219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Paradise Lake Family Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (434) 993-3332
CGID3020

Paradise Lake Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
127
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   3   7   8   2   5   4   5   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$36
My family and I camped here 5/13-5/19. The campground appeared very clean. The restrooms were cleaned every other day and were well stocked with toilet paper. I was told by a store employee that they renovated both of their cabins and are in the process of renovating the cottage with plans of purchasing additional cabins. The store employee's were very helpful and friendly during our stay. The pool was opened 3 days before we checked out and we did enjoy that. We were told the lake is stocked with fish, but we did not fish while we were there. We stayed on a 50 amp FHU site and found that our power and water pressure were adequate. There is a Wi-Fi hotspot around the store area. There are some potholes as mentioned by previous reviewers, but there is also a 15MPH speed limit sign so if you go slow enough they shouldn't cause any issues. We have stopped here a couple times in the past and I am glad we did not listen to some of the past reviews of this campground, because we thoroughly enjoyed it and will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$37
I'm afraid I wasn't thinking "paradise" when we arrived at this park, nor during our stay. This is basically an older trailer park with some spots for transient RV's. My opinion is that several of the former reviewers were generous with their ratings. The park is fairly quiet, being off any main roads. Access is over a "pothole-a-plenty" paved road, and I had to contend with low tree branches scratching my motorhome. This is an item that really bothers me because it can be handled via inexpensive maintenance. So, this issue and several others confirmed that maintenance was sadly lacking here. I was able to get fairly level at my site, but many others were not close to level. Although I had a 50 amp hookup, my meter showed a fluctuating 108 volts, not enough to run my AC. Water pressure was less than 30 psi. The bathrooms and showers were adequate and cleaned daily. The pool and lake access look like they would be fun for kids. Each site had a picnic table and fire pit. This place may be suitable for folks in trailers wanting to visit for short periods, but not for larger units needing decent utilities and site access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$32
This campground is set back about a mile from the main highway. The road from the main highway is in poor condition with many potholes. When arriving at the entrance, there is an unmanned booth and no security gates. The office/store is located halfway around the main CG road. We arrived late, drove around to the office, which was closed, as we expected, to get our site info which they said they would leave for us, and then discovered that our site was located back near the entrance. Our site was level. In the morning, I noticed that although the CG was practically empty, our site was located adjacent to their storage area where 4 or 5 old dirty trailers sat in weeds (not a pretty sight). I went over the office at 9am and the store was closed and had no posted hours. After lunch, we left for a few hours and while we were out, I received an email welcoming us to the CG and to “come down to the office to check in as soon as possible and pay your remaining balance.” Sometime during the late afternoon, I did just that, but the office was once again closed. I returned at 5:45pm and this time was greeted by a CG employee. I was not impressed with customer service after receiving that email. The public restrooms are clean but very dated. Had to hold shower valve open for shower. There is a lake with a swimming area on the property and the beach has several covered picnic tables. There are a couple of pavilions on the property, a volleyball court, softball field and game room. There is also a “barn” on the property. At least that’s what it’s called on the CG map. The barn is a small 2 story building that is located in the middle of a row of campsites. It really should be torn down because it’s about to fall down. It appears to me that this property may double as a swim club in the summer months (or did at some point in time). If we return here, it is only because we have family in the area and this most accessible CG to them. The campground as a whole seemed to need much cleanup and work. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$31
No reliable internet at site. Water connection tight. Electric good. 1 bar ATT. Level site. Moderate shower pressure. Very clean pool. Nice concrete pad at each site for camper entrance. This is a family destination camp with substantial lake waterfront and kid oriented stuff. Very quiet. Very pleasant bird and animal noises and good place to have a campfire and listen to and watch birds. We will return. From 10, -1 Internet, -1 shower pressure, -1 bath house needs update, -1 potholed entrance road. +1 bird songs, +1 camper entrance pad. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2011
$33
This park is in a beautiful natural area and the nearest one to Lynchburg. Other than this there is not much to recommend. Facilities are old and in need of repair. Management is almost non-existent. At entry to park is a unmanned guardhouse with a sign saying you must go to office to register; however, there is nothing anyplace to tell you where the office is located. We encountered four others who suffered the same confusion. In the three days we were there, the office was open only for a few hours one day. The men's restroom had no tissue the first day and no heat on even with the temperature at 34 degrees one morning. Sites are level, but with only a little gravel, very spotted grass and a lot of red dirt. It rained for two days so, with two dogs, we were constantly cleaning red mud out of our trailer. The rate is very high considering the facilities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$15
