224137 User submitted reviews online!!
Tom's Cove Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 41 user reviews. Phone: (757) 336-6498
CGID3033

Tom's Cove Park

Camp Information
Sites
920
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   8   7   5   9   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$45
We very much enjoyed this park. It is huge and mostly occupied by permanent residents, but it is very clean and the sites are very spacious. We were not on the waterfront, but very close to it. They have 2 piers that you can go on to fish or just sit on a bench. We were not able to get any TV reception or WiFi. The store has lots of camping necessities and souvenirs. The staff was very friendly. We would definitely go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$53
This is a huge park. Many of the sites are occupied by seasonal people. Many golf carts cruise the park. Our site which was level grass was one row from the water front sites but we still had a water view from the front of our coach. Our site had cable and water connections on the opposite side of the coach from the sewer and electric hookups, which was strange. We needed two water hoses to reach the faucet and our coax cable would not reach the cable hookup but the office loaned us a second coax cable. They were having cable problems so the cable wasn't very good and we resorted to using our antenna which gave us several channels. They do have Wi Fi which is acceptable. There is a nice fishing pier. We didn't use the pool. the staff was friendly and helpful. We liked the park and would recommend it to others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$57
We stayed here for 9 nights during pony penning week. We made our reservation back in April and requested a waterfront (Assateague Channel) site. We arrived around 9:00 in the morning (check-in is anytime after 8:00 AM with no extra fee for early check-in) on a Friday and were assigned a waterfront site perfectly sized for our rig. The campground staff (both check-in and camp store) were very helpful and friendly. We backed in with no problem and were greeted with an awesome view of the lighthouse and a band of ponies the area is famous for grazing out on the marsh. The waterfront sites have 50 amp electric service and good water pressure, but they do not have sewer. We were a little bummed about that since we were staying 9 nights, but we made it work, and honestly the view was worth the inconvenience (purchased one of the famous blue totes at the camp store, reasonably priced I might add). Reading some of the other reviews, it seems many did not care for the seasonal campers, but honestly we didn’t see anything terribly run down and the seasonal sites are pretty well segregated from the nightly sites. I also saw some negative comments about Tom’s Cove not accepting credit cards or on-line reservations, but I count that as part of the charm of the place and in keeping with the quirkiness (in a good way) of the rest of Chincoteague Island. My only complaint is with the excessive number of golf carts in the park. Being in a waterfront site, I suppose there were maybe a few more carts “cruising” the waterfront than there were in the rest of the park, but it seemed excessive to us. The rules also state that you must have a drivers license to operate a golf cart, but I know there were underage kids driving them. We saw one group pulling wheelies with their golf cart! Maybe a bit more enforcement is in order. Pros: friendly helpful staff, very nice fishing piers, nice clubhouse, nice pool (we did not use), great view of the pony swim, clean restrooms and showers, Mr. Whippy ice cream truck comes thru the park in the evening. Nice sized sites, clean dump station area, nice mix of open and shaded sites, well stocked camp store Cons: too many golf carts and lack of operator rules enforcement, no fire rings. We would definitely stay here again (next year). The $57 rate includes tax. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$47
Our site (P-68) had a fabulous view of the bay. it was awesome!! The signage to the park was very good. The check in staff was exceedingly friendly and helpful. The interior roads are gravel and level. Our site was fairly level, grass and dirt, pull thru and had reasonable space between sites. There are several seasonal campers but we were in the transient part of the park so the clutter of the seasonal campers did not effect us. Our site had no trees so we had no trouble using our roof mounted satellite. Also the park had cable with a handful of channels. Our Verizon cell signal was excellent. We were close enough to the Club House so we were able to get a reasonable wifi signal from our motorhome. Also, they offered a military discount which is always heart warming to know people show their appreciation to our military. If we were back in this area we would definitely return if we could get the same beautiful view from our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$42
Nicer than most giant parking lots, side-by-side, back-to-back camping, which is not our style. Few golf carts, a blessing. Close to everything "Misty" and all the rest. Staff is very nice. We would stay again, and ask for a treeful site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$41
Just returned from a weekend trip to Toms Cove Campground. Overall, the park is beautiful, located on the bay in Chincoteague. Morning and evening views are spectacular, you can't beat it. However, the campground lacks modern facilities, no Wi-Fi, not all sites have cable. Camp store lacks many supplies and does not accept credit cards for payment. Seasonal sites look awful and are in need of removal or better management. The regular sites are actually a very nice size however, the water and electric hookup are on different sides of the site necessitating an extension cord for electric. While the location is fantastic, this campground needs serious updating and cannot expect to have return visitors just based upon the views. Other campgrounds do have the views AND the extras. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$50
