206534 User submitted reviews online!!
Claytor Lake State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (540) 643-2500
CGID3041

Claytor Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
126
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   6   6   9   9   8   9   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$31
Claytor Lake State Park is a lovely, well maintained state park along a mountain lake. The RV campground is essentially a large gravel field with a few trees and campsites in rows of diagonal pull through sites. Our site was level and the electricity was convenient. They have water, but it had not been turned yet on when we were there March 6. They were very upfront about the water being turned off for the winter both on-line and over the phone. We had snow the night we were there, so I guess they have a good reason for turning off the water at the sites. The rest rooms were immaculate and heated. There are dirt and paved paths down to the boat and swimming areas along the lake. A very pretty spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$27
We stayed 2 nights in Campground D which has electric & water, some pull-through sites & a dump station. We were in a Class B RV, but larger units didn't seem to have any problem maneuvering or setting up; sites were level, shaded, mostly gravel, and pull-through sites were about 33 feet wide. Bathrooms and showers were fine, if not quite as roomy as some other Virginia State Parks. A very nice trail system is connected to campground, and rental boats are available at the marina. There is also a Wi-Fi Hotspot at the Conference Center next to the marina. AT&T cell service was good from the campground, too. Like many Virginia State Parks, there are also camping cabins and lodges available for rent. Firewood was $5 a bundle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$38
We stayed here overnight on our way back from Maine. A nice state park. We were not able to take advantage of the lake and other resort facilities here. Sites were level, but not paved and easy to get around. Camp hosts were friendly and helpful. I could not understand the up charge of $5 for our small dog. We would probably stay here again for an overnight stop We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$28
We stayed in this park overnight while traveling on I-81. It is just 3 miles off the interstate. Sites we saw were large, clean, and flat. The fact that the park has its own interstate exit suggests that the park is very popular in warmer weather. There were few others here the night we stayed. We thought the rate of $28.35 a night for water and electric was high for a rural state park. Also, the upcharge for each pet is outrageous, and we avoid staying in Virginia state parks for that reason. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
We camped here on a beautiful weekend when the campground was near capacity. We were in Campground D. The site was big and very flat. Hookups were well clear to avoid hitting them. The sites are a bit close to each other. The park provides a brochure on entering of what activities are taking place at the park that weekend...very informative. there is no wi-fi but I was able to pull in 2 bars on AT@T to check email. Did not try the TV. About 1/4 mile down to the lake but there are good hiking paths to get there. Big beach and lots of picnic areas around the beach area. Only drawback is that you cannot reserve a particular spot, you just pick one on arrival; not that there are any scenic views of the lake. They say 4 PM is the check in but when we got there at 4:05 we were told we were the last to check in. Our neighbor checked in at 10:30, so I guess it doesn't matter. Did not check out the showers or restrooms. Really nice dump area for the RV with 2 adjacent dump sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$27
Loved this place. If I am ever in this area I'd stay here. Nice walking trails, beautiful lake, relaxed atmosphere. Just perfect. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
This was the first park I have been to where you chose your own sites. The area we were in was little more open than I would have liked. Sort of felt like we were parked in a parking lot. The beach area is great! The kids loved swimming in the lake. Beach was very clean. The area hiking trails were also very nice. We stayed only one night on our way to Nashville. If we were in the area again, I would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
This a very nice state park, clean and well kept with well defined trails, a marina, and a very nice lakefront swimming area. The CG has four sections, three with no hookups and section D, where we stayed with W/E. As noted before, this section is a little "commercial" like than most of Virginia's parks but the sites were a reasonable distance apart, fairly level, clean, and the hookups were conveniently located. If you are planning to stay on a summer weekend I strongly suggest you make reservations. The state of VA insists on charging $5 per night per pet (with a $15 per pet maximum) so our rate reflects the site plus pet charge. Overall, a very nice state park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$26
This park should have received a higher rating except for a couple of problems. The electrical sites are in loop D. We were very fortunate in that we got one of the loop D sites there that were not side-by-side, so we were fine. However, most of the loop D sites look more like a commercial CG than a state park. They were pretty much lined up in row. The other ironic issue is that the last night we were there, there were dogs barking all night. This is ironic because the park charges a big extra charge if you have a pet (we did not). The barking, which we had heard earlier in the day, was coming from housing within the park, presumably a park employee. The park has some nice trails and the lake is beautiful. It is too bad that the cabins are along the lake but the CG is set well back into the woods. You can rent boats to go out on the lake. The park is now charging a 5 dollar fee for making a reservation. This is on top of the fee charged by the reservation service. We would stay there again, but would question the dog issue. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$26
Our idea of a "perfect" park. Large, level, and spacious sites. Trimmed with landscape timbers and filled in with stone dust. Great hiking trails, wonderful lake. Very quiet and tranquil. We are planning on returning soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Beautiful campground! Neatly manicured, nicely laid out. Spacious, level sites with fire rings and picnic table at each site. Older but clean bathrooms and showers. Very nice and can't wait to go back and visit again for a longer stay. State of VA does well if all their state parks are this nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
This was one of the nicest state parks I have camped in. The park has three sections that accommodate different size camping needs. We were in Loop D which was a pull through section. The spots were big and level with water and electric hook-ups. The camp host was very friendly and regularly making rounds. The campground sets back off the lake but is only a short walk via the road or trails. The lake features a swimming area with changing rooms and concession stand. There is a full service marina with boat rentals. Several different coves within walking distance have docks and easy bank acess for fishing. There is a Wal-Mart 10 minutes away in Dublin. This campground has a high dollar feel with a state park price. Will return many times in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$21
