223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Kodachrome Basin State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (435) 679-8562
CGID2951

Kodachrome Basin State Park

Camp Information
Sites
31
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   10   8   10   10   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
If you want quiet, you've got it here. Beautiful park with no 21st century communication, thankfully. Second visit to this state park. A total of ten full hookup sites. Six more were added since last visit. Pull-throughs and back-ins, all are very nice as well as the dry sites. Bathrooms and park in general are clean and immaculate. What a pleasure this place is. If you like the Colorado Plateau scenery, you will enjoy your time here. We will be back again to take some more hikes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
What a quiet and beautiful campground! LONG, WIDE pull-thru sites (back-ins were huge, too), nice picnic table area with fire pit (bundles of wood sold on the honor system in campground for $5/bundle). Plenty of places to ride bicycles and hike. Horseback rides available. Small store had essentials. 12-14 miles from groceries, wifi, and cell reception. Close to Bryce N.P. Be aware of hitchhiking critters--we found 2 mice in the truck cab eating the dog treats. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
We had a full hookup site in this secluded state park about 14 miles from Bryce NP. Most sites here have no hookups...about 4 full service sites. There is no TV, no radio and no telephone service as the campground is in a beautiful red rock canyon. Site services are all new and very good. Campground is spotless. Spectacular night skies from here as there is no light pollution. Definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
Great park. Big pull through sites, good water/electricity. Magnificent views. No Wi-Fi or cell phone service. Super place to hike and enjoy nature. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
This is a fantastic state park campground. Located in a area surrounded by beautiful rock formations. I would suggest booking early online if you want full hookups. The road and sites are firm unpaved. Full hookup sites were pull through, good length, width and level. Some of the other sites are electric and water while others have nothing. No wifi or phone service at park. The area is beautiful and worth spending several days here. It is nine miles back to Canonville , but groceries, gas and restaurants are a few miles more in Tropic. This park is not as well known as others in the area so you don't have to deal with large crowds. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
We booked for three nights and stayed for five. This is the place to chill out. Surrounded on three sides by a high mesa with brilliant limestone colors, the park, like all Utah State Parks, is immaculate. The staff was delightful, as well as the many fascinating people camping in the park. We took a horseback ride with magnificent vistas of the cliffs of Bryce Canyon National Park. This park is a nice location for visiting UT 12 scenic byway and Bryce Canyon. The sites are large, the bathrooms spotless. Remember - there is no cell phone service of any kind in this area. The rangers make that clear and it is on the brochure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$16
This is a gorgeous place and very well run state park. We had a dry site, a long, paved pull-out with a great view of the surrounding canyon. There are a handful of FHU's, but you would probably need a reservation. Nice hot showers and hot water camp sink. The hiking is great here, with several long, but moderate trails with fantastic views of Bryce Canyon to the west. If you are traveling from Bryce to Capitol Reef, this park is well worth your time to stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
Wednesday, May 1 – Kodachrome Basin State Park, Utah This park is located about 25 miles north of Bryce Canyon National Park off of route 12. Nice drive getting to it. The park has over 4,000 acres with striking rock formations. In 1948 the National Geographic Magazine sent a group here for pictures and a story and they named the area Kodachrome after the film because of the beauty and color found here. It did change names a few times but then stuck with the Kodachrome Basin name. The campground sits in a basin with 30 numbered sites that can be reserved online. If you do not have reservations you get a one night permit and then might have to change sites daily. The cost is $20 for a site with hookups (8 of them). The bath house was clean with showers. There is a visitor center and a number of hikes within walking distance of the park. When you are driving to the park, you will go by one of the visitor centers for the Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument which surrounds this park. That is a good stop and very informative. We have heard great things about Kodachrome Basin State Park and we were not disappointed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$31
We stayed two nights in this very nice park. The rate reflects having to change our reservation which added an extra five bucks. Four full hook up sites. All nice with hookups in good condition and placed well. All the rest of the sites are dry but with plenty of room and picnic table and fire ring. The picnic table is on concrete. The restrooms and showers were very clean. Grassy area around the restroom/dish washing area. Nice touch. This state park is nicer than most private RV parks we have stayed. Lots of nice scenery and walking/hiking trails. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$26
What a magnificent park! Parked up in the canyon surrounded by cliffs and hoodoo's. The park offers hiking trails and two trails suitable for off-road bicycling. Bryce NP is a 30 minute drive. There are only 4 full hook-up sites available - #25 through #28. There is NO cell or data in the park. The office used to have a wi-fi connection, but they now have a State line of some sort that is secure. There are several small towns within 20 miles where a signal can be had. Also, we drove the 10 miles out the dirt road at the park entrance to Grosvenor's Double Arch. Well worth the drive! This is our second visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$15
This park is located at the end of a narrow road about nine miles from Cannonville, Utah. It's beautiful and in good condition. Showers and bathrooms are new and well-kept. The staff was most helpful and friendly. There are several trails in the area on which to explore the hoodoos. Generators may be run only from noon to four, which makes it very quiet. There are only a few first-come-first-served sites, so if you're serious, a reservation would be wise. A few sites have water and electricity, but they are at a premium and cost $25. Worth the trip if you like to explore. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
This is a great state campground with unbeatable scenery. Only 5 sites with hook-ups. The rest are dry, but worth it. Bathrooms/showers were immaculate; sites were well-spaced and extremely quiet! Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
