224247 User submitted reviews online!!
Martin Creek Lake State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (903) 836-4336
CGID2914

Martin Creek Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
83
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   6   9   8   6   6   6   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$22
Park is a good clean park, has a power plant that makes lots of noise during day, but at night quiets down due to less electric consumption I guess. Friendly staff, clean bathrooms! But the ants be ready for them, they think RV's are lunch boxes and they seemed to learn how to get into them, power cords, water hose and any thing touching your RV. We used WD40 on power cord and water hose wife though it would work and it did. Bring some good and a lot of ant spray. It's not fun if they get inside, I promise you, but if they don't great park; I'll go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$13
I was a little disappointed in this park. We had a lake front site, and across the lake is a huge power plant that made a constant loud noise. Added to that were the trains delivering coal that were constantly blowing their whistles all times of the day and night. This would have been a more pleasant experience if we had camped in a site that was actually out of sight (and sound) of the lake. That said, the park was nice enough, clean, and the lady who checked us in couldn't have been more pleasant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$13
The primitive sites are not drive-up. They require a hike over a bridge. Well patrolled, gates locked 10-8. Staff friendly, helpful. Good for an overnight, but would not want to spend any more time next to the power plant, with all it's bells, whistles, buzzers, and continuous drone. Visit the Harmony Hill cemetery while here, a beautiful place just up the hill. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$13
We enjoyed this campground very much for our weekend trip . There was plenty to do with the lake for fishing, boating and swimming, picnic areas and hiking. It was a good park for riding our bikes. As the previous reviewers mentioned, you can hear the plant and trains while in the park, but it was not bothersome at all. We enjoyed visiting Tyler and Henderson while we were in the area. The rangers at the park were very helpful and nice. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$15
We spent one night here on our way to Ft. Worth. It was a very well laid out campground with good level pads. The negative is a HUGE coal fired power plant across the lake that clunks and bangs all night. I think if you're into fishing and boating this would be worth a stop, but not much else to do here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2008
$18
This a nice enough State Park and well worth the $18 price for a lake front site. However, the power plant across the lake is very noisy and the pavement around the camp sites is coming apart. The site are eroding away and little to no work has been done to correct the problems. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$20
Level sites. Was pretty sparsely occupied. Needs some upkeep but was good for just an overnight stay. Power plant and trains are always in the background, but not too bad. Overall its not too bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2008
$20
Very solid state park. No sewer or it would rank higher. Big power plant and trains in the background but not much of a bother. Very scenic. We barely made it in our 39 foot motorhome. Limited 50 amp service. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$12
This is a well maintained park and if the lake ever rises it will be pretty again. The fishing is okay, but I wouldn't eat the fish due to selenium found in fish. This is just me, and I know plenty of people that eat the fish from Martin Creek. This park is close to where I live so we do not go here very often. The trees need trimming so that they do not scrape the top of our Fifth Wheel. If you like the woods, you will like Martin Creek. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$14
This is a power plant lake in East Texas, the heated water is great for all-season fishing. However, the 24 hr lights and sound from the plant made tent camping rather uncomfortable, particularly on sites near the lake. The dense forest may provide some protection from the racket on the more inland sites. The insects were bad even in early May. Very friendly staff, clean restrooms and showers. We camped here in a Tent.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com