We used this CG as an overnight while visiting the Appomattox National Park. I could not get the GPS to find the address and the entrance is poorly marked, just a double sided sign. The entrance is over a very high RR crossing (so high it caught and bent one of our stabilizers) so exercise caution. The entrance road is full of potholes so drive slowly. The transient area is ok, nice pull throughs with convenient hookups and as we were here during the week it was quiet. Rate shown is PPA good for one night only. CG is ok for a overnight stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
I should have known from the other reviews, but I was hoping since the last was posted in 2009, things had changed. I was wrong. The only reason I stayed was lack of other cg's in the area. There are so many things I would list as bad, I'll just say what was good. The pool. It was nice and clean, but was certainly the exception to the overall quality and cleanliness of cg. It should be called Paradise Pond as the "lake" is really no more than a farm pond with stale green water and an awful bug (mosquitos, gnats, etc.) problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$33
This is an ok park for an overnight stay, pull through & back-in sites were crowned, had to use all our levelers. Bathrooms clean, but dated. We assumed they were closing since the deck chairs & tables were filthy with tons of leaves on the deck deck, boats were full of water after a rain 1 week prior. I still don't understand why these parks advertise Wi-Fi when it is only available at the office. The surrounding national park and town were just beautiful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$33
Staff and seasonals/long-timers are all very friendly. Most of the short-term sites have at least some shade and a not too far off level. The pool and small lake are nice. The electric system needs upgrading. In our "50-amp" site, voltage dropped to a bare 110v during the hot afternoon running only one A/C. There appear to be only 3 50-amp sites for short-timers, all the rest are 30-amp. We also noticed that there is a tendency for the sewer hookups to be run over and damaged. Wi-Fi is only available close to the office. Overall a nice campground for a "kick back and relax" stay or to visit Appomatix, Lynchburg and surrounding areas, but short on organized activities. We've camped here 5 times this year, and have another stay scheduled. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
Site was not level and I had the rear tires off the ground to get close to level. Access and interior roads were pretty poor. The Wi-Fi was only available at office when they are open. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
Nice little country campground. Not too much to do at campground, few planned activities. Nice small pool and fun swimming lake. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$27
Park was very nice. Sites were fairly level and there was shade available at most every camp site. The road into the park was fairly rough with lots of potholes. Very clean and quiet, even with quite a few seasonal campers. Lots of things for the kids to do including the lake, newly built pool, basketball and playground. The only negative thing about this park is the electrical connection. If you go, be sure to have a tester. Our site and several nearby only had 108 volts during the middle of the day. The voltage came up at night to 120, but worried us during the day. The kids really loved it though, so we will probably return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2007
$27
This campground was very clean, but I would only return in warm weather and only if I am in the area. We just so happened to go here during this weird cold blast around Easter. The kids were bored because the recreation room was being built, and it was too cold to ride bikes or play in the playground. We didn't see any miniature golf as the website promotes, but maybe we just missed it. The bathhouses were very clean. The wi-fi is free, but only at the store and only when someone is in the office, which in April is not a set time. Our site had no phone hook up. I failed to ask when I called if the wi-fi worked at the sites or I would not have stayed here because we needed internet access. Oh yeah, if it is your first time here make sure you go towards the lake to the store to register. The little booth fooled us and some other first timers. The road to the campground has lots of potholes. The sites are mostly level and not too close. The lake is at the bottom of a hill, so most sites can't even see it. Leave your bikes at home because the downslope grade of the campground is not worth trying to ride. I can't give it a 10 like others because my experience was not as good, but maybe in the summer time it could be better. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$21
We have camped at many campgrounds through the years but have yet found one that was as clean as this one. While we were there, we noticed that they were putting in a new 22 X 44 swimming pool and building a brand new recreation room. Also, the owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this one and will be returning. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$27
I was just there with my good sam group we had 12 rigs there --it was a wonderful weekend and we all enjoyed it there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2006
$26
Nice park. We spent a weekend there and the kids had a blast. Lake to swim and fish. Had free hot dogs and smores on Friday night. Played candy bar Bingo on Saturday night. The facilities are a little old, but the staff was great and everything worked. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$29