This is a very nice campground, our 3rd stay at Tom's Cove. The staff is very friendly and the store is well stocked with everything from souveniers to food and camping supplies. The restrooms were clean and the showers were wide and modern. We stayed on the Memorial Day Weekend and had a great time. If you enjoy fishing, nature, and the beach, you'll love this area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$42
This was our first camp ground experience with our new Travel Trailer and we had a great time. We camped with other friends who were in tents across from us and we all had a great time. The sites are a little narrow, but we still had plenty of room for our slide outs, and we also were in one of four spots in the E Section with sewer. We had a bit of trouble getting in, but we did manage. The staff was amazing, and the grounds were also very clean. The only drawback was that the mosquito's were horrible. They did spray a couple of the days and that seemed to work a bit. We are looking forward to going back next year for Memorial Day weekend again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
We drove through this campground during the 2010 Memorial Day weekend to check it out as for this year. We knew from that visit, how busy it would be this year, so that was not a shock or turn off to us. I do believe the campground was completely full. Tom's Cove has a LOT of perma-campers or permanent seasonal sites but in our opinion they have saved the nicest sites for their overnighters and weekly visitors. These sites are near to the water (Tom's Cove) and with a clear view of the Assateague Lighthouse that comes on every night. Many of these sites are also shaded with very tall pines. All the waterfront sites, all though completely gorgeous, do not have sewer: only water and electric. The view from either of their two fishing piers is beautiful. We even saw a couple of the wild ponies roaming the marshes on Assateague. We enjoyed just sitting on one of the benches and watching the water activities of other vacationers. We do not have a boat so I cannot comment on the boating facilities. Popped into the club house/game room. Pretty standard in my opinion. Checked out the Country Store. Nice amount of food, grocery and RV supplies, plus a lot of fun (albeit some tacky) home decor and novelty gifts. Also had postcards, mail drop, ice, souvenirs and a fun old phone booth inside. This was a novelty to my kids who have grown up with cell phones. Why on earth would one need a phone booth? Staff was friendly and accommodating. There was a bit of a mix-up with the site we had requested (mostly ours as we read the site map section incorrectly) and they found us a superb alternative site. The site we had was nicely shaded and on the end of a row so we had a very nice amount of space. Only draw back is it saw a LOT of traffic. Which would not have been so bad if it weren't for the dust that created. I'd love to see the campground put down some kind of dust control. Not sure if they can use calcium chloride being so near to the water, but something to keep the dust down would be soooo nice. The perma-campers did seem to enjoy just cruising around on their golf carts all day long: entertaining, I guess? (Sorry, but I just don't get that.) Being that it was M-Day, there was quite a bit of partying that went on and all though quiet time is 11 p.m., it carried on past this. Someone put off fireworks at just past 11 p.m. and because we have young children trying to sleep, we did give security a call. Apparently they must have gone by and reminded the campers that it was quiet time as things pretty much quieted down after that. We stayed until Tuesday so by Monday afternoon, the entire area around us had pretty much cleared out and was so quiet. I would imagine if you stayed during any non-holiday week or weekend, the campground would be quiet like this. But again, we knew it would be very, very crowded for M-Day weekend. Campground was clean and well cared for. All though we did not use the bath houses for bathing, we did use it for the toilets now and again. They were a bit dated but on the whole, freshly painted, clean and functional the times that we used them. They were hot inside though so the ventilation was not so great. The campground does not provide fire rings but you can bring your own or most sites have fire spots from previous campers that you can use. I am not sure what the policy is on bringing your own firewood but I did see several campers unloading their own from their trucks/campers. We did not get a chance to visit the pool but it looked nice: smaller in size, but nice none-the-less. Making reservations is a bit outdated. You have to do this all by snail mail. Yes, this lends to the old time feel of the campground but it would be a nice improvement to be able to secure your site online and pay online too. They do not accept credit cards for payment of sites which simply is not convenient to many customers. Again, just remember to bring cash or your checkbook! On M-Day weekend, we even had a visit twice daily from the Mr. Whippy ice cream truck, much to the delight of my children and me! If the truck does not come to the campground during your visit, be sure to visit their place on Maddox Blvd! Their soft serve ice cream is the best! Their Cyclones are a treat! I have been coming to Chincoteague camping and/or vacationing in vacation homes for my entire life (I'm 46 years old) and this campground was exactly what I expected it to be. Chincoteague is a wonderful place to visit; family friendly, great shops, quaint little town and nice restaurants. Some years are worse for mosquitos than others. However, they do spray by truck and also by air when it's really bad. Bring along some bug spray and don't let the mosquitos stop you from enjoying this lovely little spot on the Eastern Shore! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$57
