206518 User submitted reviews online!!
Front Royal RV Campground was rated 4 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (540) 635-2741
CGID3049

Front Royal RV Campground

Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   7   9   3   4   7   1   1   2   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
This place suffers from what can best be described as "ex-KOA syndrome." A number of parks have given up KOA affiliation because of the franchise costs. This one, unfortunately, was acquired by someone who did not undo all the Kampground of America stuff, including the name of the private road on which it's located, and some of the interior signage. It's not helped by the fact that the current owners appear to be an Asian couple who barely speak English. Cell phone signals are just about nonexistent in this part of the Blue Ridge, and the same is true of broadcast TV. But there's no cable TV here, and the wi-fi server the park owners mentioned was not usable. Fair enough: you don't go camping to watch TV or fiddle on Facebook, but we were here during a week of horrible weather, coupled with the federal government shutdown, and some news from the outside world would have been welcome. But digging deeper, there are some real maintenance issues with this park, and some dubious claims made in their advertising. The "meeting room" or whatever you'd call it appears not to have been used in years. The mini-golf course is a wreck. I doubt that either the water slide or swimming pool are operational in-season, and the pool was yucky and only partially drained. We stayed here a week, and the roadside trash cans that were full when we arrived were twice as full when we left. "Mister" owner seemed to be very eager to check out each RV site, almost as soon as the campers had turned the corner around the office to leave, yet there was trash left sitting in some of the tent-camping sites for days. It sounds cynical, but it almost seemed as though the owner was checking the RV sites in the hope of finding that someone had left behind something valuable that he could, um acquire for himself. Grounds maintenance is a shambles. There's not nearly enough ground cover, whether vegetation or gravel, so we were up to our ankles in muck. Some discarded bits of the railroad ties that mark off the campsites were underfoot, and the spikes holding the existing ties were sticking out of the ground. I spent some time correcting the tripping hazards just in our campsite. None of the water standpipes has a back-flow preventer (anti-siphon device), which I believe is a violation of the state health code. And the openings for the sewer hookups are about an inch below ground level! When I opened our sewer cap, I had to wait for a few gallons of standing groundwater to flow INTO the pipe before I could attach the hose from my coach. All this is a real shame, because the underlying layout of the park is quite nice (although you do drive through a dairy farm to get to it.) This place could be rehabbed into a very nice RV park by someone willing to close sections of it and re-do all the site work, but I don't think this current owner is that person. He seemed to stay very busy, but it wasn't obvious that he was accomplishing anything. Someone shoot me if I ever stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
Many people would give this park less than a 7 however, I was very happy here. We have a 43 foot motor home and granted the sites on the hill top were too small for our rig, I would not have been happy there at all. In fact we were, then we asked to move to a site on the bottom of the hill. I am so glad it was open. Site number 1 was large, flat, on the end, and shaded, but we got our satellite to work. Site 1 faced the sewer dump station, but that got very little use and was not a problem in any way. I think sites 2, 3 and 4 would have been ok also. It did only have 30 amps and it was real hot out (93 degrees), so we had to rotate our AC's and used the diesel hot water instead of electric, but we were close to a large pool in which I loved. It is located just outside of the Shenandoah Park which is real nice, since that is what we were here for. The people are friendly. We signed in for 2 nights but wound up staying 4 nights. The park was a KOA, it is becoming a little run down, but for me it was just fine: due to our site and the pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
Accommodating owner. Lovely, well maintained campground. The sites were shaded, fairly level, and descent size. There were no seasonal residents. It also had a store with limited supplies. This campground was very close to the northern entry to the Skyline Dr. as was the town of Front Royal. Washington DC was 70 miles away. Only drawback was campground allowed non-campers use of pool for a fee. Slow time of year. Beware if you use map quest directions they are confusing. Stay on 340s as it turns into Stonewall Jackson Hwy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2012
$10
This RV park is nothing more than a heaven for old retired RV's that need to be put in a place to be recycle. Most all of the junk there belongs to homesteaders. A lot of the trailers are unlicensed or their inspections are expired. This place is an eye sore. There was no cable TV and Wi-Fi (that you pay for)as it was not working most of the time. I will say security personnel are very helpful and friendly. I doubt if I will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$32
Former KOA that is not in good shape. Assigned a very poor spot. We changed to another that was almost level. Doors to shower and bathroom left open for bugs and leaves. Would not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
