214264 User submitted reviews online!!
Bull Run Regional Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 53 user reviews. Phone: (703) 631-0550
CGID3028

Bull Run Regional Park

Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   8   7   9   10   7   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$42
Beautiful park close to Shenandoah Valley and Washington, DC. Accessible via I66. Directions from Interstate are not particularly clear however a quick call to the park got us turned in the right direction. The Atlantis Waterpark is inside the park but separate from the campground. Sites are ample for large rigs. Most sites are parallel to the roadway. Sewer hook-ups are elevated higher than most dump valves. All sites are shaded, satellite is sketchy at best. Staff helpful & friendly. Call ahead for reservations as this is a popular park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
Very nice park. Large open areas for day use, and campsites are good. Some campsites are a bit odd with placement of utilities, but can be reached. We had an issue with the electric on our site as our power cord got a little singed at the female end of the cord. There is a shooting range very near the camping area that is open every day except Mondays and Tuesdays. It stays very busy and the gunfire continues until closing at 8 PM, but don't let this stop you from visiting this well maintained park. It is also very convenient to either the park and ride bus or the Metro Train. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
Crowded when we got there. Managed to get a pull-thru, 50 amp electric, but no water and no sewer. It had rained a lot before we got there. There were puddles all over the place, but the sites had very good drainage and we had no problem. I really like this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$46
Pretty spot in the woods but close by to everything. Fairly large level sites, some with hookups on the wrong side. Rate was for FHU. No WIFI but good Verizon and AT&T signals. Noise from gun range ends at dusk. Lots of places to walk the dog. Very convenient to visit the battlefield or Air and Space Museum at Dulles. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
Nice big sites with rustic feel, underneath Dulles Airport so the planes can be noisy. We had full hook-ups and they worked well. It is a long way off the major road, but the roads are good. Check is was easy, it is a nice State Park. Close to DC and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
This is a huge park well off the highway with areas for groups to enjoy day outings, a water park and a large RV Park. The road throughout the park is paved with the RV sites gravel. The pull-thru sites are like parallel parking on the side of the road so you want to park so that your patio side is away from the road. The sites have electric only, with a picnic table and a fire pit. They have a dump station with potable water at the entrance to the RV park. There is a Jungle Jim in the park for the kids. It is heavily wooded and there is a walking path so it is quite pleasant. The park is in the center of the famous Bull Run Battle Field of the Civil War and about 35 miles from DC. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
Clean, well maintained. Roughly 1 hr drive into DC or 10 minutes to nearest Metro Station. Well controlled with visible ranger presence. Large sites, level, shaded. Would camp here again. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$47
This is a convenient location for visiting Manassas Battlefield. It works for getting into DC as well (about 1 to 1.5 hours). We didn't use the restrooms. The sewer connection at our site was too high, but they are not all that way. Our site also wasn't level and pooled water with heavy rain. There are great fields around for soccer, frisbee, or similar activities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
Bull Run Regional Park is an excellent campground. All sites appear to be fairly easy to level. Very wooded locations. Lots of pull thru's for big MH. Great kids playground. Bathrooms are outstanding. Clean and in excellent repair. Within the park is a waterpark, putt putt and disc golf. We have a travel trailer and it was easy to back into our spot. We really liked that you often saw someone driving through to check the campground. Our kids are looking forward to staying here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$39
This park is beautiful, well maintained, clean, and quiet, with plenty of green space for our two dogs and biking/hiking. The utilities are not always located in the same area; water and sewage may be on the opposite side of the motorhome from electric hookup. This was not problematic for us, we just used longer/shorter hookups as necessary. We will not hesitate to stay at this park in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
