218177 User submitted reviews online!!
Tyler State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 56 user reviews. Phone: (903) 597-5338
CGID2923

Tyler State Park

Camp Information
Sites
125
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   6   9   9   10   9   7   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$36
Beautiful campground. Sites fairly close to campground roadways. Sites paved and level. Great family campground with swimming, floating deck, paddle boats, canoes, etc. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$28
We just finished a 6 night stay at the full hook up sites called big pine area. The site was pull through and shaded. Kids had fun fishing, hiking, riding bikes, and swimming in the lake. The lake was family friendly and very clean. Not a ton to do nearby but the park offered a nice tree camping/lake combo. Wished we had a lake view site but they did not have full-hookup. Would recommend the lake view sites if going for a few days as the view was very pretty. Would go back again for a short jaunt to get away from the work grind. Also had to pay $5 per person per day in addition to the camp fee. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$36
Ok for an overnight. Park is old and dated. Pull-in sites with campground traffic next to trailer. $26 is for checking in then add another $5 for each person. Convenient store and fuel on hyway in front of park. We would stay again when passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$18
Very nice state park. I stayed here in the Blackjack Group area for a Regional Dutch Oven Gathering. Fantastic group setup other than the sites weren't designed for units with slides and awnings. The campsites all circle a central area with a pavilion. Perfect setup for our group to cook and share meals. The lake is gorgeous and appeared to be full unlike many other Texas lakes. I assume this is because it is spring fed. I will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$24
This is a very nice state park. As mentioned before, the pull throughs are small semi circles and can be quite tight. Our first attempt at a space was not successful due to it being very un-level. The second space tried was much better but had to watch for the boulders. Had some confusion on the pricing. The fee for the campsite listed does not include the admission fee for each person. As a result it cost us 34 a night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$26
Wow, this is a really nice park! Located just north of Tyler and I-20, it feels worlds apart from the hustle and bustle. It is quite large, hilly, and scenic with beautiful pines and hardwood trees, creeks, and a gorgeous lake. It offers camping, picnicking, hiking, biking, swimming, fishing, playgrounds, and boating. For boating, you can launch your own, or rent one from the park store, which offers canoes, kayaks, pedal boats, jon boats, and bike boats. The store also offers souvenirs as well as limited camping supplies and groceries. The park has scenic roads for vehicles and road bicycles, as well as 13 miles of trails for hikers and mountain bikers. It also has many structures that were built in the 1930’s by the Civilian Conservation Corps. There are a wide range of accommodations ranging from tent sites with water only, all the way up to full hookup RV sites, screened shelters, and mini-cabins. Some sites are very level, while others have a slope. Water and electric supplies are good. On the technology side, we received about 30 over-the-air TV stations, 4G LTE cell phone service from Verizon, and Wi-Fi internet from the park, although it was slow at times. While all the sites are quite nice, our favorite area is the Lakeview tent and trailer camping area. It is right on the shores of the lake, has great views, and is right on the Lakeshore trail, which is a very scenic and easy 2-mile loop around the lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
This is a gorgeous park, very quiet with lots of trees. We stayed in one of the lake view sites, and had plenty of room for our 38' RV and tow vehicle. Unfortunately, we could only stay one night, but would have loved to stay longer. FYI -we got carryout from The Bodacious BBQ restaurant right off the interstate and it was very tasty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$24
This park would get a much higher rating if they would clean up a bit and cut the grass. The sites for big rigs are pull throughs in small semi circles, barely got in with our 40 ft motorhome and small Honda tow. Sites are made tighter by strategic placement of big boulders around the campsite. Directions not clear on site entrances, some on left, some on right and thus we had to do a difficult turn around. On the positive, shade trees were at many sites. If you have a tent or smaller trailer there are some lovely lake front sites we could not fit into. We did have full hook ups and 50 amps, great for 95 degree temp. Nothing much in the area to see. This was a stopover for us. Big draw is fishing and trails in cooler weather. Probably would pick another campground if in a large motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$24
