219004 User submitted reviews online!!
DeSoto Resort State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 73 user reviews. Phone: (256) 845-5075
CGID29

DeSoto Resort State Park

Camp Information
Sites
137
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   8   3   10   10   9   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$31
We camped here in a 5th wheel for four nights. The campground is very clean, beautiful, quiet, and comfortable. We had a pull through, but the back in sites provided a more secluded camp site. It's a little bit of walk to the bathhouse, but an added bonus was it had 2 washers and dryers. There was very little phone signal but the WiFi at the campstore worked beautifully. This would be a great campground to see the fall leaves. I would love to return here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$32
Great place as always. We come to this park 2 or 3 times a year. Lodge has great food at reasonable prices but I was not crazy about their seafood buffet for the price. Rocks at entrance are no problem at all but seem to scare some folks. Easy access to park and sites. great staff and the rangers do talks and things on the weekends. Lots to see and do in the area. After reading some post here about simple little problems they see you have to realize this is not a high end rv resort, it is however one of the best state parks we have ever visited. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$26
Enjoyed our stay at Desoto. We like the trails and the little river canyon area is always a treat. Its almost like a uncommercialized Gatlinburg. Try the Ice Cream shop on the corner. You can't miss it. Staff at campground was friendly and helpful when needed. Sites were large enough for our 5th wheel. I would have given it a ten but the roads once you turn by the big rock can get a little snaky and the edges need some grade work so the drop offs are not so extreme. Once you get in the campground there is plenty of room. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2014
$29
We stayed here for a night. The park is located on top of Lookout Mountain. The access involves a steep climb up a state highway and then along a narrow, windy county road with short steep grades. For the longer motor homes (like our 40’), there is a sharp 90 degree “S” as you approach the park which makes it difficult to stay in the lane of travel. There are large rocks on each corner of the “S” curve and a slight down grade so there is no visibility through the corners. Good luck if you’re driving a long RV. Once you reach the office/camp store, there is very little parking for larger RV’s. Then there is yet another climb on a windy paved road to reach the campground. The interior roads and sites are paved. The roads & sites were narrow. The pull through sites were just long enough for our coach with the toad attached. This is another location that doesn’t understand the importance of a level site and that sewer doesn’t flow up hill. The parking sites had a slight slope so we were able to level using our automatic air levelers. They have full hook ups – water, electricity (50 AMP), & sewer connections that were towards the rear of our site. They had an outside table and a fire pit. Part of the park is covered with trees and another portion is open to the sky. The trees encroach on some of the sites. Opening slides was easy in the site without tree encroachment. Some sites offer a view of the southern sky to get satellite reception so be sure to ask for a satellite friendly site at check in. Our Verizon hotspot reception was good. No designated pet area but there was sufficient distance along the park roads to walk dogs. There were no bag dispensers around the park to pick up waste and the only garbage collection point was the dumpster at the entry to the campground. For being in a hazardous/severe weather area, there was no underground storm shelter. The bathhouses were recommended as shelters because they are more “substantial” than camping units. Be sure to ask for senior discount if you qualify. Would not recommend this park for long RV’s. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
We agree with the good reviews . Our check in was handled very efficiently We had reservations. We were given a handout with local attractions and a good map of the hikes in the park. We took several nice hikes that started right from the campground. Our site was in the newest area and was a long wide, level, fully paved pull through. The cost included excellent CATV. Many sites like ours could even receive SAT (until the leaves grow back). WiFi was not available. We used our Verizon 4G MiFi. Our site had a raised sewer connection which would have made getting a complete dump difficult. Other sites had lower sewer connections. We could not find where to recycle our aluminum cans. The State Park is located up a 1-2 mile hill and is away from road noise. The eight mile drive from I-40 was well worth it. We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$32
I can't say enough about this RV park. My wife and I stayed here the first week of October, 2013 in our 37' RV. While you are not able to reserve a specific site (first come basis), we did not have any difficulty finding a great site! Lots of shade trees, very clean restrooms and showers, and lots in the area to do! We had deer visit our site nearly every morning, and there are plenty of hiking trails in the area. We love this place and have already booked a return trip next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
