224137 User submitted reviews online!!
Thousand Trails / Chesapeake Bay was rated 8 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (804) 693-6924
CGID3050

Thousand Trails / Chesapeake Bay

Camp Information
Sites
373
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   10   10   9   10   9   10   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$1
The rate reflects TT membership. The sites are nice and level and the staff is friendly. Some power fluctuations and water pressure was good. Staff worked hard when we were there to keep up with work caused by the weather and did a good job keeping the place looking good. Wi-Fi in the sites is nonexistent--had to go to the clubhouse and even there was slow. Interior roads are easily traversed with car and big rig. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$1
Rate is based on TT membership. What a nice campground. 2 new pools, indoor hot tub, new pickleball court. The sites and grounds are really well maintained. Half the roads are dirt and fires are permitted. Best ice cream at the cg store. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$5
Rate is a member rate. Without a doubt, the biggest draw here is the Piankatank River which borders the campground to the north. The park’s marina is especially busy on weekends. There are two nice pools plus a big sauna. There’s also a challenging mini-golf course. The tennis courts have been pretty much taken over by “Pickleball” players. This game is a cross between ping-pong and tennis and is way more active and challenging than you might think. The sites are pretty level and provide a reasonable amount of space. If you want to have a view of the river during the busy summer season you’ll have to arrive mid-week. Also, there are a lot of seasonal residents here, but they seem to like E-loop which is across the lake from the rest of the campground. A minor negative is that the campground is a long way out in the country. The nearest Walmart is 15 miles to the south and the biggest local draw, Colonial Williamsburg, is around 40 miles distant. Then again, for most people, this is the destination rather than a place to stay while visiting the area. Be sure to visit the camp store and get an ice cream. Warning: you only want one “scoop.” The serving is huge and two of you might just want to split a single scoop! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$0
We enjoyed this park thoroughly. Large sites on the river, very level with gravel. Hookups were arranged sensibly. Really nice lake, and plenty of boating access. Very quiet and nice neighbors. Camp store is only open weekends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$1
Great variety in types of sites. From secluded woodsy getaway sites to clusters of long-term neighborhoods, variety abounds. Verizon Wireless coverage is good, but only 3G. Good camp store. Only negative is that the toilets serving B and C section don't flush well, and require two cycles to get the job done. They may be early-version low water devices, or legacy fixtures that have been converted to low consumption units. Regardless, they all need replacing. This caused a Sunday morning surprise as all fixtures were unusable due to leftovers from previous patrons. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$1
Thoroughly enjoyed my stay! Lot's of amenities. The dogs had a wonderful time on the trails, as well as my bike. I hope to return within the next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$20
Such a beautiful place, overlooking the river. Great public spaces. We paid with RPI membership. Convenient to Jamestown, Williamsburg and Yorktown. Gloucester is lovely. Has an excellent Thai restaurant. Couldn't have asked for a nicer place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Can't say enough: the staff and facilities are superb! Beautiful clean pools: adult and children's. Fishing is exceptional on the property and at nearby Beaver Dam park. Very cheap all day boat, motor, and battery rentals: $30.00. Big rigs are no problem and there are plenty of open sky sites for satellite. We'll go back for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$3
Rate for 50AMP, TTN. The rating is for attitude. Our first contact was via the radio at the gate and the ranger was snotty. When he came to the gate for check-in he was surly and full of himself and offered NO help about where to look for a site. He gave me a map and pointed out the Yellow Section. There are many 50AMP full hookup sites and we were told there was lots of room, just drive through and take your pick. The first section we drove through had very little to chose from. The second area was okay but we only arrived there after having to drive the truck and trailer through the first area looking for a site. Once we were set up we went back to the office to give them the site # and get the 50AMP unlocked. When we asked the ranger why he sent us into an area with not sites available he smart mouthed back and asked me how he was supposed to know. The adult pool was closed for repairs, supposed to re-open 7-22. There was junk (trashed TV) laying on the ground at the rear of our site and when we asked to have it removed the same ranger was very discourteous. The other campers were friendly and helpful. The site was gravel, grass and mostly level. We would return here, in spite of the ranger we encountered. Usually we find staff at TTN CG's very friendly and helpful so discovering one who isn't was a surprise. This is a very family friendly CG and in good condition. Laundry room was clean but the per load price a bit higher than other CG's. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$1
Rate is for TT member. Pool not open for the season yet. $3 upcharge for 50AMP. WiFi in lodge only. Hot tub open. Campground on Piankatank River and on private lake. Boat ramp with dock. Paddle boats on lake. Stayed 3 weeks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$1
