206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Pecan Park Riverside RV and Cabins was rated 7 out of 10 based on 76 user reviews. Phone: (512) 396-0070
CGID2901

Pecan Park Riverside RV and Cabins

Camp Information
Sites
107
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   10   10   1   7   9   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$39
Very clean. Friendly staff. Pull-through site was level with plenty of room. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$36
We spent three nights here while getting work done at the local Camping World. Nice park overall. Even though we were parked right next to the entry gate, there was little or no annoying noise at night. I moved our toad away from the back of our RV because of concern for entry vehicles. We might come back the next time we are in the San Marcos area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
Park was flooded Oct 31, 2013. Check status before going. Until the flood, this was a beautiful park, in a quiet river front setting. Most sites are shaded and all have lots of room for big rigs. The owners were very attentive to detail and were in the process of implementing many improvements throughout the park. We sincerely hope they are able to rebuild, as we would very much like to revisit this wonderful spot. We did get to enjoy it for 2 weeks, and we were among the lucky ones who got their rigs out in time. Our heartfelt condolences go out to those who lost their campers or possessions. Fortunately, no one was injured. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$39
Wonderful owners, workers and families! Hope while we are here our son & his family will also be able to come here. Park is clean & well maintained. Love the indoor heated swimming pool & hot tub. Would recommend this park to family & friends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
We stayed at this park for one night as a stop over on our way home. We did not have a reservation, so they put us in overflow out in a grassy field with no shade. We went for a walk late and noticed there were over 5 sites within the park that were empty, then we went for a walk the next morning, and they were still empty. Also if you have kids not a park for you. Everyone we encountered was drunk. The pool is indoors, but not heated, the hot tub is turned into a kiddy pool, that has a sign that reads no one under the age of 10 allowed. Took our boys to the pool that evening at least 30 kids in the small pool. The teenage girls on the shoulders of guys playing chicken, the adults that were sitting in the chairs were all drunk. An older child jumped in the pool on top of my son hurting his shoulder. The bathroom toilets were stopped up and overflowing, horrible mess. We will never stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$19
Very nice, well maintained park. A lot if seasonal and full-time residents but the sites are kept clear of clutter. Good power and water pressure. We did not use the facilities. The entry and exit gates are very poorly designed. We were assigned site #517. When going through the gate with our 40' RV, we could not negotiate the immediate left turn. We had go go through the park and make a complete loop to get back to the site. Not a real problem but that could have been eliminated by a better design. Exit gates are narrow but manageable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
We enjoyed our stay at Pecan Park and met some people who will be our friends forever. The road into the park is kind of scary - but the entry to park is nice. I loved the indoor pool, which I used everyday. We stayed for five weeks and we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$42
Shore power is 20/30/50. I have had no problem with power, however the person in another site has had a power problem for a number of days. The park owner kept saying it was his trailer, but when the owner of the trailer used a extension for his power to the adjoining site he had no problem. Water pressure is at 60psi but it does not sustain the pressure all the time. Some times, especially in the mornings, the pressure drops so low the water comes out very shallow. AT&T Cell phone has a good, 4bar, signal. Our Verizon card is better than the Sprint. I did not try the campground WiFi but they seem to have good service. Cable is good with many channels. Sites are all gravel with a concrete slab for a patio. Width of the actual site is narrow and many have trees that are so close it is hard to get into especially the back in sites. However there is plenty of room between each site to put out slides and awnings. Most of the sites are long enough to allow a big rig, trailer and truck. Some of the newer sites are graded gravel and are fairly short and not very wide. Big problem with bird droppings on my Truck. Roads inside the park are gravel the one in the middle is very wide giving plenty of room to maneuver your RV but still has a problem at the sites with large trees close to the sides of the site. There are long time tenants and they are down to a far end. The road to the park is a bit rough and narrow. To enter the park you have to go through a key coded gate and exit through automatic gates at 3 different places. The office is on the second floor of the office building while an indoor swimming pool is on the first floor. An Elevator is available for those that have a problem climbing stairs. Only discount is a Good Sams 10%. The daily cost is $42 which is very over priced. The Park is the only decent park for over 10 miles. The office people were polite and accommodating. One advantage is that you can wash your RV here. The park did have a few children but they were not a problem. They have a good fenced dog area but it is not separated for large and small dogs. The park is away from the freeways so there is no highway noise. If I need to stay close to San Marcos it would be OK to stay here but for the price. Otherwise I would look for a park a bit down the road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$35
