220584 User submitted reviews online!!
Douthat State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (540) 862-8100
CGID3036

Douthat State Park

Camp Information
Sites
112
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   7   9   9   9   5   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$27
We stayed in Whispering Pines campground. The sites are gravel bordered by wood, and all back-in. The park was immaculate and the campground host was friendly and helpful. All of the staff members we encountered at registration and at the lake were friendly and helpful. We had fun kayaking at the lake and enjoyed our stay. We have already made our reservation for our next stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$31
We stayed in Whispering Pines, campground D. This is a new loop with large level, gravel back in sites (at an angle) and a new very nice very clean bathhouse. Sites are water and electric along Wilson Creek. There is no over the air TV. We had Verizon cell. This campground is about 3 miles from the interstate, and another 3 or 4 miles to the park office. The park itself has a beautiful lake and great walking trails. With a reservation you don't have to drive all the way to the office. Although expensive for one night (because of the $5 reservation fee, even for walk in), it is a nice place to stop. Our rate was with the reservation fee, not paying for any pets ($5 each/night), and with a VA State Park pass 10% discount. This campground used to be a private park, which was purchased by the state, leveled and made into very nice sites. We would stay here again. You most likely would need a reservation on the weekend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
Nice area. There was a lot of trail closure due to a severe storm that went through earlier in the month. Sites are nicely spaced but far from level. Some are better than other. No cell coverage no wifi. Bathrooms are dated and ok. They are cleaned but are just old. Park personnel are very helpful. Lake is nice swimming area is nice. The bridge into one of the loops is a little narrow and as no guardrails so it has a high creepy factor but there's enough room. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$33
This brand-new campground (Whispering Pines ) is located alongside a small stream. The sites are large and well spaced. Within a few minutes after arriving at my site, I was visited by the campground host, who asked if he could be of any assistance. As I was preparing to depart the gentleman again stopped by to wish me a safe trip. I hope that he continues this process. It’s really a nice touch. Note that the park office is 4 miles north of the campground on VA-629. If you have made a reservation, your vehicle and site materials will be waiting at a board in the campground. If not, or if you have a pet, you must stop at the office and then drive back to the campground. Possibly because of campground’s newness there is no site map posted or included with the registration materials. I had to do some searching before I located the dump station and dumpster. I experienced a very weak Verizon broadband signal and not surprisingly, there was no over-the-air TV reception. Although new, I feel the park is somewhat overpriced when the on-line reservation fee ($5) and taxes are added in. Otherwise, I would have rated it as a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$29
Camped in a new section along the stream. Campground and bathhouse were lovely, but road traffic was a nuisance. The noise overshadowed the setting and I have had quieter evenings at a KOA. Nice staff and area. I would come again, but camp in a different section. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$27
This was our first camping experience with travel trailer and it was a great one! This ia a beautiful state park and a well run campground. Lots of room between sites, and sites were pretty level. Firewood was always available and reasonably priced. Fish-cleaning facilities were available and well maintained. Would have given it a "10" if they had sewer connections. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$37
Douthat presents an enigma, there is excellent and bad. The park is excellent with superb hiking trails, good ranger programs as the twilight canoe ride and a decent restaurant. The rangers are very helpful and friendly. Douthat is a beautiful. We stayed at the White Oaks campground which has very spacious sites. The restrooms and showers were filthy, by far the most dirty we have experienced in our years of camping. Also, the state of Virginia must have a dislike for dogs. A fee of $5.00 per dog per day was charged in addition to the site fee. Our two dogs are AKC certified obedience trained and one is a licensed for pet therapy. Never again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
A great campground at a great price. The only thing we didn't like was that the sites were first come first serve. Since we were in a group we were not able to camp together. Other than that it was a great trip! The lake was nice. We enjoyed playing on the beach and renting boats. We plan to go for a full week next summer! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
We stayed 3 nights at Douthat State Park in a 38' motorhome. We stayed in both the Beaverdam Campground (1 night) and the White Oaks Campground (2 nights). The White Oaks Campground was beautiful and our site back onto the woods and creek. My husband is a novice RV driver and he managed the 38' unit in the park with no problem. The Beaverdams Campground had wonderful Camp Hosts and nice level sites. The trails that we hiked were great. We would love to go back soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