This is one of our most favorite campgrounds in Alabama. It has always been a quiet park, even when full. The park rangers patrol it regularly. They don't reserve specific sites, but can reserve a back-in or a pull-through. The swimming pool, tennis courts, lodge, etc is in a different section of the park. There are numerous trails that run through the park and in the fall are beautiful. The sites are spaced so that no one is on top of each. It is well worth the visit and easy to get into and out of. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$27
Stayed for a night going North in a big rig. Found it to be a great stop. Level site, all utilities, easy to use, clean. Off the interstate about 5 miles but worth the time. Up a mountain and in a good camping area. Did not use all they offered but what I saw looked very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
What a special place to stay for a few days to enjoy the peace this park offers. Our site was huge, well shaded, and had lots of room. 50 amp power worked great and cable television was an added bonus for a state park. Bathrooms were modern and spotless. Be sure to explore the area and enjoy the many hiking trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$28
Desoto State Park campground is a beautiful, well-maintained campground in a hilly, wooded setting. Sites are spacious & have at least partial shade. The bath houses were rebuilt about 5 years ago & are centrally located within the 2 loops. They are very clean & well-designed. There is also a laundry in each bath house. There are several walking trails leading from the campground, as well as numerous other trails within the park. Each site has sewer & cable. WiFi is very weak unless you are near the campground store. The campground is about 15 minutes from Desoto Falls in one direction and Little River Canyon in the opposite direction. We enjoyed our stay very much. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
Wonderful campground and staff! AT&T cell service was spotty. Wi-Fi is available at the office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
Without a doubt, the best park we have been to. VERY well kept, excellent staff, roomy sites,.....literally don't have a bad thing to say about this place. Lots of downed trees from the tornado that can be gathered for firewood if you don't mind doing that kind of thing. Very clean facilities to include bathrooms and nice, hot showers. Accidentally left my Dutch oven tri-pod there when we left and a staff member took the time and his own money to send it back to me. A very good place. We will be back, for sure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$27
The overall park is very nice and the park attendants were extremely friendly and helpful. The campground setting is nice but not exceptional. However, the CG has obviously been completely renovated and is great condition and well maintained. The sites are well spaced and every site has all the hookups, including cable TV. There is a whole area dedicated to pull throughs (not a lot of shade in this area, however). There are only two restrooms for the whole CG, but these are brand new and very nice, complete with showers. Also, nice trails in this mountain top park. The Azalea Cascade boardwalk is a real nice place to just hang out for a little while. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
Many nice things. Large widely spaced sites with water, sewer, electricity at each site plus a dump. Two bathhouses renovated 2 years ago with very clean bright tile surfaces. A near by park lodge with motel rooms, and a very upscale, beautifully furnished restaurant with a excellent menu. Many trails in the park plus water falls in wet season with huge rock formations. Layout is a dumbbell of two circular back in sections, with firmly packed gravel, and a central connecting double row of pull through paved sites for a total of 94 sites. However many sites are sloped needing levelers, and the 2 bathhouses centered in the circular sections need upgraded paths to them (now just dirt and trip roots). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$22
Almost hesitant to post a review. GREAT State Park!!! Not very easy to get to - prepare for a pretty good uphill pull, and some tight turns on narrow roads. Paved roads and sites. Sites have generous spacing, and trees/brush were left intact where possible. Water is good. Electric stands are lighted. Sites are pretty level side-to-side, but some need front-to-back leveling with jacks. Morning walk past the bath-houses found modern design/recent construction, but don't know the interior; not many of them for the number of sites. We stopped here for the night, vs. a Wal Mart - glad we did! We'll be back later to visit the area. STOP at the registration office on the way out! The maps and GPS aren't much help - we got "lost" in the park while trying to get back on I-59N; the fellow at the desk can advise you - the signs to I-59 are there just to confuse you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$31
I don't why this park has gotten high ratings before. If you like driving up and down narrow country roads, a steep road in the park, no internet at site, and about 12 miles from interstate: then you will love it here. Also couldn't get level and cable TV was snowy, but did have good power. We won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
The campground is virtually all brand new with brand new facilities, and the bathrooms and showers were nice and clean. Spacious sites with some trees/shrubs between you and your neighbors for decent privacy. Most sites have trees for some shade. Good hiking in the park, especially if the creeks are running with some water so all the listed waterfalls actually have water running over them. Be sure and check out Desoto Falls, the Little River Canyon, and Welsh Caves near Desoto Falls which is one of the most incredible and fascinating things in North America. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