We're relatively new to RVing, so our range of comparisons is limited. But we found this to be an excellent facility for our needs. We arrived late on Friday, and requested a waterfront site, which we received. The park was full by the morning, with the annual Chincoteague Oyster festival that weekend. Our site was grass and dirt, nicely level, and with a spectacular view of the bay. The owners were pleasant, the store decent (a little understocked at the end of the season, but 30% discounts on almost everything but food), and the other campers helpful and informative. I do wish that Tom's Cove would allow online reservations and accept credit cards, but the process of sending a deposit check wasn't bad, and neither was paying cash on check in. However, not being able to reserve a site, or be guaranteed a waterfront location in advance, would leave too much to chance if you really must have a waterfront spot. Tom's Cove is a little out of the way--a couple of miles to town. We don't carry a toad, but were able to use the town trolley service, which operates seasonally (and for major events like the Oyster Festival) to get around--there's a stop at the entrance to Tom's Cove. Our kids were able to easily bike to mini-golf and other attractions. Scooter and electric car rental places are plentiful. We found plenty to do on site--fishing, kayaking (we brought our own), star gazing, and generally lazing around. There are bugs--but that goes with the waterfront territory in Chincoteague. We met several families who have been coming to Tom's Cove for years, and we could see why. We will return again the Spring. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$44
This is an old campground with mostly long term sites, however, the short stay area is away from the rest and directly on the ocean. The sites are very large and divided by split rail type fences. Compared to the other campgrounds on the island, this looked to be the best. The office help had little knowledge of the area and were rather too laid back-"the sites might be muddy so pick whichever one you want". The office smelled terrible. If you want to see the wild ponies, this is as good as it gets. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$41
This was our 4th year at Tom's Cove and we've always been fortunate enough to get a water front site. To be clear the water is Assateague Channel. The channel is loaded with Croakers, Flounder, and crabs and you can fish all you want without buying a license as long as you are on campground property. (They have a site license). Regarding the park itself, they are obviously putting some money into the sites. There are new water and electric connections (including 50 amp where previously there was only 30), and the main road has been paved with new stone. Still dusty but the whole island is famous for its dust. The price is reasonable and the campground in good shape and being improved. Apparently the cable TV was out while were were there due to a direct lightning strike. Fine with us. We didn't watch TV. Too busy watching the sun rise over Assateuge Island, Bald Eagles fencing with Ospreys, and ocean waves rolling ashore. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
We live only 30 minutes from Tom's Cove and we have been there over 30 times. It's a nice campground right on the water. There is a camp store, a pool, shady or open sun spots and also waterfront but they won't let you reserve waterfront. The beach is only a few miles away and the island of Chincoteague is a great place to visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$41
My family and I stayed at Toms Cove on the weekend of June 18-20th. Lets start with the positives. The staff was very friendly. The campground was clean. The bathrooms were clean. The pool was clean. Overall very nice. They also had trash pickup two or three times a day. The camp store was fully stocked and a Mr Whippy ice cream truck that came through at least twice a day. Needless to say that made my 7 year old daughter very happy. Plenty of shaded sites if that is what you prefer. No problems with electric and sewer. They were both located perfectly. OK, now for the drawbacks. Very dusty. we were always wiping things down to keep them clean. Golf carts and mopeds to many and going way to fast. The pool was to small for a big campground and loaded with chlorine. After an hour at the pool my daughters eyes were smoked for at least the next few hours. Sites were not very big. Small pull throughs. Overall a nice campground and would recommend to all !! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$39
This was our second trip to Tom's Cove. This Park is large! We stayed in "O" section on the corner and were able to glimpse the bay that the park is situated on. Most of the sites are nicely shaded with a few exceptions. Our daily activities to the beach, biking, kayaking, and a quick trip to the NASA visitor center kept us out of the park for 80% of our duration. But while in Camp, we enjoyed strolling down to the dock and letting the kids play in the playground. The pool looked nice, but maybe a little small for the amount of people it had to accommodate (it was packed.) The store was packed to the gills to accommodate anything you could possibly need and then some. The bathrooms/showers could use a little TLC to make them more comfortable, even something as simple as an exhaust fan could remove the feeling like your sitting in a sweat box. The showers while clean, were difficult to get yourself changed into dry clothes. The floors were soaked and you had to leave with a towel draped around you to change back at the trailer or you had to do a shuffle/dance to change in the miniature stall to get yourself dressed without soaking your dry clothes. That aside, we'll definitely be coming back and will probably pay the extra $10-$15 / night fee to have a bay side site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$48