We camped for a weekend in a 20' Class B, so it was a perfect fit for the small campsites here. We grabbed the last available spot in the Beaverdam area, where all of the sites were level with access to a nice trail head. We had a lovely host, who said it was slated to became an equine area in the near future. The biggest challenge was we ran into lots of mosquitoes. We were very impressed with this park overall and want to return soon and stay at one of the lake-front sites. The higher loop looked very nice as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
This state park is located in the middle of the Virginia mountains and is very beautiful. A very peaceful and tranquil area. There are lots of trails, creeks and a large lake in this state park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
I just spent a wonderful weekend here with friends! It was sooo nice to take a bike ride through the park and enjoy the silent sounds of nature... truly relaxing!! Wonderful park with great rangers! The mountain setting is absolutely gorgeous! A little early for the color change, but pretty setting just the same. I highly recommend this wonderful state park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$23
This VA State Park is award winning and a true family campground/park. We camped in B, but would love to try A if they ever add hook-ups. The hiking, canoeing and biking is great. Camp sites are spacious and private, roads are paved. The lake area is wonderful and offers concessions and a super swimming area for small children. VA has it going on, clean and well maintained parks. We frequent this park and will continue to. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Very peaceful, restful, and beautiful park. Everything is spread out. We stayed in the Beaverdam campsite. Completely booked. Very level and great for kids riding bikes. Very quiet. Stayed cool in plenty of shade trees. There were 6 single private showers with hot water to spare. The beach on the lake is clean and very cold. The restaurant is good too. The view of the dam is beautiful. There are playgrounds for kids to play. The trails are scenic. Overall, this park is attractive for everyone and very kid friendly. Spent one day in downtown Clifton Forge shopping at antique stores and the Art/Crafts Center. We will definitely come back to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$22
This is a beautiful state park, just not for big rigs. We called the state park in advance of making reservations and they said "no problem" for our 40 foot 5th wheel. We stayed at the Lakeside campground loop. Our site was long enough for us to park. Getting in was not the problem, we did not think we would be able to get out. We had to trim some low hanging limbs to protect our rig and required the help of 2 other campers to get through the very narrow, sharp turn with trees on either side. We only scraped a hubcap on a front tire and we feel very fortunate at that. One campground loop would be problematic for most 5th wheels because of the big dip once in that loop and it has a same way in/out. Not sure what you would do if you met someone. The other campground loop up near the office has a low, narrow bridge that floods. Once that happens, you are stuck until the water recedes. Campground roads are narrow, hilly, and twisitng but driveable. It is a beautiful park and it looked like the fishing was good. We will not return though because it is really not big rig friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$22
Limited room might make for a tight fit in some sites. We parked a 37 foot 5th wheel with no problem. Only 30 amp and no sewer. Great hiking and water sport options. Mountian biking is big here. Learn to fly fish or take one of many other outdoor classes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
This park was an absolutely beautiful park. The sites were spaced apart enough for privacy. The park looked like it had some recent renovations and I can't say enough about it. The hike up to the overlook was fun, but a bit challenging. Make sure you pack a lot of water and a bite to eat with you. The beach area includes a canoe rental shack. It was too early for swimming, but wading really cooled us down after a long stay on the trails. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$28
After making a reservation through the web site, received a call telling me that the Beaverdam campground was not yet open and we had to switch to the White Oak campground which was also electric/water campground. Ok, no problem. Get there Friday afternoon and discover we can camp in the White oak campground but the water is not yet turned on. I have rechecked all my paperwork and nowhere does it mention that the water is not turned on until April 1st. We had to fill up the water tank at the reservation office but were assured that the water outside the bath house was also turned on. We looked but couldn't find a faucet that was working at the bathhouse. Would like to have had a warning about the water so we could bring our water containers. Also, paid full rate for E/W campsite even though we had no water. Most of sites were long but there wasn't much privacy between the sites. Enjoyed hiking around the dam and lake. Will probably go back to spend more time checking out the area and trails. Also, this is a Verizon dead zone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$36
