223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Hungry Mother State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (276) 781-7400
CGID3063

Hungry Mother State Park

Camp Information
Sites
94
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   10   10   9   9   10   9   9   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2014
$34
We camped at Camp Burson, which is before the entrance to Hungry Mother State Park. The section with full hooks is old and narrow and very difficult to park a big rig in. The newer section only has water and electric. Park is very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$33
We stayed at Camp Burson. The other campgrounds inside the park are okay for smaller units but the roads get narrow and there are some hard turns- probably okay for 30 foot or under. There is a lake for swimming with lifeguards on duty and a boat ramp with access to the lake. Also, boat rentals such as paddle boats, canoes, and kayaks. Have stayed here at least twice a year for the last ten years and enjoy it very much. There are miles and miles of hiking trails. Ideal for family get togethers. There are cabins to rent if some don't camp. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$37
This is a beautiful park. We stayed in the Burson loop with full hook ups, 30 amp. Our site (15) and most others we saw were huge and had plenty of shade. There are two bathhouses in this loop and one is brand new. The laundry room had two each washer and dryers, both worked well. There is plenty to do here, nice hiking trails, beach area with lifeguards on the lake with concessions as well as a restaurant, kayak, paddle boat and paddle board rentals, diving platform, fishing and picnicking. We camped in a travel trailer and have reservations to come back again. This was the best state park we have ever stayed in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
We stayed at Camp Burson; a very nice park. The office has a small store with camping and fishing supplies and snacks. Our site (#22) was a paved pull-through, shaded, and fairly level. Most sites appear level and most with ample room between sites. Some of the back-in sites are too short for longer RVs. Good water pressure. Park Wi-Fi would not connect our first night, and was spotty for the remainder of our four day stay. Verizon service worked well for our hotspot; AT&T cellphone was weaker, but worked. No cable, but we picked up about 4 TV stations over the air; Fox was the only major network. We did not try satellite, but saw one rig with a dish out, so I believe it would work. Bathhouse is in good condition, was clean, and had two washers and two dryers at $1.50 each. Lots of families and children on the campground, but none were loud or unruly. Hungry Mother Park has excellent trails, swimming, boating and fishing--all either on site or a short drive away. We played golf at the local Holston Hills golf course-- nicely maintained, not crowded, and $34 per person with cart. We also visited a local distillery--very small one person operation. Downtown Marion has nice shopping and a few restaurants. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
This is a very nice park - only about 5 miles from I-81, and the route to the park goes by a WalMart and grocery store if you need supplies. We stayed at Camp Burson, the campground with full hookups, although we had to drive down the road to the main park to check in, probably because it was midweek. Camp Burson is connected to the trail system that goes around the lake, so it isn't that separate. Sites seemed pretty level and nicely shaded. We were in Class B, but there were large 5th wheels & trailers in the pull-through sites. Bathrooms were clean, as were the 4 individual shower rooms serving the campground. Firewood was available from the camp host for $5 a bundle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
This is a wonderful peaceful campground. Nice level shaded sites, with extremely helpful hosts. Access to hiking and fishing around Hungry Mother Lake and beautiful scenery. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
We stayed at Camp Burson. Beware of site 15. A cherry tree hangs over the site. The site, trailer and awning were covered with cherries and pits. When I hosed off the awning it looking like blood flowing off but it does come off and didn't stain. We have enjoyed staying at Camp Burson. The sites are large and the creek is fun for the kids to play in. I do have a problem with the $5/pet/night charge for pets but it's still cheaper than a private campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$27
The Burson campground is very nice, but the sites are close to the road. We were told to pick any of the non-reservable sites and chose #51 because it was a nice pull-through. The back-in sites near the stream seemed a little tight. The lakeside trail was good. There is a new bathhouse with very large showers and a laundry facility. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$28
Campground loop B was a little worrisome getting to in a 32 foot RV because the roads are tight and have hairpin turns. I disconnected the tow car and had it driven ahead of our motorhome so I could be informed of any cars ahead. Once into the loop it was tight maneuvering again. We did get a site right next to a stream that made it all worth it. Unfortunately, a camper at the end of the loop had two dogs that they let roam the campground and no one cleaned up after them! Other than that it was very peaceful and I would camp there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
This is one of the best state parks we have ever stayed in. There are several camping areas to choose from. The Burson area accommodates all size trailers easily. The lake and cabin areas really make this a destination park. I'm sure they get their fair share of family reunion groups as it seems ideal for that purpose. We will stay here again even though we don't take advantage of all there is to do. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
We've camped at Hungry Mother on several occasions. Great level sites and quiet even though it is on a fairly busy road. Wonderful trails to hike and plenty for kids/families to enjoy. Stayed 8 nights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