This campground was awesome! Some of the nicest lots I have ever seen! Clean, well maintained, wonderful to walk around in! Plenty of room for large rigs with slides and still have tons of room without being right up under someone else (which is hard to find). Love Love Love! Only one thing could make it better, and that is if you had internet service at your camp site. Can't wait to go back!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$22
We came here for spring break and what a beautiful campground this was. This is our 3rd state park we have camped in and we love this park. Had a great site, lots of space between sites and was almost level. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$26
DeSoto Falls is one of the best Alabama State Parks. The park has been refurbished in the last few years and it is really nice. The sites are large and level. The camp host was really helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$32
Very helpful office and reservation staff. Campground is very well laid out & big rig friendly. Hookups are conveniently located. Sites are all reasonably level. We were on a pull-through site and all pull-throughs are paved with easy entry & exit. One of the best laid out state park campgrounds we've ever stayed at. It'll take you 20 minutes or so to get to the campground from the Interstate 65 218 exit. Campground sits on top of Lookout Mountain. The grade up the mountain from Ft. Payne is approximately 7% to 8% and about a mile long. Nightly rate does not reflect senior (over age 62) discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$30
Very, very nice park. Restrooms appeared to be brand new and super clean. Fair to good restaurant at the Lodge. Sites are mixed between paved (asphalt) and crushed rock. Sites are nice, but not much separation. I was lucky, during my stay as there were only three other rigs in the park. Abundance of wildlife can be seen all around. Good support sites nearby, e.g. Wal-Mart, convenience store 3 miles away, etc. Spent two nights and plan to return during the summer. My only compliant: Wi-Fi only available at office. If they had Wi-Fi at the sites this facility could be the Crown Jewel of the Alabama State Parks system. Good cell phone coverage (Verizon). BTW I am not an internet junkie, but I do work whilst on the road. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$25
One of the best in the Alabama State Parks system. Big sites. Excellent restaurant in lodge. We keep going back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
Arrived on a Saturday morning and check-in was quick and efficient. Ranger assigned a site but also said we could pick any empty site and let him know which one. We first backed into site #16 and could quickly tell that the coach would not level. A camp host then showed a shaded, level back-in site in a curve with nothing but woods on the passenger side (site #29). All utilities were great. The cable provided plenty of choices, including several HD channels. Park has several great hiking trails and is very dog-friendly. There are streetlights in the park, but they were not bright enough to bother us. We hope to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
This was a very nice campground with good paved access roads. Everything was clean and well maintained. There were a lot of nice walking trails accessible from the campground. We stayed in a pull-through spot that had about a 6" slope downhill from front to back. The cable was excellent with more than 50 channels. On AT&T, we had a strong Edge signal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
Great campground with full hookups. Beautiful on top of the mountain. Agree with previous review, campsites level side to side but front to back not as much. Have camped here twice and both times have been good experiences. Will definitely come again. Staff very helpful and nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$21
Great campground. Sights are almost level side to side but not front to back. State park with full hookups and cable is real nice. Hats off to Alabama on this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
Very nice campground. Some of the sites are not very level be selective. Many nice pull through sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
Paved interior roads and many sites. Some sites are gravel. Ample green space between sites. Most sites have some shade. All new utilities throughout the campground. 50 amp, water, cable TV & sewer at almost all sites. Some sites are more level than others. New, sparkling clean restrooms and bath houses are also equipped with a laundry. 3 bars on our Verizon wireless with good speed. There is a country store, small nature center, pool, multiple playgrounds, and lodge within the park. Numerous hiking trails are available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$27
This is a nice campground with full hookups. It is modern and very well kept. It is pretty sterile without any water, etc., features. It would have received a rating of 8 except for the lighting. We go camping to get away from noise and light, but the designers of this CG decided to put very bright streetlights about every third CG site. If you like Wal-Mart camping you will love this. No, really not as bad as a Wal-Mart, but it is very bright. Otherwise, nice hiking and beautiful park. We would stay again for a night or two but not for longer because of the lighting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$27