Check in was fast and friendly. Park seemed to be filled mostly with seasonal sites. Our site was graveled and level. Cable and Wi-Fi were included in price and worked well. Satellite might be a problem due to trees in most of the area, but there were a couple of dishes pointed to the air while we were there. Each washroom booth is made up of a toilet, sink and shower. They were small but were pretty clean and adequate. Overall the park seemed to be kept in good shape. They also have a large fenced dog park to run your pooch. Will stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$26
This is a great park in the wintertime, but would not want to be here in the summer, as it is probably crawling with kids running to the river. Check-in was quick and easy. Our site is at it's limit for a larger coach. Our power cord and cable are stretched to their limits. There are very few sites available for short stays. Almost all sites are permanent residents, which does change the overall atmosphere of the park. WiFi is rather poor. Water pressure is so low in the mornings it is almost non-existent. It gets stronger throughout the day. The laundry is small but will suffice in a pinch. Most nights the park is quiet and dark. We would probably stay here again if we are in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2012
$35
Did not think park lived up to reviews. Owner was rude to me and employee. Prepaid for a week and left after 5 days. Filled out online survey and got called and scolded by owner (wtf)? We were honest on survey and after he called he notified us our July 4 reservation was cancelled. If you want honest feedback, don't submit yourself to a survey. This place needs to be avoided by all. Beware of owner and this highly recommended but low budget RV park that is mostly made up of trashy RV's which are permanent structures of this wanna be park. Can't believe I filled out an honest survey and get called and harassed by the owner. Shame on you! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2012
$12
Our rate reflects the fact that we stayed here for several months, so it's a monthly rate. The first RV spot we were given was under the pecan trees. Whenever the wind blew we got pelted with pecans, 24/7. The leaves were falling off of the trees and were about 3 feet high. We called the office asking that they be cleaned up. They never were. We finally asked for another site away from the trees and pecans. This is an odd place. The girl at the office is nice and makes you feel welcome, however, if you speak with anyone else beware! Not friendly or helpful. The pool is OK but the hot tub is basically a shallow pool that they use for the kids during the summer. The RV park is just kept up to get by. Just 2 places to do the wash with only a few washers and dryers. The showers smell and are dark. We stayed here for 3 months, won't do it again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$27
Beautiful location on the San Marcos River. Lots of trees for the Standard spaces, but you will save a few bucks with the Basic spaces if you don't mind being in the sun. Wi-Fi was fast with no limits. Cable worked well too. Bathroom/shower room that I used was small, but functional. The walk to the river access area is a little rugged, but I brought my walking stick, and that made it much easier. River bank trails are beautiful! In the high season, they rent inner tubes for river fun. The park is nicely landscaped and well-maintained. I would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$11
Wonderful park, and the hosts are extremely helpful. Quiet park hidden among lots of trees. Great sites available. We are staying here for the month of September and are so pleased with the park. The river runs very near us, and it is busy on weekends with tubers and fishing but quiet during the week. Nice dog park, maybe could put doggie bags out for those that don't have them to keep flies/ants away from bucket. Swimming pool is inside, and we love it. Could not get Dish, but they have free cable and wi-fi, and all worked great. We would have rated the park higher, but they did not have exercise equipment, which would warrant a 10. All in all they offer lots, and we would definitely return. We are staying here a month. Enjoy this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
Beautiful campground right in the middle of a pecan orchard. Off the highway so the campground is quiet except for the sound of the the San Marcos river running right beside the campground, which is an awesome sound. The Wi-Fi worked well. Staff was friendly and helpful at all times. The campground is centrally located in a great area to explore. There are many small towns a short distance from the campground to explore. We will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
A nice park, just far enough off the highway to be quiet. The camp is a pecan grove along the San Marcos river, but sites are separated from the river by dense trees so the river is not visible, but a short walk. The pull-through sites are indeed close together, and in an open field; the back-ins are closer to the water. If you have a tube or raft or any "floaty", there is a popular put-in spot below a bridge about a mile and a half up the road; drive there, then float down the river to your campsite, send someone on a bike to retrieve the truck; great fun, and free. We'll do it again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$35
Nice campground away from the highway so it is very quiet. Next to the beautiful San Marcos River. Campground is paved with gravel sites. Some pull throughs out front didn't seem as nice as the interior sites. Pulls throughs could have used a good grading and been wider Pecan but were OK. Wi-Fi was excellent from our site. Water pressure a little low but adequate. Would have given it a higher rating but the lady working the office was pretty rude. Maybe she was having a bad day. This park is a great central point for exploring the area, about halfway between San Antonio and Austin. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$38
