206577 User submitted reviews online!!
Americamps RV Resort (formerly Richmond North / Americamps KOA) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 104 user reviews. Phone: (804) 798-5298
CGID3022

Americamps RV Resort (formerly Richmond North / Americamps KOA)

Camp Information
Sites
198
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   9   9   10   9   9   8   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$45
First trip in our "new to us" class A. Staff was extremely nice and welcoming. They even gave my kids ice cream! Park is very clean and would be a good stop while in town. There is even a restaurant and brewery next store. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$41
Convenient to I-95 and you can hear the roar from the interstate. The park has very good WiFi, convenient utility connections, very good water pressure, and nice layout. Nice dog park. Friendly, welcoming staff. At this time of year, a lot of in and out traffic. Lots of services close by and this was important to us to handle a power issue in our RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$45
This was a very nice park. It's pretty much right off I-95, so its very convenient when passing through. The spots were very long and had space between our neighbors. Free breakfast every morning is a nice plus. Very nice people there. Would go back. I think I would even use it for more than passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$37
This was a very nice surprise. We were running very late so we cancelled our reservation at another campground and found this one through the Good Sam website. I did not give it a 10 only because of its proximity to I-95 and the noise from the highway. We kept our AC fan on all night and slept great. The gravel pads were well maintained and fairly level. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
This was our second stay here and it was outstanding. Campground is very clean, they have a dog park. Bathrooms are very clean. Managers are very friendly. Its easy on/off 95. We stayed here in September 2013. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$47
Used the campground as a stopover both going and coming. The campground was clean and staff was very friendly and helpful. There is some road noise from I-95 especially in the premium concrete pad sites, but not too bad in the gravel sites toward the back. Felt very comfortable staying here and campground is convenient for fuel and food places. Easy in and out. I would not hesitate to stay again and longer if visiting the area. Very Nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
Large level sites - crushed stone inside landscape timbers. We paid extra for a pull through and were able to stay hooked up, the backins look easy to get into. Very clean bathrooms. Nice dog park. Good water, cable, WI-FI. Trash pickup at site. We were in the middle of the park, and did not have a problem with road noise. About one mile from the interstate, but located right along the interstate. Very convenient if traveling. We camped here in a fifth wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
Very friendly staff and very accommodating. This camp is located right off the highway and there is a lot of noise from the road. We had a space in the front of the park in front of the office which didn’t help our situation. Very good Wi-Fi and very convenient location to getting on and off the freeway to visit sites in the area. Wide and level spaces. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$47
Nice park, well maintained. Quick off/on Interstate 95, but you get some road noise. Not noticeable with A/C on. Friendly staff. Level gravel sites, but also has pads. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Nice campground. Gravel roads and sites. Very close to I-95 which is heavily traveled all day long, so noise is an issue. We turned on our bedroom a/c so we wouldn't hear the traffic noise. Pull-through sites are $10 more per night and to us, not worth the difference. Their gym is very nice and usable 24/7 with a code. Wi-Fi is strong, cable TV is good. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
We stayed here just to go to Kings Dominion with our kids. Pretty nice CG for its age. It is right on I-95 and you do hear traffic all night, but it was so constant, I had no problem sleeping and I sleep very light. There is a small airstrip very close by and we heard several planes around 9am Sunday morning. Bathrooms appear recently renovated and pretty nice. Still have original floors though. Amazingly, my site, D10, required no leveling blocks. Good Wi-Fi, power, and water pressure. They just left KOA, so keep that in mind if you're a member. They offer veteran, active duty, and Good Sam discounts though. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
We stayed at this campground for three nights. Our primary reason for being in the area was to have work done at the RV Service of Virginia, which is three miles from this campground. We opted for a gravel site in Loop E, which is further from the freeway from where the concrete pad sites are located, and thus not as much traffic noise from the freeway. The campground is heavily treed, but we had no problems getting into our pull-through site. The staff in the office were friendly and helpful, and refunded our last night's fee when we opted to leave a day early. There is a conveniently located truck stop before the turn to Air Park Road for those needing to top-off on diesel. If we're in the area again, we would stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
This rate is an approximate monthly rate. This is a decent park, but the layout is confusing with mostly one-way gravel roads. During recent rains, it was obvious that drainage is a problem in spots. Nice dog run, excellent, newer shower / toilet rooms that are plenty warm during cold weather. I-95 noise is a constant reminder how close and convenient the park is to the interstate. The park staff is friendly. One area for improvement: Staffers should not be allowed to smoke around the guests, to include near the propane station. Yuck! Besides that, it is a nice enough place, and I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$46