We called to see if there were available sites and were lucky enough to get a waterfront in our 36' motorhome. We were thrilled the first morning to wake and see the ponies across the bay in the fog. Just a wonderful view. Has two fishing docks that were well used and boat dock, toured area for a few days and would recommed this to all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$60
We spent four quiet days here and could have stayed longer. Our site was comfortable, no trees, but nicely grassed. Mid-week it was really quiet. Five minute drive to Assateague Island with gorgeous beaches that go on and on: only $5.00/day. My two daughters (ages six and eight) loved riding their bikes around the park, and it was quiet enough that they could. I ran in the mornings: the perimeter of the park was just over a mile. Being next to the ocean was beautiful, although the seagulls in the park made a huge racket in the mornings. The waterfront spots looked great: our TT was too big for one of them, but how ideal for smaller TT and pop-ups! The pool was clean and warm, being in Virgina. I will say that there were many working class teens and young people in the pool. Not trying to be snobbish, but my young daughters got quite an education at times. Staff were friendly and the store had plenty of stuff. At check-in though, I was sent to two different sites that already had people on them. They need to get a better system for recording reservations, and accept credit cards for payments. Who uses checks these days? Overall, I recommend this park to most anyone. We would love to go back: for longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$39
My family (which consist of 10 travel trailers) has visited every year for the last 7 years for the pony penning event. This trip was terrible. It rained almost the entire week (that wasn't the problem) with that all the sewers over flooded on all the camp sites. Needless to say we had to walk through nasty water to get in and out of our campers. My child contracted an illness from the contaminated water getting in a wound he had on his leg. We asked the owner to call a septic company to drain the tanks and he refused. We figured Tom's Cove brings in an average of over $100,000.00 this week alone. Over 500 camp sites and being packed full. You would think they would put some $$ into the camp ground to keep it nice but instead they put in in there pockets. Honestly I don't see any improvements in the last years we have camped here, looks like they just make it and keep it. I would recommend anybody interested in staying here to check the weather before going. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
Our group of 5 families spent 5 days/4 nights at Tom's Cove and a great time was had by everyone. All of us had nice, wide pull-through sites with a partially obstructed water view. Most of us had nice shade trees and did not have to use our awnings. They don't have planned activities for the kids but the pool and clubhouse were nice. The park is very large and it's nice that the better sites are kept for the transient campers and not the permanent residents. It's a great place to ride your bike and you can even ride them into town and onto Assateague Island if you want. The mosquitoes can be bad at times but that's to be expected on an island surrounded by salt marshes. I would give this campground a higher rating if they offered cable at all of the sites and WiFi. It would also be nice if they paved the roads...the gravel can be dusty. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$37
Park was OK, loved the whole island. They had sewage and water problems. Some sites where not trailer friendly. Cable sites where limited. Roads all gravel, really dusty. Did like that you could ride a scooter all over the island. Locals really nice. Liked everything overall. Be nice when the bridge work is complete. Don't know if we will go back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
We really like Tom's Cove. Our family has visited this park every year we go to the beach. So much to do in and out of the park. Fishing, crabbing, swimming and of course the ocean and abundance of restaurants. One of our favorites! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$55
We had a waterfront site all by ourselves so had plenty of solitude. We did not have cable or Wi-Fi and it rained the two days we were here, so it wasn't the best time to visit. The showers were just OK, did not use the laundry. We would come back here again if we were ever back in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2009
$40
The park advertises that it opens on March 1, yet they were not fully open on the third weekend in March. All but one of the bathrooms were locked. The one that was open was dirty. The camp store was not stocked, not even with basics like bread and milk. There were very deep potholes in the roads. There are many permanent sites that give the park a "shanty town" appearance. They should not say they are open until they are ready to be fully open. Overall the place is run down. We do not plan to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$45
It's odd that this park does not have an online reservation system. You either have to go there, or send a check, and even then it is not guaranteed that you get the site you really want. Our luck was good, though, and we camped by the water. The campground is clean, but the pool had unidentified debris floating in it. I wasn't too happy with that being used to our sparkling clean pool at home. Camping (and kayaking/bike riding) is great on the island/ waterways/ campground! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$42