This is one of the best state park campgrounds that we have ever visited. We camped in the upper loop in site 5 (also had site 3). All the sites were large and very spacious. I couldn't get over how much room there is between sites. Most of the sites in the upper loop looked level side to side. In the pull through section and the lower loop, I did see some campers which required boards to get level. The staff were helpful and friendly, but if you need any supplies you should buy them before you arrive. The camp store was not stocked well at all. There are lots of hiking trails accessible from the campground and Desoto Falls is well worth the short drive. My biggest complaint about the campground is the showers and bathrooms. They were dirty most of the time. Each bathhouse only has 3 showers for male and 3 showers for female. The campground was full, so the bathhouse got a lot of use. The bathhouse was clean after it had been cleaned, but it did not stay that way long. It was cleaned in the early afternoon and by evening (when most people take showers) they were filthy. If the bathhouse had been cleaner or cleaned more than once a day, I would have rated this state park a 10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$27
Awesome! Clean, large new sites. Many pull-through sites are paved. Excellent! Rangers are friendly. Lots of hiking and mountain bike trails. Highly recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$26
This is an absolutely beautiful park where every effort has been made to meet RV needs. As a result,they have sacrificed shade trees and privacy barriers but the campsites are spacious and level. We hiked several of the trails and had dinner at the Lodge so didn't need internet or TV. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
Checked in for an 8 night stay and was not able to use assigned site. Told to take first vacant site. Park officials do not keep up with vacant/occupied sites. Reservation made on 9/4/10 but was told pull through sites were not available over 10/22-23. However counted at least 6 unoccupied sites that could have been utilized. Otherwise this is the best state park in Alabama. Rate reflects senior Alabama Discount not counting 11% tax. Alltell wireless internet connection was excellent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
This campground is nice with large campsites and new, clean restrooms. We stayed at site 66 in the lower loop and it was so sloped toward the road that we used 3 boards to raise the front end of our class C and it was still not level. The street lights are not that bright, but they are kind of annoying if you want to look at the stars. The utilities are wonderful and are all contained in a concrete pad. My Verizon cell phone worked fine. The Azalea Cascade Boardwalk trail is an elevated wooden walkway through the woods and it is wonderful. The Upper Loop camping area is nicer because it has more trees. The shows at the campfire ring are very nice because they have a screen for PowerPoint presentations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
It is a great campground. There are friendly staff, nice shower facilities, and nice atmosphere. It is a beautiful area. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$23
We stayed here while property hunting in the area. First issue is poor cell coverage. We have Verizon and had 0 coverage at the campsite. At the check-in/ranger station/store we had minimal. Locals told us they were aware of the issue. Verizon manager claims he has tried to get a cell tower on Lookout Mountain for years with no success. It did make it hard to do business. Second, the check-in closed at 4PM CDT on weekdays. If you are pulling in late, they have a plan, but it would seem a person could be on duty later than 4PM. Other than that, we had a great experience. Site was not level but close. Having cable TV in a state park, and on-site sewer was a plus. Restrooms were clean and showers had enough benches and hooks either across from shower or in them to accommodate all needs. Our site was shady with sun in afternoon. Lots of space between sites so you don't feel closed in. We went to the lodge for the fish buffet and came away very full and satisfied. In the local towns are some great spots to eat, artists with displays, and Ft. Payne has all the amenities you could need. We did some geocaching while camping and had a great time. If you don't want to swim in the pool ($$), then drive to Desoto Falls and swim above the dam. All in all, a great state park and well worth the stop and stay, whether for a day or a week or more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
We were just passing through the area and stayed here overnight only. The park appears to be well maintained. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The park facilities have recently been renovated including all new utilities and pads, and new or newly renovated bathroom/shower facilities. We stayed on a pull through pad which was long enough to park a 37' fifth wheel and three vehicles. The downside to that is the picnic table and patio area was approximately 50' from the utilities hook-ups, so bring extra sewer hose etc. The only other concern you will have is the park entrance road makes a sharp "S" curve between two giant boulders that come right up to the edge of the road. With a longer trailer or fifth wheel you need to be prepared to stop for oncoming traffic so you can crowd the centerline when passing through the "gap". There is a good restaurant in the park lodge where we enjoyed a great meal at very reasonable prices and enjoyed wonderful service from the friendly staff. Although we were on a tight schedule on this trip, we definitely will return for an extended stay in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