Rate is after KOA 10% discount. A little pricey but overall a very nice park. Easy in/out, nice long mostly level gravel pull-thrus. Most of their business is over-nighters. Cheapest propane I've seen lately at $2.89/gal. Road noise from I-95 as others have mentioned. Nice amenities like dog park & well stocked workout room. Camp Wi-Fi worked well. Both ATT & Verizon 4G signal and cable TV. Many trees so satellite iffy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2012
$46
We stopped here for an overnight on our way south. Pleasant enough staff; were escorted to our site which was fortunate because it is a confusing layout, particularly at dusk when we arrived. My impression was lots of thick gravel -- the roads and the sites -- and not a lot of grass to find an area for our two small dogs to use. Quite a few seasonal campers around the perimeter of the park, not unkempt and looked like contractors staying in the area. There was a good bit of highway noise as you are very close to I-95, but that usually never bothers us. All services worked fine, and our site required very little leveling. Bath house was older but clean. Convenient though a bit pricey for a simple overnight, but we were happy to get there after a long day of packing up and getting on the road for the winter. Easy on, easy off I-95. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$22
Rate is for monthly plus the cost of electric. There are not many choices in this area and this is the best of the bunch. Close to I-95. Some complain about traffic noise but since we stayed for a month they put us in the back of the park so noise was not a problem. Park is clean, well maintained and has free, recently upgraded cable TV. Restrooms and facilities were well maintained and any issues were dealt with promptly by the friendly staff. We will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$35
This is a great KOA. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good WI-FI, nice laundry facility and well stocked store. Site was level, plenty of room between sites, electrical, water and sewer were well located. This KOA is convenient to Richmond and other area attractions. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2012
$46
Staff was borderline rude, Park is basically a gravel lot with utilities. We stayed here overnight and for that it was OK. A little pricey for what it is. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$45
Great park with pretty grounds and friendly staff in a convenient location near the highway. They are slowly making this place better and better and I really appreciated the fenced in dog run area. The good: * Fenced in dog run * Lots of cable channels * Friendly Staff * Great Location * Propane for sale on grounds * Nice laundry areas * Decent showers The bad: * Wi-Fi is really slow * Highway noise (but not any worse than I've experienced in other places) If you're looking for a nice, family friendly park while visiting the Richmond area, definitely give this park a look! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$45
First the good stuff. This park is convenient to I-95 just north of Richmond. It is well laid out, sites are reasonably level and roomy. Many tall trees provide shade, but do not reach RV roofs. Bath houses are modern and spotless. Roadways and sites are gravel, there are picnic tables and fire rings at each. Cable TV is very good, electrical service and water connections are also top notch. We didn't use the park's Wi-Fi, so I have no comment on that. There isn't a lot of bad stuff, but here it is: Closeness to I-95 does make for consistent road noise. Many of the sewer connections are high and may be higher than some RV sewer drains. Since water has a problem running up hill, this may require the time consuming job of frequently lifting the hose to empty it. Primarily due to the location, we've stayed here before and will most likely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
Nice clean campground with friendly office staff. We were escorted to our site which they seem to do for everyone. Rate noted is a little lower since I cashed in $10 in KOA Rewards Points. The down side to the campground is that it is right next to I-95. Try to get a site as far away from the office as possible to reduce the noise level. This is the second time we have stayed here. It is great for an overnight on your way to your next location. Would stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$45
Price with KOA discount. Very spacious sites, easily occupying all of the rock star coaches and their toads rolling in. Some noise from I-95. Price a bit high for off season. Wi-Fi a bit temperamental. Nice store/RV supplies in office. Escort to your site, which is nice. Treed setting. Would return. Friendly staff, clean showers with ample hot water. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$45
We camped here 4 nights while visiting family in the area. The campground was clean and well run, but we were disappointed with our campsite. It was very close to the next site. We realized the 2nd day we were there that you could preview the sites and pick out the one you liked, but unfortunately we had not done that. There were sites there with more room than ours, so I recommend doing that. This seemed to be a campground that was mainly for overnight stays. I would recommend this campground if you are looking for an overnight stay, but not for more than a few days. The dog park was nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$45
This campground is undergoing updates and may just be the nicest KOA we've ever been to. VERY clean, with spacious lots. However, there are many trees, and we had to move to another lot because one of our slides could not be extended because of a tree placement. So, just let them know if you have a coach with large slides. Staff is wonderful and friendly. They are planning a rally room and fitness center. Nice, clean dog park. Just off I-95 and some road noise. Just turn the A/C on! Would definitely return. We are 45' plus a towed car on a pull through site: plenty of room. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$37
