223556 User submitted reviews online!!
Noccalula Falls Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 49 user reviews. Phone: (256) 543-7412
CGID30

Noccalula Falls Campground

Camp Information
Sites
126
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   7   8   9   9   9   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$15
The previous review of this city-run, tree-filled campground was spot-on. I would only add that the sites were laid out in a strange way - some had good spacing between them and others were very close together. Our site (#A19) was concrete and fairly level, as were most of the others we viewed. Each site had a strong table and "homemade" rock fire pit. The laundry room consisted of 2 washers and 2 dryers. Bathrooms and showers were nice and clean, and the showers had hooks and chairs to set toiletries on during use. The signal to our amplified Verizon MiFi unit and phones was excellent, we did not try the campground WiFi. There was some noise from the park next door, but it was not bad. We enjoyed the Falls and walked the trail often. The nearby Walmart Supercenter and several other stores and services were easily accessible, as were several good restaurants. We stayed for a week, and our daily rate was based on their weekly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$21
The overall park atmosphere is great. The walking trails through the woods are about 6 feet wide and completely graveled to make the up and down trek much easier. There are wooden bridges along the way as well as benches for resting. Each tenth of a mile is marked so you know how far you have gone. There are also many more smaller side trails for more hiking and biking. The Falls are great and for the more serious adventurer you can hike to the bottom and behind the falls either from the campground(not the easiest) or from the next door park(zoo). The park has a petting animal area and a small train and a few other activities. The showers were very clean. The only negative I had was I thought the overall park was geared for smaller trailers. We camped in a 42 ft RV. Almost all electrical and sewer are located at the very back of the sites. The roads are a bit narrow, but navigable if going very slowly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
What a neat place. Came across this place by accident, and what a find. Run by the city in a beautiful setting near a waterfall that has a lot of history around it. Has a beautiful walking trail and level spacious sites. We are planning on staying there for the month of December on our way south. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
Nice park but, rough roads at entrance and throughout the park, long runs for water hose (over 25'), and narrow sites. Pretty area. Waterfalls in the park. Stayed 1 week. Would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$24
The park is nice. We have a very large tow vehicle and we were able to navigate through the roads. We had a pull through site. It was on a grade and it took some effort to level the trailer. Most of the other sites appeared to be more level. The falls are interesting. There is a hiking trail, but we only followed it a short ways due to time constraints. The staff is very friendly. We were here only one night. The utilities worked as expected. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$18
I have camped here several times and I love this place. Lots of places to eat and things to do. Beautiful waterfall and park. Sites are large and easy to get in/out. Price is GS discount. Utilities are good but water may be on the wrong side and require 2 hoses. 20/30/50 amp service. Staff is very friendly. Easy to get to from I-59 exit 188. Site was plenty long enough to stay hooked up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
Nice setting. Plenty of shade. Some sites are tight backing in to in a large camper. Pretty level pads. Ninety foot waterfall, animals, train, walking and biking trails. Great for kids and adults. I have stayed here several times. Close to I-59. Highly recommended for just passing thru or vacations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
This is our second time staying in this excellent city-owned campground. The worst thing about it is that it is hard to find. It has the usual amenities but is not fancy. The grounds are lovely and there is a huge waterfall and a large creek to admire. There is a fabulous one and a half mile long gravel trail along the creek that begins in the campground and then runs along the creek. The trail is used by walkers, joggers, and bikes. Usual hook-ups, not always in the perfect location but good enough. Lots of trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$18
This campground consists of a winding paved/gravel road through a thinly forested area with concrete site pads. The campground appears a bit older, with manu cracks, heaves and patches in the pavement and dirt eroded from around some of the pads. However, it is no problam at 5 mph with a 39' fifth wheel. The campground entrance is a bit odd, with a single lane road in and a single lane road out that meets in a short single lane at the entrance, which means you need to alternate coming in and out. This is OK, except that there is space for only one rig to park just past the office. If you stop too soon, or if there is more than one rig, noone is getting into the campground, even if they are just a car. If there were more than 3 rigs lined up, noone would be getting out, either. There is a very well maintained 2 mile trail along the creek and there is an unmarked path behind site 34 which leads down to the falls at the campground entrance. This path actually allows you to walk behind the falls, which is kind of neat. If you just want to see the falls from the top, you can follow the path adjacent to the campground entrance, across the footbridge to where the statue of Noccalula is located. We needed one board for levelling. Great value at $20 for full hookups and even better with our 10% Good Sams discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$17
