218863 User submitted reviews online!!
Lee Hi Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (540) 300-1676
CGID3057

Lee Hi Campground

Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   6   7   5   5   7   6   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$36
Long level pull-through gravel sites (on the lower level) behind a truck stop. Water/electric/sewer were fine. Wi-Fi was excellent. Good over the air TV. No picnic table. No shade. Lots of room to walk the dog. Convenient stop for an overnight when traveling. Noise from trucks was not bad. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
This is a basic and convenient park with easy on and off for I81 and within a few miles of Lexington VA which is a wonderful little city with so much history. The pull thru sites are level, with well located utilities, the bath/shower is well located and clean with plenty of hot water. Some of the back-in sites have shade and picnic tables. The most serious problem I had was extremely low voltage even though there was not many RVs in the park. The highest voltage I checked with a digital VOM was 109vac in the early morning, If I turned on my one 13.5btu ac unit the voltage dropped to 105.5vac and if I turned on microwave at same time the voltage would drop to 104vac. This was not a individual site problem, I checked some of the other empty sites and found it to be a overall problem. This is a serious problem due to fact that appliances (AC units) will burn the winding out at these low voltages. Due to this problem I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$31
This is a very convenient campground for an easy on and off overnight stop, although we stayed three nights and found it to be an acceptable place to stay when visiting attractions in the area. The campground lies on a nicely manicured, grassy rise above and behind a large truck stop with much incoming and outgoing traffic. However, we did not find the noise or constant movement of the trucks disturbing or distracting and found the convenience of the gas, the well-stocked store and the restaurant to be big advantages. We stayed here in a 33 foot fifth wheel on a level pull-thru site and would use this stop again in the future even though it is a basic place to stay without tables or firepits. The rate we paid was the Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$39
An extension of a truck stop with a lot of green space. Restaurant and fuel available. Perfectly acceptable when running AC, but noise from trucks idling in adjacent parking lot could be a problem with windows open. Nice mountain views. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
This is a very odd campground. It's up on a hill overlooking a giant truck stop. There are no signs directing you to the campground. I just noticed rigs up on the hill and figured we were in the right place. It's very far off the road so there's no truck noise...also no cable, no dumpster, no picnic tables and no amenities. There's a charge for internet. Fine for an overnight stop. There's a store at the gas station as well as a full service restaurant. Down the street there's a Super WalMart and the historic town of Lexington. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
This is a great overnight park. It is a parking lot with hookups on a hill above a truck stop. It is about 100 yards to walk to the restaurant and convenience store, but surprisingly the noise level was tolerable. We would stop here again. If you need gas in a large vehicle, don't plan to gas up here. There are only two small, cramped gas pumps. Lots of diesel pumps available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
We stayed here to avoid the hurricane on the coast. Park is small and geared to just an overnight stay. There is no sign to direct you to the RV park. It is behind the Shell gas station. There is truck noise from the parking below the park but it is very minor. Several permanent people but all very quiet, could be because of the weather. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
This is a fantastic overnight stopping place and a good concept! The price is certainly reasonable. Having said that, the utilities, are up at the front of our motorhome and the site un-level to the extreme. At dawn I counted 78 truckers, all with their motors running but they had not keep us awake. Wi-Fi is available to purchase, we used our Verizon box, no TV reception. A view of the Blue Ridge Mountains from some sites. We would definitely stay here again for an overnight several campers left tow vehicles hooked up, we had to unhook due to leveling issues then pull up to connect sewer hose in the morning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$32
Nice campground. Very basic. Had all the necessities, full-hookups. Wi-Fi was strong, but had to pay a daily rate of $4.49 per 24 hrs. Mostly level spots. We spent 2 days and never had a problem. According to this website, best offered. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$38
We used this as an over night spot. We were in late and out early. The pull through sites are close to the truck parking but the noise is not a problem. As a over night stop, it was a good choice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$38
