217876 User submitted reviews online!!
Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park at Luray was rated 8 out of 10 based on 89 user reviews. Phone: (540) 743-4002
CGID3061

Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park at Luray

Camp Information
Sites
186
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   10   9   3   4   7   9   9   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$42
Unfortunate, this park is going the way of all Jellystone parks. Full of construction for new cabins and over the top water parks. It's geared for families with kids and not much else. Golf carts are for rent and have become a major headache flying all over the park at all hours. That said, the staff is wonderful and very helpful, cable is still a work in progress and ours was not great. They also have some water drainage issues on the upper level near the bath house and we had to change sites when we got there after a heavy rain. Bath houses could use some updates, but are very clean and taken care of. If your looking to have a fun time with kids or grand kids, this is the place (age restriction for water slide so read the rules carefully), but if your an older couple wanted to R & R this is not the place for you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$80
We love camping here! So many things to do with our grandsons. We have camped here throughout the year and always have a good time! We will camp here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$37
We wouldn't want to be here on a busy weekend or during summer vacation time, when families with kids are all over the place enjoying themselves, but our mid-week stay was nice and peaceful for several days. The office staff was very courteous and helpful, and the overall facilities were better than average. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2012
$69
I had heard some good things about the Jellystone Park in Luray so decided to try it for a weekend. We stayed one night out of three reserved. Our site was very small, with our awning just a few feet from the trailer next to us. This park is very busy and was packed. I thought the $17 extra fee per person for mini-golf, swimming, and other activities was a bit much. I was unable to use the Wi-Fi, but didn't bother talking to anyone about it. We ended up in Shenandoah and had a great time with much more space. Cons: - Wi-Fi didn't work - very crowded - space between units - extra costs for facilities Pros: - There did appear to be some other larger spaces - could be fun during the slow season when its not so crowded? We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$59
Site is OK size, near bathrooms, on a slant though. Our RV broke down on the day we were supposed to leave. Went to office to let them know, said they would sent a ranger/ maintenance man up, never came. Had triple A come out, useless. Spent the night. Next day no luck, went to office again and mangers only response was that we have to pay. Clearly we had to but how about some assistance and compassion. Family campground I expect concerned helpful people. Next we decide we need to hit up a parts store, we ask the front desk and they say call a taxi. Thankfully a ranger over heard that and offered a ride. Cost of repairs and 2 extra nights stay plus food and they still are rude? Not what I would have expected! Things happen and I know that but offering assistance or not being upfront and rude about needing to pay would have been a nicer way to handle it when it clearly was a huge problem. Just seemed worried about the money. On top of that they need an event planner for the kids. Root beer chugging contest was 2 sips, soccer was 4 cones widely spread with just a ball and ton of kids, not once did we see yogi or boo boo. Oh they had a slime relay that couldn't have gone any worse, not enough slime to even do it! Arcade games busted, pool filled with bugs, slide is just one, not really fun. And for the price they should really not charge for pool, laser tag and golf. I've been to much better parks than this one. Only plus is people in Virginia are very nice minus the staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$59
The pros: super nice staff, clean facilities and lots for kids to do,fairly level sites,WiFi and cable worked well. The cons: you are really packed in tight, we were maybe 15 ft from neighbors on either side. Even the red carpet sites were close together for the extra money. We stayed over July 4th and it was packed everyday. I think next time we will choose another campground just for a little more space and less money. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$53
Park was crowded with only 2 or 3 sites empty. Lots and lots of kids. Wi-Fi was OK, but crowded and kept having to switch between 3 different networks. Kids had a great time, but we did have to purchase a $17 pass for each one to play putt putt and use the waterslide and paddle boats. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$59
We are fans of Jellystone Parks. They have lots of activities for my kids. This park was no different ~ 2 pools, water slide ($), 2 bouncy pillows, laser tag ($), mini golf ($), play ground. For many of these, you have to pay additional, but my kids got their money's worth. The campground is clean, store well stocked, friendly staff, escort to site. There are NO seasonal sites. It was Memorial Day weekend so the campground was full. It's close to Luray Caverns, rafting/tubing down Shenandoah and Skyline Drive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
A very nice beautiful view. Would have thought they'd have longer hrs for the concession stand. A kids dream come true. Nice laundry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$48
I have to say that the activities at the park supersede any other campground in the area. Unfortunately I felt that the rules are not enforced properly specifically noise discipline. Several families close to us played games ALL night long and were very intoxicated. (family park??) This was brought to the attention of two rangers and I was disappointed to say that no action was taken. I took note that most of the rangers are "greeters" and apparently were not in the business of enforcing anything. The kids had a great time, sites were tight, but utilities worked well. I needed to take an extra day off when I got home to get a least 1 night of sleep. I think I would pick a premium spot if there is a next time as they are more spacious. (The regular full-hookups were tight). I'm not sure if I would return...Economy not so good and money is tight I believe I would rather spend my money at a more accommodating park We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$60