Stayed a week here. Nice area for a campground (CG): beautiful open spaces, lots of trees and shade, lots of wildlife, plus a waterpark to boot. BUT we noticed several problems in this park: Hookups for water, sewer, and electric are at times not only far apart, at many spots they are on opposite sides of the site. DO NOT come here {for full hookups} without extension cords suitable for RV electric, plus extra water and sewer hoses. We had a site with electric only, no problems. A very few sites are nearly impossible to level, others 'just' require wood blocks and leveling jacks. Kind of strange because the open areas around the CG are very flat. Saw several MH's with front wheels completely off the ground. Satellite dish very, very questionable, at least 90% of the sites will get zero signal, and no cable TV here, if that's important to you. Over the air TV gets a few channels, but a lot of those are full of static and prone to whiteouts. Spotty cell signal and bring your own Wi-Fi! Our Verizon phone pretty good, Verizon MiFi wireless setup was very marginal (even with outside antenna) which is unusual. AT&T phone was mostly zero signal here. Bathhouses while clean, have nearly zero water pressure. That's not an exaggeration. Low and slow, frustrating. Don't mind showers at a CG if the water pressure is up. Here it is as low as I've ever seen anytime, anywhere, in any CG. Now, to address some good things! Super nice staff, they really know the campground layout and their business. Listen to them, they know what they're talking about. Gov't type park so the sites ARE HUGE, at least 30' wide! The wildlife were many and wonderful. Waterpark very popular with busloads of kids so it must be great. Bull Run is only a little more than 20 miles from DC. And even with no discounts, it is less than half the price of the $60 a night "cherry cg." You can easily drive to catch a metro train if you wish, or go directly to DC via I-66 to the I-495 beltway. Freeways all the way in to the National Mall. That's why, even with all the problems, WE WOULD STAY HERE AGAIN. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
Beautiful park with great trails for running. They have two laundries which were very handy and reasonable. Saw deer and groundhogs. Close to shopping. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2012
$46
Campground is in beautiful wooded area but has lots of problems. Utilities are very poorly laid out and are unusable at many sites (water and sewer at one end, electric at the other, or all three together at the far end of a long pull through). Sewer hookups are so high we couldn't empty our tanks and had to go to the main dump station. Many sites are very hard to get into or get level. If possible it's best to tour the campground to see what sites you might be able to use before reserving one. Noise from I-66 and the nearby shooting range is bad. Shooting goes on all day every day. Be forewarned that park policy now bans having your mail or packages sent to the park so make other arrangements if you need to get your mail. Campgrounds that accommodate big rigs are hard to find around DC so we will stay here again only if we need to work in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$44
Rate is daily rate for a 50 amp FHU pull through site with no discount. The only discount is a $2 discount for residents of the county, current rates can be seen at the park's website. A long drive from the main highway results in a get away from it all park. Paved roads, gravel sites, not all of which are level. Our utilities were on the correct side, but we saw other with them on the wrong side, as well sites that were very non-level. Also the shooting range does provide some daily background noise. On the plus side, the water is the best we have ever tasted and we were told it was spring water. The noise from the shooting range reminded us of the horrible battles that took place nearby during the Civil War. It was close to the area attractions and the price was comparable to other parks in the area. We could get satellite reception and we noted many others doing the same. Verizon cell and 3G were also excellent. On balance, we would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$41
Bathrooms were very nice and clean. The gravel campsites were large and some were very unlevel. You have the feeling you are out in the middle of nowhere. The hook-ups (water, electric and sewer) were not altogether on the same side of the site. Our water and sewer were together on the left (where they should be), but the electric was about 15 feet to the right of our camper. No cable TV and the antenna got ABC, CBS & FOX – not NBC. No Wi-Fi. It was a 3-mile drive from the campsite to the main road. There is a nearby shooting range (well within hearing distance) that started promptly at 9:00 AM each morning. It was a little pricey considering the facilities, but we enjoyed it and would go back. There is a 14-day limit on consecutive nights camping. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$46
Even with directions we had to call twice to be sure we were on the right road. They need more signs indicating that the RV park is ahead, through the state park and past the water park. Our site was not level and we had quite a time getting the curb side of the coach even with the road side - had to drive up on blocks. The noise from the shooting range combined with the proximity to the airport spoiled the peace and quiet of the park. We will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$46
We were ready to leave right after setting up. The noise from the shooting range and planes overhead really spoiled a pretty camping area. The park isn't easy to find due to lack of signs. You travel down a very long, narrow road into the regional park and see the sign for the water park before the campground sign. We called twice to be sure we were on the right road. Parking is parallel to the road and our spot was not level. We had to use several blocks to level the coach. No WiFi, no cable TV, no satellite, no antennae TV. We had to cancel our return visit scheduled for a month later and they still would not refund our deposit. That would have been the 4th of July weekend and we know they will have no trouble renting the space with so much advance notice. That may be the "rule" but it's cheap! Since we really like quiet, peaceful campgrounds we will not return here. If the noise of guns and planes don't bother you, then give it a try. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$43