This is a beautiful park with lots of shady tall trees. We stayed in the Big Pine Loop which has the longer pull-through spaces. There's a nice path around the lake. Very quiet at night and most of the time during the day as well. The large central area inside the loop gives you a spacious feeling if on an inside site. There are only a few sites suitable for 40' rigs. Most are a little shorter. Even though pull through, the sites can be difficult to get into. The sites are not all level and all need repaving. Utilities are good and there's a park host on hand in the loop if you need information or assistance. There are a few over the air TV stations, enough clear sky to aim a satellite dish, but bring your own internet. This is a very pleasant place to stay and if they'd improve the sites a little, I'd give it a 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$31
We stayed here for four glorious days and enjoyed every second of it. Staff was wonderful and the park is very well maintained. Spent dusk each day watching a raccoon come down from a tree and make its' rounds, staying clear of people. If you want to get away for a few day or spend some time resting up from your journeys (as we did), this is the place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$25
Very nice smaller park, but will accept large rigs we had a site along the lake; believe we were told it was 40'. Great hiking trails; clean restrooms and showers were individual which would be nice. Very well stocked park store and a great small lake (65 acres I believe). We will return We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$25
We camped on the lake in a pull through site on a winter weekend without reservations. This park, close to interstate 20, is a quiet retreat either before or after facing Dallas traffic. The park is convenient to gas stations, Walmart and a local Texas winery. Roads are easily negotiable. They have canoes and paddle boats to rent and a small gift shop. There is a beach. There are hiking trails and the rangers and volunteers can recommend lots of things to do at the park and in Tyler. I would suspect the campground is very busy during Spring and Fall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$30
We stayed here for three nights while visiting friends in Tyler. It is a beautiful park. We received a site right on the lake..a beautiful spot! The staff was very helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$26
Stayed here one night while passing through the area. First, husband and I were pleasantly surprised that this state park offered some sewer hookups, which was a great plus. Pretty little lake; since we were just staying one night--a Thursday night--we were able to get a "premium site" by the lake. Very nice site with a lot of deep space to the water. Paved semi-circle pull-through, table, fire ring, etc. with beautiful view and access to the water because the lake was a little low. Cons: Sites in need of some mowing/trimming. Some sites in desperate need of repaving--mostly the sites in area 3, which we noticed while taking a walk. Also, several large trees had to be cut down (due to the drought?), which the park staff was in the process of doing. But still a lot of tress remaining. Did make for lots of firewood available to buy. The host that was monitoring the area was not friendly. Such a shame the state of Texas doesn't allocate more money to the upkeep of its beautiful parks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
We fully expected to like this SP from all the reviews we read. And indeed, it's a very beautiful spot to camp. Lake view (which was full when we made our reservations) is definitely the loop to camp at. The views are outstanding. We stayed in the Cedar Point loop, which had some pull throughs and a few back ins. The spots were small and the road was pretty narrow, I don't see them accommodating larger rigs. The bathrooms were well kept up and clean. Nature trail (trail head near the from office) was easy (5 y/o with us) and scenic. Our only complaint is one of site style. So this might not apply to other's (and is the only reason I rated a 7 instead of higher). The sites are very open in relation to each other and we prefer more wooded sites with natural barriers from neighboring sites. Also, at night when it's quiet the road noise (I-20 is only a few miles away) intruded just a little bit. If this SP is busy (it wasn't when we were here) I think I'd feel claustrophobic and cramped with the way the sites are laid out. Again, the lake view loop is very nice: and we will definitely give this SP another try when we can get a reservation for one of these spots. The staff was very friendly. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$3o
Very impressive state park. Staff friendly, especially the office personnel and park police officers. Sites level and typically wooded, but well maintained. Some difficulty backing a long trailer in, but was probably designed when smaller RVs were the norm. No reservations ended for overnight, but suggested for longer term stays. Very difficult making reservations as one number will refer you to another. Be patient - it will be beneficial. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$25
