223426 User submitted reviews online!!
Canyons of Escalante RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (435) 826-4959
CGID2957

Canyons of Escalante RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   8   4   9   9   8   7   5   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2014
$33
Interior roads are gravel but the sites are mostly dirt - bad news when it rains. WI-FI is very good. Showers/Restrooms are excellent. Sites are very narrow, not very level and most do not offer a table or fire ring. Water quality is good. Low noise level. $33 includes the Utah State Tax. Good Sam Park. Salt Lake City air TV channels come in fine with the antenna. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$31
This is a small park right on the edge of town and convenient to all the amenities and attractions of Escalante and the surrounding region. The sites are gravel and rather small and close together. The park also includes 5 small but attractive looking rental cabins and an area for tent campers. The restrooms were clean and attractive. There is a laundromat but the prices are kind of high. We used it anyway because there didn't appear to be any other laundromats in town and we needed to do laundry. I would rate this park a 9 or 10 if the spaces were a little larger and offered a bit more privacy from your neighbors. Like many RV parks and campgrounds in this region don't expect to find much shade. We had site #5 and did get a little afternoon shade from one small cottonwood tree. The owners have obviously been working on improvements to the park and I appreciated the colorful desert landscaping that they've done. They are also VERY knowledgeable about all the things to see and do in the area and gave us lots of advice and recommendations for exploring the Grand Staircase Escalante National Monument and Dixie National Forest. We would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$30
Good central location for exploring Escalante area. Utilities were fine, Wi-Fi worked well with only occasional slowdowns. Spots are tight for bigger rigs and you have to watch out for trees when spotting rig. Campground is in town so some noise from roads and other campers. Friendly and helpful office staff. Sites were gravel and pull-through type. Ours required only slight leveling. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2014
$36
Not much going for this park except where it is located. Sites were both short and narrow. Over hanging trees scraped top of RV and made Satellite useless. Restroom wasn't clean and showers were small and dirty. Many of the keys to the bathroom didn't work and were available to anyone just walking in to the laundry so no security. Would not stay here again. Laundry was open to the public, only 3 machines and very expensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$32
Nice location for exploring Grand Staircase. Very friendly staff who provided recommendations and a convenient map to scenic attractions nearby. Circle D restaurant had great food and is right next door, Escalante Outfitters had good pizza, and coffee at the Kiva House on route 12 is a must. We stayed here in a 5th wheel with 3 dogs and had enough room for all 3 slide outs and our awning. Nice views of surrounding mountains all around. Lots of ATVs riding the streets around this campground from local rentals so if you want total quiet this might not be the place for you. We highly recommend renting a Razor to explore Hole In The Rock Road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$32
Some of the sites are a little tight, but for a modest upcharge, we moved to a very nice site, with a firepit, table, and a great view. Our first night the park was full, so the Wi-Fi was overloaded and slow. For the rest of our stay (1 week) it worked very well. The laundry room was well equipped, and spotless. The manager and his staff were very helpful and accommodating. Escalante is in the mountain desert, so the RV park was mostly gravel, but it is well kept and situated to tour everything from Zion to Capital Reef. Restaurants, groceries, fuel, and shops are nearby, and the whole town seemed friendly. Be sure to ask the locals about backroad conditions, and bring your GPS. The whole area is beautiful, but you will feel very isolated out of town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$27
Rate paid is based on one week stay with Good Sam discount. Roads and sites are gravel. Sites are close together. Very few picnic tables in the park. Laundry on site. The park filled up on the weekend and it was pretty tight. The two back-in sites, 30 & 31, are the roomiest. If we return, we would request one of those sites. Verizon signal was only 1X, barely good enough to make a phone call. The parks wifi was decent, though it would drop occasionally and would slow down during peak usage times. Walking distance to good restaurants. This is a good location to access the amazing outdoor recreation in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
It is another gravelly lot with RV sites. But, it is clean and well run and in a great location. The sites are small. Check out the Outfitters across the street and down the hill just a bit - they had great pizza. There is an ok grocery in town and a cool gourmet place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$27
Sites are MUCH too close together. I see directly into my neighbors windows! I got my awning out and it almost touches the rig next door...most people don't even Try an awning. With that said, most everything else about the park is excellent. The host is Amazing with knowledge of the area and willingness to help travelers. Very minimal grocery in town so plan ahead. Laundry available (a bit pricy), some good hiking options close by, and scenic Hwy 12. My price reflects the Weekly rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$31