This is an average park. The sites are adequate although some of the larger rigs may find it difficult to impossible to set up. The size of the sites are not consistent so it's somewhat of a chance to get the right size. There are no laundry facilities available which is becoming common at state parks. The bathroom facilities are worn out, and I wasn't comfortable with the cleanliness of them- - I opted not to use them. I enjoyed hiking the trails, and the lake (too bad the campsites at the lake do not have electricity) is very nice. My biggest complaint is not with this specific park but with the State of Virginia. They have increased the pet fee to $5 per pet per night. For me this is an additional $10 per night. I do not have the maximum number of people allowed in my party (6) and figure my regular nightly fee is already inflated because I'm not using the resources (electricity and water) the State has estimated to base their fee. My dogs don't use extra electricity, and the water they do drink is less than the maximum number of people allowance. So why the excessive charge for pets? I can only assume the state is trying to use the pet fee to deter people from bringing their pets. These comments have also been sent to the State from me. Sadly, I'll have to rethink my visits to the VA State park system. Their fees are close to a private campground fee which would include cable and Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$26
A nice park with lots to do, i.e., hiking, fishing, etc. The bathrooms were clean for the first few days, but as time passed and more people used them, they weren't kept as they should have been. Regarding the restaurant. We were a group of four. The service was awful and the food was bad. There was one other group of people in the whole restaurant. They were not pleased, either. It does have a lovely view of the lake and very nice decor. I didn't take the restaurant in to consideration in my overall rating because it's kind of separate from the campground. Clifton Forge had some nice restaurants, and a hardware store that topped off propane and charged by the pound. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$26
Typical Virginia State Park campground; overall very nice and well maintained. There are three campgrounds available here: Lakeside(on the lake), Beaverdam and White Oak. Lakeside has no electricity, I'm not sure about water. The other two have water and electricity. There are a few pull-through sites in each but not many. Access for large (>40') vehicles would be difficult and the roads in the campground are pretty tight with a fairly narrow turning radius. We stayed in White Oak which is by far the more wooded and secluded of the three. The sites in the other two campgrounds are right on top of each other without much to screen you from your neighbors. Really nice lake to swim in and a nice restaurant, Lakeview, which is open in the summer from Wed-Sun. We didn't eat there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
Very nice park! We camped here for 2 nights in the electric loop. The bridge coming into the campground is a bit harrowing, especially when there are folks fishing on the edge of the bridge. The camp host rode over on his bike to check on us, very nice gentleman. The campsites are well spaced and very well groomed, a nice mix of pea gravel and grass, with trees around the perimeter. The bathhouse is older but clean. There is a dish washing sink on the back of the bathhouse as well as a fish cleaning station. The lake, with its swimming area, is the main attraction at the park and it is beautiful. There is a nice trail surrounding the lake and the dam. The park store is compact and stocked with the essentials, and the restaurant is very nice. We enjoyed our stay, and will be back! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
Very nice older park. Great for small rigs and tents. Lots of big wooded sites and great hiking trails. Nice beach for swimming. We really like this park. We used to tent camp here a lot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$24
This is a beautiful park with excellent facilities. The toilets and shower house were very clean. The personnel in the park were very friendly. This has been a dry year, but normally fly fishing available nearby, a lake to kayak, and lots of hiking trails. Located just north of I64, it's a great stop in VA. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$24
Great activities. Very friendly staff. Great deal. The best bathhouses I have ever seen. Well worth the trip of the curvy road to get there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$26
We really enjoyed this park overall. Most sites are of decent size, we stayed in the Beaverdam section which had a new bathhouse in it which looked a lot nicer then the ones in the other two camping areas by far. The Lakeside campground was real nice but lacked electrical hookups, but did have an area in the bath room building to charge trolling motor batteries, as motors can't be used on the lake. I have read reports of the White Oak campground being tough to get into due to the bridge and the possibility of bottoming out, it looked as though the bridge had been repaved solving this problem. I don't believe I would've had a problem getting into the campground with my low riding trailer. There were a lot of nice sites in White Oak. Now for the only things I can find troubling are not having site specific reservations. When you arrive you get your tags, and just pick whatever site is open in the area you reserved. When I arrived I had a choice of two sites, with one being nearly impossible to get into with my less then 30 foot trailer, if I would've been stuck with the tight site I would've had to leave, as it would've caused damage to my trailer from nearby trees. We were happy when a nicer site opened up on our second night there. We were also charged $3 +tax per dog per night so that was an additional $25.50 I wasn't expecting to have to pay when we arrived, yet no pet bags, or other things were provided for my dogs. Seems like a ridiculous charge. Just an FYI our Verizon service didn't work in the park, though I saw folks at the swimming area chatting on cells, not sure what service they had. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2006
$24
We found this campground to have lots of things for the kids to do. Lake swimming; ranger led activities; mountain bike trails; free concerts; and always friendly park rangers. The only bad side we saw, is that most of the sites in whiteoak campground where we stayed, were not very level. It took 5 inchs of levers to get us level. Also as posted in another review, the bath and showers could have used some really good cleaning. A big bottle of bleach could have fixed it right up. Overall a good place to stay. Had a good Labor Day holiday. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$20