Right off the interstate, however finding your spot after dark can be challenging. Campground is poorly lit and the layout is confusing. Young lady manning the fuel desk where you check in was indifferent at best. Seemed to view campers as a bother and offered no help when we had difficulty finding our site. If you arrive during daylight hours there should be no problem. Pull through sites at the bottom of campground and are the least desirable. They have no shade, are fairly close together, and are right next to the truck parking area. They are fairly level and plenty long for big rigs with nothing to obstruct satellite television reception. The back in sites farther up the hill seemed nicer. Bathroom and shower facilities were reasonably clean, although I've seen better. Good signal from Verizon air card and good cell reception in this campground. We noticed a weak Wi-Fi signal but didn't try using it. All hookups were good and power voltage was strong. No swimming pool or other extras in the campground, however it is fine for a short stay or in you need to be in the Lexington area. Daily rate is high for what you get, however the monthly rate is very reasonable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
This is a very popular truck stop. Campground is on the hill behind. Eight new pull through, big rig sites w/50amp FHU, no TV, didn't use Wi-Fi. Did get some local TV stations on antenna. No trees. Verizon internet card worked fine. These sites are adequate for an overnight or short stay. Lots of night noise from truck engines and generators. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$38
Only place in the area we could find to stay. Check-in was easy at the fuel counter in the Truck Stop. The park is up on the hill behind the truck parking area so it is away from the truck smell and noise. I saw 5-6 pull throughs plus a bunch of back-in sites. Good place for an overnight stop, just a little expensive. We did get TV stations on the batwing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2010
$35
Fine for overnight e-z on/off of 81. There is no road noise nor cable or wifi. The road to campground is up a hill and getting out requires driving on gravel road with ruts on side. There is a huge truck stop at this plaza behind the buildings that would serve as well if you don't need hook-ups and want to save the $35. We will stop here again - and use the truck stop to stay over. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2010
$38
This campground is on the side of a hill. We stopped here due to freezing rain on the roads. We had to wait for 20 minutes to get registered as the clerk was too busy with truckers getting fuel. We wanted a pull-thru, and what we got wouldn't have been possible to get into without unhitching our towed car. Wet and icy conditions made for an interesting drive up the hill to our site. Not a campground I would recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2009
$35
This is a decent overnight campground if you can live without cable TV and wi-fi. Noise from the truck stop was not a problem. It was fairly quiet. They only have two pull throughs, but I noticed a lot of the back-ins were almost a straight shot from the curved drive. If you need to stay in the Roanoke area overnight I recommend it. It beats the other parks in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
This park is OK for an overnight stay but information available about it is either incorrect or misleading. Rate charged was $35. Some sites are nice but others, like the one we were assigned, are just a gravel parking lot with unusual site arrangement. Staff was not very helpful when we asked questions and we were told the manager would call us but never did. Additionally, the park is adjacent to a truck stop and noisy trucks ran all night. I would not stay here again at the rate charged even though, as mentioned earlier, it's OK or an overnight stop if you just want to get off the road and nothing else is available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2008
$30
The restrooms were closed; the door was boarded up. There is no wi-fi signal at the campground. There's no cable. The place looks nice enough but for $30 we expect working bath houses. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$33
A good basic overnight stop. A little pricey for the lack of amenities, but very convenient on and off the interstate and fuel station. The campground was well off the highway and away from the travel plaza, so noise was not an issue. The Wi-Fi signal was excellent, but there was a problem with the internet connection when we were here. Some of the back in sites would be very difficult to access with a big rig. There were a few long term sites in an area off by itself at the back of the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$33
Campground is located behind the Lee Hi Travel Plaza, well away from the truck parking. Country atmosphere with a view of the mountains and sunset. We have stayed overnight here several times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$33