I agree with all the positives mentioned by other reviewers. Facilities are brand new and exceptional. I'd give it a 9.5 if I could, but not quite a 10. The one small negative is that many of the sites aren't level. Not horribly so but with all the money and effort that obviously went into the recent upgrades, it's a shame that my front jack was at full extension with blocks under it and I needed blocks under one side too. Verizon signal was adequate. Satellite dish might be a problem at some sites when the leaves are on the trees, but It wasn't for me. The laundry facilities at the store, and both bath houses were nearly new, clean and in excellent working order. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$30
Too many street lights, looks like a Wal-mart parking lot. Where did all the stars go? Shower stalls are "tiny" and there is only one hook for pants, coat, shirt, towel. Very nice staff and we enjoyed hiking in the park and in Little River Canyon. Thank goodness for the "national preserve" law. Please turn out the lights! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$28
This upgraded state park is absolutely beautiful. Backin sites are level (gravel), pull throughs are asphalt. Hiking is great. Cell service is good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$30
We camped here over Thanksgiving and my wife's only request was that she didn't want to cook Thanksgiving dinner in a camper. A short search of the internet found the DeSoto lodge was serving a Thanksgiving buffet! This campground has just been renovated and has all new sites with full hook ups. That's right, full hook ups including cable and sewer in a state park. This might be normal for some, but for those of us from Georgia this is unheard of. We would highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$27
It is a very modern campground in a nice state park. There are a large number of spacious back-in and pull-through sites. Most of the back-in sites have more space between them than any other park we have ever been. The roads are broad, paved, and very well lit at night. There is wi-fi at the office/store, but not at the campsites which is about all this park is missing. It is a beautiful area, highly recommended. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$27
DeSoto is a gem with it's large, level, wooded sites, widely separated from others. This lovely state park has numerous woodland hiking trails. It is a full-service campground at state park prices. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$26
Stayed in site 89 four days. Very quiet. Great location to the canyon and waterfalls. No WiFi at the sites. I would highly recommend this campground during high waterfall times. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
This park is very nice. Bathrooms are new and kept clean and stocked. Sites are large with some more shaded then others but no really a bad site that I could see. Lots to do in the area. WiFi is only at the lodge and office, not in campground. They have a pool but of course not open this time of year. We are planning on going back next summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$18
This is an incredible campground. We stayed here 4 days visiting all the waterfalls and wineries and did geocaching. It was very quiet, roomy, clean and everyone was so nice and helpful. Wi-fi service is only at the Country Store/laundromat area. The laundromat is is very clean and well kept. Would definitely come back here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
Love this park: it's very nice since the renovation. The staff is great and very helpful. Lots of trails to hike and things to do in the area. The restaurant at the lodge is very good. Only thing that would make it better is if it had Wi-Fi in the campground and not just the office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
We only had one night to stay here, but would have been happy to have had more time here. It is not a convenient park for a quick on/off of any main roadway, but well worth the drive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$23
This campground was remodeled earlier this year and is very nice. The bath house was extremely clean and air-conditioned. There was soap and air hand dryers also. There is an upper and lower loop, along with some pull through sites. The pull through sites were not very well shaded, but some of the other sites had some shade. There were several sites that had nice locations for tents off the gravel area of the sites. There is a lake at the falls area, but it was very muddy and smelly while we were there. There is a pool, which they charge $3 to use, whether you are a camper or not. I think that it should be a decreased or no charge for campers. There are many trails available, ranging from easy to moderate. They were all very well marked and easy to find the trail heads. There is also a nice playground and picnic facilities. I would have given this campground a 10, except for the pool issue. I will definitely be back, and would like to go when there is a little more water on the waterfalls. They were all dry except for one - but that's not the park's fault, it's just summer there. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Excellent Campground!! The recent renovations made this be one of the nicest campgrounds we have ever visited. Beautiful campsites, excellent bathhouses and friendly staff make this an A++ Campground!!! Everyone needs to visit and support the Alabama State Parks! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