We stayed a week at this Jellystone Park. It seems like a great place for kids ages 7-12. Our kids were a bit younger and I did not feel comfortable with our 6 year old going on the waterslide (although ages 5 and up are allowed) so we did not purchase the wristband ($13 per day or $17 for the entire stay). The wristband is also good for the mini golf, laser tag, pedal boats. For a 7 day stay like we did, it would have been a good deal but it seems kind of high for a weekend which is when most people are here. It was very crowded on the weekend but not overly noisy from what I could tell. The weekdays were very nice and quiet. We had a nice level site down close to the pool but most of the sites are on the hill so I can appreciate what some other reviewers said about the hill. I would not want to be on the hill. It seems everybody had a golf cart but us and at $40-$50/day rental, not something I would do and all those golf carts got a little annoying after a while. The campground does not seem big enough to warrant all those carts. In all my years of RVing, I have never seen so many. As far as the scheduled activities, they seemed to always start a few minutes late, but another family complained the water balloon launch was over 2 minutes after it was supposed to start. The free crafts are lame, I think they want you to buy one of the ceramics or pillowcases or t-shirts to color. And they make you pay for Tie Dye even if you bring your own shirt: $3! We tie dyed somewhere else and if you brought your own shirt, it was free. Also the ladies on the staff at the organized activities were not enthusiastic at all. They seemed to be bothered by the whole thing. We had a good time overall and when the kids get a bit older it would be really great I think. Also, there is not a lot of shade at this campground. The jumping pillows, playground and the field were brutal in last week's heatwave. They need a few more of the nice big shade awnings like they have at the pool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$67
Loved this campground! Spacious, some shaded sites, some weren't. Gorgeous view of the Blue Ridge Mountains, so many activities for the kids. Very clean sites, we had a Red Carpet site with a concrete pad for the picnic table. Plenty of paved roads, some roads were gravel. The store was huge and well stocked with everything and anything. The water slide was a real hit with our 6-year old, the pools were nice and clean too. We have already booked for the 4th of July and another weekend in August. You can't go wrong by reserving here: well worth the money. The Wi-Fi doesn't work well at all, at least not for us Verizon people. But we were so busy, we didn't miss the Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
This is the perfect spot for kids. So much for them to do: playgrounds, jumping pads, 2 pools, water slide, laser tag, putt putt, fishing, golf carts for rent; along with organized activities like hayrides, etc. We would give it a "10", except that it is expensive: extra charges for most everything! We had 2 great sites: #200, a Red Carpet Site with full service ($45) and #21 (right across from #200) at $37 per night for that one with water and electric. The kids (5 of them) had the time of their lives. Dog friendly, pretty views of the mountains and lots of birds, including a Scarlet Tanager! We will definitely go back each year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$37
My son and I love this place. The staff does a great job. We have stayed here many times. Will go back again this year several times. The view is wonderful. Quiet and relaxing place to be. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$75
We camped here over Easter weekend with friends. Love the atmosphere of this park with lots of activities for the kids. Our site was not level and was flooded from the recent rains, however, they brought stones to try and dry out the site. Most of the staff was very friendly although have experienced rather rude staff on previous trips. Sites are close together but if you request the red carpet sites near the playground, you will be in awe of the mountain views. They are additional charges for almost everything, even use of the water slide, but in spite of that, do plan to stay again as overall, the beauty of the park and friendliness of the staff make it a campground to return to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$40
A large park that gets pretty crowded when it fills up as it did while we were there. It fills up because they have a great park with a lot to offer. A little bad luck weather-wise kept the Grand kids from using the "wet" facilities but they enjoyed their "kickoff the season" trip. Some of the roads and sites get pretty muddy when it rains and the extra activity-pass is fairly expensive but other than that I have no complaints and will probably return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$45
This was our first stay at this campground and it was a really great, but there are a few reasons I give it a 7 instead of a 9 or 10. We paid extra for a red carpet site (#10), in a row closest to the office and across from the pet walk area. These sites are so narrow, there was next to no room to sit by the fire and relax. Our firepit was right next to the road and there was no more than 5 ft of grass between our patio and the class A next to us. Some of them had a bit more room, but not much. Not worth paying extra for. Also, there was no WiFi at our site the whole week we were here. I had to go sit outside the office to get a connection. I spoke to two other campers in other areas of the campground who had the same problem. One last thing, the pet walk area was piled high with gravel and mulch piles about 30 ft long. Not much are for dog walking. On the good side, very well maintained campground with very nice landscaping. Lots of activities for kids and a very well stocked store. The employees were fabulous! The rangers were funny and friendly. The maintenance staff were equally good: since we got there during the bad rain storms on 4/16 our site was flooded. Once the rain stopped, they were at our site with gravel and mulch to help dry out the site and got us a new fire pit since the one that couldn't be moved, was filled with water. Everyone here is super nice. We'll stay here again, just not on a red carpet site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$37