We were skeptical in staying at this park based on the reviews. We had planned on staying at another nearby camp. but the owner of the other place gave us horrible directions and didn't answer the phone when we called back less than an hour later. It was late in the evening so we saw the entrance to Front Royal and pulled in. You could tell right away that the place is slowly being brought back to what it once was. The 350ft slide is so overgrown it may never work again; the pool, however, was re-done, clean and quite large. What impressed us the most was the immaculate and beautiful landscaping. The owner was out on the grounds working in the evening when we showed up and first thing in the morning when we left, trimming, mowing, weeding, you name it. I didn't see much of a staff except the middle aged couple who run the place. You can tell they are doing their best to make the place as clean and nice as possible. Not a small task as the place is quite large and was once what seems to be a small resort. The campground was almost empty, and therefore, probably doesn't allow for them to be able to hire more staff and afford better upgrades. What they do provide like the beautiful grounds, great swimming pool, clean yet dated restrooms, separate shower rooms, and the most adorable small log cabin rentals are well worth going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$43
We made reservations and showed up thinking " Oh how great to go through a farm to get there!" Had to stop twice for cows in the middle of the road. We got to the top gate and to find a run down, beat down old KOA campground. We thought something was odd that there were hardly anyone else there in the middle of peak season! The guy at check in was rude when we asked questions. Even the office was dirty. We told him we wanted to actually see our site before we stayed. The site we reserved was supposed to be big enough for a 35 foot, and we are 30. Well a pop up might fit, but not us. He wouldn't let us change sites even know there was only a couple other campers there. We were glad to leave! I really do hope someone cleans up this campground. It would be a total waste to let it go. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2011
$40
This CG is beat. No one staying here. We were 1 of 2 rigs. Pool water is green. Benches broken. Picnic tables broken. No exterior lighting. Scary. On top of a mountain. Single lane driveway for access. From Rt. 340 there is a major rise to driveway which may/has scraped many a vehicle. Deep scrapes in road attest to this. No Verizon cell or internet service. Paid way too much. No 50 amps. Only 30 amps. Not returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2011
$38
This campground was once a nice place I am sure. The people at the desk were very friendly. It is very run down. When we arrived we were the only ones here but as people came they were placed next to us. This place has many sites and we were all put into a bunch. Leaving some space would have been the right thing to do. No real amenities were available but the store and the laundry, we didn't need the rest rooms. The beautiful view and country made it worth while. Such a shame this could be a great place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$42
Only the bold should try to get a motorhome, 5th wheel, or trailer larger than 28' into this park. The entrance and internal roads not good. Looks like it was once very nice campground, now gone to ruin with lack of maintenance and care. However the staff was very friendly, they just don't seem to have the workers to get this back in proper order. The showers were individual with locking doors that didn't work well. Not as clean as it should have been. The view on top of mountain is great and the distance to the Skyline Drive is wonderful. If you don't need facilities and are not staying more than a few days, this would be OK. Hope this park can be returned to it's prior condition in future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$43
This was a clean and family oriented campground. Even though the campground was full, we never felt crowded. The bathhouses were clean and supplied with toilet paper at all times. I would recommend this campground. The only thing that should be taken off the advertisement about the campground is that the waterslide is no longer operational. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$01
Avoid this place like the Swine Flu. Starting with a 300' 30% grade driveway from the street, there is only a single one-lane road in and out, and a 10' cliff on one side through private farms. They have a Zero Bus Policy (tour buses included), all radios and campfires must be extinguished by 10:30pm. This campground has been run-down for a long time. The pool and hot-tub were empty with algae growing on the walls. The water slide had trees growing over and out of it. Wi-Fi was slower than dial-up AOL. Site parking pad and road pavement has deteriorated so bad it is just gravel with weeds growing out of it. The dog walk was nothing more than an overgrown (like the rest of the park) patch of poison ivy. The only good thing I can say is that although unhelpful, the owners seemed pleasant in my 10mins total talking with them. Pulled in at 8pm, out at 10am. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2008
$45
Beautiful RV park to stay at if you do not need any of the facilities as it is getting run down. The playground was rickety. One kid put his foot through a decaying board. The water slide needs work. My son used the showers and ran out of hot water even though he was the only one using it! My daughter had the same happen to her the next day! On the plus side, the Internet worked and the owners are very nice and friendly. We thought that $45 for 2 adults and 2 teens was a bit much for what they offered. A warning for those who's RV are considered long. On both Friday and Saturday...there were dozens of TT and motorhomes that came into the campground only to complain their site was not large enough. Evidently, the owners try to really squeeze the big ones in when they do not really fit. We witnessed a lot of frustrated and mad campers driving around looking for a space large enough to accommodate them. A few ended up leaving. We will not come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2008
$42
