215256 User submitted reviews online!!
Charlottesville KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 110 user reviews. Phone: (434) 296-9881
CGID3029

Charlottesville KOA

Camp Information
Sites
78
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   7   8   8   7   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$39
Very nice secluded campground with very nice staff. Almost all of the sites are shaded. We were visiting Monticello - about 8 miles from the park. The lightening bugs were beautiful at night and it was very quiet. We did make a mistake by coming into the park on Old Lynchburg Road. Make sure you follow their directions. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$38
Still the best choice for the area, great deal of effort is taken to maintain the facilities. Sites can be tight, but they may combine some sites to accommodate larger RVs. Great staff and showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$39
Excellent facilities. Showers are much better than other parks in area. On-site owner/management do a great job of making visitors feel welcome. Wi-Fi is good close to office and cable is above average. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
This is the only campground convenient to Monticello. Follow the park's website directions to it to avoid traffic. This park is about 11 miles from the highway. The road to it is a two lane paved road with 55 mile speed limit which was way too fast for us to drive our fifth wheel on this somewhat curvy road. This park has one of the strangest layouts we have seen. The dump station is right on the side of the main drive. You have to park on the main road and walk down to office to register. Registration was organized and painless. We had a pull-through site which had a short steep downhill approach into the site. The electric hookup was towards the front of the site which would have been a problem for us if we did not carry a 50 AMP 25' extension with us since our electric connection is at the back of our RV. Only second time we needed to us this extension. To exit this site you had to make a tight left turn which inconveniently had a tree right at the edge of the road. Lucky for us, site in front of us that led to a road out was not occupied, so we pulled through that site to get out as it did not have any trees obstructing the turn. Several sites had really steep approaches into the site. Roads through this park were tight to navigate with a larger rig. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$39
Park is rustic, away from noise and activity. Great place to actually camp. Road to the park, about 10 miles from I-81 becomes very narrow, winding with lots of trees and bushes, big rigs beware. Park is smaller with lots and lots of trees. They do have some nice long pull thru spaces for bigger rigs that are easy to get into. Sites and roads are gravel and ours was level. I was able to use my satellite dish but it will be difficult in most spaces. They do have cable and free Wi-Fi (good speed). Verizon service is very weak. It is a nice park for a stop in Charlottesville or just to relax for a couple of days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$44
The staff was very nice. Campground is located in a very wooded area and we had very little cell phone reception. The internet was fair, usually unable to use in the evening when everyone was back in camp. Best internet service was in the morning. The sites are gravel and fairly level. Had a heavy rain storm and did not flood our site. Trees provide nice shade. Each site has a table and fire pit and lots of room. This is the closest campground to Monticello, but might check other areas if we return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$44
The staff is friendly. Because it is located deep in the trees, we were not able to get satellite. There wasn’t very good cell phone reception. Our space was big and level. We did not feel crowded. Would not recommend for overnighters since it is located about 10 miles off the main road. However, we stayed here three nights and it was convenient for the touring we did in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$44
This is the only RV Park to stay at and visit Monticello, the home of Thomas Jefferson. It is 11 miles to Monticello and a very worthwhile stop. The park is "in the woods" with gravel sites, full hookups, cable TV, a picnic table and a fire pit. The park has a pool and a fishing pond. Behind to office/store there is a play area for kids. The $44 rate includes tax and reflects our KOA Discount Card. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$50
Hosts are great KOA hosts. They are always helpful and friendly. We have camped here several times and have been happy each time. The campground is quiet and peaceful. Make sure you check the campground site for information about which exit to use off of the Interstate. Great family campground! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
This park is located about 10 miles South of Charlottesville, Virginia. It is a country campground with urban amenities. We were in site 24 which was a pull-through and a good fit for our 35 foot camper. We were near the back of the campground but the Wi-Fi was strong. The cable was adequate. Our site was gravel and had some shade. The bathrooms were older but very clean. The campground was very quiet and peaceful. No barking dogs even though there were many pets in the campground. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$45
This CG is in a beautiful area but the only way it should get a high rating is if you are comparing it to a Walmart parking lot. The sites are crammed together and the interior roads are very narrow. The sites are gravel and I don't think there is a level site in the CG so bring your blocks. The cellphone reception is horrible and their wifi is slow. Also, there is not any good places to walk your dogs. On the positive side, it is very peaceful here, the staff is very friendly and it is 15 minutes from Monticello. Nice CG but pretty rustic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$34
We stayed here overnight while on the road and needed to dump our tanks. As previously noted it is out of the way--the trip in from US-15 in our 33' Class A was interesting to say the least. I wouldn't recommend it after dark. The camp itself could tempt me to stay a week just to chill out, although like most KOA's it is a little on the expensive side. There is little paving except around the office, sites are shaded and plenty long and wide. The staff is friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$36
The people here are great, very friendly and helpful. We thought we had the best site, #29 at the edge of the woods and very private. Our site was level, the services were great, including the internet access. The only negative was that we had no cell phone service on our Verizon phone. We would definitely come back here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$34
Excellent Park, a bit out of the way, but worth the trip. Management is great and the place is well taken care of. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$24
Very nice park. Small intimate park for a KOA (that means fewer sites). Nice country wooded setting, friendly check-in staff. Bathroom was clean but could use some updating although not a major drawback. A neighbor camper was very helpful when we needed assistance with dead toad battery and disconnecting tow bar. We would seek this park out when in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$38