Stayed in the E section which is more wooded than the other areas. Many full-timers and extended stay folks while I was there. Clean and well maintained bathhouses. Pools were closed, but spa was working well. Trading post is closed Mon and Tues., but well stocked. Laundry is clean and well maintained. Ponds were low, but heavy rains at the end of my stay brought them up to overflow level and were draining out the overflow pipes. Turtles could be seen popping their heads up out of the water, and several were basking in the sun on a raft. Major upgrades to the sewage treatment plant are in the works, and the few sites with electrical issues are scheduled for repair during the off season. Enjoyed site E-26, with dinette view of the river. Squirrels bombed my camper roof with acorns and chestnuts! Ann's Restaurant (17 & 198) has good home style cooking, and about 20 miles south on Rt. 17 is Ginnys Place in Hayes Plaza, Hayes, VA - great seafood buffet. Lots of shopping in Gloucester, VA. Wal-Mart super center, Food Lion Grocery Store to name a few. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$0
This was our 3rd year coming to this campground, and we call it our "favorite" place to visit. Facilities are kept clean, sites are nice size, and people are friendly (staff and guests). Adult pool, family pool, baby pool plus a spa are all in great condition. There is access to swim in the river but the depth is shallow. Pier for fishing and crabbing. Only complaints would be TV reception, need Verizon cell phone, and the store and game room run on shortened hours during the week yet the occupancy seemed to be high. Weekends are busier and many more golf carts on the roads. But 98% are driven by responsible folks who obey the rules and speed limits. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$1
This is the third time we've stayed here. This is a really good park. Great pools (3 of them), friendly staff, quiet. The TV reception continues to be bad, but we have worked around that. There are plenty of wide flat campsites, and they've upgraded many of the sites to 50 amp, from our visit last year. This is one of our favorite "go to" locations, and we'll definitely come back. The staff really work at maintaining this park. I only marked the cost as 1$ because it wouldn't take 0. It's a member preserve. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$1
This remains one of our favorite Thousand Trails parks. This year we enjoyed the river while boating with family. We loved the newly updated 50 amps sites. We enjoyed the many activities this park offers. The seasonal campers are some of the friendliest we've encountered. The manager is wonderful. We will continue to have this park on our short list of favorite places to come back to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$6
The park it self was nice and yes there are "river front" sites, IF some one didn't get there first and put there name or a bag of some sort over the electric hook ups to say that they had "reserved" the site. Even though reserving sites at 100 trials "aren't allowed" per the camp rangers. After finding a empty site by the river we found someones name on the electric box, even with NO signs of any type that anyone was there the office said that someone was there. So we drove around for approx one hour looking for a site in a 37 foot motorhome. Once we found our site it was further back from the river than I wanted but was level and ok. The entertainment at night was nice, they had a DJ and dancing. They have river front no real beach area but an open grassy area that you can sit by the river and enjoy the scenery. Would we stay there again? Maybe, but not at the expense of a membership to 1000 Trails. I am not a fan of the "you can't reserve a site". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$3
This is a very nice preserve. We stayed in the 50 Amp "C" section which offers very wide flat sites. Lots of activities, and lots of friendly people. The only problem we had was that we couldn't get any TV stations. Finally with some help we were told to try rotating the mast 180 degrees. That worked, and we got a few TV stations. I think you really need a dish to get any reception here. Normally we pick up everything on our TV. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$10
This is a wonderful and active park. The two pools and hot tub are in excellent condition and well cared for. This park is well cared for. This is our second visit to this park and will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$1
This is a membership park but we tried it out for free as part of a promotion. I only wish it wasn't a membership park because I really enjoyed it. The pools were great. There were three, a kiddie pool, a adult pool and a regular pool. They were well kept. They also had a beach for swimming as well in the river/sound. My kids enjoyed this because they could swim and fish at the same time. The tent sites were slim being this campground was designed for bigger RV's but they were shady and nice. This campground had several other ponds for fishing also. We also rented a golf cart which was nice to drive around the trails that was designed for them, we loved it! The staff was friendly as well. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$11
Thousand trails needs to put some money into this place. The pool needs to be updated. Hot tub needs repairs. Sites need to be improved. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$34