We were so delighted to secure a spot for the Memorial Day weekend. Boy were we disappointed! Once upon a time, this was a nice place. The views are absolutely lovely. The mature plants are lovely although overgrown. The pool's water was about 2 feet low which meant the filtration system wasn't running but we were told it was open to campers. I hope nobody caught any bacterial infections! We were told they burnt up one of their pumps filling the pool. This was a holiday weekend! One would think a load of water could have been obtained. The playground was old, needed repairs and contained splintered wood. Also, the free WiFi didn't work until our "neighbor" asked if he could look at it. He fixed it within minutes. The bathroom wasn't disgusting but not clean either. We didn't see any staff around other than the couple (we assume the owners) in the store. We did see a sheriff drive through one evening. This was the only time I saw any type of security. There weren't even parking passes to hang from your mirror. Other than the actual campsites with the full hook-ups, everything else was overgrown with weeds. On a good note, this was a family place, mostly families with children or older folks. It was definitely not a party place. There was no loud noise, cursing, or anything like that. We definitely would not come here again. It's a shame because like I said, the views are spectacular and we were able to get a cell phone signal. I'm surprised they are able to maintain their Good Sam Park standing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2008
$50
This place is overpriced & not a fun place. The swimming pool slide is broken & the pancake breakfast doesn't happen. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2006
$28
This park should be reviewed under the new name and ownership--Front Royal RV Campground. Information now updated. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2006
$28
This is the former KOA campground, listed also in Front Royal. We stayed here based on an ad in a brochure which looked promising. We were sorely disappointed. Read the reviews for the KOA owners in 2003 which said work needed to be done. It is now 2006 and the new owners are in their 2nd year and yet little has changed. Some things can't be changed: the entrance to the campground off Rte 340 is steep and gouges in the pavement attest to the many trailer who have dragged their hitches making the turn and steep grade. The sites are somewhat narrow and many not level. (A bit of gravel fill here and there would work wonders.) We were attracted to several "features" like a water slide, hot tub, and pancake breakfast on Saturday AM. The water slide is starting to separate at seams and is becoming unsteady; the hot tub is not always full, nor on (advertised as 10-10, but often not turned on until late afternoon; and the pancake breakfast was not held because "we tried it twice and not many came, so we quit." Men's room has 3 stalls, but one is closed for repairs. Showers gave either hot or cold, but no mix. The handicapped shower didn't even come on. Plus several of the shower doors won't close and lock. As we sat on the deck of the pool, we noticed wasps buzzing and heading under the decks. They were also flying into cracks in roofs of pump house and arcade. One camper noticed large hives developing. I went into the arcade and found an air hockey game, skip ball and video game. None seemed functional. This campground has a lot of potential but needs a strong dose of maintenance. On the plus side the camp store was well stocked and the owners very willing to help with reservations or suggestions for places to visit. But they need to put people on the ground fixing plumbing, getting rid of pests, making safety checks. Their web site promises much, but does not deliver. There is NO Wi-Fi, bus service,or movie room, and the restrooms were not clean nor operating well. The laundry room had a problem and the owner tried to fix it and gave up because it was hot in the room. My wife has already stated she would not go back. I would like to visit and see if improvements have been made in a year or so. If not, this place will probably change hands again. Location is excellent for the National Park, canoeing, or visiting Civil War sites, but the amenities are lacking and it is not worth the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2005
$28
This campground is no longer a KOA. It's an OK campground for a short stay and hopefully the new owners will make some improvements. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$45
First camping trip in our 32 foot fifth wheel. Quiet campground although the sites are very close together. Beware if you have a big rig that it is very tight getting in and out of all roads in the campground. Would go back if nothing else available in the area. We paid about 90$ for two nights, 3 adults, 2 kids. Country Way down the road a few miles has much bigger sites and significantly cheaper. We road threw both Country Way c/g and Yogi Bear c/g, both nicer campgrounds in our opinion. Yogi Bear probably comparible in price but sites a little bigger and more for the kids. Country Way quiet large sites with good views. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$42
This park has promise, but needs major work. The entrance from the highway is poorly marked and gives you little advanced warning. The interior roads and campsites are poorly designed for larger rigs; if you have a reasonably sized motorhome or travel trailer you will find navigation of the campground a real challenge. Overall the facilities are past their prime and need to be updated both functionally and cosmetically. Too bad the owners can't make better use of the beautiful pastures that you have to drive through once you leave the main road to get to the park entrance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2002
$36
Nice facilities, but not a very impressive campground. Narrow sites, very few of which level, and tight access in and out all over the campground. Most amenities are extra charge, even including modem access! Would work for a stopover, but not very impressive overall. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com