223200 User submitted reviews online!!
Abilene State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (325) 572-3204
CGID2921

Abilene State Park

Camp Information
Sites
96
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   8   8   8   8   8   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$12
We camped here for one night while traveling north through Texas. We chose to stay in the wagon circle area (group camping)because of the better rates. The road circles and you back yourself in at an electric/water hookup. A large, shaded green space is in the center. Several picnic tables and fire rings are also in the green area. There is a bathroom and group shelter in the middle. The bathroom in this section doesn't include a shower but a short trail walk will take you to a bathhouse with shower in another camping area. The park was clean and the office staff were friendly. Other than a few well maintained hiking trails, there was not much to do with the lakes dried and the pool closed. We did visit Buffalo Gap Historic Village. It was a lot of fun and they are dog friendly! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$28
Second time we've stayed here. Spacious, shady sites with picnic, table and fire ring. Quiet spot mid week. Just down the road from Perini steak house and Buffalo Gap Historic Village. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$14
Nice state park. Plenty of shady sites. Of course this makes satellite reception hard. Saw lots of deer. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$18
We've stayed here (in Brushy Trail) twice for events in Abilene, about 20 miles away. Very pretty, quiet, shady park with good utilities and level, back-in sites. Saw deer roaming the park several times. The office staff was very nice and helpful. Although the office was closed when we arrived, our reservation was ready and a staff person came out to hand us a map with our assigned spot marked. Only dings are some trees over, and next to, the entrance road need trimming and rigs with slide outs need to be careful of trees next to sites. Tables on sites on north side of the road in Brushy Trail are on the wrong side (left side of RV). A very relaxing place. We will go again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
We stayed at this nice, shady park on our way home from visiting the Panhandle parks. There are shade trees everywhere and you can stay in tents, screen shelters, RVs, and even yurts! The sites are level, but we paid extra for one of the full-hookup sites and were disappointed to learn that the sewer hookup was not within reach of our hose! the water and electric were at the mid point of the trailer on the driver's side as usual, but the sewer connection was about 10 feet behind the rear of the trailer! That was about 30 feet from my drain. Other than that we enjoyed our stay. It was quiet at night, and there are lots of nice hiking trails, a nice big swimming pool, and a lake. Nearby points of interest include Lake Abilene; the Grace Cultural Center with the Abilene Fine Arts Museum, Historical Museum and Children's Museum; Paramount Theater; Abilene Zoological Gardens; Dyess Air Force Base's vintage aircraft, and the Buffalo Gap Historic Village. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$18
We stayed at this campground twice on our trip, 4 weeks apart. Both times park was less than half full, very quiet, and a pleasant experience. We were in the Pecan Grove which is a little close to the highway but not a significant problem. Trails were well marked, restrooms were very clean, and park is well maintained. Staff friendly. No wi-fi signal. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$18
We enjoyed our stay here. The site was large with trees. The deer came to visit several times. Geocaches are hidden in the park which are fun to locate. A nice park for riding bikes and hiking. Buffalo Gap is nearby with quaint shops and the Buffalo Gap Museum. Abilene is about 20 miles travel if you want to shop at name brand stores. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$20
We were very pleases with this campground. We stayed in the Pecan grove loop and were the only one's there! There are large pecan and oak trees and pecans all over. Nice size and private spaces. Sites are all paved and flat and easy to get into. Bathrooms were very clean and lot's of hot water for showers. Good internet & good cell service with Verizon. Lake is about 2 miles away and would be very nice to spend the day, if it had more water, but with their drought conditions this past year that explains the lack of water. Nice little grocery store in Tuscola with very good prices and very nice people. Walmart was about 15 to 20 miles away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$24
We were surprised at how nicely wooded the campground was. Sites are well separated and level. Nice nature trail and some wonderful historic CCC buildings. AT&T cell phone and wireless broadband worked well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$18
This is a nice, smaller park with shady sites and quite a bit of spacing and privacy between them. We stayed in the Brushy Trail loop which has 50A electric and water. Each loop appears to have different hookups; it is somewhat misleading to label the park has having full hookup sites since I believe there are only 3 of them. The price quoted does not include the daily entrance fee for the park itself; we have a TX park pass and did not need to pay that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$28