We stayed at this park twice. It has been a great experience both times. We stayed in the Big Pine RV area. There are several great lake view and access sites in this area. Also, there is a hiking trail just off the campground that goes across the dam and around the small lake. There are great amenities. Those include canoe/kayak rental, a very new playground, swimming area with sandy beach entry, and a great snake program by the Park Ranger. It's a must see! Restrooms are very clean. Showers are nice but small (no room to get dressed due to the wet floor). We encountered many pesky raccoons on our first visit, but on the second visit a few months later, we only saw a couple of them. We will return to this park in the future. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$15
This was a convenient state park close to I20 and we stayed two nights during a rain storm. It has paved roads and campsites which was very nice given the heavy downpours. Lots of area to walk the dog, typical state park restrooms but they were clean, and nice hosts and rangers. There are large rocks around the campsites to keep vehicles off the grass areas. We didn't find these to be a problem but carry a flashlight if walking around at night, and be careful pulling around especially if you have a larger rig or not a lot of experience. We saw a "newbie" put his trailer over the water spigot as he didn't anticipate the turning radius when towing. He broke off the faucet which meant the rangers had to come turn off the water to our section of the campground and get the faucet fixed. They were very nice at keeping us informed and it wasn't an issue for us. Rate is with the Texas park pass so we did not have to pay the daily per person entrance fee. We would stay here again when coming through Texas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$25
State Park just north of Tyler, roads and sites paved. Roads makes a loop around lake with some short steep grades and tight corners. Don't need to drive all the way around unless you miss the campground like we did, small signs. Most sites are level with good power and water. Cell (AT&T) weak. Many trees. First Saturday of month a Dutch Oven cooking demo and lunch is available for donation. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
This is our second time to stay at this park. The first was off season and we got a great site and we loved it. This time we were there on a busy weekend and it was a little different. First, the park has good and easy access to the interstate. That is good, but it does mean that you hear some traffic noise at night. Not a lot, but some. This time we only remembered at the last minute to get a reservation since it would be on a weekend. It is good that we did since we got almost the last spot. We got a spot in Cedar Point area, not the best of spots. It is unfortunate that because of the one-way posting and the way the sites are laid out that sites 12, 13, 14, 16 18, 19, and 20 have the hookups on the wrong side. Also, your door opens directly onto the road. Almost all of the other campers in this loop were tent campers, probably the best for this loop. All of the staff were great. We would definitely stay here again, but would either stay off season or make reservations early on so that we could get a nice site by the lake. We like dark campgrounds and think that taking a flashlight is a good idea. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
Well, after going to this park many times and staying in the Big Pine loop we found that the park staff has basically ruined the loop. They have placed large, dark brown boulders around the campsites that make it extremely hard to get into the pull through campsites. We had a group of 8 RV's in this loop for the weekend and once it got dark the big boulders were virtually invisible. This caused 4 adults to walk right into them and cause severe abrasions and cuts. When this dangerous situation was brought to the park ranger's attention, his attitude was "carry a flashlight." Terrible. We'll never go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
We stayed in area 3, Big Pine, all sites are pull through, a little tight for our 37' and toad, but we made it work. Park has been hit very hard by the drought, many trees are stressed, some have died. Raccoon and squirrel are in abundance. Several trails, the lake was very pretty, paddle boats for rent, roads are a little narrow and the camping areas allow for 2 way traffic, but everyone seems to make it through ok. Saw very little staff and only saw the camp host out and about twice, neither were openly friendly (except lady at fee station). We would like to visit again. Would pick another site then our assigned one this time, all trees around it were dead so we had no shade at all except our awning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
We camped here 3 nights with our Good Sam Chapter. Although it was hot 100 plus degrees, we had a great time. We camped in the Big Pine area with pull throughs, water, sewer and 50 amp available. We had some shade. Satellite access in our site was easy. Each site had picnic table lamp post and fire ring. There was a burn ban, so we could not light a campfire. Restroom and showers are clean. Great park for the price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$22
A beautiful State Park in the woods of NE Texas. Our campsite was at back in next to the lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