Nice, well kept campground. There are allot of sites here so it would be hectic and noisy if full. We were here with just 2 other campers. Staff was friendly and the store is well stocked. Shopping is close by. Camp Wi-Fi worked good. Tons of stuff for kids to do. I needed my antenna and amplifier for my Verizon air card. My Verizon phone worked but the signal was a bit weak. Park is easy to get to and maneuver but sites are fairly close together. I'm glad no one had a campfire going in the next site. We would stay here again for an overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$45
LOVED this campground. Tons of stuff for the kids to do both in the camp and in the area. We did just about every activity available: mini golf, mining, pool, slides, jump pillows, playground, paddle boats. The kids had a blast! Busy campground, but we had plenty of room. Will definitely be staying at more Yogi Bear campgrounds! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$40
Very nice park. We were there during the week so it wasn't crowded. It appeared that there is a lot for families and children to do at the park. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$37
We stayed in a Red Carpet site: Water, Electric, Cable TV and Sewer. Each of these sites has a cement pad. These sites cost more on the weekends. Washrooms and showers were spotless. Staff were friendly and helpful with directions. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$37
We've visited quite a few KOA parks, State Parks, and others in Virginia and Pennsylvania (and in North Carolina). This is one of our favorites. The staff is super-friendly and they take great care of this campground. It's clean and the staff takes the extra mile to make sure campers are taken care of. There is a lot to do, 2 pools, a huge water-slide, activities galore, and a great mini-golf course. The layout of the camp is great too, lots of grass and shade. The campground sits at the edge of the mountains and the view is spectacular. The only downside is that some of the sites are not so level. But overall we love this campground and we will return every summer. We give it a 10 (and we're picky!). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$60
This is our second time at this park. Well laid out and friendly. There may be sites that are not as level as others. This can be said for nearly every park. We took a "Red Carpet" site this time. Up at the top of the lawn. Nice view, level. Concrete pad. We looked at a couple other CGs in the area and for our money Yogi is the best available. What would I change? Probably cut the number of sites a bit t give some more room, although some plantings would probably suffice to give the illusion of distance. I admit I don't like the golf carts. Pools were clean, slide is a hoot. Paddle boat seems to be in good shape. This place is a nice place to visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$52
We were first time campers in a Cruise America rental motorhome. This site seemed a little expensive before we arrived, but with all the facilities and activities found to be available when we arrived, seemed not overly priced. Our pitch was easy to get to (we were escorted) and into. The view from our pitch was great looking over the site to the mountains. Both pools were clean and sizeable, our boys enjoyed the mini golf and the water slide, although I will argue with the camps claim that it is 400 feet long. The comfort station was clean and fresh and the store was well stocked. There is no reason why we would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$63
Yes, it has beautiful views and nice wide sites. But, we too were on the hillside and the sites are NOT level. Longer trailers will certainly experience the problem of trying to get it level, without having a LONG last step down when exiting the trailer. Better to request one of the premium pull through sites down near the office, which are level. The bathrooms, though not modern were clean and the store well stocked. We were only here over night, so did not use the pool or activities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$58
Overall this is a pretty nice park with plenty of fun activities for the children. But I only gave it a 7 because I feel it's overpriced and aging. Our site was dangerously unlevel. The first step of our camper was 19 inches from the ground! We had a step stool but it still was quite treacherous, and twice we had children fall and hurt themselves on our steps. I also did not like paying an additional $17 for wristbands for amenities on top of the nearly $60 we paid per night. The putt-putt golf is old and somewhat run down looking and there's only one waterslide that appears to be old too. The cable TV hook-ups were cheaply done. Several sites share the same box so bring a long cable or you can buy one at the campstore. I'm sure they make a killing in the store selling those. No trash pick-up and the Wi-Fi was so weak that we were not able to hook up all weekend. I have higher expectations when I'm dishing out that kind of cash. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$78