Stayed in Camp Burson section where there are pull-throughs and full hookups. Site was nicely shaded but very unlevel, front to back. Water pressure was the lowest we have seen in 5 years of fulltiming. Free Wi-Fi was one of the best we have seen. Park was very quiet. No TV without a satellite dish. We paid an average of $32/night, including a $5/night dog fee that stopped after three nights. Strange, but that way they can be sure to sock it to the weekenders. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
Hungry Mother has 4 different campgrounds and this review reflects Camp Burson. The sight was gravel and level, a little on the short side but still plenty of room to pull the truck in sideways and be off the road. The sights were large and had grassy portions between the pads. After riding around the other campgrounds I do believe this is the only campground in the park that I would stay at. There are some large pull through sights in Burson and fairly shaded sights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$31
We've camped here several times and have always enjoyed it. Nice hiking trails, good spacing between sites, and excellent new bathroom facilities with nice one-person shower rooms. Price shown includes the extra $5 charge for the first night you register, so longer stays would be less expensive, but we used this just as an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
We stayed here for 3 nights since our original reservations a few miles away were cancelled due to a tornado destroying some sites there. We had seen this CG listed in the reviews as being good and once again went totally by the reviews alone. Okay the Pros: Near to a stream. Cool in the mountains. Nice staff. Clean sites. Beautiful area with many hiking trails. Cons: Staff driving through every day multiple times to get firewood which is right next to the CG. Dump station too small to fit your vehicle, since people park right in front of you. It is strange: wait till you see it. It's ridiculous NOISY and right NEXT to the road. NO privacy. On top of each other. Casual "nice" staff does nothing about people parking illegally in front of dump station. I asked them about it and he said to go down the road (a mile or two) to Burson. WHAT?! Then they did nothing. This park is another that I am confused by the good reviews. There are SO many better choices which we found while we were in the area, in case of the unexpected "tornado" again. Fact is that Hungry Mother was a waste of our time. By the way: we thought maybe this was the worst of the 3 CGs at this park. We were in CG "A". But when we checked B and C, we found they were even more lame. C was for tents up on platforms which you could not get a trailer in anyway. But B not only had NO PRIVACY, with sites on top of each other, you also had to go through the entire park to get to it. At least with CG A you could be just outside the main park entrance and not have to deal with the lines going in to the park which were substantial because of the VA 75 park anniversary and the swimming beach. My advice is GO ELSEWHERE. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
Pretty park set among the trees. Paved roads and gravel sites. Most are back in, and most are on the smaller side. However, we were able to get our 35' unit in our site with a little wrangling. Be careful of trees when backing in! Sites were otherwise spacious with plenty of separation between neighbors. Park is clean overall, and quiet. Not all sites have sewer, so be sure to specify when reserving. Check in was easy. Decent camp store, and shopping nearby. Nicest showers I have ever seen. Individual shower rooms with huge showers and lots of hot water. Only downside was no soap dish. Relaxing park, with plenty of nearby activities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
This is a fairly typical State Park, clean but not the greatest. The restroom and showers showed their age, but were reasonably clean and serviceable. There are several loops, the one we stayed in (A, close to the park restaurant) had electric. The park restaurant is very nice and there is a large sand beach. There are very nice park facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$23
We camped here for 8 days during the busy season with three grandsons and two dogs. The pull through site was extremely long. All facilities worked well. The store had firewood and lots of snacks, and staff was very friendly and helpful. The park held a dog show on Friday. Excellent lake beach swimming area 1 mile down a trail by the lake. The park was relatively quiet even though full of families with kids. We definitely plan to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$24
We stayed in Camp Burson at a site that offered electric and water. The sites are very spacious and the bath houses were extremely clean. The care takers were extremely nice and helpful. Our only complaint was that the non-sewer sites really needed more shade. At the time of this visit we did not have AC and it was very hot. Campground is also very centrally located as there were a number of grocery stores and restaurants within a 10 minute drive. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$33
I've reviewed this Burson campground before and not much has changed. Hookups are in excellent shape. Some of the sites are rather small. Wi-Fi works well. They still have the pet fee and still don't enforce their pet rules. The big change is the new bath house. It's within a few days of opening and looks great. It has restrooms, showers with separate entrances and a laundry. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$38
We arrived shortly after sunset and checked into the first campground along the park road which was Camp Burson. This campground offered full hook-ups and big rig access. They were currently building a new bathhouse which was absolutely necessary in this section. The park is beautiful with great hiking trails including a CCC trail and CCC cabins. The camp host was helpful. Next time I would try Camp B which was further in the park, however I did speak with someone who had great difficulty negotiating the tight turns and trees in this section. My only complaint was the excessive pet fee charged of $5.00 per pet per night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$33