Amazing! I have put over 9,000 miles on my Motorhome since December and the Charlottesville KOA is by far, my favorite of all the campgrounds I have stayed in. The owners are exceptionally nice... warm, real, down to earth, committed and caring. My grand kids fell in love with both the campground and the owners from the start. The restrooms are clean and well maintained and hot water is plentiful. Wi-Fi worked like a charm every time and I had excellent Sprint cell service. Sites are level and easy to maneuver in and out of. The campground is tucked away in a quiet area of rural Charlottesville. There's a pool, volleyball court, basketball court, tether ball, playground, game room, and laundry facilities (machines are reasonably priced and work well). Love the freshly blooming and ABUNDANT dogwoods and red buds. Sites are well maintained with really nice picnic tables and fire rings. Quaint little country store on-site and there's even an emergency pay phone for after hours. I have two hound dogs and the owners are exceptionally pet friendly which was an added plus. I love this campground and will stay here often and much! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$40
Destination campground located in idyllic wooded rural Virginia close to Charlottesville. Good well marked access from rural road. We usually don’t stay in KOA’s because they are overpriced with rude staff. This park is a wonderful surprise exception. A well maintained park with a pool, nature trail and kid activities. Pet friendly for friendly pets. Gravel interior roads with generally level gravel sites. Better than average space between sites with grass and lots of trees between sites. Picnic table and fire ring at each site. Lots of room to maneuver for big rigs. Sites are well spaced with good access to utilities and all worked properly. Good cable selection . Wi-Fi worked well. Verizon voice and data coverage was weak. Showers/restrooms are modern and spotless and laundry is one of the best. Very very quiet with no train, plane, or traffic noise. Very friendly and helpful staff. Park has a small store and lots of activities for the kiddos. An excellent park for a base of operations for the area; Jefferson, Monroe, Madison homes, and University of VA. We stayed at this park to begin the Blue Ridge Parkway heading south. Park is located at the south end of Skyline Drive through Shenandoah Park. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$38
We arrived on a Wednesday afternoon and check-in was quick and effortless. With a map of the campground we were given directions to our site #54 (full hookups (W,S, 50A E, cable TV and pull-through site). Our host also told us how to log onto the wireless internet, it worked perfectly every time we logged on and speeds were great even when the campground was mostly occupied. All utilities worked perfectly as well, we saw staff cleaning up and blowing leaves during our stay and the bathrooms were also spotless. This is a great place to stay when visiting Charlottesville and the surrounding area. Monticello and the downtown area are a 10 mile drive; also make sure to check out some of the local micro breweries like Devils Backbone, Blue Mountain and Starr Hill. All but Starr Hill have a great lunch to offer along with some of the best beer you will find. If visiting in the month of October take a 45 min ride north and go to Liberty Mills Corn maze, go at 6 PM and bring a flashlight. We did have to leave a day early because of hurricane Sandy and the effects it would have on our home state of New Jersey. After driving for a couple of hours we received a call from the campground asking if we did leave a day early and we were told that we would receive a credit back for the night we did not stay. Something like this has never happened to us before, that is amazing customer service. There is no question on where we will stay when visiting Charlottesville and will look at staying at KOA's in our travels. Thanks to all the great staff at the Charlottesville Campground. Some other notes: Since we have a 34' motorhome and tow a car If visiting again we would stay in our site #54 again along with #16 and #47. Cell service was great with AT&T. There is a trail that surrounds 3/4 of the campground where you can take your dogs for a nice walk. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$42
We've used this campground for a number of years. Although it is on a remote road south of Charlottesville, it remains the most convenient, with the highest rating for the area. Owners continue to make improvements. This year it they worked on access of sites that had difficulty getting into or out of them. Our favorite #16 can now be a pull through versus a pull in and back out (due to large trailer). Big ticket items like a pool upgrade need to be done. Wi-Fi was very strong. Picture quality of cable good. Verizon still has not added signal strength to their system. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$36
Not a typical KOA. We were allowed to choose our site,which was roomier than expected. Level,everything worked. Nice nature trail to walk the pups on, very quiet and folks friendly. Only downside is the road in is a little scary. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$37
This is a very nice campground in the mountains in the woods so it is quiet. It is rustic but that is what makes it nice. Be careful about what route you take to get to the campground and be sure to check the warning that is on this campground's website (not the KOA site) about what routes to avoid. The campground was clean. The sites were adequate. The roads and spaces in the campground are gravel. The space was fairly level. The wifi was good, the cable selection was just fair but the reception was good. We were able to get cell service on both a TMobile phone and a Spring phone in the campground. The couple who run the campground are very nice and check in was quick and easy. The campground is small with just 54 RV and Trailer sites and this really is the only campground near Monticello and Charlottesville, so make reservations in advance. We will definitely be going back again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
Stayed here two weeks in a motorhome due to family medical at UVA Hospital...campground overall very clean...pool undergoing updates, rough right now but should be pretty nice when completed...sites reasonably sufficient. Staff was great. There is little or no cell service for Verizon - Wi-Fi great. A little off the beaten path from I-64 (10 miles) but not bad...bath house clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$42
Somewhat typical of KOA - the sites were narrow and, if park had been full would have been close together. They were nice at check-in --waited for us to get there because we called late when we realized we weren't going to make our original destination. Stayed just 1 night -- would probably opt for someplace else, but of course this one is close to the major historic attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
I didn't get a chance to enjoy the park as much as I would have liked, due to other activities in the area, but is was very peaceful, and the staff were very helpful. The only thing that kept me from giving this a 10 was the Wi-Fi, which while it worked well, required re-logging every 2 hours. And also, there is little to no cellular service out there. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$35
Close to Monticello, Ash Lawn, and various Virginia wineries. Nice level spots though some are a bit close together. Well maintained facilities and friendly & helpful staff. We had a very pleasant camping experience here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$38