You cannot go wrong with Virgina State Parks, award winning. Claytor Lake is more like a Country Club. While big RVers might not get their full hook-up, it is a small sacrifice for the beautiful lake, convenience to I-81, clean bath houses, level sites with nice picnic tables, lantern stands and fire pits. Boat rentals and hiking, the State Park is a great stop! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
Nice sites no matter where you set up. The camp host was very friendly and helpful as well as all the state park staff. Short walk or drive to the beach access to Claytor Lake. Not the typical VA State Park. Pets are allowed but be ready for a $10 per pet, per night charge for them. So if you have 2 or more dogs the per night charge could get fairly expensive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
We could pick our own campsite. Very level and wide back-in spots. Each campsite was very private. Lovely campground with hiking trails, a marina, boats for rent and a white sand beach. Very nice indeed. Would have liked to spend more time here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
Well secured property, plenty to do. The area was very clean. Do feel like the site I was on was a bit too rocky to be rented as a tent site but other than that I was pleased and will return. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
We go here every year and very much enjoy our stay. The beach area is very clean and is monitored by life guards. They have a new paved trail from the campground down to the lake which is nice (don't have to ride bikes on road). The campground is quiet and shady. The bath house is always very clean. The lake is beautiful and there are plenty of nice areas for fishing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
We love this campground! We visit this campground several times a year and it is always great. The kids can ride their bikes even though there are gravel areas. The hiking trails are nice also. The sites are very level and roomy. The bathrooms are older but clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
Very nice campground no problems except not enough sites with water and electric for campers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
Beautiful park. Worth the price. The lake was too cold for swimming but would be nice in warmer weather with a "beach". Would go again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$24
This is a lovely state park that sits on a large lake with it's own marina and sandy beach swimming area. The campground is located in a wooded area up the hill from the rest of the park so none of the campsites are actually on the water or really even lake view (well, maybe a little peek through the trees). We stayed in campground D which is where the hookups are located. You pretty much need a reservation to get in this section on the weekends. The way it works is you make a reservation for either a water/electric or standard site and then chose your own site from what's available when you get there. The sites have been marked off and are covered with some kind of gravel and has a picnic table with a fire ring and lantern post on the site. We stayed on D36 which was large enough that we were able to fit our 19' trailer with awning, 2 vehicles and equipment with no problem. There is a bath house right there which from what I remember seemed clean enough. This is a really safe and quiet place to camp and is closely monitored by the rangers. Maybe a little too closely. We were up late just sitting there quietly watching our campfire and the rangers kept riding by our site very slowly and were watching us closely like we were doing something wrong. We weren't breaking any rules at all. It got to the point that we were pretty annoyed by it and it really took away from our camping enjoyment. Other people I know that camp here have told me similar stories so this seems to be the norm here. For that reason I gave this campground a little lower score. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$32
Great family campground. The state park and lake are beautiful. Very friendly staff and great security. Immaculate bathrooms. There is no pool, but the park has playgrounds, walking trails, a nice marina, and a sandy beach at the swimming area on the lake. I believe the swimming area admission is extra fee. No water-view sites, but close to the lake. The sites are very level, easy access, and a generously sized. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$20
Claytor Lake State Park is a nice well kept park. Our site was not very private, but large enough. We stayed in the no hookups area, since the sites with hookups were full, and were glad we did. The hookup area is pretty tight. The bathrooms were always clean and there are plenty of showers. The lake has a beautiful swimming area and boat rentals of many types. This park is also really easy to get to, being only 2 miles off of route 81. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$23
Beautiful lake and mountain views. There is a wonderful sandy beach area. There was a problem with the electrics. The breaker kept tripping. It was not our TT as everything worked fine at the next park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2005
$23
Beautiful state campground. We camped with 31' fifth wheel. Pull through campsite was wide and spacious. Each campsite had a very nice picnic table and two lantern stands. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$23
Very nice campground staff is extra friendly as were the host campers. Our site was right on the edge of the woods and quite secluded. Very good hiking and fishing. Sights were large and level with a fire pit, picnic table ,and 2 lantern posts. We will visit many times. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$23
Excellent State park. Large back in sites and some pull throughs will accommodate up to 35' units. Beautiful lake with sand beach with lifeguards from Memorial day through Labor day. Marina that rents kayaks, jon boats, and even large pontoon boats. The lake is great for water skiing and tubing. Restrooms were clean and they also have a dump station. Nature programs offered daily through out the summer. Sites were large gravel pads and included oversize picnic table and fire ring with built in grill. Numerous local television stations came in clearly with the trailer antenna. I would definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$20
Large sites with plenty of room between spaces. Level, graveled sites and roads. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$15
Sites are gravel and level. Campground sites are currently being updated with new picinic tables and lantern posts. Campground has large lake with marina. Lots of water sports for the entire family. Park is very active! Park is well supervised and is patrolled 24 hours. Friendly staff - everyone makes you feel welcome. This campground fills up fast and reservations are required. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com