Nice park on the river. The indoor pool is very warm. They probably open the side doors during the summer. There is a playground for children and good access to the river. There were many people floating on the river and playing along the river bank. We will return here in the future. Grounds are maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$40
Very nice park. We arrived after the office closed, but our paperwork was right where we were told it would be. Quiet(even though park was almost full), laid back atmosphere. Good path to the river and along the river. Small, but nice, dog park. Off the beaten path. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$32
Clean, quiet, shaded, spacious campsite. We had an easy back in that was relatively level. We stayed for only one night but wanted to stay longer. The river was a short walk from the campsite and had a neat path alongside. Good Sam discount. Will definitely stay again when in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$10
One of the better parks in the area. Great WI-FI. Grounds need more ongoing maintenance. While we were there a 5 inch overnight rain caused flooding in the lower portion of the campground damaging several trailers and motorhomes. We were lucky. I think had the drainage pipes been clear of leaves and brush there would have been little or no flooding. We would stay here again. The rate is based on the monthly charge. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$20
We arrived after the office had closed but instructions how to get into the park were easy to follow. Went to the office the next morning to settle. Site was a long pull through and I didn't need to unhook the toad. Concrete patio but gravel parking that was level. Park had some full timer but everything was clean. Nice fenced area to let the dogs run. A short walk to the river which was very clean. This park is far enough off the "beaten path" to be very quiet but close enough to make shopping at the outlet mall a reasonable drive. Had an issue with the cable but the manager came over and fixed it. Turns out it was me not knowing how to set my own television (dah). We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$26
We were here for a week and it suited us very well. We had a long level caliche, pull through site. Water pressure and voltage was good. Wi-Fi was the best we have ever had in an RV park. They had just upgraded to much better equipment about a month ago. We were here to visit relatives and Christmas shop at the outlet malls. It is close to everything in the area. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
We returned to Pecan Park Campground for a cool fall weekend. We enjoy the tall trees and access to the San Marcos river. Plenty of water for tubing as the river is spring fed. (Texas has been in a severe drought.) Gravel sites are pretty level. Had a heavy rain Sunday morning and everything seemed to drain pretty well. Fenced off-lead area for the dogs with lighting at night. We have reservations to come back the 1st weekend in November for Wurstfest (15 miles away). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2011
$10
Tengo limited Internet. AT&T signal low and slow. Planned to spend 6 mo but only stayed one. Rate charged and did not match website rate. We repeatedly asked if electric was in price charged and were told 'yes'. However, when second month rent was due, we found out we had to pay electric of $200+ in addition to monthly charge and would not give us the $399 rate posted on website. Loved the closeness to shopping, doctors ,and vet for the cat but will not be lied to or have rates misrepresented. Stay here at your own monetary risk. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
Nice and quite. Most of the sites were so shaded that satellite reception would be a problem. We asked to be moved to an open site and the cost went down about $3 per day. Right on the San Marco river and a lot of tubing and kayaking was going on through out the week-end. The sites varied from concrete to gravel. Our site was level and we had enough room. Would definitely come back here for a stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2011
$29
As another reviewer stated, this campground is far from being a resort. Trees are indeed a hazard as one limb about 2 inches in diameter came down on me as I was opening the door to my unit. Maintenance man trying to fix an electrical problem at another site (that's another story) accidentally switched off my main power switch as both A/Cs and the frig was running and then switched back on TWICE before I found out where to find him. Luckily no damage to A/Cs but had a problem with frig since. Park made no attempt to remedy. This problem fried the next door neighbor's electrical system and several other components and to no one's surprise Park made no attempt to remunerate the owner. Owner says the unit was "old". Seems they are either having money issues or their just cheap. Park help was good for the most part but no real amenities that would be of note. Don't swim in the pool. It's disgusting. Bath house area is also not up to par. This park needs a lot of help to be noted as a 4 star rating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$26
Very quiet park, away from highways. Also not a launching point for tubers/kayaks, so not a lot of that type noise around. Approach road/campground has lots of speed bumps that are very bone-jarring for a dually, but guess they are necessary. Internet site gives impression the CG is right on the Sam Marcos River--not! Not even a view, must walk down a trail about 50 yards or more to see the river. Point mentioned about the old trees is factual--large limb (8"+ diameter) fell off just across from us and would have really damaged a trailer/vehicle had there been one parked in the space. Some permanent residents apparent, but no mobile homes. Wi-Fi worked, but really slow at times. Many sites would have sight line problems for satellite, but cable feed is included in fee. I have camped around San Marcos/New Braunfels last few years at start of May, and all previous have suffered from noisy parties/motorcycles--this one was much quieter. Rate reflects one week 'premium' site at $185. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$43
