214760 User submitted reviews online!!
Clear Spring COE was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (903) 838-8781
CGID2917

Clear Spring COE

Camp Information
Sites
117
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   6   9   6   8   8   8   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$12
The rate reflects a 50% Senior Pass discount. This is a very nice Corp of Engineer campground on Lake Wright Patman with many nice modern sites. Some sites are spectacular with decks and great views of the lake. The sites near the lake are fairly close together and there is little vegetation for privacy. The sites a little ways away from the lake offer a little more privacy. It is fairly quiet during the week, but the weekends are very busy, primarily with local campers. Campers seem to like to put out a lot of very bright lights which is certainly detrimental to an outdoor camping experience. Also, a lot of locals spend many weeks at a time there. At night there is often the smell from the paper mill, which is very unpleasant. Our Verizon phone and data plan worked well. We were able to get satellite at a lake-front site. The utilities were good and strong with 50 amp service. The folks at the front booth were friendly and efficient. Overall, this is an OK camping experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$12
The rate is the senior rate. This is the most wonderful COE park we have ever stayed at, and we have stayed at many. The people who checked us in were very friendly and helpful. The grounds were beautifully cared for. There is considerable space between rigs which allows a lot of privacy. The parking surface is asphalt and our site was very level. The water and electric services were OK. We were able to get both DirecTV and Verizon from our lake front site. We would return here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$10
The rate reflects a 50% senior discount. First, a note, the noted flooding is past. It is a beautiful campground and could be a great place to camp, except there are problems. It is very crowded, even during midweek in October. The reason that it is busy is that the local folks have found a way to get around the stay limits and stay there for weeks, even months, at a time. They set up pretty much permanent sites and they use lots of lights. It is not a camping experience, but more like an old campground with lots of permanent campers. Too bad. We would stay here again for passing through, but not as a destination campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
Really nice park, trees, trees, trees, and tall! The volunteers at the front gate make you feel like family. One of the nicest COE's that I have stayed. Lots of space between sites. If you want to use a satellite dish, well good luck, the trees are so tall and so thick, it may be next to impossible to get a signal. I had to run about 200 feet of cable to a clear spot. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$10
The rate reflects a senior discount. The main road into the campground is still closed because of flooding, as noted by an earlier reviewer. Also, part of the campground is closed because of flooding. We have stayed at this CG before and, had I reviewed it then, I would have given it a higher rating. The CG is nice but it was very, very crowded. That would have been OK had the rules been enforced, but they were not. Even though the rules say that cars must be parked on pavement, cars and boats were parked everywhere. Many of the sites had many more than the allowed number of campers. This made getting around difficult and the campground to be rather unpleasant. The crowds were probably because of spring break, and because parts of this and other nearby campgrounds were closed because of the flooding. So do come to this CG, but try to pick times when it will be less crowded. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
Campground was dificult to get to because recent flooding had closed main road to campground. Detour was via small alternative roads with tight corners and low branches. One campground loop was closed but all others were open. B Loop is waterfront and 50amp with several sites featuring decks overlooking the lake right at your patio door. All sites were heavily treed. Interior roads are a little tight for big rigs but workable. All sites were paved with concrete patio sites with picnic tables. Shower house was clean. Playground was just a set of swings. Reservations reccomended for big rigs or waterfront campsites. Overall impression was beautiful campground with great COE rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$10
Shore Services: 50amp, Sewer good, Water @ 45psi -- AT&T Cell Phone: Strong -- Sprint Air Card: weak signal. Improved with Freedom Antenna. Site: B11 Good Asphalt & Level -- Site Size: 70ft long -- Site Closeness: lots of room -- Roads: Asphalt -- Directv Satellite: Good signal on lake sites -- Discounts: Golden Passport -- Payment: Credit Card -- As previously noted avoid the Steep Railroad crossing on Clear Springs Road. I would have drug the bottom of the trailer if I had not previously installed larger axles which raised the trailer about 3 inches. To get to the park from Hwy 67 go to FM 2148, east of park and enter on Sorsby Lane about 3 miles south. From Hwy 59 go north on FM2148 to Sorsby Lane. The phone number shown is for the COE Reservations. You need the park number 903-838-8636 to speak to the park host. It had been raining a lot before we arrived and the A sites were under water. This also caused Sorsby Lane to be flooded, so we had to use Trexler Rd, a narrow road which follows the railroad tracks to FM 1218 and then to FM 2148. This is a rough road but passable. This is a beautiful park. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$10
Price reflects NP Access Pass. Park is very easy to find but follow the directions sent to you with the reservations. My Garmin GPS wanted me to go down a very small road where I would have hgh-centered at a railroad crossing. This is a great park with all facilities needed bu us for our short 2-day stay. We were in A-19 by the lake. We'll be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$16
Nice park with nice sites to choose from. There were a lot of snowbirds arriving while we were there in the early part of October 07. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$16
Very nice clean Corps of Engineers park on Lake Wright-Patman. Sites are very long, very shady in some sections. Plenty of room for big rig and slides. Nice waterfront sites. Each site has a picnic table, grill and utility table. Beach area is very clean. Restrooms very clean with marble counter tops and flooring. We were only there for 2 nights, but are planning to go back for a week with grandchildren. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com