This has been our worst experience. We came here because the other reviews said it was so fun and nice. We debated and thought it would be so much fun for our 4 children. The unlevel sites are true. We had 3 wheels off the ground when our levels finally stopped and our front door was 2 ft from the ground. The sites are extremely unlevel and very close together; you will get to know your neighbors. The kids were so excited as we drove in. There are the jumping pillows, water slide, and playground all out in their view. We immediately set up and headed out. The playground is very nice, great equipment for both big and smaller children. The smaller kids area is sectioned off, and pets were not allowed. So far I was loving it . We went down to the jumping pillows and I thought they looked really dirty...but kids are jumping on them, no shoes and its sandy..seemed OK. The kids had fun, but really wanted to go swimming. We went up and got ready. The pool was filthy! I mean realllllly filthy, larger things floating around, the water was murky and cloudy, the bottom was slimy. It was so dirty I was concerned for my children's health and we got out. The slide's water was the same. It was extremely dirty. The mini golf and many sites sit next to the sewage treatment. The smell was strong and foul. The activities are old, and not taken care of, everything was very dirty. The paddle boats were very dirty also, slimy and the pond was covered in green algae. The mandatory life vests were so grimy and filthy it was our final straw. The staff refunded our $17 per person fee for the "activities" and we moved to another RV park down the road. All the staff were very nice, and seemed sorry for the smells and filth. The Wi-Fi signal at our site was strong. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$63
The park exceeded my expectations. My site was not level, but that was the only issue. The campstore is great. The jumping pillow, water slide and pools are nice. All in all: a great weekend. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$63
This campground is awesome. Has lots of activities, especially the crafts. Was easy in and out. Perfect for a short weekend trip. The only thing I would complain about is that they don't have garbage pick up at your site, but I can live without that. The playground and pools are some of the best we have seen at all of the campgrounds we have stayed at. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$63
This is indeed a very family friendly park and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. A well run operation. Sites are gravel and quite a bit unlevel. They had very recently painted the water spigot posts, but neglected to tell us, or post a sign! We were only here 1 night and were overall very pleased; we would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$67
This is a family friendly park. We stayed in a Red Carpet site across from the playground. We enjoyed the two nice swimming pools, water slide, and jumping pillow. Large field in center of park for the kids to run and play. Wi-Fi worked great at our site. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a great time and will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$67
Rate reflects camping here during the low season. Base rate of $37 includes 2 adults. We had 5 adults instead of 2 adults, so our rate jumped to $67 per night during low season even though both pools and the water slides were not yet open for the season. This campground is the closest full hookup 50amp campground to Shenandoah National Park. This location cannot be beat, this campground is much closer to Shenandoah National Park than the only other Luray RV resort. The campground is very clean, the front desk staff here is much more friendly and less polar in terms of personality. And the views are just as beautiful. The campstore is much bigger, there are cabins for rent here, and large jumping pillows for the kids. The reason why this park is rated a 7 is because the entire campground is located on a slope, and most of the campsites are on unlevel packed gravel. We had to move from a red carpet site (their best one) to another red carpet site simply because the first one was too unlevel. We were able to get close to level with wood blocks that lifted the tires slightly off the ground. The auto leveling system in our coach does not like to work in situations that are too unlevel. This resort would earn a 9 or a 10 if most of the sites were more level for big rigs, such as having a concrete pad for the RV instead of just the picnic table. The wireless internet only works at the pool house, not at the campsites. The cable TV signal was unusable at both sites we tried. Make sure to bring a long cable because the cable TV poles were shared and located every two or three sites only. That said, we think this is the best full hookup campground that is available in Luray and close to Shenandoah National Park, and will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$37
We just returned from a really great stay at this park. We stayed in one of the Red Carpet sites (203) overlooking the playground and the field. It was a very, very quiet week as VA was on vacation the week before, so we literally had the campground to ourselves (along with another camper). Great view of the mountains, and great for stargazing. The staff was very helpful, offered us much assistance in seeing the area. Rest rooms were spotless, even after a busy weekend when we arrived. Great area to visit the Shenandoah National Park, Luray Caverns, etc. We'd like to go back when the pools/waterslide are open, to enjoy more of the campground. We'd definitely head back when in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$37
Exactly as others had described. Lots for the kids to do, charges for all the extra's. Jammed as many sites as they could into this park. It is more of a theme park then a campground, as it seems all the Jellystones we have been to (3). Our son is only 3 so much of the amenities are lost on us. However the folks were friendly. The gal at the checkout did seem to understand I wanted to look at all the available sites before I pick one. We were assigned one in the back, which was away from all the crowds, however it was on a hill and while the site was level you didn't want to venture more than a few feet without falling off a cliff. We will probably only come to the Yogi Bear's before and after normal season due to the cost. In a few weeks our $37 per night site will be $52.00 PLUS the fee to use some of the activities. We still prefer KOA for a more realistic camping feel. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$53
