218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Lost Maples State Natural Area was rated 9 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (830) 966-3413
CGID2927

Lost Maples State Natural Area

Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
March 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   10   10   9   10   7   8   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$20
This is a beautiful to stay for a few days. There's no Verizon service, but the open WiFi works great. We hiked both days we were here, on the River and then for a few miles on the East Trail to the Ponds and beyond. Lots of birds here, if you're a birder or not. Friendly staff was very helpful. Good roads, but lots of curves that reminded us of our home in Montana. We'd love to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
This is a great off-the-grid place to be. Spacious sites with nice shade, little noise, good trails, and pet friendly. It was a little muddy, but we know it rained several inches the week before we arrived. There are also a lot of areas that haven't recovered from the drought. The roads and tree cover are a little tricky with a large trailer. As is the dump station. We could only access it from one direction due to excessive tree growth. All of that being said, this is a friendly, quiet place, and the weather is great this time of year. We love this park in the Spring and Fall and will definitely return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
This is a great park even though it doesn't have the highest number of amenities. The campsites are large and there's plenty of room between sites. A picnic table under a cabana is a nice touch. Campground is clean, well kept, and quiet. Lots of great hiking trails and some rare bird species are found here. Rangers are friendly and informative. I'd definitely come back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
I would like to keep this State Park a personal secret it is so lovely. Lost Maples has a small campground and focuses mainly on the natural area with hiking trails and a small lake where you can fish for Guadalupe Bass, catch and release. Of course the most picturesque time to visit is the fall in order to see the fall colors of the Big Tooth Maples. The sites are gravel but level. Each site has a fire ring and covered picnic table. There is currently a burn ban in place so no fires are permitted. The park is very clean and the personnel are friendly and helpful. We will go back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$18
Agree with the other reviewers. It is a nice campground in a wonderful park (actually State Natural Area). There are great hiking trails and fantastic scenery. The park is clean and well tended and the staff are very helpful. The sites are large, so big rigs are not a problem. The highway (187) leading into the park is fine, but it is very narrow. This is not really a problem since there is so little traffic (at least at this time of year). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$18
One of the five best state parks in Texas. No sewer outlet but there is a dump station. Quiet, beautiful and serene. Hiking through the maples is great as they are turning early in 2009. Friendly park rangers who watch over you and are ready to assist in any way. We just wish it were closer to Houston. The sites can accommodate bigger rigs with ease. The state web site does not tell you that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$18
This is our second time to this park. By State Park standards, we give it a 7. There just aren't a lot of extra amenities other than hiking and the views. The sites are well spaced, and we were there early enough in the day to get a site that accommodated our larger RV. The park is well maintained and clean. There is no litter, no cigarette butts, etc. The rangers and park police are beyond friendly and are a tremendous resource of information. The drawback to this park is the unlevel dump station, which is also difficult to get into due to tree growth. I didn't even bother stopping, and had to pay extra to dump at an RV park closer to home. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$15
Beautiful spot. Quiet and peaceful. Lovely walks. Clean bathrooms. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$15
What a pretty park! The hills covered in Maple trees are just the perfect backdrop. The park policeman (very friendly) said that there are over 11 miles of hiking trails! Some of the trails are very steep and strenuous so make sure that you read the signs before you start. There is a beautiful pond for fishing. Our 10 year old daughter caught 18 fish in two hours! She used turkey for bait. The showers and restrooms were squeaky clean! Site #15 looks fabulous. We were unable to stay in it because it was already taken. We will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$15
A small park in the beautiful Texas Hill Country, this one is worth the visit. Plan to hike and enjoy the trails, which wind back and forth across the Sabinal River. The sites are spacious, with a covered picnic shelter for each one. Site #15 is my favorite. Climb to the top of the canyon on a hiking trail or leave the park to get cell phone coverage. Better yet, just enjoy the maples and the river! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$15
This is a nice, secluded campground with State Natural Area. We were too early in the season to see the changing of the leaves, but had a great time in this beautiful park. There were several hiking trails, the shortest of which was great even for three 4 year olds. And, the entire park (trails included) was immaculately clean. We never saw trash of any kind. A few of the trees were a little low getting to the RV area of the park, but once you get to the RV loop, it was clear, recently mowed, and easily accessible. Sites were nicely spaced. I was able to maneuver our 38 foot toy hauler with little hassle. The dump station was tight to get into because of the trees. The roads to the park from Bandera were steep and had many curves. Just make sure you take your time. We will definitely return. The bathhouse was clean in the mornings, but sure was warm in the afternoons. Each site has a nice cover over the picnic table, and also has a fire pit/grill. It would have been nice if the ranger station sold ice and firewood, but there is a little store about 4 miles down the road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2008
$15
This is a lovely, small state natural area, away from highways and population centers. There are a few restaurants in nearby towns, but each site has a covered picnic table and there are also picnic tables along the river (in a different area than the campground). Peace and quiet and nature prevail -- nature hikes and wildlife. Very friendly and helpful staff, very nice nature exhibit, small gift shop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$15
This park is located in a beautiful part of Texas, the Hill Country. The surrounding area has not been disturbed, yet, with weekend homes. Much of the private land in the area has been fenced with "high" fences to hold exotic animals from all over the world. The major attraction at Lost Maples State Natural Area is the colorful leaves during October and November. Most roads to this park are very crooked and steep in places. There is an entry fee per person into the park. Adult - $5, Senior - $3. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com