One of my Favorite campgrounds and I am not even a member yet. Thats will change in the process of purchasing a membership to 1000 trails. This is a very kid friendly resort. Great water access...They do not nickel dime you to death every for extra kids, pets, paddle boats, Canoes, Putt Putt Golf. Of course if you have a thousand trails membership there is no cost besides your yearly maintenance fee and of course what ever you paid for the membership. This is by far not the most fancy campground away but what the do is provide a safe fun place to go camping with family and friends old and new.. If you get a chance check it out!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$1
We came here on a "Free Weekend" marketing deal, and ended up buying a membership. We had an absolutely perfect weekend here. The preserve has a variety of sites, from waterfront, to open, to wooded. There are a lot of activities, and the campstore is well stocked. The staff and other campers were very friendly and always had a smile and a "hello". We are lucky to have this preserve close to home for us, and will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$1
This is the most crowded Thousand Trails that we have visited in this state, and after visiting, we can see why. The place is nicely maintained, the staff is superb and the facilities are full of activities for the young and the old. We had a site right on the river the view alone made this worth the trip. Our children loved this place and begged to return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$36
This is a membership park. The preserve is right on the beautiful Piankatank River. The sites are big and many have either a partial river or lake view. WiFi internet is available in the lodge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$1
Great 5 night stay at a wonderful Thousand Trails preserve. Weather was very comfortable - even used heat the first night, then remaining 4 nights had windows open! Stayed on E-9 on the Piankatank River, enjoying the view, watching the boaters and loving the breeze off the water. Enjoyed both the pool and spa during my stay and even enjoyed the food service Thursday night dinner. Pool will remain open until water temperature drops below 75 degrees - so I've been told. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$2
We enjoyed our stay. Nice park with separate pools for adults and families. Recreation room and nice adult lodge in main lodge. On the river. Our space had 50 amp, a table and fire ring. Nice place to be to tour Colonial Williamsburg, Yorktown, and Jamestown. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$38
Beautiful Preserve on the Piankatank River. 373 full hook up sites, some open field, some wooded. Cabins, and deluxe cabins available too. Three pools (adult only, family and baby pool) all clean and well cared for. Restrooms were clean and stocked. My grandson and my 20 yr old daughter loved the game room, mini golf and of course the pool. I too enjoyed the pool this visit and as we had gotten a wooded site in the E section, I rented a golf cart for my daughter's use in getting to the pool - it was worth it! Friendly, helpful personnel. There are seasonal sites available too. We enjoyed our stay. There is a Food Lion grocery store about 5 miles from the preserve, and south on 17 in Gloucester is a Walmart Super Center. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$42
Beautiful location, several lakes and river frontage. My weekend was just after re-opening from winter, store was open and remodeling. Looks like it will be well stocked when they are finished. Bike rentals, golf cart rental. Propane filled 8-8:30 and 3-3:30 daily. All sites (except tent) were full hookup. The "D" Section was the only section open when I visited. They have on-site RV storage, as well as a storage area. Nice beach and swimming area, pier and boatlaunch are well maintained. There's a game room, basketball, shuffleboard, mini golf, 2 pools (family and adult), adult lounge, spa, pavillion and I'm sure more that I've forgotten already. This was their second weekend open, and I don't think the grounds keepers have had a chance to clear fallen leaves, gumballs, but it is a beautiful park. I enjoyed my brief stay and hope to return in better weather (it was cold and windy). I really liked the "E" section, and if I were to return, I'd request a site there. Ranger was really nice (camped next to me) and came by to give a freeze warning - either let the water drip or turn it off! Laundry facilty is very nice - 6 washers, 6 dryers and a triple loader. While it was sunny during my stay, the wind was wicked, and that deterred me from enjoying the park more fully. Some sections of the park evidently lost numerous trees in years past due to bugs or disease, so sites are not as private as they evidently once were - unless you are in the "E" section. One of the lakes features paddleboats and canoes. Best of all - a fenced in area behind the store for our canine family members to exercise. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$35
One of the best Thousand Trails parks we have been to on the East coast. Staff was Very helpful, friendly, with lots of activites for every one. The park has moderate to large mostly level sites with shade trees. Two nice pools (one for famlies, and one for adults only). Restrooms and showers are checked frequently and kept clean and orderly. We have put it on our list of parks worth returning too. Colonial Williamsburg Va. & Busch Gardens theme park are nearby. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$35
Great place to stay staff real friendly and helpful.Lots of walking room 2 pools real large hot tub inside. Store was stocked good. They also have a really nice lodge with modum hook up. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$35
This is a beautiful park in the Thousand Trails system. Some very nice sites on the Piankatank River. Management very friendly and helpful. Nice store. Very clean restrooms and showers. Big rig friendly with back-in sites large enough to get into easily. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com