Very convenient stop for overnight or while visiting the VA Horse Park or historic Lexington. As the others have said, it's between the multi-level truck stop and I-81 but you don't hear much noise from either at night. During the day, I-80 is a bit noisy when you're outside the RV. They only have 2 pull-through sites and we were told they don't take reservations for them. Verizon air cards work great here. My only 2 wishes would be for more pull-thru sites and well-signed, designated parking area for campers while signing up. You do have to sign up in the truck stop office. However, we would stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$30
I thought this was a convenient place to spend the night off of 1-81. It was close to the highway and to fueling. The campground was surprisingly quiet considering you could see I-81 from the top of the ridge. The bathhouse was closed when we visited because it was still cold at night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$30
Managed to get what appeared to be the one site with a sewer hookup higher than the outlet of the rig. Had been going to crash for 2 nights but moved on after one while tanks still near empty. No problem with refund for second night. Had a good meal at the restaurant. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2007
$25
No frills. This is an overnight stop which has decent food at the truck stop. It is close to the interstates. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$30
Yes, this is a campground behind a truck stop - but it's a great stopping off point when traveling north or south on 81. Sites were VERY easy to get into, and clean. I didn't see anything creepy, no dump trucks, no pickup trucks full of men. Full hookups beat a WalMart parking lot any night. Great restaurant & store right a short walk down the hill. There is some noise from a parking lot and from the highway in the distance, it's nothing that'll keep you awake. It was actually somewhat interesting watching the trucks come and go at night - a sea of red and yellow marker lights that were constantly changing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2006
$25
It's always an adventure to visit the home folks for the holidays. When you add two kids, a dog and a 660 mile trip towing a Travel Trailer, well, just make sure you pack your sense of humor, patience and definitely lower your expectations. After my husband thought it would be a good idea to use Hwy 60 as a short-cut, (I can still hear the kids,"Are you o.k.,Mom?") I peeled my arm off the door's hand-grip and we checked into the Lee-Hi campground for a one night stay. We missed the entrance, too and had to call them on a cell phone. For those who don't know, the campground is accessed on a hill BEHIND the truck stop and gas pumps. You check in at the truck stop office. We chose a site with full hook-up. You'll need it because the bathhouse in the campground is permanently CLOSED. If you have less than full-hook up, then prepare to pony up $5 for a hot shower. We were hungry and tired and went down the road to a very nice Ruby Tuesday. There is also a Wal-Mart in the vicinity with plenty of RV supplies. I walked our dog, who immediately found a curious number of cat litter piles strewn beside what appeared to be a very newly paved campground road. We also noticed that the children's play area seemed to be more of a large cat box than playground. While there was very little traffic in the campground (other than the cats, who demanded entry into our RV at some ungodly hour of the morning), the noise from the truck stop wasn't bothersome. This campground is what it is...an overnight stop if there ever was one. And considering the animosity between truckers and RVer's, I'm sure that the dichotomy isn't lost on the campground's owners. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2005
$25
We planned to stay here overnight on our way home but ended up staying only four hours. Once we ate and rested, we couldn't wait to leave. The campground is located behind a very large truck stop. The campground was not identified from the road and so we passed it initially. Ms. Nonpersonality who checked us in seemed annoyed with having to do so. Their website advertises travel store, coin laundry, game room and restaurant -- all of which require a very long hike from the campground area across the very large and very hot asphalt of the truck parking lot. The only playground I saw consisted of a Tykes plastic boat with no steering wheel and a rusting piece of farm machinery. There were dump trucks running up and down the road in the campground passing our rig, stirring up dust and dirt, and then disappearing up a hill and around a bend. The bathhouse was being used for showers by a parade of men driving up in from the truck parking lot in pickup truck. At 25 bucks a night, I was not expecting a resort, but this place was downright creepy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$18
Campground being behind a truck stop and between two major roads, is very quiet with most sites on side of hill. Good food at the truck stop, with laundry service and church service available. Stayed there over 4th of July 2003, and site was quiet, watched fireworks from Virginia Military Institute. Lots of history in area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2001
$20
Campground sits behind active truck stop but camp area is quiet. Good place for overnight. Very well run campground and truck stop. Live music events at times. Small play area for children. Nice place for a little get-away. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com