This is an awesome find. A beautiful setting in a real park! Staff are very friendly. Big pool. We received directions to everything. Level, large sites. Huge waterfall offered great views. Fine dining nearby. Washrooms were dated and ok. Security gate was appreciated. Would like to have stayed longer. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$19
We had been dry camping for about 10 days and really needed to "plug in" for a day to get our house batteries charged back up, so we chose this park. What pleasant surprise. The park is owned by the City of Gadsden, and is very, very well maintained. Friendly staff. We used the laundry and were very pleased with the $1.00 per load charge for washing and drying. Cable TV is excellent, and the Wi-Fi is very good. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
Great staff, some sites are very close together and a little small. Had a great time and really enjoyed the park. Price includes senior discount. We will go back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$20
The campground is really beautiful! My only complaint is the campsites are small for a 40' with slides. That's why I am giving it a 7. You would be almost on top of one another. Beautiful walking area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$18
We enjoyed our stay here. The staff was friendly and courteous and made a special effort to put us on a site that would accommodate our 40 foot 5th Wheel. Site had a level concrete pad with good water, electric and sewer. There is a nice walking trail above the creek. The falls are spectacular. A wedding chapel is built near the falls. At night, access to the campground requires a gate code. Interior roads are paved and we had no trouble navigating in and out of the park, but roads are due for some maintenance. Take note that the Campground entrance and the Noccalula Falls Park entrance are different. Pay close attention to the signs posted. Rate reflects weekly discount. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$20
Really hard to rate. On one hand its a beautiful spot next to the falls, clean bathrooms, showers etc. On the other hand when we arrived and hooked up: no water. Went to the office to ask and they said they had not heard of a problem and would look into it. My neighbor said the water went out first thing that morning but he was used to problems like that here and always comes with a full tank and a generator. 2-3 hours later we had water and everything worked for the 2 days we were here. Looks like infrastructure at the park is iffy and they bandaid all problems. When you check in, suggest you walk to your site before taking your RV. Sites marked poorly and difficult to find even with a map. Beyond service concerns, its a real nice area. Inexpensive too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$18
A very pretty park, friendly staff. We stayed overnight, and found it to be easy to access, level sites. We have no complaints, and would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
I-59, Exit 188, East on 211, 2.5 miles, right at traffic light. Well maintained and clean. Many large trees. Rig parks on concrete pad. Grass and sand between sites. Level sites. Most sites are very close together. Cable TV worked fine. All utilities were in good order. Back in site was long enough for 38 foot motorhome and tow vehicle. Free Wi-Fi but it was too slow. Verizon MiFi worked fine. AT&T was weak. Rate reflects full hookup with Escapees discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$21
Nice campground for 1 or 2 nights. Falls really nice and they appear to be improving walking trails and more. Not as big rig friendly;some leveling required; patched roads in places; more travel trailers & 5th wheels; older city park with nice friendly staff. Cable TV good but no satellite due to nice big trees. If in the area, would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$21
This park is slightly difficult to find, being a few miles off of I-59, but I liked it fine. The sites were not numbered to where we could first understand them, and we had to circle, but not a big problem. The electric and water were fine. I had a large space with lots of room. Plenty of trees, so the cable worked OK. Very scenic, with the falls close by. The kids swam in the pool, but the pool could use cleaning, not awful. Nice place for a overnight. On the list to stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$30
Nice wooded city run park within walking distance of the falls. Lots are setup in twos with lots sharing an access drive so they are rather close together. All lots appeared in good condition and level. Wild turkeys walked through our lot. The general area is somewhat run down but the park seemed secure and a great place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2010
$20
Sites are extremely close together and not all that long. This is an old park. It served our purpose for 4 nights but we would not stay here again. Voltage and water pressure were good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
We were traveling and chose this campground. We had stayed once a prior trip. We were told that they had a few sites left that would fit our travel trailer and when we arrived, they were having a car show. We could not maneuver our travel trailer into the site they gave us due to the cars sitting everywhere. We did, however, fit into another site. The next morning we planned to pull out about 9:30, but it took us until almost 11:00 to maneuver out of there due to the "classic cars" sitting everywhere and people being oblivious to a vehicle trying to get around them. We thought a man was going to run directly into the front of our pickup truck. We stopped and he was within a foot before he finally looked forward and saw us. Overall, it's an okay park, narrow sites and campers packed in. It is fine for an overniter. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$38
Was looking forward to camping here based on the reviews. I was not overly impressed. Fortunately, we parked in the middle of the park where no one was so we had space around us but sites are very close together. Ours was very grassy so that was a plus. Not a lot of privacy. No fire rings. Bath house (1) was adequate and clean. I liked that the showers were not in the toilet areas. Pool was not 7-year-old friendly as the water was over her head. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$21
