206485 User submitted reviews online!!
New Brighton State Beach was rated 9 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (831) 464-6330
CGID298

New Brighton State Beach

Camp Information
Sites
120
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   8   9   7   9   9   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$35
We have not returned to this campground since 2011 and at that time they were proposing to take out the trees. Well they did, and believe it or not the campground looks pretty good. Now when I say trees, not all of the trees just a certain type of pine that had issues with falling. The restrooms are another story. They get cleaned once a week and by the fifth day they are getting pretty bad. Overall the campground looks good and the dump station is very nice and will take four 35 foot motorhomes at one time, this is a big improvement from two years ago. The price we paid reflects dry camping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$35
Roads and sites are paved and have decent separation. Each site has a picnic table and fire pit. We stayed in site 102 and it had no privacy but was plenty big enough for our 36 ft 5th wheel. The ideal seating area for this site is actually in back of the rig. If we return I would choose a different site. We had decent 4G Verizon signal. Great wildlife viewing from the bluff overlooking the ocean/bay just a short walk from our site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$35
This CA State Park is a gem on a large bluff overlooking the Pacific. We dry camped here. The site was huge, grass covered, tree lined, and had an almost level double wide paved pad. Easy access to the beach, beautiful views up and down the coast. Flat sandy beach. The restrooms are pretty new and they have a dump station that can accommodate four vehicles. Maximum RV length is 36 feet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$35
We stayed one night and then had to evacuate. While trees provide shelter they also can be deadly when they decide to fall and evidently this is a ongoing problem so we were told to go to Seacliff and since rain was predicted for the week we stayed in the lot above the campground for the next three days for free so back to NB. i don't know whats going to happen to the trees, this is a beautiful campground and they say by fall all the trees will be gone, can't imagine this park without trees but also can't imagine a tree laying across my motorhome especially with me in it. So time will tell. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$50
Very nice campground. Restrooms looked near new. Fun walk to the beach, beautiful area. As we were setting up the ranger was taking a report from the guy next to us who had his cooler stolen at night and told us that these thefts are happening a lot along the CA coast. State campground fees are pretty high. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$34
Campground is clean and the sites have nice space between them. They only have 10 sites with electric service so we had to book 7 months in advance to obtain 6 nights. We found lots of poison oak in the campground and our site was surrounded with it, so watch where the kids play or they may be itching! Showers don't have a lot of water pressure: 2 minutes for a quarter, take enough change. This park is accessible to vehicle traffic after 7:00PM when park rangers are not at the gate. Be sure camping equipment is put up after dark as there have been thefts in this campground at night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$25
Daily site fee reflects disabled rate. One of our favorite parks to stay at. Has spacious, paved mostly level sites, some with an ocean view. We had a hook-up site (w/e); water pressure and power were both good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$25
This is a nice State Park prior to the rate hike, its to bad Calif. is in such a financial dilemma that it had to go to the one thing families could afford to do as a family. Hopefully in a couple of years it can be reversed like Arnold did a couple of years ago back to a affordable rate. The park is a nice park with wide open sites and beautiful trees and some with a view to the ocean. One thing i can say is you can probably get a site anytime you want now, if you want to pay the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
We really enjoyed camping here. The restrooms were clean and close to all campsites. The showers cost 25 cents for two minutes and the water was warm. All campsites are about 1-2 minutes from the beach. There is firewood for sale $8.00 a cubic foot. We had a really nice time and can not wait to go again! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
Very nice on the eyes! It's a lovely green park, covered in trees and right on the beach. You really feel like you're camping, as apposed to some parks where it's all concrete. Fire places provided, although you're no allowed to collect wood. No laundry. Showers cost a quarter for 2 minutes. Our only complaints were that the check-in system was a little confusing (with nobody at the desk) and there was no sewer hook-ups, and we all know how busy dump stations are when leaving in the morning! We would happily stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$35
We loved camping here. It's a toss up between this (New Brighton), and Seacliff. Seacliff is neat because you are right at the beach. But, New Brighton is a nice 'family' campground. They share the same beach (though a long-long walk between them). Nice shade trees all over the park. A very nice setting! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$38
This is our favorite park when we can get a "premium" spot overlooking the beach. They book up right away when bookings open seven months in advance. Nice California state park with a handful of hookup sites (W/E only) and a dump station at the entrance. Hookup sites seem somewhat smaller and closer together than others, and are furthest from the ocean. Nice camp hosts who sell firewood. Sites are mostly large with a large picnic table and "oil drum" fire pit with grill. There is some vegetation between most spots for privacy. This would be a "10" if all spots had hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$35
Without a doubt this is one of the best California state parks. Our water and electric back-in site had enough room for a long fifth wheel and a tow vehicle beside it, although many other sites were much smaller. There were four dump stations, so no waiting for us. The premium sites were basic with no utilities, but what a view. There are great sunsets from the back end of these sites. The beach extends all the way down to Sea Cliff State Park where one can view the wreck of the cement ship Palo Alto. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$35
We loved this place.. Nice Wide pads at most sites, Clean Restrooms, close to everything. Great view. Our dog loved the walk on the beach We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$25
Just camped here for the first time. Ocean is just a short walk away. Sites are big, but was unable to get site with hookups even 2 months in advance. Generator hours are 10:00 am to 08:00 pm. and are strictly enforced. I received a warning at about 08:10 pm, and was told the next would be a citation. Overall a very beautiful park. Will definitely visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
Nice old park has a few hook ups but are really hard to get. Lots of recreation in the area, great beaches and mild summers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