This is an excellent campground with large sites and full hook-ups. We thought it was rather pricey, but it fit our needs very well. The sites are situated so that you park parallel to the road instead of backing in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
We came here for our daughter's graduation at George Mason University. It had been very rainy the week before and the mosquitoes were terrible. Most sites were level but our site had a very steep slope and we did not have enough sewer hose (50') to reach the sewer connection which was all the way at the back of the site. This particular trip and this particular site was not quite my cup of tea but we will probably stay here again when visiting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$32
Would have rated this CG a 9 if there had been water hook-ups at our site. The site was level. Lots of mud and standing water around, due to the spring season. The park is very secluded, especially considering the area. Lots of birds in the area. One long trail which is heavily used, but scenic. The bluebells were out and quite beautiful. We'd come back again to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
Clean, well manicured park. Friendly and helpful office staff. Convenient to DC and Metro. Shooting range nearby, but was not so loud that it was disturbing. Overall, it was a very pleasant experience considering some other State Parks I've stayed in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
Nice, clean regional park. Sites are private and located in a beautiful wooded area. Bathrooms and showers were clean but could use some updating. It is a little difficult to get to with some narrow and winding roads. Close to D.C. The gun range is a nuisance when it is open but we were gone most of the day. Air traffic is the other nuisance and it goes round the clock but not so much as to make us not recommend this nice park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
Pretty level sites, with tons of space for kids to play. Endless trails to ride bikes on. Great for DC trip, 15 minutes to the metro. Fantastic water pressure in the shower ! Had lots of spaces and not many campers in July. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Way overpriced for place to park for the night. We had a site with only water and electricity as the full hookup sites were too short . Essentailly it was a place to park for the night and a Wal-Mart parking lot would have sufficed just as well and been a lot cheaper. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$44
Beautiful park that suffers from mosquitoes this time of year, worse if it rains. It is poorly managed as far as scheduling sites. Our site was level and easy to get in and out (42ft). Area is wooded, so satellite reception depends on the site. Close to DC, but it takes ten minutes just to get in and out of the park. In my opinion it is overpriced. The electric only sites are nice, but $35 per night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2010
$39
There is a shooting range nearby, and I could hear constant gunshots from my site. I do not mind hunters and re-enactors, but I am a city girl looking for quiet, and the gunfire freaked me out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Just got home from camping in this swamp. We camped in a pop-up for 6 nights in one of the electric only sites. While on paper it looks like an ideal place to set up base camp for an ideal Washington DC vacation, get the real skinny on this place. It is one of the most poorly maintained campgrounds I have camped at in years. We made sure to book our reservations well in advance (Feb for our late May trip), asked the guy to get us a good spot, we got the worst one at the bottom of a drainage ditch. It rained two nights before we got here, and our site never did dry out. We asked to be moved and there was no way they would accommodate us, even though we were pretty much alone in the campground the entire week. One: If you have small children beware no one seems to respect the fact that it is a campground, they drive like its an open road. Two: Trash can only be deposited at the dumpsters. Three: The greatly advertised large swimming pool is only open 3 days a week for 4 hours a day. We started calling our site the swamp, even found a stow-away frog in our camper. It would be ill advised to even give this place a first glance, much less a second. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Cost around $30 with electricity. They do have full hookup sites and tenting sites. This park is close to the Manassas Battlefield, the Air and Space Museum at Dulles and a metro to head into DC. They actually suggest that you visit the battlefield on weekends because some of the driving tour crosses and uses route 29 and during the week there is just too much traffic. There are fields everywhere for camping, picnics, soccer, and one can reserve a field for any special event. It is in the woods and very scenic with hiking, biking and horseback riding trails. A water park, disc golf and a shooting center are in the park. This park was a great place to camp to visit this area and the sites are mostly pull throughs on gravel with a pit, picnic table and fire ring. The just electric and tenting sites are in the woods. Our site was near the bathrooms that were clean with hot showers and a laundry room. We enjoyed our stay here and would stay again but hate driving in this area near Interstate 64 and route 29. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