We have stayed here about 3 times now, because it is close to my husband’s parents house. Although a nice campground, it is not primitive and there are not a lot of shaded spots, they are more open. It’s not a slam against the park, that is just how it is. We’d stay again because of the location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$63
Really nice campground. I was on site 208 on the hill and had a nice view to the mountains. I had to add 2 blocks to get my trailer leveled. Water pressure was low in the morning. We played ladderball on the field because there was no room on our site. Bath house is clean. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$50
This is a great park for children. The kids love the jumping pillow, water slide, etc. The pool has been cold every time we have gone but that has more to do with the great weather in the area. Luray is beautiful! This is a great place to stay if you want to do some Skyline drive/Shenandoah Natl park hiking and still come back to full hookups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
Nice campground with great scenery at the foothills of the mountains. The park itself is very busy and somewhat packed but that being said, they do a great job of keeping it nice. Lots to do for the kids, a great pool, lots of activities. Luray is a fun place to visit also. Check out family restaurant 1/2 mile to the east. Some of the sites were not very flat seemed to work for everyone. We'll be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$63
We stayed here over the 4th of July Weekend. Rate is based on staying in one of their Red Carpet Sites. This was our second time to stay here, and it was wonderful. We were in site 208, which was a level back-in site on top of the hill overlooking the playground and pools. There were wonderful mountain views everywhere. My kids enjoyed the water slide, paddle boats, and pools. Everything was clean. New this year was laser tag, which was fun. The only reason I gave this campsite an 8 instead of a 10 was that during "peak usage" hours, I had almost 0 water pressure at my site. I would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$63
This was our 3rd visit here, not my favorite place to visit from past experiences. Our site was not level at all, the grass needed to be cut, and people do not clean up after their dogs! My boys did enjoy this trip tough because of the new jump pillow and the pool. I am a mean mom and don't allow my kids to use the water slide, only because it's extra. I don't feel like you get your moneys worth when you stay here. It is very expensive and everything is extra! For the price they charge the slide should be included! The staff is very nice and friendly and will assist you with anything you need. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$99
We have been attending the Halloween weekends for the past 7 years. Bring plenty of decorations for the cabin decorating contest. Competition is fierce!! The staff is always friendly. Cabins are clean and well maintained and are around $160.00 a night. This October will be our first year renting an RV site. I would highly recommend this campground to others. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$58
Staff was very friendly, clean campground, tons of stuff to do with the kids. Flies and gnats were a bit out of control, LOL but guess that can't be helped, bring your flyswatter hours of fun!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$58
The staff was the most friendly we've encountered. Very helpful and observant. The park was very clean and well kept considering the traffic in this campground. Everyone was very polite, staff and other campers. Our kids had a great time and kept us too busy to call it a vacation. The flys/mosquitos were annoying but that is to no fault of the campground. Bugs are part of the experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$12
The campground was clean, and in close proximity to Luray Caverns and Skyline Drive. There were many activities at the campground for the kids, including tie-dying and water balloon launching. There was music at night. The cabin was clean, with nice porch, grill and fire ring. The pool and water slides were great, as well as mini golf. I highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$53
Great location – within 5 miles of both Luray Caverns and Shenandoah National Park. Friendly Staff with planned activities for the kids. Some sites are unlevel We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$53
This is our first visit to this campground and we were pleasantly surprised. The staff is very helpful and friendly. What a pleasure to be able to see the mountains from your campsite. Sites were well spaced apart and campground is well maintained. We will definitely visit again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$51
This is a nice resort with lots of activities for the kids. Our sites were on top of the mountain and very well shaded (not level, but well shaded) - the pool, waterslide, playground, etc. were at the bottom of the hill where it was much warmer - giving us perfect weather for swimming and then a perfect, shaded retreat back at the camper. One of the girls working the front desk didn't seem to know what she was doing ... she answered our questions without really knowing the answers which caused confusion for us (and other customers checking in). This resort is close to Luray Caverns and Skyline Drive so kept us busy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$60
Nice level shaded sites. Really busy on the weekend with locals (no problems). Come Monday we had the place to ourselves. 2 pools and a water slide. Lots for kids to do. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$53
Jellystone is always a fun place to stay. There were activities all day for the kids, so it got them out of the pool and kept them from getting bored. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The two pools were very nice - an older kids pool and a younger kids pool. While we were there, I saw only one open site, but the campground never felt overcrowded - a testament to the abundance of activities. With my family, the $53 was for two adults. The four kids added another $12 per day. So, my only gripe is the large number of golf carts that Jellystone rents out. I understand the ones necessary for staff, but there were just too many that rode around too fast all day long - primarily with kids at the wheel. They continued until after quiet hours and then usually with more kids hanging on the back and sides. All in all, a great weekend and we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