Level gravel sites, easy pull-throughs. On-site laundromat. On UT-12, but road noise was almost non-existent. (Important to us country boys..). We didn't plan to stay in Escalante as we had reservations at National Parks, but the government shutdown locked us out of the parks. Someone suggested this as an alternative, and what a great one it was. The manager was exceptionally helpful when asked about local attractions. He has file folders with nice maps showing distances to local attractions like Devil's Garden, Dry Fork Wash and slot canyons + many other destinations. Be sure to ask him, he's an excellent source of information! Great restaurant next door with exceptional smoked pork, ribs, beef brisket specialties. Indulge!! I'd stay here again - no question... Note that we don’t carry a TV around so no cable service is necessary nor could I assess access. We use the fifth-wheel primarily to have a comfortable place to sleep, a toilet and shower that don’t offer surprises, and someplace to store food. Other than that, we live outside! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$27
Stayed here three nights for art festival. All sights gravel/rocks and dirt, reasonably level and close. Hookups were in good shape and again close to neighbor. Wi-Fi was adequate and cell reception was spotty. Voltage on electricity did fluctuate somewhat, but generally was good. We were able to get a good selection of TV channels on antennae. Good restaurant next door to park. Owner was friendly and appeared to be working on laundry/shower facility most of the time. The RV sites will need some attention next. Only game in town. State park on the edge of town. Mostly dry camping. Park kept clean and was quiet. Rate reflects Good Sam discount. Beautiful area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$33
Owner is great and hard at work making improvements. Great restaurant right next the park. Sites are a little tight, but okay. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$36
This place is a dump but only place in town. Website is very deceiving. Terribly maintained which is sad as it could be a nice place to camp. WiFi was excellent and did have FHU which was nice to have plenty of water to shower after a long day of off-roading. Would stay here again just because it is only place in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$33
Formerly Broken Bow RV Park. The friendly new owner changed the name. This is a basic RV park but it has the important stuff. Mostly level sites, good power, clean bathrooms and laundry, shade for those who want it, clear sky for others. Surface is gravel and dirt. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
The internet worked 'okay' and our Verizon card worked as well. I was able to pick up several channels over the antenna. I did have to use blocks to get level and the sites were rather tight. The sewer connections are set over into the next persons site, almost right where they stepped out their door. The folks next to me were having a party, so I did not put out my sewer for safety concerns. They were basically eating right underneath my slide they were so close! Traffic noise from Rt. 12 was not a problem and while there is no dog park in the park, there is places to walk near the RV park. I thought the price was kind of high for what you got, but the owners were friendly and the area was beautiful. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$26
The owner was great. He let us pick our site (there were only 3 other sites being used). The Wi-Fi was excellent due to a booster being installed. It is right in town where there were a couple of good restaurants. On UT Rte 12 with access to all of the recreational areas. A little tight for our 4 slides, and not much grass. We tend to stay away from trees so we can get satellite, but there were some well shaded sites available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
The new owners have been making improvements since the last time we were here. The bathrooms and laundry facilities were still very good, much better than the RV Park in Torrey. we stayed here before when there was always a line for the showers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
This park was a disappointment in many ways. Based on previous reviews and on line photos, it seemed like a nice place. There is nothing but dirt, rocks, weeds and ruts in the campground. Certainly nothing attractive by any means. The management is absentee except for early morning and evenings. While Wi-Fi is offered for free, it rarely worked for more than a few minutes at a time. There are slim pickings for RV parks in Escalante, so this may have to do. Knowing what we know now, we'd pass by to the next town before we'd stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
It is the only park within a lot of miles, so that is a big positive. Fast Wi-Fi is a good thing in an area without Verizon broadband. We got our 40' MH in OK, with some creative parking of our towed. Sites are quite close. Landscaping is a small amount of rock and a lot of bare dirt. Very dusty when the wind blows. Not even a good crop of weeds between sites. Do not know if the laundry is clean, but I doubt it because the door was open 24/7. The owner is a super guy. Very friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. In spite of the negatives, we would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