This was our first camping experience. Pecan Park was a great first experience. We had a spot next to the woods. The park was quiet and clean. The park is very family and pet friendly. It was very easy to get in and out of the park. Great area to camp in! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$37
Long way from trains and highway, very quiet. Level sites and clean. Friendly, helpful staff. Nice big fenced dog run area with chairs to sit and read or visit while dogs run free. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2011
$37
This family owned park is going through a bad time and it's having an effect on the campground, staff and in turn the guests. The son and wife seem to want to own the park from the son's father, who seems to be very nice and cordial and this takeover is creating an atmosphere through out the park with the staff and guests in the middle. The park is lacking in any sign of management and the groundsman on a yellow golf cart seems to do no work at all and relies on the other worker to do all the work. The trees seem to be in poor or bad repair and look as if they will fall down at any time on my rig. The overall sites are in need of being leveled and consist of stones and sand with very small broken and cracked patios. The laundry and bathrooms are in very good clean condition, while the rest of the park looks very run down. The swimming pool badly needs painting and the rusty supports and ceiling tells it's own sad story of neglect, and lack of maintenance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2011
$32
The people who own and run this park are very rude, and have no problem shouting at their patrons. We heard them yelling at our neighbors. A customer should be treated with some sort of respect. Someone told us the limbs on the trees had damaged RVs previously so I don't plan on returning here. It's really sad because the potential for this park is excellent if the management was more people friendly and the park was better maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2011
$13
This is a very hard park to review. Many good things about the park such as clean restrooms, level sites, clean laundry, nice clubhouse and pool. On the bad side way too much dirt in the air, very badly placed security entrance, very low water pressure and poor management. This is a park owned and operated by a father, son and sons wife. They don't get along and way to much drama so that you don't feel comfortable. This is not a winter Texan park and doubt it ever will be. The rate is the monthly rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2011
$35
A campground with potential but a long way from being good. The sites under the trees are bare dirt and while the roads are paved, they are so coated with leaves and dirt that they might as well just be dirt paths. One couple of the office help are terrific, friendly, and helpful. Another set up are just the opposite and really soured us on the place. In the summer this might be a great family park because of the river and the rafting/tubing. It lacks a lot to be much of a winter Texan park. Needless to say, we won't go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2010
$35
Looks can be deceiving. This is a park of the good, the bad and the ugly. THE GOOD: 1. The location, close to town, yet quiet and peaceful. 2. The setting along the San Marcos River. 3. Clean restrooms, showers and laundry facilities. 4. Offers shaded and full sun sites that are nicely spaced, especially in the older part of the park. 5. Paved roads. 6. One office/maintenance staff is really nice, friendly and helpful. THE BAD: 1. The speed bumps from hell that line the entrance and are scattered throughout the park. 2. Awkward placement of the unlighted security key pad in proximity to the entrace gate (which malfuntions and has fallen on at least two vichicles that we witnessed during our stay). 3. One set of office/maintenance staff that are unfriendly, rude and almost militant in their enforcement of the various and long list of rules for this park. 4. Monthly guests have to fill out a long application and pass background checks. We heard that the park keeps personal information (credit card numbers, drivers license numbers, social security numbers) on file, which is totally against the law. 5. Unpaved sites (all sites are gravel) with small, broken or unlevel patios. 6. Beware when they vacuum the leaves. The noise and dust are horrible. The dust becomes so thick that you can't see from one side of the park to the other. 7. Squirrels and other rig-destroying rodents abound. We had to have our rig fumigated after our stay there because several mice wanted to homestead in our rig. 8. The owners have two young, undisciplined children that whine and cry a lot and are often taken to park events when they are ill. 9. The park charges extra for your visitors and charges outrageous prices on goods they sell. Propane and firewood are two examples. 10. River access is just a path. It should be paved or more easily accessible to people. THE UGLY: 1. The ownership of the park is a family affair. Father, son and daughter-in-law who do not always see eye-to-eye. 2. Owners yell, cuss and scream in the presence of guests and have also been known to direct it to the guests. 3. Owners know it all and are not willing to hear constructive critisism. 4. The park is very dusty and times really dirty. 5. This is not a good winter Texan park, but it is a great park for the kids during the summer. There is a Wal-Mart very nearby. If you're looking for a space for the night, you are be better off there than Pecan Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$13