We camped here in the hottest part of the summer. There was plenty of shade and a great swimming hole area of the lake. There were paddle boats, water bikes, pontoon boats, etc. available to rent by the hour. The entire park lost power for about 7 hours which made for some uncomfortable sleeping, but it certainly wasn't the park's fault. The bathhouse was incredibly hot, sticky and smelly, which is the only reason I didn't rate the park as a 10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
We stayed overnight as we were passing through. The "pull through" sites in the Big Pine area were small and tight. The sites were a mudfest due to recent rain. We had to change sites three times in order be able to get in or out of trailer without wading through the mud and water. The trees overhanging the sites need trimmed badly as they hit the trailers and coaches when they pull in. We will not stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$22
We had another enjoyable stay with our grand kids. We were in site #37. It was kind of close with trees if you have slideouts. Our slideouts are all on one side of the trailer. If they had been on both sides then we wouldn't have been able to get in #37. The site was shaded pretty well all day long. The grand kids had a nice place to swim and we launched our kayaks. The playground has been improved since our last visit. The WiFi worked most of the time and was about the same as our Verizon Broadband. The Park had landscaping brick delivered in 2008 to replace the decaying crossties that are in the sites. So far a few sites have been improved but the majority have not. The pile of bricks are dwindling due to campers using them as jack pads and an attempt to deter the raccoons from opening the ice chest. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
Beautiful, generally well kept park. We stayed in Lakeview section. Sites are well spaced, but somewhat small. We were in a 3023 Trailmanor so we did not have maneuvering problems, but would expect large motorhomes, 5th wheels and travel trailers to have some problems maneuvering in and out of sites. Used showers one day (Monday) only and it was dirty. Otherwise, very pleasant park and pleasant stay. Full hook-up rate is $22 per day, PLUS a $3 per person per day charge. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
Beautiful park: with fishing (no license needed within TX state parks), swimming in the lake, and gorgeous hiking trails. Has friendly, knowledgable staff. Extremely slow WiFi available only from the gift shop patio. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
Lovely, lovely campground! It's well-kept, quiet, scenic, what else could you want? We had a great, lakeside site (37) which took a bit of maneuvering to get into with our 37' rig, but we did it. Bathrooms were cleaned often and spotless. Campground personnel stopped by to visit and were very welcoming and friendly. We will make it a point to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
Great state park: very scenic, great lake, family oriented. Sunday church service lake side is available. Staff was very friendly. Some pull-in sites are larger than others. We were assigned a site, when we got here it would not accommodate us. We saw a site on the same loop that would. Made a phone call, and they said go ahead! Close to Tyler which has an interesting inner city road pattern. Visited the Air Memorial Museum and Fort Ford, an old civil war POW Camp. No recycling! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$20
Beautiful, quiet, and clean park. Many pull-thrus, easy in and out. Small lake, beach, swimming area, and playgrounds are great assets. Great place for a family reunion. This stay we were returning to Dallas with golfing stops at Garden Valley, Pine Dunes (Frankston) and Fredricksburg, and have stayed overnight several times with the same level of satisfaction. A great time to stay is April during the Azalea Festival. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2009
$28
Pull-through sites are not long enough and are hard to get into and remain on the hard surface in the area we camped in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$28
We stayed at this park for two days. Wanted to stay more! What a great park and only a couple of miles off the Interstate. The second night there we were visited by a couple of raccoons. Before we realized what was going on the little bandits made off with a package of graham crackers! We had one of the premium lake view sites. Our site was a back-in and VERY level. However, looking at some of the other sites it looked like leveling could be a challenge. Also the water and electric were at the front of the site. The sewer was mid site. I was talking with one of the rangers and she said that the park is booked full on most weekends even in the winter. There is a lot to do here, you can rent canoes, paddle boats or pontoon boats. They are trying to cover the park with wireless Internet. The first I’ve experienced with State Parks. It was pretty weak, worked sometimes and not others. My Verizon air card filled in the gaps. As a side note, I noticed that one of the tires on my trailer was bad. I called around and spoke to Clay at the Tire Barn in Tyler, TX. He told me to bring it in and he gave me a killer deal on a new tire. He had the old tire off the rim and the new one on and I was on my way in less than 5 minutes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$18