This was our second year in a row in a waterfront site at Tom's Cove Park. For the second year in a row, we had a ball. The sunrise views over Assateague Island just don't get any better. The only thing really keeping me from giving this park a 10 is the lack of internet access. Not that I really missed the e-hubbub but it would be nice to have over an extended stay. Otherwise the park and the folks that run it are perfect. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$45
We stayed here and the view was awesome. We stayed right on the water. The staff was very friendly. We arrived early, about 9AM and they said we could park in an overflow area until a site was available. We did not have reservations and we still were able to get in. BTW, bring cash, they do not take credit cards for the campsites. PS: The pony swim is the busiest time of the year here. I would suspect that the above poster's description is accurate. However, it is the same at many campgrounds during their busy holidays (July 4, Memorial Day, Labor Day). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$43
Took three kids down for the pony swim. The clerk on check in was very surly and gave us a site that was too small for the two vehicles let alone the 30 foot trailer we told them we were bringing when we reserved back in January. Three tries with progressively smaller sites, being ignored when we asked about the sites the Motor Homes and big 5th Wheels were in, and we finally got a decent site. Bring plenty of bug juice, they don't advertise the marsh but it's there. Mosquitoes were horrible. Inability to reserve a specific site, no credit cards, and out of control teens (police were needed) have conspired to send us to a different campground next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$40
Although the annual rental sites appear to be very congested, we had a great site overlooking the water [site 68]. It was very spacious. They do not take reservations over the phone because they do not take credit cards. The gravel roads had pot holes but they were grading them as we left so that may have solved the problem. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
We camp at Tom's Cove every July 4th. They try to get you the section you want with the groups you are camping with, however it is all done with index cards. It would be easier for all if they went to the computerized reservation system but they still do it the old fashioned way. We always have a good time once we get there. Lots are all sizes and shade varies through the park. Nice staff and nice camp store. Chincoteague is a great town and Tom's Cove is our favorite campground on the island! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$55
I am giving this CG an 8 rating only because of the fact the roads are gravel and the dust raised by the vehicle traffic was kind of heavy and cable connection was somewhat limited and connection was poor quality. The store was very well stocked, the staff was courteous, and the grounds were well maintained. The snack bar served pizza and other fast food. We were fortunate to have a shaded space that overlooked the cove and the island. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$60
While this part bills itself as a campground, there are many more seasonal than transient camper sites. Some areas of the campground have a "shantytown" appearance that is very off-putting. The pool is too small for the size of the park, maybe another pool should be in the planning. We have camped in many campgrounds with older facilities, and just because something is old does not mean it can't be kept clean. The bathhouses were overcrowded and dirty, and the office staff surly. Also, we were told no reservations, and, after picking a site, we were told that site was reserved. Hmmm. All in all, Tom's Cove has a great location, and a well stocked camp store. They need a clearer reservation policy, cleaner bathhouses, nicer staff and another pool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2007
$56
We had a 3 night stay here for Memorial weekend and we left after 2 nights. The park is so cramped and loud. The sites are close together and every site doesn't have there own hookups. I had to borrow a WATERHOSE to get to my water spigot. I also had to use both of my electrical lines to get to the electric. On friday night they drove around in there golf carts blaring music and honking the horns. There are way to many golf carts allowed in this park. On Saturday the man behind us, who was a yearly camper, decided he was going to build a deck onto his camper. Who wants to hear this when they go camping? I was very dissapointed with this campground. I used to camp here in a tent when I was a little kid and I so looked forward to going there but when I got there I couldn't wait to go home. I called my parents and told them how much this campground had changed and how I hated it. What a dissapointment. I will not camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$34
I am so glad we camped here before I read the reviews from earlier years, because this place was a delight. We had a waterfront site on what I would call an Atlantic Bay rather than riverfront. The waterfront sites had shell covered beaches that were teeming with tiny crabs and shrimp. We were within site of the fishing and crabbing piers. The restrooms were worn but clean. The pool was lovely. The staff was helpful for the limited contact I had with them. The sites were much larger than what I pictured for a waterfront campground. There was plenty of grass and trees and a reasonable distance between sites. I look forward to returning to this specific campground in the future. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$35