Location of the park is great. Right on the river which is great for tubing. Park staff does drop you off or pick you up for a fee. Cable TV was excellent. WiFi is Tengo internet and worked well. Showers/bathrooms are meticulously maintained. Close to Wal-Mart and grocery stores. $330/month for nonpremium site. Guests were all nice. Once signed into the campground you need to use a very awkward gate to enter. Keypad is on one side and the gate is on the other. This is doable but a pain especially when you are trying to drive your RV through. Sites are gravel and dirt. The inside of your RV is very dusty due to the amount of dirt that blows around. Biggest disappointment is the management. The owner leaves RV'ers alienated. He does not know how to communicate calmly with customers. He chooses to yell, making his customers uncomfortable. We would stay again for a weekend, due to the river and the location; however, I would not stay here again for a month. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
Lovely park with many amenities. Our only complaint was about the site pads themselves. Sites had plenty of space, but the pads were extremely narrow: just the width of your tires. Obviously they were not made for motorhomes with basement storage. As you backed in, there was a raised patio on the right, so you had to be careful about scraping tires. On the left the hookups were placed so that in many instances, it was not possible to open basement storage doors. After carefully backing in, we discovered we could not open the compartment with our sewer hose and had to pull forward closer to the street. There are a number of new large pull through sites in the front, in full sun which would be better for larger rigs. Sites in the shady area of the park seemed to be better suited for 5th wheels. Just be very careful about which site you select. Also the park is full of those annoying speed bumps which rattle your whole coach, even when creeping over them. We would come back again if in the area but would probably try to find a long pull through site. Deluxe sites are $5.00 per day more; I don't know how much the premium sites are, but none of them has a view of the river. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$40
We stayed 3 nights while visiting family in Kyle, Texas. Park was clean. Our site was the first site in and I thought it would be noisy, but it wasn't at all. Nice indoor pool. Management very friendly and helpful. Individual showers and restrooms were very nice. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
Overall, the facilities were excellent. Our only complaint (and it is minor) is the noise generated by the tubers who congregate near the entrance which is where we were parked. Staff is very friendly; we were notified by phone when a certified letter arrived. We would not hesitate to return for another visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$40
Quiet, pristine, spacious, friendly, secure: the nicest campground we've stayed in to date. Sites are huge, most under giant pecan trees, shading the RV through the hottest times of day. Unshaded, spacious sites also available, if being under trees is a concern. Overflow sites available in a lovely grassy area. Storage area (for trailers and extra vehicles) available for a small fee. Two cabins available. Owners and hosts are friendly, very helpful, and treat visitors as favored family. Telephone hookups for monthly stays. Has a fenced dog park. Free WiFi was upgraded during our stay, making it the best WiFi connection we've encountered in an RV park. Indoor pool is heated and large enough to swim laps crosswise or lengthwise. It is shallow, only 4.5 feet at its deepest. Tubing trips to the San Marcos River, and lots of other outdoor activities. Has a book and puzzle exchange, VHS/DVD rentals, Saturday morning breakfast and weekly ice cream social for very small fees, weekly potluck, weekly movie, jazzercise, ice purchase, minimal camp store (about 2 miles to shopping), mail and package delivery. Major tube, kayak and canoe rental business across the road from office. We stayed over five weeks and were reluctant to leave. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$32
Very shady. Camping under the trees is not for everyone. Very pleasant treatment by staff. They have an inside swimming pool. Very nice. The park is in a flood zone for those who would think of long term stay. We stayed for 3 weeks. Park is located a few miles from San Marcos center so it is very quiet with sounds of the river in the back ground. We enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2010
$25
Staff was unavailable in the office for a 5:00 PM check-in. Our site assignment was prepared for pick-up. This RV park is located in a flood-plain area. Be cautious of potentially high water if rain has been persistent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2009
$25
We have nothing but praise to say about this park. It was clean, quiet and everyone was very helpful. We extended our stay by three days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$37
We only have the very best to say about the park itself. It is a very nice campground. Our trip turned sour around 11:45am on the day we were leaving(checkout was at noon). The park booked our site to new campers coming in that had already arrived. The owner asked us if we were leaving (the trailer and truck hooked up and we were unhooking the electric) and literally stood at our site, arms crossed, and watched us load up. The new campers stood there as well. We had noted in previous reviews of this park that the owner was rude. We always try to give parks the benefit of the doubt. We had every intention of being out at the contracted time and were on track to do so. We pulled out of our site at 11:55am. On our clock, we were out on time, according to the contract, and the owners harassment was not warranted. It's a shame because we talked about returning to this park, however, we will find another park next time. There are plenty in this area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$34