What a wonderful park. A very friendly staff. There are lots of trees. It is right next to the Noccalula Falls Park which was a beautiful and fun place to visit. We would stay here again without a second thought. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2009
$27
This is an older park and isn't made for the "Big Rigs" like ours. We were given a pull through; we almost bent our tow bar going into the pull through. When we left we had to back out of the space, trying to avoid the trees since we couldn't "pull through." We will not be back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
This is an older campground but still very well kept. The laundry facility is minimal but clean. The sites are well spaced apart. The staff is courteous and helpful. The pool is old but clean and nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$21
Though the campground was paved it was full of pot holes and cracks. The pavement was also covered in debris from trees so you couldn’t ride your bikes and the kids had a hard time playing. The grass was over a foot high and in the site we were assigned to we had to go through the tall grass to get to our door. I had to struggle a bit with them to get it changed. The sites were right on top of each other. You couldn’t open your slide out all the way or you would hit the person next to you. The bath rooms were OK. I never saw a caretaker or host. You could get to the waterfall from the campground but had to pay to get around the other side or to hike down the trail. The petting zoo, gardens, train and miniature golf all had to be paid for. You got the “Free” Train ride only after you paid for your admission into the zoo and gardens. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$27
Nice park, friendly and helpful staff. Sites are close, but reasonably comfortable. Had nice conversations with surrounding campground guests. Also, every night around sundown we could hear a tiger roar across the canyon and found out later that they have a one on display at the city park on the other side of the falls. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$21
The park was very clean and quiet. The pool was closed for repairs or cleaning. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We picked a weekend when the park was almost empty so that made it nice. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$18
Not usually being a proponent of city parks, this was a pleasant surprise. You are able to get as close or as far away from others as you want. Hookups included electric, water, cable and sewer. Our AT&T air card worked great and was very fast. We didn't hook up to cable because we received 14 digital channels - everything we needed. It is a very quiet cg and we felt very comfortable. We had plenty of room. We took our chances and checked in about 2:00 pm and so didn't have problems with reservations and got the site we wanted. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$22
Many of the sites were very close. One camper's awning is within inches of the next camper's slide-out. Campground does have a nice atmosphere and we will return. Office staff gave us incorrect information on rates when we made reservations but this was not a major problem. We discovered that other campers had also been given incorrect information. Perhaps the confusion was due to a car show held at the campground while we were there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$22
Nice, clean campground, but the sites are VERY tight. Our slide was within 1 foot of our neighbor's awning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$24
We went with the in-laws here and had a wonderful time. Some of the sites are really close together, but the atmosphere makes up for that. You can here the water flowing from the falls, and the sites are shady. Camp fires are allowed at sites . This is a really nice park convenient to Gadsden. You must go to the flea market in Collinsville when you go here. I will return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$23
We have camped at this cg several times , and always enjoy it. This is a nice clean city run cg. The park next door had Christmas lights up , but we didn't visit this time. We hiked from the cg down under the falls. There were several nice views. I meet a reviewer that had posted for last November while we were there. Very nice couple. Some sites are to small for comfort, but overall sites are fairly nice sized. Just be careful in choosing if they will let you. The rate is with tax on a Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$23
A mostly shaded and pleasant campground. A lot of sites were close together. We a had a reservation snafu because of the campgrounds computer going down at the time we made our reservation. I would suggest confirming your reservation and getting the name of the person you talk to when you make your reservation as our neighbor had a problem too. The campground was full this time of year, but we had a very enjoyable time. I'll be coming back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$20
Good for an overnight stop. All sites under the trees but very close. They said they had cable but it didn't work on our site. Baths needed some help in the cleanliness department. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$16
This was an overnight stop off that we drove into after along drive north. The hosts were very friendly and the campground was very clean. They seemed to be experiencing a drought, so there wasn't much of a waterfall in the city park next to the campground, except the hour long thunderstorm changed that to a beautiful falls early evening. This was a nice unexpected stop at a good price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$17