It was a stretch to give this one a "5" and here's why. The sites are anything but level, and there is virtually no privacy. It was scary to see how some of the travel trailers were leveled and blocked up. I can't understand why someone doesn't rent a bobcat to fix this. Other than that the sites were gravel and wide open. There is nothing close here and not much available in the office. The office people were young and friendly. We will not be back to this one. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$40
A very nicely kept RV park run by a very friendly younger couple who are making steady progress in upgrading and improving the park. Utilities worked well, not much chance at satellite service but their cable selection was pretty good. Access to and in the park was easy for our larger RV (follow directions to the park provided by campground). Bathrooms and showers very clean. Dead quiet at night, made it easy to get a good night's sleep. Very close to Monticello. Cell phone service is very weak, unreliable, and worked only occasionally in this park for both Verizon and AT&T. Campground's WiFi is strange, no password required but you have to manually log on via a campground web page prior to using and then it kicks you off after an hour or two and you have to go through the process again, makes for not very enjoyable usage and nearly impossible for use with a smartphone. For a few days we would stay here again. If we were staying for more than a few days we would look elsewhere where we could get satellite, cell, and better internet service. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$36
This campground seems to make gradual improvements each year. This past year the Wi-Fi has been upgraded. Signal strength and availability is excellent (campground 1/3 full). A number of sites need tree removal to improve their access. Bathrooms are clean, but could use some updating. Will likely return if returning to the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$37
This is a very charming, small campground in a rural setting just outside of Charlottesville. The road getting to the CG is a bit winding but it is well paved and we had no trouble driving it in a 40' MH. The CG roads and sites are gravel and there are lots of trees, but there are plenty of big rig friendly sites. The staff were very helpful as to which sites would be best for satellite reception; not all sites will be suitable, but there is free cable TV. There is good free Wi-Fi which is important since there is no usable Verizon cellular signal; neither our phones nor air card would work. The cellular situation is the one reason why I can't give this place a "10". It's not the CG's fault, but it could be a problem for some people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
This is a very nice park with lots of space and trees located outside of town, but close to Monticello. Access to the park and pull-though/back-up spaces is excellent. Laundry facilities are clean and reasonably priced. Owners/managers seem to be there almost always and were very knowledgeable and helpful about the area and its attractions (which are MANY). We stayed three nights and would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$36
KOA's are sometimes good sometimes not so good. This campground is excellent. Its a small KOA in a beautiful forest setting with fall colors on all the trees. Pull-through sites are easy to navigate and the cable TV is excellent. Friendly staff. Roads and sites are packed gravel which is a plus. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$37
Still the best place to stay in the area; owners are great and very accommodating. Very clean and modern shower house. Well stocked camp store. Only things that keeps it from a 10 for us is very few sites are satellite friendly due to tree cover, but the cable is good, but not great, and the wi-fi can be spotty. We will return here in the spring, not to another campground, not due to price which is basically the same, but because of the other campground's uncaring management and lousy bathhouse . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$37
Nice park, but the road to get here is a small two lane residential street. Add to that a detour and it was not that great. They said they sent an e-mail telling about the detour but we hadn't checked since the night before. We aren't one of those that live by Wi-Fi. Park has pretty level sites and lots of shade trees. Good paths for dog walking. It was rainy while we were there, but gravel keeps roadway okay. Laundry was rather expensive. No phone service. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
Park is miles for main highway, so very quiet. No cell (AT&T). Water and power was good. Sites were good. We would recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
We chose this campground for it closeness to the historical sites of Monticello, Michie Tavern, Montpelier and Waltons Mountain - also a close drive to downtown Charlottesville. The layout of this campground is a little bizarre and some of the sites are odd shaped to say the least. The pool is in need of work but it is over 40 years old and according to management is up for repair in the next year or so. Pool was very clean and our only real concern was the weeds around the outside fence as we saw a snake chasing a frog around the pool area one day. The bathrooms are new and very clean - laundry very clean also. There is a nature trail to an otter pond which also needs some trail cutting back for easier walking. I believe the new owners are slowly working on all these issues and will soon have this campground up to where it should be. Campground itself was very quiet and not crowded during our stay. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$43
We chose this park for a 1 week stay due to it's proximity to Thomas Jefferson's Monticello, the historic Charlottesville and the Shenandoah National Park. The park staff were extremely friendly and the restrooms/showers and laundry were clean. Because the interior roads and sites are all dirt with gravel, it was difficult to distinguish the roads from the pull thru sites. We saw more than one big rig wander off the beaten path. Perhaps better signage would be helpful. The pool, while in need of TLC, was a welcomed sight because of the high temps & high humidity. If cell phone service and internet connection are important to your everyday functioning, you might want to consider a short stay, as you will be off the grid in this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
This is a delightful place with well maintained natural landscaping. There is a pool, volleyball, basketball, and plenty of space to maneuver. The site needed a small amount of help in making the camper level, but nothing not expected with gravel sites. This is a very clean campground and the staff is wonderful. I would most certainly stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2011
$50
I can't understand the last review. The sites here are generally undersized and not level. It's a strange layout, almost as if KOA didn't come in and offer advice beforehand. Too many back in sites are too short, and many of the sites are unlevel. The pool is in the wrong place (should have swapped the pool and the playground locations). Many features at this campground are in dire need of not just maintenance but updating or replacing. The pool area has more patches than original surface, and the pool steps and paint are pealing badly. The restrooms are clean. This campground would be just an average campground, but we camp at KOAs a lot and this is below average for them. I'm disappointed, I would not go out of my way to stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$38