Love this park. We keep coming back because it is clean, peaceful and beautiful. They are always improving things you can actually see. Newest things are fire rings at all deluxe sites, no more keys to the bathrooms they have keypads, and the premium sites with extra stuff. They say they are also working on putting an activities program together for both winter and summer beginning in January. We also like the fact that the owners don't tolerate rude, obnoxious adults, children, or pets. You don't play by the rules here, you don't stay. Still have to say that the drainage in the park when it rains is not that great and would like to see them improve the river access more. Will return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2009
$30
Be aware that this campground locks their bathroom facilities at all times. You must have a key and you have to leave them a $10.00 cash deposit for the key. The office closes at 7pm so if you arrive late, you will not be able to use the facilities until they open the next morning. Then if you leave when the office is not open, you have lost your $10.00 deposit. To me, this was very poor customer service. I found the man who owns Pecan Park to be extremely rude. The lady, however, was very nice. Nice set up, but, we would not return, too many problems. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$19
This was a interesting rv park. They put in a small new section that were good pull thru's. The only problem was you had to park perfectly to enjoy the small concrete for a patio. Plus you had to park your truck in the front side, otherwise you backed up the whole way to the end to get out if the row was full. They did have a small section in the back that was very nice and seemed to be for over nighters. They have a lot of extra parking on grass for extra vehicles, boats etc. It has a cute dog run. A great place to walk. It had a indoor pool. The bad part about it was all the speed bumps. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$34
The staff was friendly. It looked as if most who were there were long-term rentals. It was off-season but there was plenty to do in San Marcos. The indoor pool was not heated so was chilly, but in the summer would be great as it is all enclosed. There are paths to the river, which was really pretty. Cable is included and nothing extra for kids (my pet peeve is charging extra for kids!) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2008
$32
Nice park, in a nice location. Would have rated the place higher, but when we tried to make a reservation to stay for a month this February, they wouldn't make the reservation. They told us we could either take first-come first-served, or pay for the month starting at some point before our arrival - paying for something we weren't getting. Not good. They evidently only want short stays. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$36
We stayed at Pecan Park when we fled the coast for Hurricane Ike. When it looked like Ike was going to make landfall in our area we called the folks at Pecan Park and they told us to come on, we had a spot as long as we needed it. Upon arriving I was very pleased with their campground. It is on the river and in a hardwood riverbottom setting with many large trees that provided plenty of shade. We have two small children and also had several pets in tow. The folks at PP helped us find a kennel to board a dog and a cat and I kept one dog with us in the park. They have built a dog play area that is fenced where you can take your pet for a run. For the kids Pecan Park has a playground set up, an indoor pool and plenty of room for bike riding. We also walked down to the river and swam in the river, it was very nice but access is down a dirt trail. Not a hard walk but not easily accessible for some people. The river is really nice. The campsites were fine with full hookups, level gravel pads and concrete patios with picnic tables. We had free cable and wifi included. The location is great, 10 minutes from Cabela's, 10 minutes from a Camping World, 10 minutes from a large outlet mall and about 5 min from town. Far enough out that it is very quiet but close enough to run in and get anything you need. It is also a short jaunt to Austin, New Braunfels and San Antonio so there is lots to do close by. I recommend trying Pecan Park if you are in the area. The owners were friendly and helpful, the setting is quiet and there was something there for everyone including the kids and the dog. We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$31
The owner of the park was extremely nice and all the employees were very helpful. The park was very clean, and had wonderful shade trees. Our grandchildren loved being able to feed the deer that came into the park. The playground was wonderful, having play equipment that the children loved. As parents of older teens, we would have liked to see the activity room open a little later in the evening. We enjoyed our stay here more than almost any park we have stayed in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
We looked at the campground website and booked our spot. Come to find out, what is on the website is nothing like the park. If you look at the web map. It only shows three or four trees on the back of the park between the park and the river. In reality, you cannot even see the river from the campground due to all the brush and heavy tree line!. River access was very poor and very muddy! You have to use the river access for the campground next door. The camp employees were also not very helpful! They kicked me out of the bathroom by the pool area because they told me the pool was closed, although I just wanted to use the restroom. Also, my inlays came in the day after us and 15 minutes before the check in time. They said they would have to pay a $10 early check in fee even though it was only 15 minutes early and there was no one in their site. I told them then that they would just park their motorhome in the middle of the drive for 15 mites till it was time and they finally gave in. I am all for rule enforcement, but I think they can be a bit flexible too, they weren't hours early, just 15 minutes. There were many reports from other guests about silly stuff like that from the management there. If you go here, do go just because of what you see on the web site! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