We camped with our 3 grandchildren, and our sister and her husband camped with their grandchildren. The improvements are great. However, they removed the playground! We have always loved camping at Desoto and will continue to do so even though the playgrounds have been removed. Great place: quiet and clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
Campground has been nicely renovated. Campsites are spacious and spaced well apart. The staff at the country store was very helpful and suggested several activities we enjoyed during our stay. The scenery was beautiful. The roads are paved and campsites are gravel. Our site was level and it appeared most were. All sites have cable, sewer, picnic tables, fire rings. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
Nice park w/many new renovations. Bath houses (2) were very clean and air conditioned. Sites have been nicely improved and are roomy. All sites now include sewer and cable. Campground staff and hosts were friendly and helpful. One note though, last time we were here we had electrical problems with our hookup and found others there having similar problems all because of old worn out electrical equipment. On this trip approximately half of our camping loop lost power for about 5 hours and this is with new upgraded electrical equipment. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
This is a newly renovated State park campground. The bath houses are new & very nicely done. The roads are paved & sites are gravel. Sites are roomy but most are not as shady as we like. There are rock fire rings, sewer & cable at each site. Staff at the campground store are very friendly & helpful. There are attractions a few minutes' drive away (Little River Canyon, DeSoto Falls, the town of Mentone & skiing on man-made snow in winter). Attractive, quiet campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
We were in a pull through site. There was plenty of room, and it was quiet and peaceful. We stayed for 6 nights. The staff were friendly and helpful as well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
We camped in a back-in site. Plenty of room for both camper and truck. The sites have lots of room between each site so you're not bothered by your neighbor. Full hooks up with about 70+ cable channels. Lighted power stations make late night hookup easier. Also, street light give just enough light to walk the campground road without a flashlight, but not too bright. Many hiking trails. Restrooms are new with tiled floors & walls, stainless steel wall panels in toilets & showers. Some sites are sloped more than usual, need to bring extra leveling boards just in case you end up in one of these. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
We camped in the new section that had very large sites. This park has lots of easy hiking trails that lead to creeks and water falls. The downfalls include unlevel sites, distant trash dumpsters and a front office staff that had no interest in listening to the wishes of the customer. We were told on the phone this was first come first serve. When we arrived we were told the sites are assigned prior to arrival. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$22
We were very pleased with this park. When we called they had no full hookup sites available but when we got there they had upgraded us to a full hookup site. The pull-through sites are asphalt, very large, clean, and level. The park is only about 8-10 miles from Little River Canyon which had some of the most awesome autumn foliage and scenery we've experienced. If you don't feel like cooking every meal, there's a lodge that has both buffet and a full-service menu, with good food at reasonable prices. I would have liked to have stayed longer than 3 nights in order to have taken in more of the local sites and the numerous hiking trails. I'm sure this would also be a great place to visit in the spring when there has been more rain to feed the many nearby waterfalls and when the azaleas that are numerous in the area are in bloom. If you have a big rig, and are coming in from the north, you might consider NOT taking exit 213 off of I-59 but waiting to exit 222 and coming in through Fort Payne. The exit 213 route is a lot of narrow winding road through mountainous terrain. We would have rated this park a 10 except for two things. We think they should allow you to reserve specific campsites instead of just a certain type so that we can have less worry that we won't have the length or level site that our big rig requires. Second, the signs off of interstate I-59 and even some places in the park need to be updated as, due to age, they are missing arrows or are hard to read. We will definitely make a point to find our way back to this park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$17
Nice State Park camping: if you call for a reservation number, you might be able to get 50amp/sewer pull through site. Has nice trails, and good programs on the weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$22
Excellent State Park, was quiet and had a site close to the campground. There are so many things to do in this area. We will be back to check out more of the activities in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$19