A nice park located in the trees but the sites are rather close together. They have a special that we took advantage of in which if you stay 6 nights the 7th is free. The Falls is adjacent to the park and can be viewed for free however, there is a charge if you want to walk down to the base of the falls. The park is very quiet and peaceful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$22
We got to this park late one night on our trip to Gatlinburg. I was a little nervous about the park not knowing anything about it. When we pulled up, The whole Noccolucca Park (not campground) was decorated in Christmas Lights! It was beautiful! The campground is right on a huge waterfall. The park is wooded but very clean. They even have security guards so we felt very safe. It has a nice playground and pool and the laundry area was really clean. I am going to plan a trip here soon one day to spend more time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$10
We stayed here on our maiden voyage in our Motorhome. The park is quiet, well kept. we enjoyed our first camping experience here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$23
This is our 4th time camping here. This one one of the best trips.Our daughter's 11 birthday camping trip and we loved it. Pool was open,and very controlled, campers only with a pool pass bracelet. Only complaint here is some sites are really close. A38,where we camped has a large grass area on the back side of the camper, but would have been very tight if A37 was occupied. All in all a great cg. The park is very nice and has a new entrance. Also has a new put-putt course that is alot of fun, and only $5 for adults. Very well worth the trip, and convenient to town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$16
Nice park which is ran by the city of Gadsden. Some sites are really close together. Beautiful area; perfect for a stop-over. Clean restrooms and showers with hot water all day long! Very friendly staff. Enjoyed our stay here, even though we prefer more "country" campgrounds. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2006
$20
We just pulled in here for the night. We wish we had had more time to stay here. The view of the waterfall was amazing. It was dead of winter so the neighboring park and pool were closed but we were able to walk around the fall before we pulled out. It was beautiful. The staff was friendly and everything was very clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2006
$23
We have camped here several times and enjoyed them all. Some sites are close, but not terribly close. This is run by the city, very clean. The cg is gated with a security number and guard after hours. Paved road, concrete sites. Great place for kids. Our first camping trip was here and it was a nice experience. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2004
$21
Another example of a campground out to make money no matter what. I made a reservation here over the phone in August. Today, 5 days before the reservation, I called to cancel as Hurricane Ivan is predicted to dump 10 or more inches of rain in the area. I was told there was a no refund policy. Not only is this not listed in their ads, I was never told they were going to charge my credit card to hold the reservation and was also never told about the no refund policy. This is one of the places to avoid with policies like that. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2003
$20
A shaded CG sitting up on a hill overlooking a small canyon with stream running through. This CG and the ajacent park has been closed for renovations. I think it is now open or will be soon (Spring/Summer 2005). The spaces were spaced far enough aprt for comfort but many used a common entrance (Y shaped). The CG is peaceful in the summer and the park is a great place for kids but it is hot. The renovations included upgrading the CG, playground equipment, the train was getting new track etc. The park has a small zoo including deer, llamas, goats, and I believe a tiger. They also have rabbits, and such. There are also several buildings depicting pioneer life in Northern Alabama. They have a great light display during the holiday season. The best CG in Gadsden but the entrance to the park can be a little confusing. This is owned by the City of Gadsden. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$20
If you like the gimmicky tourist-type place, then this campground is for you. The campground itself is nothing more than some dirt sites put among the trees. I don't recall the hook-ups being conveniently located. Once you finally get level (in the dirt), the scenery on the outer sites is nice. The campground is right next to the canyon in which the falls pour. I recall the swimming pool being small and adequate. Other than that, all of the tourist stuff is a very short walk over to the remainder of the park. The falls are interesting, but nothing in comparison to falls further north in Alabama. There is a train ride around the park and a very old putt-putt golf. The kids liked that. I doubt that we will ever go hear again as the campground does not appear to be designed for a relaxing lengthy stay. I think it is more of a place to stay when visiting the area. Just my opinion. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$20
This is a city park and campground. The is a 90' waterfall, botanical gradens, hiking trails, sightseeing train, playground, carpet golf. It is a great place to go with kids. You are not allowed to play in the river wither above or below the waterfall. The Campground has level conrete pads and some grills. There are no fire rings but you are welcome to build one from rocks and have a fire. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2000
$18
This campground is owned by the city of Gadsden. The campground is the cleanest I have ever camped at. There are concrete pads at most of the sites and about a third of the sites have cable hook ups. The restrooms are also the cleanest I have ever seen at a campground. The campground is about 5 miles from downtown Gadsden and is at the entrance to Noccalula falls. There are walking trails in the park and plenty for the kids to do. The pool area is also very nice, there is a store at the park also. If you are in north Ala. this is the campground to camp at. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com