem with service. Staff are friendly and kind. It's so lovely here we stayed over an extra night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$22
Large level sites, all pull through, a little maneuvering w/ big rig do to location of trees and stumps. 30 amp service with sewer. Paved roads and sites. Each site has large grass area with fire pit and picnic table. Dog friendly with many hiking paths. Verizon voice and data excellent. Very good over the air TV reception. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$22
We like state parks. This one has sewers, unusual for state parks. Would rate it even higher if it had 50 amp power. Great trails for walking and geocaching. Only problem we had was that they shut the park down for three days of deer herd thinning by hunters and cut our visit short by a day even though we had an on-line reservation. We did get a one day refund. We did not pay the daily $5/person entrance fee because we had an annual Texas parks pass or the park would have been more expensive. We would definitely come here again although probably not in hot months. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
We stayed here for 6 nights in site 1, which was a pull through, full-hook up 30 amp site. Picnic tables and fire ring are at each site. Beware of the wood they sell as it is very green and nearly impossible to light without a map gas torch. Lots of trees, but not so much that you can't utilize satellite and with our antenna, we got 47 channels out of Houston. The campground hosts were not a picnic; however, they were not mean either. I think they just had no happiness in their lives. We got good connectivity with Verizon, AT&T and Sprint. This park has nice walking trails and is well kept. The best part of the park were the deer, bunnies and butterflies everywhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$20
Beautiful entrance to park down a farm road about 3 miles from I-10. Clean campsites are all loop asphalt with concrete pad picnic table, lantern post, and fire ring. Camp hosts very helpful and visible every few hours. Wood and ice for sale. Several hiking and bike trails. We were here in early February with 45-55 degree weather at night and cold rain. Yes, will camp here again. Great experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$20
Stayed here one night while driving from Texas to Florida. Park is 2-3 miles from I-10. Check-in was quick and the clerk was very friendly. Adequate space between campers, not elbow-to-elbow like many others. Shaded campsites but open enough to receive satellite signal. Bathrooms are older but were clean. Make sure you keep a flashlight handy if out after dark because there are no street lights. Nice trails for hiking or walking the dog. Overall, very nice stay. We would definitely stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
This is a well shaded campground within walking distance by way of several trails to the Brazos River. We arrived here just after several hours of moderate to heavy rain from thunderstorms. The paved looped roads and paved pull-through sites were a major benefit following the rain. Sewer hook-ups are included at the extreme spacious sites and there is only 30 Amp service. Big rigs will need to use caution on the roads to avoid low hanging tree limbs. Friendly and informative staff advised us the sites near number 19 were good for satellite TV and Verizon 3G. The information proved to be correct and both operated without problems. This was an overnight stop for us. We will likely return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$20
Great staff: especially the Ranger whose knowledge of nature and birds is shared enthusiastically. (In fact, we didn't even know about this park until we met him at an RV show and his excitement about this park was contagious.) This is a really nice place, a beautiful park with hiking trails in a great area for birding and biking. Sites are well spaced, pull throughs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
This is a great park for rest and relaxation. Has lots of shade, walking paths, and level pull-through sites. The sites are well laid out providing privacy. The wildlife viewing is great. Deer graze near your site. We'll stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
Stayed one night on our travels back to the east coast. Nice campground with spacious sites. Located close to the Brazos River with hiking trails. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$22
If you really like nature and can do without clubhouse, pot luck dinners, swimming pool etc, this is the place to come. Nice friendly check-in at the gate. Clean bath houses. A number of small bike or walking paths. Benches and fireplace/BBQ for all sites. Apparently this is a busy park especially over the weekends, so early booking is advised. NOTE: There is a daily fee of $4 per person per day added to your camp ground expenses. This is a park admission fee. We liked this place and will definitely stay here again given the opportunity. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$18
Very nice state park environment. Only 30 amps so if you need 50 for AC in the summer that might be an issue. Short hiking paths, Brazos River access. Close to I-10 with the metro area - big mall. camping world in one direction and less congested Sealy with amenities such as restaurants, Wal-Mart etc the other way. San Felipe itself is a very nice small town. If you're going to stay in Texas parks for several nights the park pass is a good buy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
The staff was friendly and efficient at check-in and during our visit. Deer abound in this park. One watched me set up my trailer. There were a few incidents, basically no fault of the park. First, there is a burn ban in effect due to drought conditions in this part of Texas. No campfires or charcoal fires. Second, there was a pipe failure and we lost water pressure on Friday of Labor Day weekend. They called in a repair crew and they fixed it in the wee hours of Saturday morning. Noisy for campers, but it fixed the problem. Then, wouldn’t you know it started raining every afternoon and evening of our 4-night stay. There was a drainage problem on our site, but I would say that is the exception. I should have selected more carefully, but it was kind of hard to pick out, especially since they didn’t have any rain to speak of all summer up until now. I would pick a site on the outside of the trailer loop on far side away from the entrance road or near the bath house. All trailer sites are pull-through, 30-amp, full hookup with shade. There's a nice looking golf course on site. We had a report that the bath house in the tent area was in poor shape but ours seemed very clean. Most sites are well shaded. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$26
Wonderful park! Wildlife every where. It was very quiet and the people were nice. It was also pet friendly. All sites are pull through. I would recommend this park to everyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
Beautiful setting among large trees with deer roaming the park morning and night. Sites are well laid out and were not a problem for our 40 footer. Park grounds are super maintained without losing any of the feeling of being in the woods. Low power reading (107 volts)and weak breaker at site caused some concern but would not stop us from returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
Fantastic park. Lots of wildlife and its very quite. Great pull thru sites. The location should be listed as Sealy, TX as San Felipe is just a spot in the road with a very active policeman. Every time we went by he had someone stopped. Speed limit is 40 in the middle of nowhere so be cautious. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
This was an outstanding park. It is located in a beautiful heavily forested area along the Brazos River. There are wonderful hiking and biking trails. We saw deer in the mornings and evenings. The park is remote and there is no traffic noise. About all you ever hear are birds. The sites are all long pull-thrus with lots of shade and space. Only a few of the sites were occupied so we had plenty of privacy. Despite the trees, we were able to hook up to satellite TV. Verizon and AT&T cell phone coverage was not very good. Our Sprint Internet card worked. The facilities and grounds are well maintained and the staff is very helpful. There is a golf course and club house with dining facilities. This park is our idea of a perfect getaway and we look forward to returning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
We really enjoyed this park. The deer freely roamed through the campsites. The hike and bike trails were nice. There is also a nice golf course at the entrance of the park. We plan to stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$20
This is a nice State Park with easy access to I-10, just west of Houston. They have easy access pull-thrus. They also have nice bike trails for hiking and biking. In general, just a nice place to relax. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$20
What a nice surprise, so close to a big city like Houston. Lots of shade and wildlife. Deer wandered through the campsite early mornings and evenings. Short hike to Brazos River. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$16
Easy to get to state park. Very clean and the pull throughs were all accessible to any size rig. Would stay here anytime. Right off I-10 about 10 minutes west of Katy (Houston area). On the edge of the Brazos River. Has an excellent golf course next to it with great fees for seniors (played in cart for less than $20). Easy driving distance to Katy Mills outlet Mall. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com