This is a pretty nice campground in a beautiful area. The sites are spaced decently in the White Oak area where we stayed, but not very private. The bathrooms are always dirty and there's alot of mold in the showers. Unfortunately that alone will keep us from returning. We really enjoyed the hiking, biking, and lake swimming. The restaurant at the park was good and affordable. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$24
This is a real pretty little state park located in the Allegheny Mountains and features some outstanding scenery. We would have rated it “10” except that we think that the restrooms/showers need a good hard scrubbing and/or modernizing. They are not dirty, but not as clean as they could be. That said, we should note that the restroom/shower building in section "B" (“Beaver Dam”) is being renovated at this time. We hope that the facilities in section "C," (“White Oak”), where we camped, will be re-done in the near future. The sites are shaded, very deep and wide, and they are (with a few exceptions) far apart. The whole of the White Oak section is heavily treed. Each site has a table, fire ring with a grill and a lantern post. The position of the lantern post will interfere with your rig’s awning if you do not pay attention to where you are parking. The lake is great for swimming and, I am told, great for fishing, but I never caught anything! There are two pull through sites in the White Oak section and we saw several large rigs, in the 38’-39’ range in the back-in sites. The dump station is conveniently located adjacent to the restroom/shower building. The lake side sites do not have water and electric hook-ups and are mainly for tents. There are many hiking trails in the park and a restaurant overlooking the lake. The town of Clifton Forge has two supermarkets and is only 6 miles from the park. We plan to go back many times. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2005
$21
At the time we visited this park it was the fall of the year and the leaves were at their peak. Each campsite is level and gives plenty of privacy. This whole park is well maintained and the lake is beautiful. There are plenty of hiking trails and bike trails. It was very peaceful and relaxing. We stayed at Beaver Dam campground that was next to a state road; however, there were very few cars that went by the whole weekend so that was not a problem. White Oak campground has very private sites; however it is closed part of the year and there is a length restriction for travel trailers because of a drag going across the bridge into the campground. We will definitely be returning to this campground in the future. This campground would be a 10 if it had full hook-ups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$23
We camped here right before the July 4th weekend and had a great time in spite of the rain (every afternoon)! We stayed in the White Oak loop - by far the nicest if you are in a MH. Most sites were occupied by tents or popups, with a few travel trailers. We only saw one other MH. We looked at the sites on the lake. They are small, packed together, and no hookups, but if you have a conoe or want to fish, it is a great location. We also looked at sites at the Beaver Falls CG. It has a little less shade than White Oak, and more crowded. The entrance to White Oak CG is over a narrow, low water bridge. We did not drag as we pulled out of the bridge and up the slope, but it is obvious from the asphalt that lots of people do scrape as they enter. Our site was level, shaded, and backed up to a steep slope with the creek down below. Our son enjoyed going up and down the slope and playing in the creek. The park is dog and bike friendly. There is a fee for dogs and there are bikes for rent if you don't bring your own. We were there for three nights and could have stayed many more before we felt we had truly explored the park. We plan to go again in the fall! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$18
One of our favorite campgrounds...large, spacious, landscaped sites, paved roads, stocked trout streams and lake (in season) and even a kids only stocked trout stream. It is very beautiful and well maintained. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$25
This State Park is gorgeous! The place is manicured. It has a lovely lake, lifeguards on duty, stocked campstore and nice restaurant. The campground for the tenters is lakefront and the larger trailers have a beautiful wooded area, although the road is a little tight and it took a little effort to get our 5th wheel backed in. Many hiking trails throughout the mountains and boat rentals are available as well. Very lovely place. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$17
Park has 40+ miles of hiking trails, fishing -- both lake and stream, fire grills, playgrounds, dump stations and a camp store. Clifton Forge is an interesting small town filled with friendly enjoyable folks. We've stayed at the park 3 times and have throughly enjoyed each time. Virginia charges $3.00 per day/per dog. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2000
$18
One of our favorites. This park has three different campgrounds (A, B, and C). A is lake front without any hookups. These are beautiful sites but you must dry camp. B is our favorite because it is fairly close to the lake but also level. C is located on top of a hill with nice views. All are shaded. This park offers a restaurant, lodge, cabins, fishing, boating, mountain biking, hiking, fishing, lake swimming and lots of scheduled activities. Virginia has a well run state park system. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com