This is a very pleasant place to spend a week. It is near enough to attractions and yet not in the center. We spent the 4th here. o fault of the CG, it RAINED. We did get in some fishing in their stocked pond. The water slide, Mini-gold and paddle boats are available for a $16.00 charge for length of stay (2 weeks?) WiFi was spotty and slow. Also my cell signal was non-existent in the CG. Not the worst thing in the world. Very friendly staff. They actually pick up the ash from spots where a fire-ring was. Our had to be moved and we were genuinely surprised when they cleaned up the old spot (actually two from previous campers) We will return if in the area We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
We hadn't been here in a couple of years but it hasn't changed much. Lots to do for the kids, the park is clean and seems well managed. We had a "super site" this time, which this early in the year is the same price as a regular FHU site but you get a concrete patio. It's nice but the sites are very close together and the regular FHU sites look a little bigger. We will go back when the pool and water park are open. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$50
We went for their Halloween weekend. The kids enjoyed the trick-or-treating and the Haunted House. But, other than that my husband and I didn't particularly enjoy our weekend of camping. We've been to this campground several times before, but this was without a doubt the busiest we've seen it. Due to shortage of rain, the roads were extremely dusty. Golf carts going back and forth didn't help. Even the inside of our camper had a layer of dust. It's somewhat disappointing to never see improvements to the roads when it's obvious they're raking in the money. I think this would be a cool campground to visit during the week in the summertime. But, I'm not sure if we'll waste our money on another weekend there. Just not our cup of tea -- way too crowded and quite a few campers were very disrespectful of their fellow campers by disregarding quiet hours. There's a great campground (Country Waye) just 3 miles down the road that is cleaner, classier and quieter. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
This park is very accommodating and very well staffed! We were greeted and escorted to our site with friendly staff members. The sites were very large and unrestricted to space. Beautiful mountain views were reminders of a first class luxury resort. Although the water slide was closed my children enjoyed the 3 pools!! Excellent campground and booked for next year already. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$80
Jellystone is very nice but a little expensive. We paid $80/night for 4 adults and 2 kids. It was another $90 ($16.00 each) for unlimited waterslide, putt putt, and paddleboats. I don't know what the ala cart cost would have been. Otherwise, the park is very clean and well run. Some sites offer beautiful views of the Virginia mountains and some sites offer no view at all. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$53
Great park, friendly people. My kids loved the pool area and the slides. Spacious sites. We love Yogi bear campgrounds. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$52
This campground has a lot of activities for the kids like most Yogi Bears. The check in was easy and you did have a escort to your site. There are a lot of golf carts in this campground and seem to be all over the place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
The campground was clean, and well managed. Our group enjoyed the water slide and putt putt course. Only thing negative is the gas golf carts, speeding all over the place. They threw up dust from the gravel roads, and coated everything. We will return in the future! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
There were so many things for our kids to do at this park. We camped in the upper area of the campground, and did not notice the golf cart problems that others have experienced. The playground is nice, as is the pool. The fishing pond was algea covered, so it was hard for my little ones to cast that far on their own, but they still managed to catch a fish. Now that summer was over, I asked my 4 and 3 year olds what the best part of their summer was, and they both state that "Raising the Flag with Yogi" was tops! We will definitely go back next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$53
This is a very large, nice park. Registration was very easy. They escort you to your site. There are a lot of activities for children of all ages. The restrooms were clean but there are only 3 shower stalls in each "comfort station" which is not really enough. We would go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$50
Nice Park employees very nice, Park Ranger guides you to your site. The park was very clean rangers went around policing the grounds for trash and checking sites for unauthorized guest. Lots of programs for kids all day long. Look to revisit soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$50
Great park - wouldn't have made our 9th trip back otherwise. Obviously some don't catch on to the name and are surprised by this being a family and kid-friendly park. My kids love each trip, everything from the waterslide and pools to the numerous activities planned and well-run by the staff. Never a problem with level or foot traffic, but we always ensure a spot on the upper part of Woodland Way. ;) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$50
This is a very nice park. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The sites are small and not very level. We had to raise the front tires about 6 inches in an attempt to level our RV. The pools (2) were nice and well maintained. The water slide appeared to get lots of use. This is a very kid friendly park. If you like the sights and sounds of children playing and having fun, this is your park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$52