I am reviewing Camp Burson which is actually outside the Park. My $33 rate included an extra $5 dog fee. Not sure what I got for that fee. They don't seem interested in even trying to enforce their pet rules. Mine was one of the few I saw around the park that was on a leash. That's my only negative. I got here a couple days after the Burson campground (There are 3 others.) opened for the year. I had a couple neighbors on the weekends but was otherwise alone. Camp store and office was closed. Checkin was at the main office. There are several large pull thrus among the 36 in the older section. Most of those have full hookups. All the hookups look very close to new. I wouldn't be surprised if I was the first one to use mine. Sites 37 thru 52 are new. They finished work and opened that section a couple days after I arrived. Those sites are all w/e, some back in and a few large pull thrus. Most of the new sites are larger than the old. Some of the old back in sites are probably unsuitable for anything bigger than a popup. The WiFi worked well. Satellite dish worked on my site (#22) and probably would on most of the others. The park has a really nice system of trails. There is an entrance to one loop right next to Burson. The rest are in the Park itself about a mile up the road. Marion isn't exactly a metropolis but all the basic shopping and dining choices are around. The plaza at the end of State Park Rd has pizza, Chinese carry out, Walmart, liquor, Radio Shack and a nice grocery store. What else could anyone need? We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$27
We spent 2 nights at the Camp Burson campground in Hungry Mother park for a little R&R. Check-in was quick, as we had reservations. We had a packet waiting for us, and proceeded to pick our on site after checking in. As mentioned before, this is the only one of the campgrounds in Hungry Mother with full hookups. There are 49 sites. There are eight pull through sites that are paved. The rest of the sites are gravel. It appears that the pull through sites were at one time two sites each, as they appear to be about 100 ft long, and have connections at each end. Some of the gravel sites have very nice pads with plenty of room for an extra tent and screened room. A few of the sites are a little more rustic. There are six sites with only water and electric hookups. They are expanding the grounds, and it looks like they are adding about 15 more sites. Included in the camping price is access to the park and the lake beach. The bathhouse is clean and functional, but way outdated. Most of the park is very shaded, and the trees are trimmed back for access. We found the free WiFi to be a pleasant surprise. It is provided by Friends of Hungry Mother Park. The campground was very crowded and almost full on Saturday night. On Sunday night there were only 8 campers in the park, including the hosts. We will stay there again for our quick getaways. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$28
Hungry Mother State Park is located about 3 miles north of Marion, VA on the shores of Hungry Mother Lake and has four separate camping areas. Section A is located just outside the entrance to the park on Park Road (Highway 16) with gravel roads and campsites. The sites are suitable for medium size RVs and tents. The entrance drops sharply for about three feet and large RVs can drag their frame or landing gear as they enter or leave this section. Being right along Park Road can be noisy depending on the traffic. Sites are level and have water and 30 amp electric service. Section B is about 0.5 miles into the park with paved roads which are very narrow. Only about three sites are suitable for large RVs. There are several other pull-thru sites which are long enough to accommodate my 33’ fifthwheel but they curve around trees and other obstructions and I would hesitate to try and navigate into these sites. Sites are level and have water and 30 amp electric service. Section C is near Section B and contains only tent sites but they are some of the nicest I have seen. Each site has a large wooden platform that can accommodate the largest tents. These platforms are level and provide excellent drainage when it is raining. If you want to stay in one of these sections, you must check in at the Discovery Center (Park Office). Camp Burson is the fourth section and it is located about 1.3 miles from the entrance to the park, just downstream from the dam. It used to be a private RV park, Hungry Mother Family Campground, and was purchased by the Virginia Parks, upgraded and expanded, and can accommodate the largest RVs along with their vehicles. It has a small laundry and free Wi-Fi which provides a signal almost to the edge of this section. Most of the sites in this section have 50 and 30 amp electric, water, and sewer. The other sites have only water and 30 amp electric. Additional sites are being added to meet the demand for campsites at this park. All camper have access to the park and a very nice sandy beach. The beach includes a diving platform in deep water with both a 1 meter and 3 meter diving board. A boat dock near the beach offers paddleboat, canoe, and kayak rentals at a reasonable price. Rental cabins are also available and a restaurant is located in the park. The park contains over a dozen miles of trails. There is also a boat ramp that provides access to the lake but boat engines are either banned or limited to a small size. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$24
Hungry Mother is an old park and shows it. The rest room facilities were old and run down, and as clean as they could be in their condition. Fortunately, a new building was under construction when we were there. The sites with sewer hook ups are outside of the main park, in a former private campground, which appears to be undergoing some level of remodeling. The Water/Electric sites are very close together with little privacy with the sites right on Hungry Mother Creek the nicest. Very large rigs (more than 35') are not allowed on the park road--for good reason. It is narrow with lots of sharp turns. All things considered we probably wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$26