Really nice park close to river. Wonderful shade trees. Very quite. Nice people. Nice indoor heated pool. A lot to do in area. In country but close to everything. We will stay anytime we are in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$34
Really loved this park, Wow! Park managers were very nice and took care of us. Grounds are well kept and has lots of shade trees around the RV sites. Pool was very nice and clean. Has open spaces for the kids to run and play. Fenced in dog run let's Fido play off the leash. This place is tucked away in it's own little oasis but only about seven minutes from Walmart if you need supplies. The kids are just waiting to go back and so are we. Highly recommended, just make reservations early because they can get full quick. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
Not a very attractive park and the restrooms were not attended to on a regular basis. You had a key but the doors were hardly ever closed so what good was it? The worst part was a $10 key deposit required for the rest room key and you could not get it back until the office opened in the mornings, which was late, not early. So forget about an early departure unless you want to forgo the $10 deposit you made. Will look for another choice in future visits. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2008
$32
This park is very nice especially for families but the staff left me cold. We stayed there for a week with a number of other family members. At least one member of the staff was constantly patrolling "looking" for any infraction of their rules. We received a knock on our door at 9 p.m. one night and was told our parking sign was not hanging from the rear view mirror and we had to have it there. (It was lying on the dash.) The whole week went like that. The owner was just as bad. We saw him stop a couple in the street and chewed them out about their dog. I'm sure they will argue that they were enforcing the "rules" to protect the safety of everyone but we have never seen this before and we have been camping for years. The facilities are nice and the park is near the river but my family will not be going back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$30
We were a little worried because of posts about a year ago talking about a really wild tent area. No need. They no longer allow tents, and have truly made this a family park. We stayed 2 nights and it was quiet, small kids riding their bikes. Indoor heated pool. They were very strict on cars coming in and out and every car had to have a parking pass. I appreciated this, some might not like it, but they are trying to maintain the family aspect and did a great job of that. You can walk down to the river to wade/swim. Canoe/Kayak rentals are on site. We will definitely be back. Geat park with lots and lots of shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$25
This was our first time at Pecan Park and we stayed 2 months. We plan to return during the summer months to take advantage of tubing on the river. The swimming pool is indoor and heated. During the summer months the glass (garage type) doors surrounding the pool open up making it an outdoor type with a cover. There is also a large childrens play area, disc golf and two gazebos with porch swings for just relaxing under the many pecan trees. If you are looking for activities outside the park there are lots of shops, restaurants and points of interest very close. We found this park to be very nice and the owners/managers to be extremely friendly and helpful. This park is highly recommended! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$24
Nice well kept,quite RV Park with wide roads and large sites. This park has only one pull through, the rest of the sites are back ins. Friendly staff, did not escort us to our site. They do have a security fee of $10 which is refundable at time of check out,for bathrooms, however we did not use this service. They do have an indoor pool, but we were told the pool is heated by a heat pump and due to the chilly weather (30's and 40's) the water would not be warm. The door to the pool was locked so could not tell if the pool was clean or not. We stayed here for 4 days over the Thanksgiving holiday due to having family and friends in the area. On Thanksgivng day they had a huge meal for the RV guest. At the time we were there, the park was quite full, could not tell if the residents were full timers and lived there or "Winter Texans" (seasonal). All of the sites were well kept and did not see any junk. Called ahead and made reservations and no problem with the reservation system. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2007
$25
This is an unusual review in that we never stayed at the park. Planning on staying in the area, we reviewed the park on this web site and called about the monthly rate. We were e-mailed an "application" form to fill out before we could be put on a "waiting list". OK so far. Then I started reviewing the application. Besides names, DOBs, and driver's license numbers, the application required my social security number. That was warning enough, but later on the form it asked if our RV had a lien and the name and address of the lien holder. All we wanted to do was stay for a month, not buy the place. In over 35 years of Rving and over two years of full timing we've never experienced this type requirement. Since we, like most everyone, pay for the entire stay with a credit card at check in, it makes us believe that either: 1) someone at the park is trying to get our personal data for fraudulent use; 2) the owners are using this as a mechanism to discriminate age/race/financial status; or 3) they're incredibly anal about controlling who visits and how they conduct themselves. In any case, this may be a fine place if you're staying less than a month, apparently you're OK then, but we'll pass. We didn't stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$28
This is our second visit to the park in the last 8 months and was glad to see it was as nice as before. The new owners and staff were very helpful and continuing to make improvements. We stayed in the same site as last time, except this time it had been improved. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$32