Campground was nice. Sites were too close together. Great park if you have children. I guess we are beyond that stage and didn't appreciate all the kids & parents walking through our site. We were taught to walk around campsites and not invade someone elses site. Enjoyed being able to rent a golf cart. If we had small children this would be a place to go. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$54
Nice campground. Stayed here in 33' TT on site 168. No rain recently so a bit dusty, but not their fault. Bathrooms and showers were clean, staff was extra friendly. "Ranger" ride around and enforce rules regularly which is nice. Plenty of good tent camping sites as well. Little disappointed by the extra fees for the slide, golf, and paddle boats, however were told they are not affiliated with the campground. I guess they just feed off of it. We would return again, but pick our site a little differently. By the way, if they are calling for rain, do not get the sites in the bottom of hill! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
This was a shakedown trip for our new RV and first trip with our dog. We chose Yogi/Luray because it is close to our home. Very nice campground and staff. We were there on Chocolate Lovers weekend. Lot's of activities for the kids. Candy Bar Bingo was fun! Water slide and pool were great, although a bit cold, since early in the season. "Ranger Smith" escorted us to our site and pointed out utility locations. ( They all really wear the ranger hats)! All utilities worked fine. Restrooms were spotless even though park was busy. Campground is well cared for. Recent landscaping and parking lot renovations at the front entrance. It was great weekend in the Blue Ridge Mountains. We never left the campground to see the sights of Luray. Too much to do inside the campground! We have been camping for 15+ years and this is first time to Yogi/Luray. Wish we had gone sooner. We will be back in June. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
This is our favorite campground! Total kid place! Our children especially enjoyed the program at the campground by the Luray Zoo. Besides Luray Caverns, there's really not much to do in Luray. But, we go to Luray just for the campground and to have a relaxing weekend away. We seldom leave the campground once we arrive. There's fishing, paddle boating, mini golf, swimming, hay rides, crafts, and other planned activities. Most of the campers have children, and we've found other campers to be very friendly. The staff is SUPERB. The Rangers escort you to your site, regularly patrol the campground, then patrol by foot during quiet hours. The campsites and roads are all gravel, but we didn't experience any problems with dust. Some of the sites at the end of the rows have larger grassy areas, and I'd recommend you try to get the end spot on Bear Blvd or Basket Blvd if you want more space. Even so, the spots aren't too tight to your "neighbor." Beautiful seeing the mountains, too! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$50
Great place to be. Staff very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$40
I love this campground! We stayed for one of the Halloween weekends. There were so many activities to chose from and my daughter enjoyed every one! The activities director did a fabulous job and really got into the spirit of Halloween. The view of the mountains is absolutely magnificent, especially with the Fall colors. We are returning in 2007 during the summer season to enjoy the pool. This is a great campground for children. We enjoyed Luray Caverns, which is very expensive, but a definite "must do" at least once in a lifetime. Skyline drive was also very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$38
Yogi at Luray was great!! It is our kid's favorite campground. We stayed for their not so scary Halloween for younger kids. So many activities the kids were worn out. It was great to go trick or treating early and not at dark. My 2 year old really enjoyed it, and my 5 year old thought it was the best to dance with Yogi at night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$48
We made a repeat visit to Jellystone and, again, had a good experience. The kids enjoyed the activities, mini-golf, pools and the water slide. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$40
This is our favorite campground. It is only an hour away, so we like to do weekends. It is a great place for kids, teens, and grandparents. And the store and snack bar are unbeatable. Very well run. I have stayed there alone all weekend, and never felt uneasy.(female). Love it, love it, love it! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$48
A very crowded weekend! The facilities reflected this. This site is a favorite with our kids and close to home, so a good site to perform a shake down cruise for the camper and crew. The staff is wonderful from check-in to check-out (don't be tardy on check out though $$). Also a good site to camp due to its proximity to Skyline drive, civil war sites, etc. Hooray for Luray! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$48
This was an excellent park. Great for kids and adults. Views were outstanding. Extra charge for the water slide but it also included unlimited use of the pedal boats and mini golf. I WILL GO AGAIN. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$52
Stayed here during Memorial Day Weekend for the third straight year. Every year we seem to enjoy it more. Already made reservations for next year. Definitely a great family camp ground. Staff were great and the facilities excellent! Looking forward to next year! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$40
We camped in the woods. It was early in the season and pool, etc. was not open but the place was clean and well kept. We were escorted to our site by the "Ranger". Check in was smooth and the staff was friendly. It is close to home and will be great fun for the grandchildren during the summer. We will return. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$40