The campground has recently been redone and this can be seen in the rest rooms and facilities, which were very nice. The space we had was not level and looking at vacant spaces, these did not look level either. The campground is located right off of I-95 and you can see the trucks and cars going by through the trees. Outside our RV you could hear the traffic but we did not hear anything when we were inside. There is a small swimming pool and playground. The sites are gravel and the campground is wooded with plenty of shade trees. The Wi-Fi was good and the cable TV selection was excellent. The people at the desk were very nice. If the space had been level, I would have given this campground a rating of ten. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$48
Good overnight stop. Convenient to I-95. Felt price was about $5 a night too high, but they are investing the money into fixing this place up. They've put a lot of work into sprucing this place up. Site was nice as was the dog run. Staff wasn't overly friendly, but were efficient. Utilities were good. Free Wi-Fi was outstanding. 40 channel DirecTV hookup had lots of premium movie channels, but the reception was fuzzy. Didn't have a chance to try the pool. Would stop here again for overnight or a few days to go to Kings Dominion. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
Very friendly staff, clean campground,seems to be well maintained. I had some trouble with my rv getting a tv signal and one of the staff riding around on a golf cart stopped to see if he could help. It turned out to be something on my rv and not the park service but the staff tried to help by testing the connection at the pole with another cable and tv to check it out. Nice dog park but did not see any doggie doo bags anywhere, this should be available near the trash can. Though there are always those who think they are too good to pick up their own dogs mess, no matter how much is provided for them. Anyway, the C.G. is located right next to I-95 but with an a/c on you don't notice it. And even outside sitting at the picnic table you hear it but it is not objectionable. All in all it is a very nice stop and the sites are all stone and fairly level, with easy entrance and exit. Some trees for shade but not a problem with hanging branches they seem to be well trimmed. We stop here often and will be back again, we camped in a fifth wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
We paid $40.50 here with a 10% AAA discount. The people at check in were nice and the sites were level. Filled my propane while I was here on site. The bathrooms were tiny and cramped, but they were private. There was maybe 10 inches from the door to the shower and the toilet was crammed in there: very tight. This place was converting to KOA which means they probably no longer give a discount. We stayed here for the location close to I-95 for a one nighter. Not sure if we would return here due to the high price for what you get. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$45
The campground is adjacent to I-95 so there was some road noise, but not too drastic. It helps muffle the noises from the other campers. Level sites, easy pull-throughs, no problem maneuvering the campground roads with a 30' travel trailer & pickup. Standard cable channels (no HD stations). The Internet signal was good and speed was decent. Good campground for a night or two layover. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$35
Rate is for a back-in FHU. Site long enough so didn't need to unhitch. Great stop for overnight, laundry and restrooms good, staff helpful. Wi-Fi excellent. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$45
Good stop along I-95. Easy in, friendly staff. Freeway noise. Not quite level sites, but a good store and free Wi-Fi. Would use again for stopover. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$60
Level and clean sites, directly off of Route 95, there is very little to buffer the noise from this busy highway. The staff was helpful and courteous, I would stay here again as I travel north and south, not for a long stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$45
If you are coming from anywhere north of here you can count on getting here later than you planned. Because of the terrible traffic on I-495 and I-95, it took us 2.5 hours longer than expected to get here so it was pitch dark when we did. The late check-in pack was ready and waiting, the map clearly marked and the rows and site numbers easily identified. In the morning we saw how clean and orderly everything was. Along with being an easily accessible overnight stop this campground would be a nice place to stay for a few days to take advantage of all the nearby attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$36
This is usually our first overnight stop when we head south, and our last night stop on our way home. We used a back in site, and the rate was cheaper than the pull throughs. We also got a AAA discount. Sites are thick, packed, level gravel so our rig leveled firmly. Year round full hook ups with winter-proof water shut offs are a plus. Friendly staff and guide to site as noted by others. This campground is close to I-95 so you can hear some traffic, but the easy access to and from the campground saves time and miles when all you need is a clean, friendly place to stop for the night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$36
Easily accessible campground just minutes of I-95. Ideal for a stopover. Sites spacious and level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2011
$45
The staff was friendly, but this KOA is more accurately a parking lot than a campground. Most of the sites have little if any space. In our case, there was barely room for two folding chairs between our unit and our neighbors. Additionally, the site lacked a fire-ring and the hook-ups were awkwardly situated. Further, the highway noise is so overwhelming that outdoor conversation is difficult. As a final note, this is not a safe park for families with young children; the park employees race around the park after dark in golf carts with no lights well above the posted speed limits. Even as an "over night" this park is overpriced for what it offers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$45
This is a pleasant campground near I-95 with very little road noise. The sites are gravel and ours was a very long pull-through. The width was typical of urban/suburban campground; it wasn't particularly narrow. There are lots of mature trees and we were unable to get satellite reception, although some others were able to get it; there is a decent free cable system and there are lots of over the air stations. The wifi was unstable as has been noted by others and we did have issues with our Verizon signal dropping out. Our site was fairly level and we had no problem leveling. The staff was pleasant when we checked in and in subsequent interactions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$45