This could be one of the best campgrounds in the state. It is a beautiful park with wonderful facilities, but the mosquito problem is horrendous. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
Nice park, but the bugs were unbelieveable. Many of the sites were obviously not laid out by anyone who ever was in an RV, the water/electric/sewer were in opposite ends of the site. They are fixing them as they can. We were here for a wine festival on the premises, and enjoyed our stay, but were indoors. We'd go back, but choose your site carefully. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$29
Nice size sites, good location to visit many of the sights in DC area. This campground doesn't seem to have adequate bathhouse and shower facilities for the number of campsites available - I guess they figure everyone is self-contained. Also, the only potable water source that we found was near the dumping station - which we didn't feel comfortable using, so we had to go and purchase drinking water from the local grocery store. We would stay here again if we were going to DC. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$40
The park itself is very nice and the campground is located at the very back. We had a full hook up site that is listed as a pull thru. As you approach the site the hook ups are next to the road so you loop into the site with the back of your rig facing the road and the front is facing into the woods...a little unusual but it gives you a lot of privacy. Our TV and TT are 50 plus feet long and our site was a bit of a challenge to get into and out of. I was there to work a trade show and was busy so I did not get to enjoy all the park had to offer but overall I was very satisfied with this park and campground We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$29
This park has paved roads, a secure facility, pleasant staff, an excellent location, is clean and well maintained. The water park is within walking distance and, is half-priced when staying here. Most of the sites are spacious and private! Definitely a place to see and to base-camp to see the DC area!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$39
Moderately to heavily wooded campground with lots of wooded space between campsites,though sites them self's average in size. No problems with electricity or water pressure but had to run extension cord because power box not located near sewer and water connections. Nice camp store. Staff professional and friendly. All kinds of campers from tenters to mega class A's and everyone was well behaved which is a good reflection of the campgrounds. Zero tolerance alcohol policy. Very cool state run water park within walling distance of the campground. Bathrooms needed to be cleaned more frequently. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
Campsites are shaded. Our site was very level but some are not. Some sites also have hook-ups in strange locations. The water park is very nice and the playground area is great for children. This place is very close to lots of other area activities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Bullrun park has lots of fun stuff to do there hiking, biking, swimming, water park, 18 hole Frisbee golf and playgrounds. The park is well maintained. The only disadvantages are the firing range close by and the airplanes landing at Dulles airport. But being this close to the big city these are to be expected. We have camped here several times and will return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$50
This is a very nice campground set in the middle of the busy Northern Virginia area. Great access to Washington, D.C., etc. Entire campground is tree-covered and well kept. I agree with some reviewers that hte way the sewer, water and electric hookups were installed doesn't make logical sense in some of the sites, so you may need to be prepared to have a longer drain hose or extension cord than normal. The noise from the shooting range is not a plus, and was pretty constant through the weekend we were there. On the other hand, the "Atlantis" water park nearby has just reopened after a complete remodeling and upgrading, and is fantastic for all ages 1 to 15. Significantly discounted tickets are available from the camp store for campers. The campground is somewhat overpriced IMHO, especially with several kids like we have as they charge extra. But overall a nice escape in a great location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2009
$39
We are disappointed with the layout of this campground. When they installed the sewer and water, they made a real mess of things. The sewer and electric are sometimes on complete opposite sides of your RV so have plenty of hoses and electrical hookup cables. Also, if you want privacy at some sites, the sewer hookup ends up being in our patio area, otherwise if you pull in the opposite way, your patio faces the road! Not a pleasant way to set up camp. Also we felt the price was high for the trouble to have a decent campsite. Would only camp here if had to since little available campgrounds in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$39
Great park in the woods near Washington DC. Lot's of room for TT, 5'rs, or MH's. The only drawback is the noise from the shooting range and I-66 nearby. This park should be a great place on a hot summer day with the water park at the campground entrance. The DC Metro is 15 minutes away. There is alot of shopping within minutes for whatever you need. If I was visiting DC from the south or west side of town I would stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
