221734 User submitted reviews online!!
Bear Lake / Garden City KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (435) 946-3454
CGID2961

Bear Lake / Garden City KOA

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$49



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   6   8   8   9   8   6   7   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$49
The first night we were here was a holiday weekend and they were full so it was crowded. The next day half the park left and it was comfortable! Most of the park is 30 amp and half of the park does not have sewer hookups. There are 50 amp sites and they cement pads where the 30 amp sites are all just grass/dirt which at the height of summer is mostly dry grass/dirt. The sites are fairly level. The area I was in, the sites were quite roomy -- you didn't feel like your neighbor was on top of you. Bonus for the mature trees. They have a lot of cabins and tent sites. They have an overflow storage area that they let us leave our trailers in after checking out so we could go see Minnetonka Cave (you need a reservation if you don't want to wait 4 hours, so we didn't see it). They have miniature golf, a decent playground, an air pillow (think trampoline on steroids), pool, arcade area, ice cream shack, grocery store, ACE hadrware, bike rentals, all on site. Kids seem to really like this place. In the summer there is a local playhouse that does fantastic shows -- check out Pickleville Playhouse which is just down the road (we saw Beauty and the Beast). Most people come here for Bear Lake, but there are other things to do in the area. Paris Ice Caves, the Paris Tabernacle tour, Minnetonka Cave and up in Montpelier there is an Oregon Trail living museum/exhibit that I hear is good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$47
Would have been a 9 if they had cable TV. Only 3 over air channels. Large sites with excellent cement pads beside site. Roomy sites. Clean. WiFi very good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$177
We arrived on 5-8-12 (Thursday) the key to our cabin was left at the front desk and a friendly man helped us. He said he was the maintenance employee and this is not his normal job. He was fussing with the computer and after a few attempts he pulled up our reservation. He said we need to wait for the manager to pay the balance on our bill. Later on we meet the manager. He was very professional and polite. The female employees throughout our stay were not as friendly. We got the impression that they did not like their job. The cabin needed corners,and behind the T.V. cleaned. There was a broom to sweep with but no dust pan to pick up the dirt. The first few nights were very peaceful. however, on Saturday evening the tenants in the cabin next to us ignored the quiet time and children-unsupervised rules. I and other visitors complained and the next morning we overheard the loud neighbors telling their children to be quite or we may get kicked out. The store prices are double to triple the price as compared to a supermarket. If it was not for the above issues I would have rated higher. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
Nice campground, very nice staff. Grass and dirt sites, but almost level enough to not need any blocks. Lots of shade trees. Large grocery store and also a hardware store right in front of the complex. Not much to do in Garden City unless you have a boat, but a nice stopover for a night or two. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
Nice KOA but no access to Bear Lake. You can walk (about a mile) to a marina but no beach. If you have a car it is a great spot to set up base camp. There is a LARGE grocery store and a True Value hardware on the premise. Also something I have never seen. A jumping pad. It's like a trampoline in the ground but it's a big blown up pillow. I'm old but I had to try it out. Great Fun!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$72
We stayed in the Garden City KOA in camping cabins for two nights and were very pleased. There were trees over our cabins and fans inside them to keep them cool. The cabins were very clean when we arrived. We were close to the bathrooms and the pool. There is a small grocery store next door for any food needs. Their bathrooms are very clean: they clean them twice a day! Our kids loved the pool, but the water was somewhat cloudy. Overall, a great place to stay with a family! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$47
This park is more than adequate. The spaces were sufficient for my 40' 4 slide MH. The bathroom were clean and adequate. Our only complaint was with the wireless network. As in most of the parks, they should update the systems to be stronger and quicker. There was a market next to the park that was great. If you can, enjoy the local theater called "Pickleville" it was great and the steak was great. I would stay here again with no problems. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$58
Price to high for what you get. Sites very close, not much grass. Way too many four wheelers. Very crowded, very noisy place. Kids love it but not great if you want peace and quiet. Charge extra for just about everything. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$29
This is a very nice KOA. Access was easy, laundry was clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2010
$53
This campground has really gotten loose with the rules this year. We camp here several times a year for the last 9 years with extended family and friends. It is a great family campground with many activities for kids. This past weekend we saw many, many tents crammed in anywhere they would fit (too close to our motorhome for my liking), ATVs are not supposed to be ridden except between campsites and the gate going out to the trails. This is one reason we like taking our ATVs here is because there are not people riding them around camp. This past weekend several campers used the entire campground as their personal racetrack for their kids. Barking dogs are not supposed to be tolerated either, however, dogs barked the entire time we were here whether the owners were in their trailer or not. Needless to say we as well as our extended family members and friends will not be camping here again. There is a new campground just down the street that looks nice and clean that will be getting our business. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$58