This is an awesome campground. Great staff, sites are extremely easy to get in to and are level. The Wi-Fi isn't that great but is sufficient for checking emails. Good cable service, clean facilities. The only street lights are in the office/bath house area, so it's kind of dark in the campground. It's about a twenty minute drive to a grocery story, but the campground location is handy to Monticello and other local attractions. We will stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$36
Very well campground. The owner's have an excellent rapport with their customers and are constantly upgrading the facility. Heavy tree cover on most sites. Cellular service is very week for Verizon. Football weekends at UVA requires a reservation well in advance. Would we stay again, YES. The owners alone make this park a much better than experience than the other RV "resort" in Charlottesville area. We've been coming to Charlottesville for 10 years, learned our lesson and will stay no where else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$38
If you require Wi-Fi, avoid this place. It's controlled due to a very poor provider. It's a weak connection and "re-sets" every two hours. Very frustrating. The roads are gravel as are the sites. Nice trail to a small pond. Very friendly staff. We would NOT come back, however. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
A number of improvements has been done since our last stay at this campground. Most notable is they have added cable TV. Other improvements are more maintenance based like clearing out trees and new gravel on sites and roads. Owners are trying to get cell phone providers to improve service. Campground still uses Hughes Net for internet. Which is slightly better than shared dial up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$32
We were registered by two very friendly and welcoming young managers. The campground is very remote so few TV stations and no cell phone service (Verizon). The bathrooms are clean. We would stay here again when visiting the area. Price reflects KOA discount. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
This is one of the smallest KOA I parks I have ever stayed in. The sites are on the small side except for a few full length pull-throughs and are close together. The trees could also used trimmed back to make the narrow roads easier to navigate. Some of the sites are also not very level so bring blocks. It is centrally located to see the nearby historic sites. I was able to get Internet with a Verizon air card with an outside mounted antenna and amp. Other than that you will rely on the campground Wi-Fi which is not very strong. Cell phone service is fleeting at best. I was able to get satellite signal from the roof top satellite dish in one of the center sites. Diminished due to the trees though, in the 45 to 49 range on the signal meter. There are some activities for kids, though. The staff is friendly. When we first arrived it had been raining. The sites are gravel but only the parking pads. The rest is soft sticky dirt that turns into soft sticky mud when you add water. In the sun it was less of a problem. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$39
Best choice in the area. The owner's are very helpful and easy to deal with, not like others in the general area. We visit family several times a year and have been using this campground for several years now due to continued poor service at the "other" resort in the area. Restrooms very clean and well maintained. Camp store is very well stocked and clean, not dusty. The pool was closed for the season during our visit. Propane is available either by weight or metered. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$34
Even though we only spent one night in this campground I still wanted to give it a review. We stayed in site 29, plenty of space for a 28' travel trailer and tow vehicle. This site bordered the woods so we would have only had neighbors on the one side of us had there been anyone here. It was a Sunday night and I was surprised to see the amount of people here. Clean, Clean. Checked out the bathrooms and they were sparkling clean. The rest of the facilities were also in great shape. Very convenient to get the town of Charlottesville, around a 10 minute drive. I-64 is the same amount of travel time. Like other posters said, there is not any cell service. There is WiFi so we were able to text with our iPhones. I did see people using their satellite dishes, portable ones look like the way to go since you have more ways to position it. Again great campground close to the town of Charlottesville and the mountains. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$43
Friends suggested coming here (they had never been) and we agreed, though KOA is not our usual choice due to price. We arrived and had no problem getting in and setting up. Set ups are a bit different: everyone comes off an access road at an angle and the length of the sites can easily vary. We have a much shorter RV so were put in the "short" side of a double site. Our friends fit fine. As a result of the angle, everyone has a nice view of the woods and is not staring into the side of someone's RV. The short walk to the pool was fine and though not heated, it was still warm enough for us (over 60) and clearly the kids loved it as we heard them jumping and having fun most of Saturday. Camp store is well stocked with food, gifts, and RV supplies, for those in need. The laundry and game room were nicely done and Saturday night they showed the move "RV" for free in the game room. Yes, WiFi is slow; it is ganged into a satellite reception, so the more that are on, the slower it goes. And cell coverage is weak at best. We tried our Verizon several times in different spots and got no service. But the grounds were well kept, well laid out, and managers were very friendly and helpful. If you tent camp, this is also a great spot with playfield, horse shoes, a small playground for kids, and pedal cars (for rent) that can zoom around on the gravel roads. All in all, a great spot to relax and if you want to sightsee in the area, you are only a short hop from many historical places. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
This is, by far, the nicest KOA we have stayed in on this trip. It's forested and very comfortable. We enjoyed the beautiful area surroundings. There was a nice walking trail that led past a small pond. Our dog enjoyed that. The sites/roads are gravel but we had sufficient space to maneuver in. We did not feel crowded. There is a swimming pool located some distance from the main body of the park. Several small cabins as well as a tenting area. We used the laundry which was clean and reasonably priced. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Great transient park, and we would use it for just that. It has no cable or satellite reception, though. It is a small park with small sites but is very shaded. Nothing really to do in the park other than the pool and game room. We did not see or hear of any other campground activities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$43
Great campground! Located close to the I-64. 15 minutes from Monticello if you want to visit Thomas Jeffersons home. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$33