A very nice state park with large, flat, shady campsites. The bathhouse was clean. The campground is quiet and offers hiking trails and access to the lake where you can rent boats. The camp roads are wide and easy to navigate. The park is convenient to Abilene and surrounding small towns. We would definitely come back if traveling again to the Abilene area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$26
This is a nice state park with spacious mostly-level sites and lots of shade. Lots of walking trails and other activities including a swimming pool. Be aware that there are many wild/feral cats roaming the park. Maybe that helps keep the rodent population in check, I don't know. We also spotted coons, armadillo and many deer. Some deer were quite friendly. The park is not well lighted at night so make sure you have plenty of flashlights. One big negative was the fire ants. Our poor dog got covered up with them while on our nightly walk. There were also ants - lots of them - in and around the bathhouse. So much that my wife wouldn't set foot inside. I mentioned this to park staff and they said they would have a ranger address it, although the problem persisted throughout our stay. Another bummer with this place is there are no sewer hookups. Overall a nice state park and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$12
This is a great park! It's a wonderful spot for exploring the many attractions at nearby Abilene and Buffalo Gap. Because of this, and it being the middle of summer we thought it would be crowded. The pool was busy, but there were plenty of camping spots. Sites are $12, 15 or 18 depending on features. We didn't think we would enjoy the least expensive, the $12 wagon wheel loop. However we were the only campers in this 36 spot loop, so it worked great, had lots of privacy, and was a quick walk to the pool. The big swimming pool is a great feature, and a wonderful way to cool off on a hot summer day. Our campsite had shade trees and good Spring high speed internet reception. The staff was friendly, and gave us a pass to drive through and look at all the campsites before making a decision. This was a good idea, as some of the sites could be a challenge to back in to with anything larger than a tent trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
Great park, great people. Has ice. Nice campsite. Able to use antenna and get many channels. Very quiet and secluded. Bathrooms clean. Had deer come to the picnic table outside our camper. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$20
We loved camping here! We had visited here several times before but not since getting our RV. We had reserved one of the three sites with full hookups (the other RV sites are water/electric). These sites are back-in. Tons of trees, very private sites. Our was quite level. This park has a lot going for it. The color of the trees this time of year was gorgeous. The staff was friendly and helpful. There are lots of features to the park: hiking, swimming in season, occasional activities like star parties, neat architecture around the pool, etc. If you're into geocaching, Nite Time on Elm Creek Trail was a fun night cache. The location is also very good to explore the area. It's about 20 minutes to Abilene, one of my favorite places I've lived. About 5-10 minutes will get you to Buffalo Gap; don't miss the pottery studio, Perini Ranch Steakhouse, and the Buffalo Gap Historic Village. It's also close to Tuscola, where Lucy's is a great burger cafe. I could go on and on. We're considering coming here for Thanksgiving next year. My only complaint is that is doesn't have more water/electric/sewer sites. Also, it's true that taller RVs may catch some of the branches along the roads. Our 26-foot trailer didn't have a problem. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
We were very shocked at how nice this SP was. We were just needing a spot for the night and found this great location. It's set up perfectly for any family gathering with great rec. areas! The pool is awesome as well. The only thing that would make this a 10 would be more private sites. Oh, they also have yurts!!!! Loved it! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$26
A nice state park, but unless you hold a state park pass, an additional $8 per day charge was imposed even though nothing was used in the park other than the hook-ups, and we paid for those as well. VERY wooded, but nice, large spacious sites; were assigned one we could not get our large rig into, but found another one close by to accommodate us. Saw lots of wildlife which was fun from the safety of our rig. There is no satellite reception and iffy WiFi with our broadband. Trees need trimming and we had to zigzag down the roads so as not to harm the satellite dish on top. Bison are NOT at the park as advertised in their literature. The office staff was nice enough, not too efficient, but their new computer system probably accounted for that. Would stay again, but would ensure having a TX State Park pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
Nice park but littered with pet waste. Park officials don't seem to care about enforcing their own rules about pet owners cleaning up after their pets. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$16