The long, level, gravel pull-through sites and easy access from I-95 make this a great place for a one night stopover. Being escorted to the site, having daily garbage pick-up and easy access to two fuel stations as you enter or leave the campground add to the convenience. The staff is friendly and efficient and the camp store had many interesting items. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$38
I hope I don't seem rude, but those of you who rate this park at an 8 or 9 are doing the rest of us a disservice. The sites are extremely small. There is no grass at most of the sites. It is barely a park. It is more like a parking lot. The staff was very friendly and it is very easy to get to from the freeway, but when I go camping, I like a little more than 6 feet of ground where I can put a chair. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$48
This campground is convenient to the Interstate with a truck stop on the way out which was great for fueling. We had no problem getting into our pull through space with a 45 ft rig. The Internet connection wasn't very stable, so we had to use our ATT card. Unlike one review I read, I saw no concrete pads. I only saw gravel which is fine if it's level. Ours wasn't, so we had to use boards under our wheels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
One of the best KOA parks we have ever stayed at and this park was worth the price! Level, large sites with good power. Easy on and off I-95 with a little road noise. This is truly a big rig park. We didn't use the pool or facilities but did find fuel and other services close by. We could have stayed for a week if not on a schedule. Will come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$50
Very pleasant stay. Nice staff. Pool is a little small and there was no playground, but they were supposed to be adding one. Sites were nice, with plenty of room. I would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$46
Easy access, level gravel sites, shade; utilities and Wi-fi worked fine, strong air card signal. Plenty of room for big rigs. Well stocked store. Cheap fuel at I-95 Exit 89. Looks to be the best overnight or short visit stop in the Richmond area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
First time here. Nice park, neat, clean, my Verizon AirCard got FOUR power bars: never had that before. Might not be Memorial Day Weekend yet, but the store was seriously lacking in what we came to expect: no milk, stuff like that. Their bags of ice were incredibly small and incredibly overpriced (in our opinions). The staff although very professional, almost never smiled. But again, our opinion. Good park: would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$45
Experienced great staff here. The noise from I-95 is minimal. Great location for the Richmond International Raceway races. Nice gravel sites. The WiFi is a hotspot and it was a very low signal strength during our visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$55
Easy access of I-95 at Exit 89. Staff couldn't be nicer. Level concrete pads with picnic tables and some grass. TA fuel stop also at exit. CG has store and propane. Free Wi-Fi is good, but Sprint air card is better. Would rate higher, but for the highway noise, although with windows closed, we were able to sleep. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2011
$55
This park is a pass through NOT a destination. Sites are long but VERY close together. Noise from I-95 could be an issue if you have thin walls. Clean, full hook-ups, long sites, propane available, and a truck stop at the end of the exit ramp for fuel. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2011
$49
Very friendly guy at the front desk and they escorted us to our site. We stayed in the newer section with a concrete pad that was not long enough for our 45 foot MH and car. This new area is very close to I-95 so the road noise is very loud. Have stayed here before but will not stay in the new section plus the cost was too high. Prices should be lower in the winter when there are no facilities to use We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$43
We used this campground twice on one trip. What was important to us was a long pull through site (RV with tow car over 60 feet). Price is pretty high and rate reflects KOA discount. Staff was friendly, sites were pretty easy to get in and out of. On site maintenance guy helped me jump my tow car very quickly. Other than rate, the place worked great for our purpose. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2010
$46
We needed to overnight, this campground is easy on/off I-95. Check in was a nightmare, the clerk couldn't input info into computer, so he had to ask us the same questions several times. What should have been 5 minutes, tops, took over 15- not what you want after a long day on the road. We were escorted to our site, long and level. The traffic on I-95 is noticeable, but it did not keep us awake. Even though the location is great for an overnight, we will not return. $46 a night, that is with discount, is way too much for a place to sleep for a few hours. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2010
$45
Pretty pricey for November. Cable TV was out. Free WiFi does work well although not sure how long it is "free" as an access code may be required. The prompt comes up to indicate this, but office said it is free (at least today). Right on 95, Bass Pro Shop across 95 and lots of fast food places. Considerable road noise. Sites level, pull-throughs OK, gravel roads. Price includes KOA discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2010
$36
This campground doesn't have much going for it other than it is convenient to the Richmond area. We were checked in by the most unfriendly camp host we have ever met. My suggestion to the red-headed gal is to get out of the hospitality business. We were assigned site 17 - the cable TV connection did not work but since the campground was not busy, we were able to connect to our neighbor's. The road noise from I-95 cannot be overstated! My husband is hard of hearing and it bothered his sleep. We felt like we were sleeping on the highway. The camp fee seemed overpriced for winter camping and reflects the KOA discount. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$42