The Good. A gorgeous area in general, close to Monticello, nice laundry facilities, very nice pool (although a bit of a walk to get to), nice pond and trail. The Bad. This is a confusing cg layout, place could feel overly tight and crowded if all sites were filled. The Ugly. An essentially non-existent WiFi, despite their claim. Yeah, they have it but JUST barely! My husband needs it for work, and I need it to plan our next stop (we're full-timers). Made for a very frustrating, wasted time, stay! I would not stay here again for that very reason. We have a Verizon aircard: it got zero signal at this cg. Same with our trac phone and magic jack. At least our site was level and had enough room for our 40'RV and truck: although the gravel road for everyone to go by on was so tight we watched RVs go by several times, fearing they would hit us (I think they feared they would hit us too!)! If you don't need any contact with the outer world, this is an OK place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
Pretty much a typical KOA. Out in the woods 10 miles from town. Clean fairly level sites. Wi-Fi slow and no cell service. Very wooded which makes the close sites a little less imposing. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$42
Nightly rate reflects base $31+6 (2 kids at $3 each) +5 (extra adult). A little bit nickled and dimed. Anyway, the campground is about 10 miles from Charlottesville in the woods. No cell phone (Verizon). They had WiFi, which was slow, but okay. Bathrooms updated and very clean, but there are several signs informing you that cleaning is from 12-1 pm and NOT to enter. I guess you're out of luck if the urge hits you during that time. Playground in good repair and the game room was fun. We had a tent site with water and electric: and all of those seemed to be cut out a hill, which meant positioning your tent was awkward, because of the possibility of rain running down the hill. Ended up stretching close to the road, away from the hill and it was a good thing as the thunderstorm that night was quite severe. Sites are pretty big, but right next to each other, so not a lot of privacy. All in all, it was a good experience and we'll be back the next time we're here visiting family. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
This is our second visit to this area and campground. Like most campgrounds there a wide variety of site quality. We stayed on site 16 which was level and had 50A service. Cell phone signal was non-existent. Campground is surrounded by mountains. Did not use WiFi since I knew they have a satellite internet connection. Staff very friendly and helpful. Best and only campground in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$33
Clean and well-maintained park, most sites seemed fairly level. There were very few customers at the time of our visit so it was very quiet. We weren't able to connect to the Wi-fi Internet as the signal was too weak. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$36
Am sure very few of your auxiliary satellite systems will work here. A portable dish is needed to receive Satellite TV. Verizon cellphones won't work except in text mode. But the new owners are as great as the previous ones. The restrooms and showers are 100x better than the only other RV Park close to Charlottesville, (Crozet). This park has always been well maintained and clean with larger sites than found elsewhere in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$35
The park was full while we were here, but the owners made us feel welcomed and special. The park itself was in great shape. The grounds were well maintained and all of the facilities were in great shape. The bathrooms were clean and looked as though they had been recently remodeled. The people working behind the desk were a fantastic resource for finding things to do and places to eat. The one thing that I loved the most was how wooded and rustic feeling the campground felt. They had a great combination of modern bathrooms and WiFi, while still maintaining that outdoor experience. We like KOA's a lot and Charlottesville is one of our new favorites. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$36
This was perhaps the most rustic KOA facility I've ever visited. Despite being only a few miles from both Monticello and Charlottesville, you really feel like you're in the boonies. The campground is located along a hillside and there are many different levels for sites. We had to use a lot of leveling blocks to get our rig at least somewhat even. Forget about connecting with the "outside world" here. There is no WiFi, cable TV, or a signal from either Verizon or AT&T -- couldn't use our phones (AT&T) or our broadband data card (Verizon). Fortunately for us we just stayed overnight here and left early the next morning to visit Monticello. We approached the facility from the south and felt like we were traversing the Rocky Mountains with the grades we had to climb. We will probably use this facility again, simply because there are few options in this area for RVers. I didn't feel the facility was worth the money, frankly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$38
It is a nice campground in a beautiful wooded setting. It has a quiet and peaceful atmosphere. Interior roads, etc. were more than adequate to accommodate our 40 ft. motorhome with the tow vehicle attached. The site provided ample space for our 4 slides. The owners were very accommodating in helping us get a site that allowed satellite reception (#54). We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$39
RV park with nice large sites, many pull-throughs. No cable TV and air reception was terrible. Received 3 channels. Wi-Fi at site was terrible. Slower than dial-up at multiple locations tried. Expensive park for the amenities offered. Cell phone reception is non-existent with either AT&T or Verizon. Park not recommended. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
This is our second visit to this park. Typical KOA, no surprise. Just a good place to stay. It is a little tight in some areas, but is big rig friendly for the most part. Close to several good places to visit including Wallnut Creek Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$41
This campground was surprisingly clean and camper-friendly. The sites were well-shaded, immaculately clean and, despite the fact that it was almost full on a weekend, there was no feeling of being over-crowded. This campground is a bit tricky to access, especially if coming from the West. I spoke to two families pulling fifth-wheels that barely made in through the twisting, narrow road leading to the campground. Access from the East is much easier. Once at the campground the roads are easily traversed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$33
This is a nice place to camp in the Charlottesville area. The drive to get anywhere is significant. The driveway is in a dangerous location when pulling out with your RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$38
Nicest campground and management in area. Only thing that kept from a higher score is the lack of open sites for satellite reception. Heavy tree cover and Verizon cellular doesn't work. We have been coming to the area for 7 years to visit family and we have decided this campground is the best choice in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$34
I can only say that the previous reviewer must be from a parallel universe. This is a very pleasant place to stay. Yes this is no "IN" town: so? It is a very short drive up to Monticello and the Michie Tavern. Ashland is a short distance further. The sites are large, albeit some have a steep approach, this is a mountainous area. The nature trail is nice. The managers at the camp were very pleasant. There is no cable TV, but TV is not why we go camping. You can get a few channels on an antenna. Our cell service was good (Nextel). We would stay here again should we find ourselves in this area on another trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