Overall a pretty decent park. The saving grace of this place is the "work campers," older folks that are retired, working at the campground. They were very friendly, helpful, and seemed to go the extra mile to help out guests. Also liked that they had a night watchman. Employees picked up trash at your sight each morning. I've never seen that before! Campground is neat and clean. Lots of activities for children. The only drawback was the site was not very level. I would've been okay in a trailer with a tongue jack, but in a motorhome it was a little more difficult. I'd camp here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2005
$26
This campground is an older campground. It has been around for years and it has a lot of repeat business. It is open to day guests because of it's lake. The lake is open to anyone who pays the entrance fees. Not a bad crowd just a large crowd when compared to the campground guests. The bathrooms and bathhouses were always clean and in great shape. The store was a little spartan but it worked. It had a nice little Ice Cream Shop, if you could get waited on. Our sites were the 50amp sites as this was a last minute trip. They were not too level from front to back, but we were told that on the phone. The sites on the other side of the campground were in much better shape as far as shade and levelness. Overall not a bad campground but if I could not find any other place to camp I would return. The staff was extra friendly. Just not my type of campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$45
The campground was very clean and neat. The employees were very kind and helpful. Stayed here in 2002. I was not as happy then because of the noise from the seasonal campers. Looks like new management took care of that. Not as many seasonal campers this time. The bathrooms looked great. Nice clean lake to take a swim. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$28
This is a great family campground. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Most sites are level and shady. The General Store is small, but adequate and it has a food grill. They have lots of things for kids to do. There is a train ride, paddle boats and a real nice lake for swimming with life guards on duty. The showers and restrooms were very clean and the trash was picked up every morning. This is by far one of the nicest family campgrounds that we have stayed at. When it was time to leave, our grandkids wanted to move here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2003
$27
Bath houses are disgusting. Laundry facilities are pathetic "barely there". Management could care less about the seasonal campers; been trying to run them "out of dodge". To have a lease as a seasonal means nothing. They will at any time, violate your rights as an American citizen. As a sesaonal camper with a lease; don't think for a minute that what is your's is your's... they will enter your camper and tow your camper away if they feel like it. The management is out of control and must be stopped. Don't waste your time... the camping experience is not very family oriented. There are too many transients there. Go to another campground. A modern day campground this is not: they live by the motto "we are grand-fathered and don't have to meet current campground standards!" Police people run this place and have no respect for the rights of everyday people. Not much of a family atmosphere left. Camp at your own risk! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2003
$26
We visited this campground in May of 2003 and thought it was a great family oriented place. They have nice sites with a small lake to swim and very clean. The Seasonal campsights were well taken care of and the people friendly. They had nice decks, flower beds, and maintained campers. We decided to stop there overnight on the way back from Blue ridge in Late September and it looks like a war zone, the camp is dirty, the Seasonal campers are all pulling out. I was told there was a large dissagreement between the owners and the Seasonal campers. I would not recomend it, there is some serious friction. We decided not to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$26
The road going to the campground is like a mine field . Also you can't swim unless your a alligator. The restroom's are so nasty I would rather go in the woods. The washer & dryer don't work well at all. I would not recommand this place to anybody that camps. I would rather camp at a truck stop. This is one camping family that will never camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$23
Next time you visit this place, just ask them one question: Why did they have at least 15 SEASONAL campers pull out at the end of this season? Some of these people have been there for 20-plus years. When I see a change of such size in one year makes me wonder what is wrong with this picture. POOR MANAGEMENT and LACK OF RESPECT for their campers. There is nothing for kids to do after 6 o'clock. There are no activities for the family on the weekend except swimming. Things have taken a drastic turn for the worse in the last 2 years I have visited here. I would not recommend this place for a family outing. If you want somewhere to sleep and play dead, then this is for you. Also, labeling your seasonals as "transiants" is not a good thing either. These are the people that gaurantee your start up money for next year. Campers beware!! If you want a place with an attitude, this place is for you. If you want a family atmosphere, find somewhere else. I have dealt with this place for at least 7 years myself. The last 2 have been something to recon with. I am one of those people moving on. I am one of the so called Transiants pullin my camper back home. You see, I do not need the disrespect and attitude. There is something else out there bigger and better for my family. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2002
$26
Bottom Line: It's a dump, and nasty workers and nasty construction worker tenants, some need their mouths washed out! We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com