Plenty of room, albeit sites a tiny bit too close. Park undergoing some minor upgrades. About the only game in town. Pro's: Good location, close to Interstate, and about 10 miles north of Richmond. Park appeared to be well groomed. Con's: Way overpriced, front desk seemed confused when we tried to add to our stay, sites slightly too close together. We'd stay again, but there are not a lot of choices in the Richmond area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$46
This is now a KOA, although the I-95 signs have not changed. It is close to I95, but is still fairly quiet. The proximity to the interstate explains the price. Roads are gravel as are sites. Sites are shaded and level. We had no problem moving our 40' RV with toad into place. Staff was friendly. The dog run was being constructed as we arrived. Otherwise it is lots of gravel for your dogs, other than the tenting area. Truck stops are nearby for fuel. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$45
While we understand that off-season is the time to do maintenance/new construction, the need to have heavy machinery outside our window at 8AM is unnecessary for two days in a row. This KOA is an excellent overnight stop as it is only 100 yds or so from I-95; it is very noisy. If we did not have family in the immediate area, we would not stay here for an extended period of time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$38
Staff appeared very confused and unfriendly. While walking my dog I observed lots of no dog sections. Very noisy, from I-95 and small airplanes overhead. Sites very close together. Really loved the Richmond area which was the only reason we spent 4 days there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$36
Rate is for back-in, 30amp site w/KOA card. This was a very clean and well maintained CG. WiFi and TV service were good. Sites normal KOA size, not large but OK. Easy on/off 95, shade trees. Plenty of big rig, 50amp sites. Currently expanding campground, so will have even more sites. Only negative is road noise: right along 95. Friendly staff. Very convenient to local attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$38
It is very clean, with tons of fresh stone on the lots and roadways. The staff was friendly, a new pool was in place but not open. It is very convenient to I-95, Bass Pro Shops, and a well stocked truck stop.It is not a destination (but they appear to be upgrading that) but a great place for passing through. We stayed Fri & Sat nights and will stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
A campground that is in the process of becoming a KOA. Much construction. Upgrades are evident. Gravel roads and site, which was level and long. Staff unsure of new alignment of campground, so be sure the site is big enough for a motorhome. Our initial one was not, but they moved us to a better one. WiFi was strong. A convenient stop off I-95. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Very nice park.Just became a KOA- Nice landscaping, but heavily graveled paths are difficult to walk on. Restrooms are OK, but very, very hot and muggy. No AC or exhaust fans. It was in the 90s when we were here and they were really miserable. Water pressure was low. When a toilet was flushed the shower would turn off. Will stay here again when it is cooler outside. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
While there is still construction going on and a number of long-term residents, this park has very long sites that are big rig friendly, excellent 50 amp electric. We have a good Verizon broadband signal. The restrooms are old but very clean and complete. There is lots to do in the area. I-95 is very close and noise is a real issue when you are outside. Office staff is efficient but not friendly. Rate is with AAA discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Very Nice campground. Just finished remodeling. Looks very professional with a nice and welcoming feel. Entering the Campground reminds you of camping in the woods. The landscaping is out of this world. The grass, trees and mulching are professional grade. Very close to Richmond International Speedway and VCU. Will recommend to a friend plus stay and visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$56
Here’s the thing(s). This is a nice campground: it has everything they say they do, but if you are annoyed by interstate noise, don’t stay here. When our A/C was on in our camper, we did not hear it, but with the A/C off, it sounded like you were sitting on the interstate (I-95) as it borders the interstate, only separated by a service road. It is a clean campground and the maintenance folks are quick and receptive to help if something is needed. There are shaded spots, but this is not a primitive place, the sites are small (very small), long and narrow and close to each other. They have campfire rings (we loved that). The kids went to the shower house and said it was really clean. The pool was tiny, but clean and only 5 foot deep at deepest end, so I felt the kids were safe. They do allow for dogs, another plus. They advertise a WiFi hotspot, there lies the problem. We brought two laptops so the kids could play their internet games once we turned in for the evening and I could finish a report for work before Tuesday. WiFi is a joke. The first day we had 2 bars, then 3 bars, service was fair or good. The 2nd day we had 1 bar or no bars, no service at all. Finally, the last day here we had 4 bars BUT, it was midnight when I was trying to get on to finish my report, so I assume it is a bandwidth thing and everyone with their computer had beat me to the bandwidth throughout the day. So please do NOT count on using the internet WiFi while here: you will be disappointed. If you are staying overnight this is okay. I’d stay again but only if the other campgrounds were full, but I doubt that I’d make it my vacation spot due to the interstate noise, non-existent WiFi and because of how small the sites are. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$15
