224343 User submitted reviews online!!
Smith Mountain Lake State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (540) 297-6066
CGID3055

Smith Mountain Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   8   7   10   7   9   8   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$36
We stay here regularly because we like the access to the boat ramp they have. It is heavily covered with tree's so there is no satellite access. The work campers keep the restrooms pretty clean and the campground is clean. We usually come here on the weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
Rangers at check-in were very nice helpful. Campground sites were very clean and roomy. Had back-in and drive-through sites. Bathrooms and showers were very clean. Hiking trails very nice. Can cut fallen wood locally, or can buy. Beach area very nice. Going to the beach requires going in your vehicle. Can ride a bike to the beach but there are a couple of steep hills. Look forward to going again in 2014. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
Nice campground with lots of trees and shade (but no view of the lake). If you have a larger rig, watch the turns; and the entry to some sites due to the tree branches. Roads and campsites are gravel; have tables, light post and fire-rings. Campsites are average-size, a few are pull-through. I did not find any 50-amp service, only 30-amp. No sewer hookups; has a typical campground dump station. Decent TV reception with the antenna. Bath and shower facilities are relatively new and were clean. We had good O/A internet service and Verizon cellphones had great reception. Campground hosts were extremely nice and helpful! NOTE: If traveling from the southeast and you use GPS, DO NOT let it bring you in at Gretna via Climax Road/Toler Ferry Road – this is a long, narrow, rough path. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
Very nice state park, beautiful white sand swimming beach, nice looking rental cabins. Good place to come with a boat (launch ramp in the park). You'll see LOTS of deer and wildlife here. Huge RV campsites, some are long pull-thrus, our 36' fit into a back-in just fine. Very steady power supply with great voltage and good clean water. There are no sewer hookups but there is a decent dump station with water for hose rinse. Our Verizon equipment (cell and personal wifi/mifi) worked great, but AT&T was spotty at best. TV brought in about 20 digital channels over-the-air antenna, good reception. Sat. TV dish will not work in most sites - lots of trees. Cons for this state park: fees, fees, fees. Campsite fees are average (approx $30 for W/E hookup), but separate fees for the swimming area, the boat launch, and a 'parking fee' for visitors (really an entrance fee, paid per car). If you don't mind the fees, it's a great place to visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
Great park! Our stay was just not long enough. Beach area at lake area was very nice. Bathroom facilities clean. Staff friendly and very helpful. We will be back but for a longer stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$32
Beautiful park and campground. No internet available at site. Huge sites, clean restrooms. Did have decent TV reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
Great park. The restrooms are cleaned all day long and into the night. The Discovery Center has so much for the kids to do. Staff keeps them busy learning and having fun. The lake beach is clean and modern with full snack bar, restrooms and lifeguards. Boat ramp and fishing pier. Saw many deer. Boat rentals available (reserve in advance). Wi-Fi at the Discovery center. Sites large, gravel, fairly level, fire ring, tent pads and picnic table. Easy back-ins and pull thru sites. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$23
While this State Park does not have all the bells and whistles the other VA parks have, it is still a nice park in a primo location. Boat rentals are a short drive (Parrot Cove Marina) and there's great dining within a short distance (Bridgewater Plaza). Hiking is good but not challenging, great beach area, and fun canoeing/paddle boats. A day trip to Roanoke is fun to enjoy the historic Farmer's Market, Mill Mountain Star/Zoo, lunch at the historic Hotel Roanoke or shopping at Valley View Mall. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
My wife and I have stayed at SML state park several times and love it. We have stayed here in a tent and a 21 ft travel trailer. The only bad thing I can say about the campground is that there is no sewage hook up, but that is the case with the VA state parks. The clean bathrooms and shower make up for the lack of sewage hookup. At the campground you are surrounded by woods. The camp hosts that we have, had have all been friendly and helpful. If you pay for one night, you get two days of swimming at the beach, which I do recommend. It’s only a short drive within the state park. The trails around the campground seem endless and can be hilly at times; very good for exercise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$29
Rates were high for a state park without sewer. A very personable check-in lady told us to select one of 5-6 pull-throughs. We drove past a few very unlevel sites, then tried out a site. Could not level our 38’ motorhome. Eventually found a long pull-through where we could level. Excellent showers and rest rooms. Water was 200 yards away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
Bathrooms are updated. Beautiful, but crowded lake. Sites are more private than most we've camped at. Beach was nice. But, the camp sites lacked appeal. I didn't care for the layout of the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
We absolutely enjoyed our stay here. The camp site we got was the only pull through that faced out away from the road. The other pull through sites were on the inside of the loop road, meaning that your awning would be facing the road and your fire ring and table were on the other side of your unit. Our site was large enough to accommodate a large class A. However, it was really soft under the wheels and I could see that it had been recently graded. Maybe after a good, dry summer that site will firm-up. The camp hosts did a wonderful job of cleaning and maintaining the camp sites and bathhouse. They were constantly out working on the bathhouse or greeting guests. You will need a vehicle to get around to the beach area. I would estimate that it is about 2 or 3 miles from the camp to the beach. Also, there are some nice hiking trails in the park. We enjoyed the short walk out to Turtle Island which affords a beautiful view of the lake. Nice job, Virginia! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$27
Very nice clean park. We had a pull through site that was relatively level, and plenty of room for our truck to park, as well as additional vehicles if necessary. No problem getting the slide out or the awning. The camp area backed to the woods and you didn't see your neighbors campsites, however the site is backward so your awning and doors are on the opposite side of your campfire/picnic table. We are already planning to come back again next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$24
This ia an award winning CG. Our site was a beautiful, almost level, and wooded pull-through. Noted back-in sites were fairly large. Newer bathhouse with clean restrooms and x-large, private showers. Get there early though as hot water is not quick recovery. Wifi available in the office parking lot. Access to large, protected beach on this awesome, clean 550 mile lake included with camping fees. If you have a boat, take it! World class fishing too. Many hiking trails and CG activities. Ice and firewood available on site. Friendly, helpful staff. Convenience store, propane, and fuel within 3 miles. Make your reservations early. This CG is almost always filled in season. We look forward to our next visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$21
We enjoyed our stay at this park. clean showers, relatively flat, no big grades into or around the park. I would like to see this campground pave the main loop around the campground,as it made for a noisy annoyance while trying to sleep sometimes. I wish you didn't have to drive to get to the many great areas of this park but it was just too spaced out to ride our bicycles any where. overall good park had a great time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$24
My husband and I camp here at least once a month. It is the nicest campground that I have seen to date. The bathrooms are immaculate with upgrades made just this year. The showers are big and very, very clean. There is no pool, but they have a lake, but the down side is that the swimming area closes at 7. The sites are fairly level and shaded. I would highly recommend staying here. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2002
$18
Smith Mountain Lake State Park is one on Virginia's newest state parks yet oddly it lacks many of the amenities of those built in the 30's by the Civilian Conservation Corps. I visited in May 2002 and found the campground was served by two pit privies and a cold rinse shower. The road through the campground was gravel, rutted and rough. The campsites were generally not laid out well and the grass was in need of mowing The campground does not have a view of the magnificent lake. A vehicle is necessary to visit the wonderful beach and visitors center. This could be a great place if Virginia decides it wants to invest in this park. On my visit, this park did not measure up to the standards of other Virginia State Parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com