Beautiful, quiet, clean campground. Nice shade trees with very friendly staff and owners. They have a great wi-fi system and a nice indoor swimming pool. Apparently the owners had a problem this summer with an employee couple telling people they were in charge of the park and handling things in an extremely unprofessional manner, but they are gone now. There was a $10.00 cash deposit on the key for the restrooms but we got it back when we left. One thing we did really like was that the nightly rate we paid included both of us and our 3 kids. Our site wasn't as level as we would like, but the new owners are in the process of releveling all of them and making big improvements elsewhere too. We will definitely come back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$21
Workamper managers are extremely friendly and helpful. I know it's out of their control but County Rd. 102 into the campground is terrible. It's narrow and rough, but once you reach the campground the roads are paved and in extremely good condition. Our site faced the river. It was a gravel site and almost level, with concrete patio with picnic table and large grassy area around the coach. We would definitely stay again. Nice newly fenced grassy pet run! They seem to be constantly improving the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2007
$34
A nice area and location, but new owners are very unfriendly and very unprofessional. There are a lot of rules and regulations such as washing your camper and no outside storage of items, which are not necessary and tend to be very inconvenient. A $10.00 fee is charged in addition to nightly rate for a bathroom/shower key. I would not stay here again nor would I recommend this park for the simple reason of the owners attitude and way of running their campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
Very nice and clean campground. Friendly owners. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
The attitude of the employees left something to be desired - sort of rude and pretentious. This park has many pecan trees that provide great shade. What they do not tell you is that these trees tend to "self shed". A huge tree limb fell onto my trailer, put a hole in my roof, and destroyed my awning. This has apparently happened to four or five rigs here recently. Beautiful place filled with not so friendly staff, and the sky really is falling. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$30
Nice clean park, plenty of shade trees. Owners are doing a nice job of updating the park. Brand new bath-house just added the first of 2007. Level back-in and pull through gravel spaces with concrete "patio" pads just as you step out of your door. Nice indoor heated pool, adjacent to the San Marcos river. We will stay there again when in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2007
$30
This park is located on the San Marcos River, but other than the river and a heated indoor pool, there were no amenities to offer for small kids. The park is fine for a quick overnight stay, but we won't return because of the lack of additional amenities. The public bath house wasn't convenient, as you had to leave a deposit to get a key. The front-desk manager put us close to the pool, but we didn't realize the bath-house was adjacent to us as well, and there was traffic to and from this building all night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$22
We stayed there for 7 days and was very pleased. The owners are very friendly and helpfull. It is a very clean and quite campground. We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$30
This is a really nice campground! We walked the trails along the river. Very nice indoor heated swimming pool! The campground is big rig friendly! Park manager was very friendly and took the time to talk to us about different parks and such. We camp in a 40' motor coach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$28
Great place to stay. We met the couple upon check-in that owns the place. This is a good campground that is very quiet. It is near the river and close to San Marcos and lots of shopping on I-35. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
LOTS of shade! WI-FI, cable, indoor pool. We camped here late July '06 with 12 yr. old son. Indoor pool was nice, clean, and indoors which was nice when it rained. Nice hosts. Man driving around found owner of loose dog and made him pick up after the dog! Quiet. Just a few mins. from I-35, Wal Mart, San Marcos River in town. Will definitely return in the future We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2005
$22
Loved this park. 70 something channels on cable tv, nice owners/operators, clean restrooms/showers. Very Quiet park. This park is really taken care of by the owners. Brochure lists heated pool but pool was not working/open when we where there. While you can't see the river from any campsite, you can walk to the river bank a few hundred feet away. We'll be back in summer for sure to enjoy river. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2005
$22
Complete park is under huge pecan trees with mostly shade. Sites are gravel with concrete patios. We used a back in although it appeared there are pull throughs. The owners were nice and directed us to the site. We wanted satellite access and they tried to accommodate. Our neighbors were nice and the owners had informed them that we would be arriving and staying next to them. We will definitely stay again. Nice park and very quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$25
We found this to be a very quiet and well maintained park. We had the opportunity to be there for 2 1/2 months, and we would definitely go back! This quiet picturesque park is in a shady grove of pecan trees with lots of squirrels and one chunky raccoon! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$22
Very nice park.Good level sites with concrete pads.Quiet, even with pets. Only downside was the hike to get to the river, about 200 yards. Would go again without hesitation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com