The campground was nice and quiet and had large sites. We had an electrical problem with the campground's hookup. They staff worked diligently to get the problem resolved and finally did. This isn't the first time we have had electrical maintenance issues at an Alabama State Park. The staff said that this park is in the planning stage for renovations and electrical upgrades. Overall a nice campground with plenty to do. We'll be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$19
This was our first time to camp at DeSoto and we were very pleased. Our site was well shaded and well spaced away from our neighbors. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$16
Very nice state parks in Alabama. The pull-through sites are level and spacious. We will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$22
DeSoto has some beautiful scenery on location and short distances away. The pull throughs are nice sized and pretty level. Very peaceful and quiet. We enjoy camping in the mountains and the woods and this place had both. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$20
Very nice park with nice large sites. We stayed in the pull through sites, all of which are paved and fairly level. Back in sites are large and also fairly level. There are about 12 full hookup pull through sites and 10 back in full hookup sites. All remaining sites have water and electric. Campground staff was friendly and campground is protected by a gate that only allows registered guests to enter. We really enjoyed the campground and will be back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$22
We loved our stay at Desoto Park. It is so beautiful with the mountains and scenery. The bathhouses were clean and everyone was very cordial and friendly. We will definitely be back. As a matter of fact, we liked it so well that I am trying to seek employment there. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$18
This park and the area has so much to do that any visit should exceed a week. The staff is friendly and cooperative. Our site was clean, quiet and level. The park has several good hiking trails and waterfalls. The park is within a short drive to stores but a visiter can remain isolated in a natural environment. Cell phone reception at our campsite was marginal. We highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$21
Beautiful campground. Sites a little too close together. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2005
$20
A very beautiful park. We went in the fall, which was absolutely breathtaking. The nights were crisp so building a fire was a must. I would highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$15
Well run state park. Town is about 5 miles down the mountain. The pull throughs have a lot of room. The security gates have key pads. This park is great for a weekend or longer stays. Will go back soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$18
De Soto State Park is located at the top of a mountain right outside of Fort Payne, Alabama (the home of Alabama the country music group). The park is very clean and the sites are reasonably spaced. Some of the sites are not very level, but they're not too bad. The surrounding scenery more than compensates for any deficiencies in the campground. This park has some beautiful walking trails. It is a short drive (5 miles) to Little River Canyon National Park - a must see, especially the falls. DeSoto Falls are not far (10 miles) - another must see. (For the Alabama Fans, Randy Owen's mansion is near the canyon). This park is located in one of the most scenic areas in Alabama. The lodge in the park has a guest musician on some evenings. The one there the night we were there really catered to entertaining the kids - such as by making up a song with their names. On some evenings, there is a nature program showing various wildlife in the nature center. We have camped here twice and I'm sure we'll go back again. The operators are very friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2003
$20
This is a big park but only a small portion is accessible by car. Located atop Lookout Mountain high above the city of Fort Payne, AL. There is a motel, restaurant, cabins, pool and lots of hiking trails. Pads are earth and not all are level, if we get a lot of rain they tend to wash out somewhat. I've found that 2 or 3 1x12's solve that problem. Near Little River Canyon National Recreation Area and is a must see. In summer there are a lot of campers here. Unlike a lot of parks, you really don't know all the spaces are occupied. For some reason you feel sort of isolated despite 77 other campers are there with you. The pool and other stuff is a ways away and due to the steep hills you may want to reconsider riding the bike or walking. Also the roads going to the camping area are county roads not State park roads so you may encounter some local traffic. Avoid trying to access the CG the first week of August. Thats when they have the world's longest yard sale. The road to the State Park will be lined with yard sales, people stopping every 50 feet. You will be going 50 feet every 10 minutes in some places. Get there early or wait till its over. Fort Payne has just about everything you could need, I recommend the Foodland for groceries (great meats), the Wal Mart has limited RV supplies (Camping World in Chattanooga), there is a movie theater, an excellent hospital, a Ruby Tuesday, Cracker Barrel, Lowes and much more. Chattanooga is about 45-55 minutes away via US 11 or I-59. You can also drive to Chattanooga on the top of Lookout Mountain. If you go to Chattanooga be sure to take in the Aquarium, it's great. Ft Payne is 70 miles from Huntsville, AL; 100 miles to Birmingham and Atlanta (via Rome, GA). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com