We camped here five years ago in a tent ,and I still would not want to do that again, but in the travel trailer it is much better. We had a FHU back in that appears to have been recently renovated. The site was level and sufficiently long enough for us. The hookups were located so we had no issues getting hooked up. There is still a lot of construction going on. We ran the AC or at least the fan all night and could not hear the interstate traffic unless we sat outside. Overall this campground is good for overnighting or as a place to stay while in the Richmond area. The rate was a KOA special...buy Friday night get Saturday free. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2010
$40
Easy on and off from I-95. KOA has alot of work to do to get this campground up to their standards. The campground had been let go for years. They are removing trees to make it easier for big rigs, and upgrading the sewer. So the campground was very muddy and hard to get hooked up without getting in the mud. We will give them a chance to improve it, and stop here again in the fall on our way to Florida. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$40
Easy access from I-95 is a big plus. You can see the interstate from most of the campground so the noise is a factor. It was cold so the windows were closed and we were tired so it didn't really matter to us. Most of the place was torn up due to sewer repairs or upgrade so it's not really fair to criticize for the condition of the park. A little pricey for the accommodations though. Gravel sites and mud everywhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$40
This park is now listed on the KOA web site. They honored our KOA discount card and even redeemed our KOA points for a free night's stay. We checked into this park three times in eight days, as we were in the process of trading in and buying a new motorhome at a nearby dealer. The staff was very accommodating with our changing needs. It took us a bit to find a level spot in our back-in site. Our pull-through site was much better. During our stay the area was hit with torrential rains from remnants of Hurricane Ida, and about one-fourth of the campground was under water. Wi-Fi was strong and "free". This is not a destination park, but a very popular one nighter for travelers on the I-95 corridor. Yes, traffic noise is constant but didn't bother us. We would stop again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2009
$40
This is not listed as a KOA, but the office folks were wearing the KOA uniforms. Nothing else to indicate the logo. Certainly not up to KOA Standards, and the price was HIGH at $39.50 plus 13% tax! They did give us 10% off. This is an okay place to spend a night or two, it's close to Richmond and there is a new Bass Pro Shop across the highway. There are several areas that are sloppy. We did stay here a year ago, and probably will again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
Agree with previous reviews with one fairly sizable exception, if you are a light sleeper, this campground is not for you! I don't have much of that problem but my wife does and the I-95 traffic kept her awake for most of the night even with A/C running AND a sound machine right by her pillow. I was awakened more than most nights but can pretty well ignore such things - a light sleeper will be miserable here! 30 AMP breaker at our site (#30) had obviously seen better days and it would not hold, tripped whenever we turned on A/C, so got the adapter and plugged into 50 AMP, no problems. Guess a bit more attention to maintenance might be in order. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
Great spot for visiting Richmond. Lots of trees, level site and easy hook ups. Good Wi-Fi. Would recommend. Great laundry room (6 washer and dryers). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
It is really great for an overnight stop. It is very close to I95, but we did not notice road noise with windows closed and air conditioning on. Clean restrooms. There are very limited items in the camp store. The sites are level, gravel and, wide enough for slides and awning. The staff is friendly. Easy entry and exit. It was rained like heck with high winds while we were there - roads and sites drained very well. It is a great stop over while traveling either north or south on 95. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$42
A nice campground to stay over on your way north or south on I-95. Pull-throughs are a good size and there is a nice selection in the store. This campground sits just off the highway so there is some noise. It's close to Kings Dominion if you need a place to stay for a few days to visit the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
Located right off the interstate. Highway noise is loud. Great stopover site or a place to headquarter while touring the Richmond area. Not a destination park but fine for a safe place to park the big rig for a few nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
We arrived after several days of rain, and the sites were pretty flooded. We were only overnighting, so just hooked up to electric and cable, had to stand in about 6" of water to do so. Site was a good size and pretty level, but there were sections of the interior gravel roads that were very flooded making cg travel difficult. Cable worked fine, but no NBC, odd. We did not have a strong verizon signal, but good enough for aircard and cell. Pricey, but would use again traveling I 95. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$39
The charge cited included use of a 15 percent-off coupon and all taxes. This campground is somewhat high-priced, but its' nearly ideal location on Interstate 95 makes it a irresistible stop for those travelling long distances north or southward. It is within several hundred yards of the highway, so some road noise filters into the park. We do not consider it to be bothersome. After an unsettled year, the new ownership has initiated upgrades to campground maintenance and personnel. We will gladly return again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$40
This is a very good park for an overnight stay while traveling on I-95. The sites are good sized, but the access roads are a little narrow. The park is easy to access from the highway. As such, there is some highway noise depending on where the specific site is. Cable TV was good and included Starz service. Wi-Fi is free and works well. We will stay here again when traveling on I-95. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2008
$40