We have stayed here many times this summer. We spend more time in Camp Burson which is outside the park. It is connected to the rest of the park by trails and the road. Camp Burson is as far away from the lake and other amenities as the B campground in the park. One advantage Camp Burson has over the B loop is that it has a swingset. We will stay here many more times. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$27
We stayed at Camp Burson, just outside of the main park area. Nice campground although the pull through sites are not exactly pull throughs. These are double sites and you can end up being back to back with other campers. Very friendly, helpful staff and campground hosts. The only drawback is the 1 mile drive into the park but after you get there there is plenty to do with a beach swimming area on the lake. Paddleboats, kayaks and fishing boats available for rent. Several hiking trails along the lake and beautiful scenery make for a nice get away. We will go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$27
We stayed in Camp Burson, which is on the main park road just before you reach the park entrance. Of 100 sites, 16 are hard-surface pull-throughs and another 30 are back-in onto gravel; the rest are grass. 30 amp service, water and sewer are available. Camping with your pet will cost an additional $3 per night. There is a small laundry room (3 washers and dryers), and the bathrooms are small and basic (2 stalls, 1 shower), but clean and well-supplied. Access to trails around the lake are at the spillway at one end of the campground. All sites were well-shaded and had a picnic table and fire-ring. Entry for swimming in the park's lake is included; there is a very nice sand beach with lifeguards and bathhouses. The park's restaurant was very good both for regular dining and the Sunday buffet lunch. Rentals of bikes, canoes, paddle boats and kayaks are available in the park. Gas/Walmart/fast-food/groceries are just a couple of miles away in the small town of Marion. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
Agree with all of the above comments. This is one beautiful park. Please be aware that if you are over 35 feet long (total vehicle(s) length), then you will have some very intense moments maneuvering through the sites. If that kind of thing doesn't bother you, you will be fine but if it does then go to Camp Burson at the spillway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2005
$21
Excellent park. All areas well maintained. Trails offer good opportunity to hike and bike ride (really popular at park). Swimming in the lake available during season - only wildlife (ducks and geese) swimming during visit. Canoe and paddle boat rental available. Did not eat at Restaurant. Had site on the stream (B19) and it was lovely spot. Will return to this Park if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$25
What an absolutely beautiful park this is – almost pristine. The state of Virginia definitely knows how to take care of their campgrounds. We camped here for five nights in late September, in the “B” loop. There were never more than six other parties on any given night. It was very quiet and peaceful – just the sounds of birds, crickets, and the wind through the trees. Just what the doctor ordered. Though I imagine that on warm fall weekends and during the summer, this place is probably filled and bustling with activity. Though closed during our stay, there are canoe and paddle boat rentals on the lake, a very nice beach with a diving board, a concession stand, and a restaurant on-site. I understand that the restaurant serves a country buffet on the weekends during the off-season, but I’m not sure about their hours during the summer. There are about 30 sites in the “B” loop with a few pull-throughs and a few with long pads to accommodate big rigs. But since specific sites cannot be reserved here, area “A” and “Camp Burson” may be better suited for the big guys. We camped in one of seven sites which backed up to a creek which was very nice. The water level was very low due to recent drought conditions, but when the flow is greater I would think the sound to be very soothing if you like that sort of thing. The pads are level and paved, and though not too thickly wooded, there is still a good measure of privacy to be had. What a great facility this is. If you own a mountain bike, definitely bring it. The ride around the lake is very nice – scenic and well maintained. Though I didn’t do any hiking on this trip, I was told that the hike to “Molly’s Knob” is well worth the effort. There is also a paved walking path which connects the campground to the other areas of the park. Since many folks seem to make an issue out of the bathroom and shower facilities, here’s my review. Yes, the facilities could use some updating, but they were clean. The configuration was a little strange in that if someone was using the urinal, I could have shaken hands with them, (Well, maybe not!) Anyway, for what it lacked in aesthetics was made up with hot water and PLENTY of it. The pressure was high which made for a great shower. My wife went to shower one evening and another lady came in to use the second stall. My wife explains that this lady began moaning – whether it was in pain or pleasure she didn’t immediately know. The other lady eventually commented that it was the “best shower she ever had”. I wouldn't go that far, but it was quite refreshing. I guess the other good thing about Hungry Mother is that the town of Marion, only six miles away, has just about any services you could need. I counted three food stores, a laundromat, fast food joints and other restaurants, auto parts, and yes – even a Wall-Mart. I will definitely return to Hungry Mother at some point in the future. If you’ve never been here, you should give it a try. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$21
One of Virginia's original state parks built by the CCC. This park features a lake with a lifeguarded beach,canoe and paddleboat rentals, some lighted and paved walking trials through shaded woods covered with mountain laurel. There are two campgrounds, A & B, with water and electric and a separate area for tent camping on wooden platforms without hookups. Campground B features paved roads and pads while Campground A is gravel. There are activities for children and a nice restaurant. The bathroom facilities are clean and adequate but are in need of renovation. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com