This was a very nice park with excellent views of the mountains. The waterslide looked fun although I didn't pay the extra money to actually use it. The two pools were nice. One was more for kids with the other being more for teenagers and adults. They had many cabins that looked very nice and well maintained. The only negative I found with this park is that the sites are very close together and offer little to no privacy. Otherwise this was a very nice park. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$45
Great park with plenty of activities. Two pools and a fun waterslide. They do offer free wireless internet access in the snack pavilion. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$42
This park is a nice family campground; there is plenty to do for the kids and beautiful views of the surrounding mountains. We like the premium sites best. We camp here at least once a year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$40
We enjoyed our stay at this campground. There were many activities for the kids and the staff was friendly. The restrooms were very clean. The only complaint would be that the putt-putt area looked run down - many of the holes had mulch all over them. The water slide was fun - not too scary - the whole family enjoyed it. We were in a pop-up and in site 16 which I do not recommend. It's on a busy corner with no shade and anyone coming into or leaving the campground drives right by you. There were more shaded pop-up spots up on the hill with much less traffic - get one of those and you'll be fine. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$80
We camped here in "deluxe comfort cabins" with a group of families, and were most impressed. The facilities are very clean, the cabins (and campground store) well-equipped, and the staff friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. There are an abundance of child-oriented activities, including mini-golf, two pools, an inviting playground, a well-equipped game room, and paddle boats, and the campground is in close proximity to Skyline Drive, Luray Caverns, and a number of horseback riding stables. Particularly for those with younger children, this campground is well worth a visit. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2005
$25
If you're a youngster, even one in your early teens, you'll probably love this place. It's certainly geared toward your age group. If you're a parent and like a place that's devoted to children, you'll also love this place. From the name, to the atmosphere, to the types of activities, it's geared for children. If you're looking for an average campground, this place could also work for you, but we found it to be nothing exceptional. The staff are pleasant. The roads in the front are paved and in reasonably good condition. Once past the reception building and the "red-carpet" sites, all roads are gravel. By the way, the red-carpet sites have a concrete patio and, for that little piece of heaven, you'll be charged an extra $15-28 depending of the time of year and the day of the week. Except for that patio, all the sites look the same. All sites are gravel and have a picnic table and fire ring. Our site was not particularly level so we asked for another that wasn't much better. Many of the sites have tall pines that do offer some shade. There is no cable, but you can pick up 5-6 fuzzy, local stations with your antenna. WiFi is planned, but not yet available. Unfortunately, there are not a lot of choices in this area. We've also been to the only other campground that's a major player in this area, and it's not any better! We've seen everything that we want to see in the area and probably won't be back to either one! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$40
Excellent family campground. Lots of activities for the kids to do. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We plan on returning next summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$44
Excellent campground with a lot of activities. Huge pool slide, paddleboats, putt-putt, fishing and a great playground. Everyone was so nice extremely helpful. There is a beautiful view of the mountains as well. The snack bar makes yummy treats and fabulous ice cream. The Luray caverns is very close by. My family had a wonderful time here and plan on returning asap. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$44
Outstanding park for families. Staff coordinates a host of daily acitivities, providing ample opportunities for the kids beyond the normal facilities. Excellent proximity to the Luray Caverns and Skyline Drive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$42
We thoroughly enjoyed taking our grandchildren with us to this park. It has so much for children and adults to do there. Two pools appeared to be very clean and nice. The water slide was not opened yet, but looked like a lot of fun. The "rangers" were most helpful and seemed like they really like their jobs. I would recommend this park to anyone who has children. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$42
One of the best parks we have been to. 2 pools, great store, water slide, putt-putt, great playground, great staff, and play area. We will visit again very soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$44
This is a nice family campground. Plenty to do for the children. The staff is courtest, friendly and ready to make thing right. I will go back to this campground We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$40
This park is excellent for families with kids, but also for everyone. The location is top-notch. Right between Skyline Drive and Luray Caverns. It is 5 miles to either one and the place is surrounded by mountains. Shenendoah River is 10 minutes away. The campground is family owned and everyone I talked to was laid back, pleasant and helpful. They have a pool, waterslide, and non-stop activities all day long. All hookups are new and the sites have mostly been re-leveled. We loved our stay and will be back. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$38
If you have kids this is the place that has excellent activities through out the day for them. It also has a small fishing pond, put put golf, 400' water slide, pedal carts and paddle boats. It has one of the best convenience stores we have been to. Only thing is it has a small swimming pool. Great place that we visit at least 2 times a year. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com