Actually camped there in 2008, but that date wasn't an option. We would like to echo all the good things previously stated about this park. For military history buffs, the 12th Armored Division museum is in Abilene. Also, the ruins of WWII Camp Barkeley are very close to the park. Just off Hwy 277. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$15
This state park is like a hidden gem in Texas. We were not expecting much due to its location, but it is actually a very pretty park. The swimming pool is top notch with lifeguards on duty, the wildlife is abundant, and the campground is quiet. If you don't have reservations though, be aware that the state park may stick you in the "wagon wheel." While not bad, it is not ideal because of lack of shade and privacy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
This state park campground was not on par with others we visited on the same trip. Park is located a considerable distance from Abilene and although no damage was done to the rig the web site directions had us go through a small town with many low hanging trees. Sites were rather small but trees and brush provided privacy. Interior roads seemed narrow due to the trees on both sides. We had no real problems with this campground beside a cramped feeling due to the vegetation. It just does not seem like the kind of place you would go to spend more than a night or two at most. That being said it is probably the best campground in the area so we would stay here again if passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$15
We stopped here for one night on our way to Caprock Canyons. We were impressed with the park, and pleasantly surprised. The park is very pretty, and quite shady. Lots of wildlife, including some semi-wild feral cats. We did not have time to explore the park much, but intend to visit again in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$23
We only stayed here one night, but it was a very nice campground, with lots of space and trees between sites and relatively convenient to town if you need provisions. There were deer and raccoons around the place. Their late check-in procedure was a little confusing, and we didn't use the "wagon wheel" but instead grabbed a site in the regular camping area. The bathrooms were clean and well heated for a winter visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$15
Nightly rate excludes $4 per person day use fee (BUY A TX STATE PARKS PASS!!). Good place to stay for visiting nearby Abilene and Buffalo Gap. We stayed in Brushy Trail camping area. Smaller CCC-built park, but clean and VERY well maintained. Large pool is open during summer months, and is very popular so call ahead. Friendly staff, roads are somewhat narrow. Over the air TV is tolerable, cell reception is 2 bars and wireless is very good. Asphalt sites, W/E hookup near rear but easy to access. Sites have good space between them, lots of trees, shady, and quiet. Dump station is small but works. Some low tree overhangs on roads and in the sites. I mentioned a few overhangs in particular at the office, the ranger was out the next day with a saw and took care of them. Lots of deer, birds and armadillos. Maintained but limited hiking/biking trail (less than 2 miles). I like the park, and would stay here again if I was nearby, but I am prejudiced toward hiking/biking activities so my rating reflects this. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$18
What a nice place to stay for several days! The staff went out of their way to be courteous and helpful. The park was clean, the facilities were clean and in good repair. Probably the cleanest bathrooms and showers we have ever seen! We enjoyed the seclusion and the space. The sites are well laid out and uncrowded and the park covers quite an area. The pool (closed when we were there for the winter) is quite a piece of 1930's architecture. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$18
This is a great park, but very hidden away. They have a very nice pool. The sites are pretty tight if you have slideouts though. There were deer wandering through the campsites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$15
Don't be fooled by the name, Abilene State Park is not in Abilene, nor is it in Tuscola, for that matter. The park is in a heavily forested area just outside Buffalo Gap, Texas. The staff is very friendly and helpful. One of our group knocked the roof cover off the refrigerator on top of their trailer. The park staff brought by a ladder and offered to help with the repair. The pool is in good shape, clean, and has several life guards. If you like to observe wildlife, this is a great place to camp. Deer, racoons, armadillo, squirrels, and more are all through the park. The spaces are very large and spread out. And the whole park was clean, clean, clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$21
A great state park. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$13
Tree shaded paved sites, deer & other wildlife around, hiking trails, great pool,many of the buildings & shelters were built by the CCC. Good place to stay and visit Texas Forts Trail & museums in Abilene & Buffalo Gap historical village. Only complaint would be occasional low tree branches. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com