Being a native Texan, my wife and I have camped many of our Texas State Parks. In fact, we prefer a State of Texas State Park if we have an option. Camping in East Texas is beautiful with all of the tall pine trees. And Tyler State Park is one of the best in East Texas. It probably had the cleanest restrooms and showers of any Texas State Park we have stayed in during the last couple of years. Our site had a problem with fire ants due to the recent heavy rains, but one call to the Ranger's office took care of the problem. The camp host was at our site in less than five minutes with fire ant poison! It has a beautiful lake and a marvelous gift shop operated by a wonderfully helpful, courteous attendant. My wife bought a beautiful State park T-shirt with a great picture on it. All-in-all, we highly recommend this state park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
We were only there for an overnight, but would definitely stay again to explore the park area. Very conveniently north off the interstate just East of Dallas. Shade available. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
This was our 2nd trip to this park and I can't say enough great things about it. The people are great, sites excellent and spacious. If you want the best spaces - reserve way ahead of time. We'll be booking our Memorial Day 2010 trip NOW! Cowboy Church on Sunday's is a plus! We love this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$17
Note: $17 per night PLUS $3 per person day use fee. We snagged a spot on the busy holiday weekend just for an overnighter, so we didn't get one of the premium sites that others have mentioned. We were in Area 1--NOT recommended. Road and sites are crumbling, unlevel asphalt. Had to really work on getting somewhat level--we were more than 5 degrees off front/back AND side to side. Trails are unmarked (at least in our area) and in disrepair--there appears to have been a forest fire at some point. We are big state park fans, so this was a bit disappointing, but it's still in our opinion better than being sardines in a private campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2009
$18
Extreme overcrowding of campers. Sites were no bigger than two parking spaces. Very noisy and and the park was not at all tidy. Very disappointed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$24
We camped in Area 3 away from the water on site 42. The site was very hard to get my rig into and then had to back out. The sites are very unlevel and need to be resurfaced. The park was very crowded on Friday and Saturday. The fishing piers were taken over by hordes of unsupervised children running and screaming at each other. I don't think we will stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$15
Enjoyed the park, #17, quiet with nice short range scenery. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
Sites on the lake are premium and much nicer. We stayed at Area 1 Cedar Point site 11. Sites aren't level and ground is badly eroded. Our site was on the end of the row with a little more elbow room and shaded. I was very shocked to see how deteriorated the campsites were since we last visited 10yrs ago. Restrooms were very clean, showers nice but building was very warm (no turbine to draw out the heat). Swimming area is nice, sandy bottom. Kids loved diving and jumping off dive platform. You can rent canoes and paddle boats. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
We love this park! It's beautiful, wooded and most sites have lake views. We have stayed here several times and always look forward to staying here. We even get satellite coverage with all the trees. We would definitely stay here again and look forward to coming back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
We stayed at this park for five nights in April. It is a large and beautiful park with lots of trees and a great lake for boating and fishing. The washrooms are spotless, the hiking/biking trails long and well-marked and the sites are excellent. Some sites are right on the lake! Wi-Fi is available depending on site location. The city of Tyler is 20 minutes away and offers a beautiful azalea trail along private homes at this time of year. The park is about 45 minutes from the famous Canton Trade Days. One of the world’s largest flea markets. One of the drawbacks of this park is that it can get very, very crowded on the weekend. There is a limit to the number of vehicles per site but this did not seem to be enforced. The crowded conditions were a factor in lack of respect for privacy at campsites. When we were here, it was not uncommon for people to walk or bike through or play fight with guns shooting plastic BBs in the campsites of others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$25
Beautiful park. It has some very nice lake front sites. Will go back We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