A model that other areas of the USA should adopt. The Regional park was nice even though there was an additional charge to use the swimming pool. The folks running the store/check-in were courteous and helpful. There is a two week limit on your stay and they do not have weekly rates. Overall a very nice place to RV. We would most likely stay here again if going to see the Washington D.C. and Virginia area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$32
Our site was directly on the main road. That gave us more privacy than you might think (only thick woods out the door of our trailer) but added some road noise as people went in and out of the camp site. The pool is not very convenient to the campground because this is a large spread-out park. The lack of internet service makes it difficult to plan your next campground visit. The play equipment for the kids was nice, but also pretty far away from the campsite. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
I just want to correct one reviewer. They do actually have full hookups although a limited number. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
Don't understand the previous entry about sewers; this park only has a dump station. There is also no water hookups but a water station available on check-in to fill the RV. Finally, this is posted at Centerville, but there are similar reviews under Manassas, so read carefully and choose. This was our 3rd stay here. Pull through sites are large and can accommodate the largest of rigs (we saw several this weekend camping) but the hookups are on the wrong side. So you may need an extension if you park too far out. The sites were lovely, natural, and large. ALL sites have picnic table, grill, and fire ring. Noise from planes and shooting center are noticed, and given the holiday weekend with Rolling Thunder on the Interstate, yes, we heard them all. But it was not offensive. One thing we noticed this time that I don't recall from before was an excellent area map with all the shopping indicated, from supermarkets to discount stores to medical clinics. Really helpful if you are unfamiliar and wondering where to go for services/ameneties. Down side (and the reason I can't give a 10) is the previously mentioned no water and no sewer hookups. I can live without either for a weekend trip, but if I were here longer, I'd miss those aspects. Also, though the showers had separate partioned area for changing with a shower curtain to keep the area dry, there were no hooks to hang up clothes. As I said, this was our 3rd time here and I am sure we will go back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$40
Nice campground, very close to DC and also Manassas Battlefield. 10 minutes to get to Camping World and other stores. Restrooms cleaned daily. Nice playground for children in camping area (other playground near front of the park where sport grounds are located). Noticed a lot of sites were not level, and electric/water/sewer hook-ups were placed in strange locations (sewer uphill from site, and electric back in woods while water and sewer on road side of sites). Although there were a lot of pull through sites some looked to be tight or tree location could cause problems. Shooting range within park – noise can be heard but not bothersome. We'll return again in a warmer month to try out the pool area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$32
This "regional" park is tucked away off of I-66 about 25 miles west of Washington, DC. If you are planning a trip to DC, traffic on I-66 can be a nightmare. It's best to plan sightseeing between morning and evening rush hours and take the Metro train in from Vienna Metro stop. The park is close to Bull "Run" which is part of the Potomac River watershed and is in the foothills of the nearby Blue Ridge Mountains which makes for beautiful landscapes. If visiting in April, be sure to take a walk down the Bluebell Trail. Bull Run Park is host to soccer tournaments in the summer months and is very crowded during long holiday weekends Memorial Day, Fourth of July, and Labor Day. The pool opens Memorial Day Weekend and is really a small mini water park. It's a great place to take the kids! The park hosts a unique and splendid drive through Christmas light show which opens Thanksgiving weekend. Picnic pavilions can be rented on a first come basis. There are a couple of very nice hiking trails, one of which connects to a larger trail extending 20+ miles. The park is well kept and very clean. It's only 2 miles from the historic Bull Run Battlefield. Shopping and restaurants are located just 10 minutes away in Centreville and Manassas. The bath houses have been recently renovated and are very nice! Several sites have been super-sized to accommodate large motor homes and 5th wheels. There is only electric at each site, so you'll have to fill your water tanks when you arrive and dump everything when you leave. On busy weekends the two drive through dump stations get backed up with outgoing traffic. All sites are shaded, but not paved. Sites are very wooded and very beautiful. There are also camping cabins available to rent. Note: The laundry facilities are not the best. Many of the washing machines are dirty and some are a bit rusted. Tent campers leave dirt and leaves behind in the washers and dryers when they wash their gear. After it rains, the laundry rooms and bath houses can be quite muddy! Also, the mosquitoes are very bad in the summer and into early fall if the weather is still warm! Autumn is a wonderful time to camp here if you enjoy the fall colors. The leaves are vibrant hues of yellow and orange! Overall, this is a nice place to stay over night if you're just passing through or if you'd like to stay for a few days to see DC and the surrounding Northern VA countryside. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$29