We found this campground to be just as advertised. It is wooded and remote with little or no traffic noise. Our site was easy to get into and out of. The facilities were spotless and a crew went through the showers and restrooms every couple hours to keep them that way. The store was well stocked with things you usually forget and the souvenirs were above average quality. We stayed several nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2009
$31
We will never, ever camp there again. We couldn't sit around a camp fire and talk without being told we were to loud. There were dogs barking (not ours); it was annoying, but nothing was said to those campers. The owner is out of touch with reality. The water pump broke Saturday morning, so there was no running water in campground (several hours). We were threatened with being evicted several times. We had 22 sites, 6 cabins and 20 tents sites for a big group tubing and doing wine tasting tour.We would travel further for better hospitality. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
We stayed here for a quick over night and a visit to Montacello. But don't let the name fool ya...this campground is not in or for that matter near Charlottesville. It actually about a 10 mile drive one way to town. Also, there is no cell coverage on ATT or sprint. Other than that the staff were very friendly site was enormous and campground was very clean. We would probably overnight here but nothing long term. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
We stayed at this campground for two nights while visiting Monticello. Although I would not pick this campground for a "let's stay all week and relax" vacation, it was fine for using as a base to visit the area. Pros-closest campground to Monticello and Charlottesville. A clean campground that was well kept up. It has friendly owners. There is a clean laundry room and only about ten minutes to get to from Route 64 Cons-many of the sites were small (the first site we were given was so small that the front of our rv stuck out into the driveway. We requested another site-no problem with getting a new site). Information for pet owners-very little grass and a lot of gravel, which gave us trouble walking our dog. Overall, not a bad place. I would stay here again if I was planning on visiting the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
The park was clean and maintained. Virtually every camper had at least one dog and the noise all night from barking was extreme. There was no staff to assist with noise and "quiet time" was a laugh. Most spots are 30 amp service. Only a handful of 50 amp spots are available. Advertised as the closest campground to Monticello (it is), but is also a considerable distance South. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
No cell phone service (AT&T and T-Mobile); internet "dial up" slow; but I loved it and definitely would choose it again. I thought the staff were cold and not that outgoing but oh, well. It's not like they were unfriendly, either...just not to enthusiastic. The campground was beautiful. Sites are large, not close together. Great place to walk the puppies. So even with the negatives, I still give it an Excellent rating. The kids all looked like they were having a great time. This campground gets a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
Pros: Easy to find south of Charlottesville. Convenient to Monticello. Clean restrooms and showers (a bit of mildew buildup on a curtain). Pretty easy to maneuver when parking and setting up. Forested and shaded. Cons: A bit pricey for the area, but okay. Site was not truly level and that could be worked on a bit. Oddly, electric, water and sewer connects were so poorly arranged that we had to stretch every inch out of our sewer and hose to reach. Could not pull forward or we would have been in the driveways. Staff all business. Zero AT&T cell phone coverage. TV was quite adequate. As others have commented, there is a wicked curve on the highway when exiting the campground on the highway. Very dangerous and local drivers are on the move in this area. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
We had a pull through site which was very nice except it did require a long sewer connection. My total length is around 55' (truck and TT) and may have been tight pulling out due to a tree on the edge of our spot but the guy across from us left first so I could swing wide. The road (RT 708) leading to the campground from RT29 is a winding narrow road but you are only on it for about 4.5 miles so it is not to stressful. We had a great weekend and will go back again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$32
Lovely campground although a little hard to find. We arrived late and they were very accommodating. Clean facilities, wooded sites. All in all a very nice place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$37
This campground did not disappoint. It is very wooded and free from road noise. The bathrooms were perfect. Our site was level and adequate in size. The campground is a bit older and there was not a ton to do it is more of a place to stay while visiting the area vs a destination spot. The campground was full of UVA football fans the weekend we were there. Although the campground was full, there was enough space and people were all behaved. I would go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
Loved this wooded campground. Very friendly staff. Site #42 was level, and good WIFI reception. Did not have TV, but what a shame! lol. Had to use brain and read instead. We would definitely schedule a stay here, again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
I agree with the brakes comment. Tight roads, tight sites. Our site would of not required us to unhook if it had been level. It was not. We pulled in just far enough to get our back out of the road as the site was more level at first then fell away about halfway in. Pulled the toad around front. Otherwise we would of not been able to level. Couple that owns the park are very nice. We stayed here to see Monticello and the roads to there were tighter than the roads to this KOA. No cell phone signal AT&T, no cable. Expect this when your in the middle of the woods. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
Have your brakes checked before attemting this one. Winding mountain roads, and unlevel site for us from front to rear,(front tires off the ground). Literally a cross country hike to get to the pool and lots of trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$34
This is a big rig friendly park but like any treed campground caution is required, last night including us there were 7 40' motorhomes camped here. I was in space 8 and if you drop the toad before pulling in just clear the road with your end cap, and all you will need is jacks for stabilization the same is true for space 6. Yes the road in is twisting but the pavement is very good and the "blind" corner is wide, I have been on many worse roads to campgrounds. Clean but like many heavily wooded campgrounds grass is limited. Hookups worked well and were located in a convenient position. Wifi has worked every day from our site. The park is very peaceful and dark at night we have extended our stay two additional nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
Excellent campground. Friendly and helpful hosts. Hookups were great and electrical voltage level always remained constant. Other amenities such as game room and planned activities were nice. Very close to Charlottesville and other historic sites. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$32