This is an amazingly beautiful state park. There are great hikes, large sites and super clean washrooms. The camp hosts were friendly and full of great bits of information. We had one of the 4 sites with full services but our hosts told us there are plans for an additional 5 full-service sites this year. We stayed 3 days but wished we'd planned for longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
Absolutely stunning state park in incredible remote canyon setting. Sites are beautiful and spacious. Great visitor center. And the restrooms and showers were probably the best on our two week trip. This park was obviously designed by a camper, as they didn't miss anything in the layout (except hookups!). The only reason for my lower rating is that the rules were very restrictive - generators only allowed noon - 4 PM. No cell service here either (AT&T). We left a day earlier than our planned departure date. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
Bryce and Zion may get all the publicity, and crowds. But this little jewel has its own beauty and charm. If you want outside communication, you need satellite radio or TV. Sites vary in size and privacy. Most have no hookups; four have full hookups, although this is not widely publicized. But the scenery! Tall sand pipes, chimney rocks have layers of red, yellow brown and white sediment and you are camping right in the middle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$16
Very nice campground with 4 electric/water sites and 27 dry sites. CG is nestled below cliffs. Everything is very neat and clean, rest rooms and showers are kept spotless. Many hiking trails. Quiet atmosphere is a respite from the busyness of Bryce. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$16
What a great public park. We stayed 5 days and only left due to running short on LP. Everything seemed to be brand new and very well maintained. Rangers were great - they even gave our older dog a JR Ranger Badge for cleaning up the minimal trash (we had to search to find any)! Do not miss this great Utah park. I only took 600 pictures! Clean, quiet, amazing territory, and away from the normal early and late RV traffic. Thanks so much. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$18
We stayed one night and had a pull through. Did not have to unhook. Very pretty site and great Moon scape as the moon rise over the cliff wall. Sunrise was equally interesting. Sure took a while to get hot but then, because of no temp controls got too hot. One of the two showers in the womens room did not work at all. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$15
We stayed two nights at this campground and found it to be a "gem". The natural beauty of the surrounding area, as well as the situation and appearance of the campground, is above average. If you get tired of the desert terrain, the campground has a small, irrigated lawn! While the campground doesn't have facilities that are particularly sophisticated, when compared to other full-service government operated campgrounds, the current high state of maintenance makes for an extremely pleasant stay. Even the most basic facilities can be great if they are conscientiously maintained. The pleasant conditions at this campground are largely due to the considerable efforts of the current managing Park Ranger and his staff. Be sure to visit this campground before they drop from exhaustion! The campground host raked our site before our arrival. This is a program that was instituted in the last year and the effects are very "Zen"! Despite the heaviest rainy season in over a decade, they had the asphalt-paved campground loop and site pads completely cleared of silt. If the campground wasn't pleasant enough, the Kodachrome Basin State Park is a stunning natural resource, so, don't forget your camera. We did not pay an additional amount over the campground fee for Park entrance. According to Park insiders, this was because we had a pre-paid reservation ($8 per reservation). Generally, the State DNR policy seems to be camping fee as well as entrance fee, upon arrival. There are a few good sites for big rigs but some of the longer sites are on slopes. I would just give this campground average marks for big-rig accessibility due to the trees, slopes, and big-rig unfriendly turns. Do some research to make sure you will have a suitable site. The camp store is run as a concession. It provides just basic necessities but the operator is very knowledgeable about the area. I toured one of the rooms in the Park's motel behind the store, also operated by the concessionaire, and found it to be a very good value at about $80 per night. Several water points are scattered around the campground but tend to be about 25' from the pavement and might be effectively blocked by other RVs. There is a very accessible water point, as well as a new wash-up basin, near the parking apron for the sanitary building. The water storage and supply system was recently overhauled and is from a good, clean source. The roads from Cannonville to the Park, as well as the principal roads in the Park, are paved. Note that the other road approaches are unpaved and should probably be considered inaccessible by big-rigs. Plan on using a smaller vehicle for access to the Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument via the Cottonwood or Skutumpah Roads. The weather didn't cooperate fully while we were there (during the local rainy season) but rain showers we experienced were light and brief. When we were outside, lightning was occasionally more of a concern than wetness. Even so, I hardly remember being marginalized because of weather. The overall experience was just so rewarding. I'm looking forward to returning. Save me a space! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$23
A little off the "beaten path" (20 miles from Brice NP), but well worth the visit. Feeding the local partridges was one of the highlights of our visit. Two excellent hiking trails. Overall, we have found Utah state parks to be excellent. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$15
Site #24 No hook-ups but paved sites and interior roads. Our site was level and large enough for our 30 ft class A. Some trails were in very rough shape from recent rains but the park is terrific, beautiful colors and interesting rock formations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$15
Kodachrome Basin is a great getaway. We stayed here on our travels up Utah 12. Get to the campground early so you can enjoy the changing colors as the sun sets. It is all about light here. There are horseback tours available at the store located at the campground entrance. There is a dump station on site. The restrooms and showers were housed in a new modern facility, but we did not use them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$14
360 degree views of beautiful sandstone high desert scenery. Paved roads and site's and cement pads with tables. Camp site's have fire pits, when we visited there was fire wood for sale in the campground. Nice restrooms with showers. A dump station is available. Nearby is Bryce Canyon National Park. Although I have listed no "Big Rig" sites, there are a few sites that will accommodate up to a 40' RV. We visited in Oct. 2004 We have a 32' Fifth Wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com