Very full park. Our site was on grass and level. We did not use the Wi-Fi or the restrooms on site so no rating provided. The hosts were busy and the store prices were very high. We were disappointed that the campground was not as close to the water/beaches as we thought based on an internet search while we were en-route. Overall, a little expensive for what we got. Don't think we will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$48
Very clean and good facilities. They do not allow rottweilers, dobermans or pitbulls per their check in receipt, but no one said anything to us about our dog (a sweet, three legged rottweiler). I would recommend. Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2009
$42
It is a very busy park, with lots of children running everywhere including through your site. The laundry is terrible. One dryer works but don't use it too long because it overheats and the washers I used leave your clothes wet after the spin "dry" cycle. It states they have cable but do not. The lake is across the street but there is no access unless you drive a mile down the road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
This was the only campground open in Garden City. There is limited area to park and register. Office staff were friendly but not very efficient. Access road are gravel and could have done with some maintenance. There is one row of 50amp gravel pull-through sites. Sites were level but could have done with some maintenance and trees needed trimming. This site is OK for an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$64
This is one of the best KOA parks We have visited. We stayed in a premium site with a hot tub located in a garden, surrounded by a wood privacy fence. There were areas for children to play. We had a few ATV riders drive by but they were respectful and drove slow. The only issue we had was the hot tub was cold when we arrived and was not hot until 10 PM. Also the hot tub needed cleaned. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$54
Very kids friendly. We stayed here on our way to Yellowstone. The park has many amenities, including the pool, playground, jumping floor, pool. Good breakfast. Very quaint little town. People were friendly. A little loud being a place where a lot of kids bring their ATV and Motocross bike, but the quiet hours are enforced. This was not an issue at all. We would definitely visit this park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
This was a fine place. After we parked and drove around the area, we wished we would have stayed in the state park directly across the lake and right on the waters edge, but it was fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$39
Nice KOA park near Bear Lake. We had a pull through site that was nice and clean. I forgot my regulator, the guy checking me in was nice enough to walk me over to the store that was closed for the season and sell me another one. The park wasn't very full and we had our pull through spot to ourselves. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$41
Stayed here for one night on our way to Tetons. Campground was great! Sites were shaded with grass, there were many free activities for kids including a hayride and miniature golf. We wished we could have stayed longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$45
The Bear Lake/Garden City KOA is a wonderful KOA! Probably one of the best we have stayed at. This is a very busy campground, however they utilize a very large staff and it is very well run. The store is a small grocery store. The pool was small for the size of the campground, however they also have a jumping pillow for the kids. We enjoyed our stay here and we would gladly stay here again! We stayed here four nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$48
Stopped along the way to/from Yellowstone after departing Salt Lake City. Very scenic lake, but this campground is about one mile from the access road to the beach. Very typical KOA with little shade, lots of pull through sites close together. The bathrooms were individual shower/bathroom units in a nice building. Warm pool, mini-golf, well stocked store, RV wash at entrance. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Only drawback was the group of drunk college kids on an end of summer binge right next to us on the last night. Host family was on our other side and did nothing to stop the hooting, hollering and obscenities when they got back from the bar in the middle of the night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$21
As already noted, no view of the lake but fantastic view of surrounding hills. Very quite in October; only one other camper. Staff very friendly. Nice store. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$52
Were disappointed in this park. Not familiar with the area, it looked like a nice stop between Moab and Grand Teton. The park is not on the lake, no view of the lake and no public lake access. Should have done my homework. The park itself is stereotypical KOA; overpriced, overcrowded and not terribly well updated. Most of the other guests seemed like they knew the area, had boats, and used the camp as a base. I'm sure it works well for that. On the plus side, the staff was all very nice and the little downtown area is an easy ten minute walk down the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$39
Very nice park, friendly staff, large store. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com