This park is a bargain. I got my best WiFi connection of all the parks used in this trip. The restroom/shower/laundry facility is surprisingly nice. Warning for Sunday visitors. Escalante literally shuts down on Sundays. Gas stations, restaurants, grocery store, you name it! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$33
A good stopping point. Nothing much of a campground. Basically just a gravel parking lot with hook ups. The Wi-Fi was a little spotty. Too expensive for what they offer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
We stayed here for three nights and found it very comfortable. The laundry and shower area were nice. The free Wi-Fi was fast and reliable. The cell service was good for an area which doesn't have much. The only negative was that the landscaping could be a little better to provide more shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$24
It is difficult to describe this park. It is not fancy. It gives you a site with good water, electric, sewer and very good WiFi. If you want a place to stay at a good price, this is it. The one problem we had was with the laundry. I'm not sure but I think they open it to the public. Some rather tough looking men came on motorcycles and trucks to do their laundry. The laundry room was dirty. Other than the laundry, they gave us what we wanted in a park and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$23
Like many campgrounds in the area, this park has a 100% gravel surface. It is situated on a slight incline from front to back, with sites running perpendicular to the grade. I had no problem leveling my motorhome. The quality of the free Wi-Fi service is very good, but cell reception is marginal. The location of the park makes it an idea base location for exploration of Bryce Canyon and Capital Reef National Parks and the Escalante Staircase National Monument. The owner willingly shares his extensive knowledge of the area and has prepared several handouts detailing hiking trails and other attractions. I’ll definitely stay here on my next visit to the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
Owners are working to improve this older park. Our site was level with plenty of room, and shade from a nearby tree. All pull thru sites, with half large enough for big rigs (our fifth wheel is 34 feet) The WiFi is fast and was reliable. The bathrooms and showers are very clean and neat. The laundry has new commercial machines, and was clean. Overall, an acceptable place to stay while exploring. I agree with the other reviews that pulling weeds would be a good idea. The cabins have been remodeled, but I did not go in one. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2008
$29
Gravel sites, very close together (maybe 14 feet between sites), no grass, some weeds in dirt areas separating sites. Old, tired looking park. 40 footers would have a hard time, as there is barely room for us to park our car with our 35 footer. Restrooms and laundry facilities look fairly new. It appears the new owner is working to fix up park. When we called last week, we were told we should definitely make a reservation to reserve a site, and hold with credit card, which we did. When we arrived today, had we not guaranteed site with CC, we would have kept on going. Because of the cancellation policy, we would have been charged for the night, even though we're the only ones in the park. Three cabins on site look terribly run down. Certainly not worth $29, but only game in town with hook-ups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
Gravel sites,some small trees between. The sites 1 - 7 have 50 amp.,others have 30. All have water and sewer. The sites are all on a gentle incline so it is not easy to level from side to side. The location is great for this area. We took a couple of side trips, along the back roads. Wonderful scenery. While there are several other choices in the area, this one worked best for us. By the way - wonderful laundry facilities, with commercial size units. We would be come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2008
$23
Spaces really close together. New owners, friendly. Ok for sightseeing. Not okay for just camping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
Good park for overnight. Gravel interior roads and sites. Little trees, so satellite TV came in well. Park has excellent WiFi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2007
$22
Only 3 sites with 50amp and they are next to the hiway. We took 30 amp and it was quiet after dark. Sites narrow (very close neighbors) but somewhat level. Owner very nice but place is for sale. Has to be hard to make it work in such short season. Needs TLC. Only show in town so would stay again. Rate is GS plus 10% tax rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$25
This RV park is basically the only one in town. There are a few other spaces at other places, but not much. There wasn't much shade; that didn't matter in April, but it might matter in the summer. The spaces toward the front of the park might pick up a little bit of highway noise. The spaces toward the back (where we stayed) were quiet, although there is a public trash dump area immediately behind the RV park. But relatively few people used that dump site after dark, so it was still pretty quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$20
This rating is based on fact that in November all but 2 sites were empty. We had lots of room and privacy in otherwise close, fairly level, site. Park is in small town with plenty of restaurants and stores for provisions. I rate this one best of others available in this town. It was a good park for home base to tour the area. Big bathhouse with rec room size washer drier area. The park has small cabins for rent but none were occupied. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com