This was our first time at this campground. While it would be easy to find in the daylight, it can be tricky at night. The people were extremely friendly. The roads are quite narrow to navigate. Garbage was left on our site from previous campers. The cable TV was terrible as there were got only a few stations and they were fuzzy. All hook-ups were within reach. Tree branches are not a problem.we did not use the restrooms or showers. It has a good WiFi connection. It is a little pricey for off season. (800) 628-2802 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$45
This is a perfect overnight spot, and we love the trees. Just enough for shade and beauty but not too many to pose a driving hazard. The local truck stop is a huge convenience too. We have stayed here several times and will continue to do so. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
Not a classy resort type campground, but a great place to stay in a big rig if in the Richmond, VA area. They have a pool, playground, and game room for the kids. The roads are easy to navigate (we are in a 40' dp with tow). The sites weren't too narrow, but not wide either - think moderate KOA sites. This cg is right off of I-95, which was not a problem at all for us. I prefer noise to sleep, so I actually found it quite cozy. The staff in the office/store were nice enough. Overall, we liked it here. We were close to our family in the area and being right off 95 we were convenient to shopping and restaurants in the area. We will stay again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$38
Stayed at this campground while visting Richmond for four days. Staff were friendly and helpful. The sites were not level but did not present a problem. Only a few of the sites have patios. Would stay there again, but would ask for a patio site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$50
A good place for a stayover rest spot but not much more. Right next to highway for convenience, but lots of highway noise. Stopped in for the night on the way to DC. One nice thing was that there was a travel center/ truck stop at the exit getting back onto the highway so it is convenient overall for a stopover point. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$39
We have stopped at this campground in most of the past 20 years. It has always been a premium but ideally located overnight stop along Interstate 95. Americamps at Ashland changed ownership last year. It is under lackluster new management. Staff acts pro forma polite but uninterested. Trash bags left at sites by the previous night's campers weren't collected until 4:30 PM...including the one we were assigned at 3:30 PM. The garage/maintenance area is now parked full of large commercial vehicles and campground scraps...not an attractive view. This has become pricey camping for no-longer-premium camping. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$34
Overall, a nice park. It was too close to the interstate, so the noise level was high. Also, the drainage was poor, so the rain caused a lot of the campsites to be in the middle of large pools of water. The showers could have been cleaner and a place to park for laundry would be nice. The Wi-Fi was intermittent (continually dropped the signal all day). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$40
Good site to spend the night if your travels on 95 north or south finds you north of Richmond, VA. Many pull throughs. Staff in office are not all that friendly so don't take it personally. A call ahead would be suggested during heavy travel dates. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2007
$40
Outrageous price for an Interstate Highway stop over! $40.17 (tax incl) with a Good Sam Discount! The facilities are fine including excellent cable and WiFi (free now...it ought to be!) Convenient to Richmond. I-95 noise there but not overwhelming. Sites very close to each other. I have stayed at $40 campgrounds before but at least they had something going for them like an ocean, resort, etc. This campground is nothing special. Worth $30 at the absolute max. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$34
This is an excellently designed and maintained campground. Primarily an overnight park for I-95 travelers, it is too convenient a location to ignore. Staff members are efficient. Large motor homes pulling bigger trailers will have to drop those in an adjacent parking area in order to fit pull-through site lengths. The rate we paid reflected a Good Sam discount and a $1-off Holiday Travel Park coupon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$32
We stayed three nights. Was in site #41. Had shade until 1 PM, then shade again around 5 PM. But still had satellite reception. Traffic noise. We were in the middle of the campground so not to bad until around 7 AM. I'd hate to have been closer to the interstate. Easy in and out with a HDT and a 35 foot 5th wheel trailer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$27
Stayed here several times now on our way to/from SC/NJ. Nice clean big bathrooms and a nice little pool. Unfortunately it is really just a stop over site for us and we don't spend more than one night there. It is very convenient as it is right off I-95. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2007
$30
We stayed here due to the proximity to I-95. It was cold, raining and late so none of the amenities were used. Sites are very close to one another. We needed two sewer hoses to reach the drain. There is highway noise, but it didn't bother us. Paved roads with gravel sites. This is a good on/off stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$31
Nothing spectacular about this park, but it is a good stopover. Very easy access to I-95 and the sites are level, adequately spaced and all of the facilities worked. It is a touch close to I-95, and you can hear some road noise, but it is definitely not as bad as many of the parks we have stayed at. We had no major complaints about the park, but then again we were there in the winter so we weren't too interested in using most of the facilities. Would recommend for any stop-over camping or even for a short destination stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2006
$35
Enjoyable but a little expensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$26