We enjoyed our stay here. One of the highlights was the walking trail through the woods which our dogs loved. They even spotted a beaver down at the pond. In the evening there were quite a few deer in the fields surrounding the campground. We had a very relaxing stay and I look forward to visiting again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
This was a nice campground. We stayed here and visited Monticello. There was an ice cream social on Saturday. The setting was nice and quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
We liked this park very much. It looks and feels like a "campground" rather than like an RV parking lot. Yet it has great amenities like hookups, the pool and wi-fi, all of which we used and enjoyed. An added bonus is its close proximity to historic Charlottesville and Monticello. We will return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
My family loved this park! It's woodsy and natural. The grandkids liked the fishing pond and riding the pedal karts. The pool looked nice, but it wasn't yet open. The staff was friendly and the bathrooms very clean. My cell did work (Nextel), but my neighbor's did not. Wi-Fi worked fine for us and we were in the back of the park. Cable TV would be nice. Maybe that will be an upgrade soon. The rate seemed reasonable, especially coming from touring the Williamsburg area. We'll be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2008
$40
The staff was very friendly, but beyond that there are many many problems with this old tired park. First, it is miles off the highway reached by a winding twisting road that is not easy to navigate by big rigs. WARNING some of the sites assigned to 5th wheels are not navigable. The "BigRig Pull Through" we were assigned to would have damaged our camper had we not been carefull. The steep entry would have caused the truck sides to hit any 5th wheel. We had to back up, go around, and back into our "pull through" site. Wi Fi is useless even close to the main building. Connections at site are often at the wrong end of the site. Asked for 50 amp, site had 30 amp. Low trees all over will hit your camper. Although the entry is straight in an easy, the very steep exit with twisting s curves and steep transitions could cause your truck bed side rails to hit your 5th wheel. This is a tired old park that is not at all big rig friendly. The staff was friendly, but it just doesn't make up for this dated park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2008
$35
I hesitate to say "typical" of KOA, but this campground is old, unlevel, very treed, tight and overpriced. It really isn't big rig friendly as the roads are narrow and in extreme need of tree elimination and trimming. It is a clean park with paved roads with gravel or dirt sites. One shouldn't have to plan the exit out of the site in order to avoid trees. The 8-9 miles from the interstate are long hilly miles. The staff is friendly and the store is very well stocked. This campground needs a real facelift to bring it up to today's standards. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2008
$36
We typically avoid KOA's because they are always overpriced. This one was worse than usual. We have a KOA magazine which refers to being able to trust in KOA's for "large, level sites, cable TV, Wi-Fi, etc.). This place has none of those. The sites are not that large and definitely not level. Their is no cable TV. We have no cell phone coverage (Verizon) and the Wi-Fi is limited to a certain amount of time/bandwidth and is intermittent even during that. We were not impressed in any way. They do have a nice playground, and it looks like they would have a nice pool if it were open. The sites are shaded, which is nice, and all of the hookups worked properly. They have a very limited number of 50-amp sites, so that can be an issue. The staff is extremely friendly. The game room is well appointed and the laundry seemed to do fairly well, for a campground laundry. Given the area and the lack of options it's okay, but some competition would certainly do them good. I've stayed at much cheaper campgrounds that were much nicer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$29
Sites were very close together. Almost entire site was gravel, and very small for the price. Camped with family and group behind us was very loud and drinking heavily. When we went to the pool the same group was at the pool with their bar set up there. Not a good family atmosphere at all. Lake was nice and game room was enjoyed by the kids. We will not be camping there again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$34
If you like woods then this is the campground for you. We had a site with electric and water only. There was absolutely no cell phone coverage and satellite coverage is minimal. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
We enjoyed our stay here. This is an older park, so some of the sites are shorter and narrowed by trees. The grounds are clean and well-kept, and the staff was very friendly. The electricity and water pressure were great, but we could get absolutely NO cell service (AT&T), and there are only 2-3 channels available via an air antenna. The Wi-Fi signal was spotty. Sometimes great, sometimes not. Everyone was respectful of quiet hours at night. We will return when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
Closest park to the historic sites, very wooded and quiet. Laundry was spotless with good capacity machines. Power was excellent with little voltage drop when AC was running - we could run several appliances at the same time even on 30 amp. Hosts were very pleasant. Red Hill Road is very windy and has a blind curve approaching from the east. Be cautious entering and exiting the campground as the road traffic won't be. Only 2 local TV stations, no cable and could not get satellite signal. WiFi response is mixed - occasionally decent speed but would slow to a crawl often. Cellphone reception was poor even with a Wilson Trucker antenna. Sites are tight in many cases, not in terms of neighbors but close trees and narrow entries. Clearing some of these and regarding some sites would help. Dog walk is a dirt path with little grass due to all the shade. Basketball court is very close to a couple of sites - we saw several groups actually hit a coach parked in one of these sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$31
A very nice woodsy campground. The campground was quiet and very relaxing. Just far enough away from Charlottesville to get away, but close enough for sightseeing and visiting. Staff was very courteous and helpful. Everything was well maintained and very neat. We were also disappointed by the pond. Not much access, lots of downed trees and plants kept fishing to a minimum. Some fire rings were also too close to the camper, and were set in concrete to prevent moving them out from under the awning. Loved the nightly movies in the pavilion, and the kids enjoyed the rented pedal cars. WiFi worked very well, but very limited cell phone service. We were very pleased and will definitely return again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$29
This is a nice quiet park, well shaded. The bathrooms and showers were impeccably clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. The sites are close together and the back-in sites were shorter than we than we usually have. The site is convenient to Monticello and Charlottesville. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$29
This is a very quiet park off the beaten path. The owners obviously take pride in the place, they were there cleaning and working both days we camped. The fish pond was a disappointment due the inaccessible edges and the sites were very close together but the place is clean and well maintained. We will return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$35