We've stayed here many times, really loved it, very quiet, peaceful place, besides the Gun Range, which can only be heard on the backside of the property, and the mosquitos by the millions its a perfect campground We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$36
This campground is difficult to rate. Many of the pull-throughs are not suitable for big rigs. Many of the sewer connections are on the wrong side or too far away to be usable except for a very long hose. Also, there is a firing range near by so the sounds of gunshots are heard most of the day. Some of the sites are quite nice and roomy, private and shady. If you are visiting the Bull Run Battlefield, it is very close by. Choose your site carefully, ask to look at it before committing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
This is a wonderful park and campground. Private sites with lots of trees. Very quiet. Nice hiking trails. There is also a Camping World store about 15 minutes away. We've camped here many times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$22
There are a great number of positives to this campground. It is located in a beautiful park, has a number of scenic hiking trails, appears to be quite well maintained, is within easy reach of Washington, D.C. and just down the road from Manassas Battlefield Park, and offers a number of recreational opportunities including miniature golf and a magnificent resort-style swimming pool and water slide complex (half-price [$3/day] for those staying at the campground). Additionally, the campground sites are nicely wooded, shaded and spacious, the park appears generally to be uncrowded and unhurried, cabins are available for rental, and a campground store sells basic supplies at reasonable prices. On the negative side, an outdoor "public shooting center" is located within the park, and the sound of gunfire is a constant annoyance from morning until evening, particularly when combined with the frequent roar of low-flying airplanes on their way to/from nearby Dulles Airport. For those capable of tuningut the far-more-than-average noise, which lessens considerably after dark, this campground is well worth a visit, and we hope soon to return. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$25
A very clean campground with lovely scenery. Although there is some noise from a nearby shooting range, and planes from Dulles do fly overhead, the beauty of the environment made up for those detriments in our case. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$20
We called at the last minute on Columbus Day weekend and they had plenty of room. The sites were not straight pull through, but pull around (semi-circular drive) which gave plenty of room to enjoy the scenery. The sites are not cramped and offer wooded scenery with lots of squirrels and birds for the nature lover. Yes, the planes fly into Dulles airport but they are above 3000 feet on approach. And the sound of guns at the shooting range is not intrusive. Remember, you are on the site of the first major battle of the Civil War; it kind of sets the mood, particularly if you head over to the National Battlefield and reflect on the conflict. I wish there had been water on site, but the dump station has a separate clean water outlet. I found the restrooms clean and the showers adequate. There are private rooms with separate access. They only had four at our bath-house, and it was crowded in the Fall. I imagine in summer it could be a problem. I noticed park staff around a lot checking on property and ready to assist or answer questions. A great get away close to DC, yet not feeling anything like being there. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$20
We were disappointed. We had been to Pohick Regional Park a number of times, and it remains a favorite. By comparison, this park is not very well maintained at all. In addition, no one tells you about the shooting range so close by, that it interferes with normal conversation at the campsite, beginning at 8:30 AM on a Sunday. The park is also right under the flight path for Dulles Airpot. It just wasn't the best place to stay. The one time the bathrooms became a need, hey were filthy dirty. We may not be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$19
Bull Run Regional Park (Northern Va. Regional Park Authority), located conveniently near Interstate 66, is a getaway that's not far from Washington, D.C., and Northern Virginia attractions. Bull Run is only 27 miles from Washington, D.C., and 15 miles from the Vienna Metro Station. The park and campground are open mid-March through mid-October. Family Camping (open March - mid-October.) Bull Run Regional Park's family campground features 150 shaded sites--100 with electric 30-amp hookups and 50 tent sites. Approximately half of the sites are pull-through and the remaining are back-in. All sites include a grill, fire ring and picnic table. We camped there in early May, despite the rain the entire weekend, it is a nice campground. However, bring plenty of bug spray. If it rains while you are there, this campground is full of low standing areas in the woods that collect water easily. Mosquitos were bad. However, the park is pretty and well maintained. Sites were easy to get into. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com