A great place to stay with a good location, close to many local areas of interest. The best part is the beach access which is awesome! Lots of shade trees and natural landscaping. We have been here several times and will always come back in the future. This place is a no-brainer! :) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
Beautiful park with spacious campsites. Many with shade. It's a five minute walk to a white sand beach. The campers here tend to be noisy, unlike private campgrounds. Also the bathrooms can get dirty. We will come back again because it's so close to a beautiful beach and to the Santa Cruz boardwalk, but not on weekends when the party-hearty crowd is there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$28
May be the finest state park campground in California, with a great setting. Located near Highway 1, but no road noise, is simply a great vacation spot. Near many places to see. Walk to the beach is fast and easy, although must hike down the hill. Electric sites are in demand and hard to get: must reserve your spot many months in advance. If in the Santa Cruz-Capitola area this campground is not to be missed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$38
This is the first place we went to with our new RV. I am now worried nothing else will compare. This park is truly a winner. We were lucky enough to have one of the few spots with hook-ups. The space surrounding our spot was more than ample for our three year old to run around burning off energy. The beach was a short trek also. This park does offer "premium" spots which are right on the overlook to the ocean. Even though they do cost more, they look like they are worth it. Those types of views in a hotel would cost hundreds of dollars. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
This was a lovely, quiet campground on the north end of Monterey Bay. There were steps to the beach below which was beautiful and tranquil. We had no hook ups but for 50 cents; a clean shower was available. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
Of the 120 sites, only 11 provide hookups, that is electrical and water. Great place to camp with easy access to beach via a path and steps leading down the bluff of several hundred feet. I was able to get a weak WiFi signal but was never able to connect. If hookups are desired, plan ahead. We were in site 47 that shares a pad with site 48. Dump station located on way out of campground and can accommodate four vehicles at one time. At 35 dollars a bit pricey perhaps for a state park. Considering, however, a a private park in Watsonville and one in Moss Landing goes in the 80 dollar range, this park is a bargain. Cost for most sites 25 dollars with the higher cost for hookups and premium sites near the bluff. Having connection to WiFi would have changed my rating to a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
Lots of space between most sites that range from the low-end at $25 to those with hookups. Ocean view sites have an additional charge. Great place for walking and riding a bicycle. WiFi spotty with connection on and off. Restroom facilities well maintained and ample located in free standing buildings throughout the park. For us the downside of our two-day stay was tenters on either side of us, one family who came and left in a yellow cab and stayed up late into the night using language that even this old sailor found offensive. On the other side, the last night, were beer-drinkers who were loud. The park was full when we left on a Saturday. Lesson learned: Stay away from this park on weekends if you are in a RV and plan ahead so as to get hookup or one of the premium sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$25
New Brighton State campground is a wonderful campground with the best of both worlds. It's located on the bluff above the Capitola beach. It's a nice wooded area, so you are really camping in the woods! Sites are nice and big and fairly level. There are a handful of sites that have water & electric hookups, but most have no amenities except a paved level site. There is a dump station on the premises. New Brighton State Campground is close to downtown Capitola as well as Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk. A great family campground. The only draw back, it's so popular, it's hard to get a campsite! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2006
$35
We chose not to use the hook-up sites in exchange for a large, very private site with trees, grass, picnic table, fire pit and expansive views of the ocean (site 73). We enjoyed the off-season quiet, since the park does get crowded with families and kids at any other time of the year. Easy hike down the cliffs to the beach (stairs and pathway) and a large area with sheltered picnic tables and bbq areas. Dump station very accessible on the way out. The full hook-up sites are much closer together, but still have grass and fire pits. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$35
Had a great time over Thanksgiving. Was one of the lucky ones to get electric and water. The bathrooms were very clean. Make sure you carry some quarters when using the showers, it requires $.25 per every 2 minutes. The fire rings needed to be cleaned out more frequently. Access to beach was very easy. Pines trees dumped a lot of Sap on top of trailer. Good reception with the TV antenna. Would go again in a heart beat. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$25
A campground with a nice environment. Lots of space between pads providing privacy. Restroom facilities nice with toilets and showers in separate and individual rooms. Sinks outside under roof overhang. I would rate this facility a 10 had WiFi been available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2006
$35
This park was very nice. There were a few campsites that had a view of the ocean. There were a few sites with water and electric, but none of the view sites had hookups. There was easy access to the beach via a trail. The one negative I have is not the park itself, but a couple of campers. One set let there gray water out at their campsite which stunk to high heaven. Another camper dumped at the dump-site upon exit, but didn't use a hose. With us standing right there too! However, without those 2 anomalies, everything was clean and well kept. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$25
This campground is a state park campground on a bluff overlooking the ocean (most sites do not have a view). We stayed at site #20 (no hookups). Most of the campsites have no hookups, but a few have electric. The shower/bathhouse is new, though there is a fee for showers. The beach is a short walk from the campground. Though, we could not see the ocean from our campsite, we could hear the ocean when we went to sleep. The rangers were very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$25
Very popular campground on California coast. The sites are situated on a bluff overlooking the Pacific with a short but steep hike to the sand. The sites are in pine trees and mostly level. The only draw back is the amount of use the park receives during the summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$13
Beautiful State Park right on the ocean. No hookups at all but there is a waste dump area and fresh water station. Lot's of big rigs camping here. Sites are paved and have picnic table and firepit. Ocean view sites are $17 a night and hard to get. 5 minute walk down cliff trail to beach. Very close to downtown Capitola. Came for a weekend and ended up staying 12 days it was that nice. Park Rangers routinely patroled the camp and kept the showers and toilets very clean. Great park. Will go back again. Note: Park will be closed for renovations for most of 2003' but keep an eye out for it when it reopens. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com