We stayed 2 nights in the Lakeside camping loop. Nice sites with good views of the lake. This loop is a little tight for maneuvering 40' motorhomes with a toad, but can be done. There is another camping loop with FHU which is easily accessible for large rigs. The State Park is only about 2 miles from IH20, so is a good place to spend the night if you are passing through. In addition to the nightly rate of $20 there is a $3 per person entrance fee unless you have a Texas State Park pass. The campsites can be a little muddy if it is raining. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$24
We are new to RVing and were eager to go camping. Since we live in Tyler we decided to try out Tyler St. Park. We stayed in an area called Lakeside - obviously right on the lake. We camped in #32 - a large & level perfect spot right on the water. There are many activities - fishing, hiking, biking, paddle boating, playgrounds, bird watching and swimming in the summer. One negative - we couldn't get TV reception with our antenna - we don't have a dish. We did get wireless Internet. Reservations are accepted for a certain date and camping area - you can't reserve a particular spot. Winter time was less crowded and very quiet. Other times of the year the park can be very crowded - especially on weekends. Anyone RVing along I20 in East Texas should consider staying in Tyler St. Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$24
Very nice, family park. Lots of shaded spaces that are fairly level. Many of the more popular areas are a little worn and tend to get muddy easy. We stayed in Lakeview section of the park directly in front of the lake- had to put Travel Trailer into pull through spot backwards to get the door to face the lake but it was easy to do. Note some spots have slide out obstructions (trees) but the park officials have notes on which ones. Lots of trails- but beware as they are very hilly and are not marked plus many people have added their own trails and believe it or not it is easy to get lost as many of the trails are rather remote. Park staff all very friendly and helpful. Took 2 small children and they had a blast. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$18
This is a beautiful State Park. It had rained so muddy at our site, but we would stay here again. Great place for a family to enjoy a good time together or just a couple being our doors. We had a pull-thru site with full hook ups. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$14
Excellent state park. Plan ahead as it gets booked up quickly. Plenty of space, miles of paved hiking and bike trails, fishing pier, and beautiful scenery. Rustic setting and views. Drive of about 5-10 miles to decent store. A place that can be enjoyed by retired couple, or entire family. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$18
A very nice scenic State Park. Lake View camping area are the lake front sites. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$18
We enjoyed this park. The lake was a very small lake, but the kids enjoyed the paddle boats and swimming. Lots of trails and spaces. A busy park, you must reserve at least 2 weeks in advance to ensure a weekend site. Park workers were are friendly and helpful. The night stay was very relaxing and the raccoons were fun to watch at dusk. We expect to return next year to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$24
A beautiful park just a couple miles from from I-20. We wish we had stayed longer. Nice shady areas around the lake, biking on the road or on bike trails. Full hook up sites in the Lakeview camping area are the best! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$16
We truly do love Tyler State Park and we have written a previous review here in their favor...however, be warned...their new sewer hook ups are so far away from where you need to have your trailer parked that you will need 20-30 feet of sewer hose in order to connect. Many of the connections are on the wrong side. By this I mean that unless your outlet is at the front of your rig, you'll need lots of hose to make it work. . . Other than that, it really was nice not having to visit the dump station in the middle of our stay... We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$16
We are so excited about the new "make over" at Tyler State Park! The two largest areas, Big Pine and Lakeview, now have sewer hookups! We have been camping at TSP for several years now and are looking forward to "hooking up to sewer" next week. The restroom/bath facilities have always been clean and the park staff friendy and helpful. Tyler seems to attract the greatest folks around, so if you are looking for a peaceful and beautiful spot in East Texas to camp, be sure to put Tyler at the top of your list. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2004
$14
Can't beat this park. You have to reserve early as it fills up quickly and is booked far in advance, especially during the summer. Not far off I-20, but far enough away to avoid any noise or traffic. Very pretty setting (Pine Forest and hard woods) with a lake that is set up for fishing and swimming (roped off beach with bathhouse) Also has concession area to rent boats and canoes. Plenty of hiking and biking trails. Four different areas for trailers and motorhomes and several more for tents and some areas for shelters. One of the finest in the Texas system. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com