206926 User submitted reviews online!!
Devils Garden Campground (NPS Campground) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (435) 719-2236
CGID2943

Devils Garden Campground (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
51
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   9   9   10   8   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$10
Monday, May 6 – Devils Garden Campground, Arches National Park, Utah This is the only developed campground in Arches with 54 sites and no hookups or showers. Make reservations because they have been full every night. We stayed two nights and enjoyed the ranger programs and the hikes from the campground. The campground is at the way end of the park road through the park. The Devils Garden trailhead starts there and it is about 8 miles in with other trails shooting off. The campground has three trails that lead off one near site 38 and also views that can be hiked to from some of the camp sites. Beautiful park with lots to do and with a senior pass it costs $10 a night. Bathhouses were clean but no showers and RV’s cannot fill up their water tanks. So much to see and do in the park. The morning we left after a thunderstorm and rainstorm some of the drives were temporary closed for fear of flashfloods but I am sure by the afternoon they must have been open again. The drive up to the viewpoints from the Visitor Center is quite steep with curves but the rest of the park is easy to drive. They do have some sites that can fit large RV’s but not many, so if making a reservation one needs to notice the site size. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
Devils Garden is your only choice if you want to stay in Arches. It is 18 miles into the park, at the very end of the main road. Reservations are needed. We stayed here in late September and the park was full. The sites are gravel, fairly level, but short. Our site required that we have the back end of the motorhome over top of the fire pit in order to get fully in. (no fire that night!). Generators are restricted to 2 hours in the morning and 4 hours in the evening. The hosts were very congenial. We stayed here in a 39' motorhome. Rated lower due to the length issues of the site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
Beautiful park. The only thing I would recommend is to bring lots of water, it gets really hot. The night views are the best I have seen. Campsites are fairly level, but easy to back into. Nice thing about this CG is that there are two wonderful trails right from the campgrounds. Might stay in Moab next time for the electricity if I camp during July again, but would come back for the cooler months without hesitation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
A dry camping experience with awesome views of Arches National Park! Campground is 18 miles from entrance station, with a steep climb with switchbacks at the beginning. All sites are on the reservation system and reservations are needed! There are a few sites suitable for big rigs. Nightly ranger programs at amphitheater and several trails are within walking distance of campground. The pull through sites are sites that are wide areas in the campground road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
This is the absolute best place to stay when visiting Arches NP. Many sites can handle trailers and fifth wheels up to about 30 feet with no problem. As said before this is dry camping, but there are plenty of places in Moab to "dump and fill". Days were clear and warm, and at night we could pull up our chairs behind our site and actually see lights on vehicles that were nearly 100 miles away. One thing to be aware of in hot weather is that this campground is 17 miles inside of the park. To get to it you begin by climbing about 2 miles of 6% plus grade with a couple 15 mph switchbacks. The road continues to climb at a lesser grade until reaching the campground. With lower national park speed limits, overheating could be a problem. We will definitely stay here again when visiting Arches. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$18
OK: this is not a park with "amenities" like pool, WiFi, and activities. It's a place to commune with the red rocks of Utah in all its glory. The sites are beautiful and level with some concrete pads suitable for big rigs. However, be prepared for DRY camping. In fact, to get water, you have to drive into Moab. There is no dump station at this park. I loved being here. If you want to stay, I recommend getting a reservation over the Internet very early. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
We came here for the sights not the camp sites. This not a dog friendly CG because of being in the National Forest which restricts dog to their campsite and the roads. Weather was nice this time of year perfect for long hikes without getting wiped out and dehydrated. Large RVs not recommended due to smaller sites. Camp hosts were seen rarely but were there when the occasional knucklehead kept their generator running past 10 PM. Recommend RVs with great dry camping abilities. We did great -- never needed our generator the four days we were there. That may have not been the case in summer months. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
If you're setup for some dry camping, this is the best place to be in the Moab area. So quiet and dark at night. We were able to acquire a first come first serve site that had 360 degree views - close to all the arches hiking. I understand next year will be by reservation only so reserve early. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$15
Beautiful campground, difficult to find a space. Be very early to make reservation in advance.A perfect spot in a beautiful park. Very friendly camping host. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$15
Beauty can only describe this campground. The views are amazing, the trails are great and the nightly ranger talk is perfect. The night of dry camping was definitely worth it. Rabbits and lizards are fun to find for adults and kids. Our 3 kids were even ready for a sunrise mini-hike at the windows, then a cool (temperature) hike to see Delicate Arch. When we were done, it was breakfast time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$8
The spectacular beauty of this campground, its terrific value for money, (especially if you're a senior with Golden Age passport) terrific access to hiking trails, majestic silence and stars at night, combined with nice scenic and spacious well-separated paved sites with picnic table etc., more than make up for the lack of facilities. Decent flush toilets but no showers or hook ups. You'll definitely need a reservation though and no wonder. Generators only from 8am to 10am and 4pm to 8pm made it a little tough on us early morning coffee drinkers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$15
Primitive camping, no hookups, no dump station. There are a few places in the park where water is available. We camped in site #1 which was just big enough for our 33' 5th wheel. This site was secluded but most sites are out in the open. If you enjoy primitive camping in a beautiful setting, you will love this place, 18 miles from the entrance. Great stargazing on clear nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$18
In 2003 Arches NP started accepting reservations for some sites. Thankfully this reduces the crazy early AM stampede to find vacant sites that held true here when everything was first-come first-served. The CG itself is in a beautiful location at the end of the park access road. It primarily caters to tent campers and there are fairly limited hours when you can use your gen-set. Most site parking pads are short but there are a few that can accommodate rigs up to 32 feet or so. If you like boondocking in the redrocks you must stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com