This campground was in the hills of the Blue Ridge mountains. The overall appearance of the KOA was very nice. There's a small fishing pond down a small hill at the back of the campground. The folks running the front desk were very friendly. The RV sites were a little close together, but we managed OK. We would probably stay here again in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$25
We camped here midweek. We were delighted with the free WiFi! After weeks on the road we were able to catch up with some correspondence. The restrooms here are meticulously clean as always! The husband and wife staff/owners are very friendly! We enjoyed walking along Red Hill Road every day and liked being so very close to the city. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$32
A very nice park, the staff were extreamly friendly at check in. This park is not right on the main roads so it is quite. The bathrooms were the cleanest I have ever seen. Free WiFI. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$31
A beautiful park in the wooded hills. Paved entrance roads but gravel roads through park. There was some ponding of water while we were there, but there were torrential rains. Great bath house. Caught a good size bass in their pond. Pleasant staff. We had no trouble maneuvering our 34' trailer though some sites were smaller than ours. Would have given it a 10 if they had cable, but we survived with the three stations over the air. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2006
$35
Poorly laid out campground, small sites. I think they tried to see how many sites they could fit in and didn't do a very good job of it. There are some trees that if removed would make backing in easier. We had one local tv station and even that wasn't clear. WIFI worked ok though. The road in is narrow and if someone is checking in no one else, even in a car, can come in or leave. The dump station is the same way, its on the left side of the only road in or out, so if someone is dumping everyone waits. We won't be staying here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$30
Clean, decent-sized wooded sites, friendly hosts. We called ahead because we would be arriving late and they had everything ready for us. Bath house was very nice. A good home base for visiting the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2006
$41
This campground has a great woodsy atmosphere. We were there on a cold weekend in March in one of the heated Kapin Kabins. The bathrooms were very clean & nice & warm. The owners are friendly & helpful. The location is great for touring Monticello, UVA, Charlottesville, Virginia wine country, & hiking in the Blue Ridge. We will return! We camped here in a .

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$27
Quiet, clean park convenient to Charlottesville and historical sites. Free WiFi worked great. Will definitely return. Ate at a great little homestyle diner in Scottsville, Lumpkins. Look for the giant rooster out front. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$29
This was our second visit to this campground and I wonder why we don't go more often, since it is very close to our home. The campground is lovely with large shade trees and very quiet. This campground reminds me more of a state park with large sites and full hookups. If you want a nice quiet campground without a lot of activities, this is the place. If I were visiting Charlottesville, this would be a perfect home base as the traffic to the city is minimal. The camp store is so bright and clean, well stocked and reasonably priced. Owners are pleasant as well. The bathrooms were immaculate. We will utilize this place more in 2006. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$45
Excellent family campground. The staff was super friendly and they only had 2 seasonal sites. It really offered something for all types of campers as I saw many tents, pop ups, TT's and coaches here. It is only 20 minutes from downtown Charlottesville. My only complaint (not the fault of the campground) is that my Verizon Cell phone just could not get service here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$33
Very nice campground. Very quiet and peaceful. Most sites are shaded and fairly level. Nice pool and fishing pond for the kids. If your looking for a place to just relax for a few day's this is the place. Staff is extremely friendly and willing to help you at all costs. The only reason I did not give it a 10 was that some of the sites are a little small. We will be going back often. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2005
$26
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this campground. The campground entrance was very welcoming and the staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The entire campground was immaculate and well maintained. The lot we stayed in was large and private. The heavily wooded campground was away from traffic and was quiet and relaxing. The campstore was well stocked and the restrooms were spotless. We are planning to return this summer when the pool is open. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2004
$29
This campground is one of the most beautiful campgrounds that we have ever visited. It is nestled between many beautiful trees and is far from the busy highways so is very quiet and peaceful. The campground owners and their workampers are some of the friendliest most helpful people we have run into while rving, they obviously love what they are doing. The camp store is well stocked and inviting. The restrooms and showers are immaculate. We will defininitely return to this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$33
This is a nice campground convenient to area attractions (University of Virginia, Monticello, Walton's Mountain, etc.) The owners care very much about the park and it appears are investing in it. They built new restrooms and a covered pavilion at the pool area. The road going to the campground from US29 is a bit windy, so take your time. We camped here early in April and the pool was not open. The nightly rate of $33 was for a family of 4 (two adults, two children) with full hookups, which we thought was a bit pricey. We would stay again at this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$24
Our family has camped at numerous campgrounds. This campground was extremely clean. We noticed that the quiet time rules were strictly adhered to. There was a large neatly kept swimming pool and a fishing pond onsite. On the second morning of our visit, our trusty coffee pot died. This wasn't a problem as the KOA Kampstore sold cups of coffee along with various food items, wood, and souvenirs. The campground hosts were friendly and very knowledgeable about the surrounding tourist sites. Our reason for visiting their KOA was for touring nearby Monticello, Miche Tavern, Appomattux Courthouse, University of Virginia, and the Walton Mt. Museum. We've never visited the area so the hosts came in handy when it was time to map our way to the various tourist sites. I would recommend this campground to anyone and we hope to visit there again in the near future. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2001
$27
Sand/aggregate sites are level and deep; separation varies from good to "oops excuse me neighbor". New owners are friendly and helpful and striving to improve the ambience of their CG. Good base camp to explore Monticello and Ash Lawn as well as the University of Virginia and numerous other significant historical areas. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com