I am glad we chose Tom's Cove for our Memorial Day Vacation. We almost did not come based on the prior negative reviews seen here, but were pleasantly surprised! Our greeting was friendly and welcoming at the Country Store. Coffee was great there, too! Our site was a large, pull thru with 50 amps and cable. Very clean!It was an easy bike ride to National Park, Pony Center and several good restaurants. Very crowded because of holiday weekend, however, campers were very respectful.There were no kids speeding on golf carts and quiet time was observed. Nicely maintained pool and grounds. Although it is not "Fort Wilderness", I would recommend this park. It is especially fun if you have children or grand kids who have read "Misty"! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$34
We have camped here for years, and the campground was always nice, but a little older, and the staff could be a little rude. This visit the staff was very nice, and they have made numerous improvements. 50 Amp service is now available on some sites, They have added cable to alot more sites, there is a new bathhouse, the sewer system has been upgraded, and the staff must have taken personality training. The campground has 2 nice docks, with blanket VA fishing permits, A boat ramp, and is a great location to explore the area. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$10
Excellent park, would recommend it to the pope! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2004
$35
We already gave a review for this campground and it was disgusting, Sewer everywhere. Now according to a news report they have been shut down. CHINCOTEAGUE, Va.- A local campground is still reeling after heavy rains over the weekend. Tom's Cove in Chincoteague was shut down by the health department on Monday. Health officials say high water created sewage leaks and other safety concerns. The state is working with the campground to improve drainage. Campground officials say they do not know when the park will reopen. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2004
$35
We went for the pony round up in July 2004. Entire campground was flooded, road going in, sites, playground all flooded. We could deal with the flooding from the rain but when the sewer started backing up everywhere that was just to much to handle. Ankle deep water in our site, what a mess. We had reservations for 2 weeks, decided to leave early. Went to the office and asked for a refund, they wouldn't refund any money just a credit to be used in the future, a lot of good that will do as I have no intention of returning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2004
$32
We have camped several times in Tom's Cove Campground. We have found it to be very poorly managed. We sent in our reservations 3 months in advance and we were told they can only guarantee you a site. You could not reserve a specific site. When we arrived we picked out a site that was unoccupied but was told it was reserved. When we brought their own policy about holding specific sites to their attention they became very rude. We settled for another site while we watched the site we wanted stayed empty for 4 days. The bathrooms here get heavy use but are fairly clean. Roads are extremely bumpy, tight and vey dusty. We saw campers close to the roads who couldn't keep windows open because of the dust. Our electric constantly went out and the staff had to keep resetting the breakers in their elec panel. We probably would not stay here again due to the very rude personal and poor conditions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$33
I would give this campground a zero if that rating was available! We asked for waterfront and sewer and got backed up to a mosquito infested waterhole instead without sewer. The mosquitos were so bad they sounded like planes buzzing around you. Were told we could use dump station, but that wasn't available either as it was full. Woke up Sunday morning to 6 inches of water in our site, rugs would have floated away if they were not nailed down with tent stakes. The sites next to us were unoccupied and dry (wonder why we were not given one of those sites). We were put in the back next to the RV storage and permanent sites, far away from pool and bathhouse. We were told by one of the permanent residents that they put us in a bad area and they hardly ever get anyone in those sites except overnighters and we were staying 3 nights. When we walked around, we saw plenty of vacant sites and even waterfront that would have been better. We left a day early and were refused a refund, given a credit for another stay. Yeh, we would stay again at this dump! The worst part of it is that this seems to be the best campground on the island. Next time we go, we will stay at a B&B or motel. They advertise a campstore also and when we went in on Saturday, the shelves were at least 80-90% bare. They advertise cable, sewer and waterfront sites, but I believe you have a better chance of winning the lottery than getting any of these services at this campground. They don't take credit cards either, probably had too many people disputing the charges. The person manning the front desk did not seem to care if we were happy and came back or not and said so. I can't believe that no one has reviewed this campground since 2000. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2000
$38
This is a nice campground to stop by when you are traveling, most sites are not booked very small family run, has complete store open to the town, fishing pier, dances, bingo, nice place to ride bikes. good sam club member. many counrty stores to browse through, and nice places to eat seafood. Very quiet place to stay at. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com