Campground is clean. The staff is a little flaky. They show you to the site, but not always to the site you are assigned. They have WIFI, but as some campgrounds look at it as a new cash cow $7.95/day. Better not to have it then try and rip you off. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2006
$36
We were in town for a trip to Kings Dominion and decided to make a weekend of it. We stayed for three nights. I can not emphasize enough how close the campground was to I-95. It is the equivalent of parking on the side of the road. It was so loud that we could not sit outside at all. At night we had to run the fans to drown out the noise of the highway. Campfires are not permitted. Overall it was a poor experience and I would not recommend this campground, even for just one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
Nice one night stopover site, convenient location very close to I95, a lot highway noise as well. The site we stay was far away from the restroom area. The internet access is not free, we have to pay $7.90 extra for a day. I'll find a campground with free internet access next time. The bathrooms were clean and look new. Most sites are good size and have shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
This park was really fun, nice shaded lots, only con was noise from the interstate if you're parked on the far side. Extremely close and convenient to everything near Ashland--we really enjoyed our stay here! We'll be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$30
This park is just as advertised. Convenient. Easy access to it off I-95. Staying 1 month or so while I wrap up some work. Really nice employees. The lots are level. Property is well-maintained. They did "pack them in" for the recent race, but I can't blame them. Large rigs down to tents. Not a vacation destination. Safe, clean, friendly and well maintained park to set up in for a day or 2 or monthly. We stayed here in 2000 in MH. Same. It is very near I-95 and from where we now are parked you can hear traffic. But, we don't mind. A good park to set up in while you take day trips to explore Civil War sites, antiques in Fredericksburg , Colonial Williamsburg, Richmond, Richmond Braves, Mount Vernon, Wash DC, Busch Gardens, Kings Dominion and so much more. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2006
$30
Park is very convenient to I-95. It is somewhat overpriced for the value one gets. Next time we will probably stay at the Flying J just north of there at Ruther Glen. $30 to park a night is a bit much. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$37
A great place to stop over night heading north or south. They have large pull-thru sites. Very friendly staff. Have premium sites for an extra $5 that have phone and satellite hookup. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$27
Great place to stop for overnight. Clean with friendly staff that take you to your site and help you get situated. Sites are level and grounds are kept clean. Easy on and off I95. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2005
$30
We tent camped at this campground...big mistake. As previously noted the facility is about 50 yards from I-95. The few tent sites available are poorly defined and we weren't sure exactly where our site lines ended. About one in the morning a car pulled up next to ours and two people proceeded to unload their stuff, then sleep in their car, then they left about 6 am??? We will not return. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2005
$30
Our group camped here during the Presidents Day weekend. Staff was friendly and accomnodating, they went out of their way to make sure we enjoy our stay. There store was well stocked, and items where fairly priced! Yes, the campground is right next to the Highway! But not anymore noise than I can handle. If your a light sleeper, then this may not be a good campground for you! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2004
$50
When we got to the campground upon driving up we just started laughing. The campground was about 20 feet from the interstate! So I guess you could say it was easily accessed from I-95. Once we pulled in a guy on a go-cart guided us to our lots. We were registered for two sites side by side. They had put someone in one of our campsites even though numbers were assigned. So he directed us to another site and told us our travel trailer and tent and two cars would fit in one site and it would be fine. We set up and then went to get our refund on the second site. The manager told us there were no refunds given even though we were put in one site. And to pick our second site. After an exchange of slightly unfriendly words, we decided to just put our cars in the second site and we picked one in which we could see our cars from the camper. After about an hour another RV pulled in and we were in their site. The manager wanted us to move our cars so we moved one site over. The manager then told us that two cars were not allowed on one site even though they wanted us to place two cars on the first site with a camper and a tent and it was in their rules that two cars were allowed per site. After about an hour we had the manager and about 9 other employees standing out at the sites arguing with us. The manager even told me that we were not allowed back to their campground even though everything we had done was what we had paid for or been asked to do. We finally ended up putting one car on the site with the camper and tent and the other car on the other site. To top it all off as we were leaving we over heard a lady in the office say another customer was going to need a refund because he was going to leave a day early. This was after the NASCAR race we had come to this campground to see. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$32
This is a very clean and pleasant camp ground. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The only negative is the road noise from I-95. We use this as an overnight stop on our way north or south. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$27
We stayed at this place for one night, as a stopover on the way South. It's actually a perfect campground for this purpose because it's easy on and off I-95. The site we had was adequate for our purposes. The major problem is the noise from I-95. You can hear cars wizzing by continuously. I would not recommend this place for anything but a quick one-night stopover. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com