223543 User submitted reviews online!!
Meadows of Dan Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (276) 952-2292
CGID3064

Meadows of Dan Campground

Camp Information
Sites
26
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   10   9   9   7   8   7   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
We loved this place. It's small and very quiet, with a few large pull-through sites overlooking a beautiful meadow, and several smaller sites in a tree-covered area. All sites have full hookups and 50 amps, although the water pressure was a little low at 30psi. Plenty of space between sites, and each has a picnic table and fire pit. Verizon phone service was great, with a tower within view of the park. As indicated previously, there is a paved road up to the office, which is the manager's home, then gravel the rest of the way into the park and sites. I am critical of site levelness, and the pull through sites were pretty good - no extra lumber needed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There was a severe storm coming through while we were there, and the manager went to each site with tips on what could be done to prepare - very good! Bathrooms and showers were clean, with benches outside of each shower for needed items. The small laundry room had one washer and one dryer only. You can't beat this place for access to the Blue Ridge Parkway, it's about 1/4 mile away. There was a small country farmer's market and a grocery store about 3/4 miles east, and larger stores in Stuart, which is about 14 miles away. There were also 2 wineries - one with an excellent restaurant - about 6 miles north on the Parkway. The $28 daily rate was based on a one-week stay. We would definitely come back here, and recommend it to anyone coming through this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
Very clean and quiet campground. We will stay again. We camped here in a Tent.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
An older and lovely campground, perfect for a stay while exploring the picturesque and interesting area (Blue Ridge Parkway, wineries, etc.). Friendly and efficient check-in at the owner’s house. Level, full hookup and clean sites, some wooded, and some in an open grassy field. Spotless restrooms with strong, hot showers. Nice areas for dog walking. We would definitely stay again and will! It's a 10 for us as we are more interested in scenery and cleanliness than in pool, cable, and Internet availability. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Yes, as the previous reviewer stated: after you turn into the entrance, do not drive up the hill yet, but stop and walk over to the house on your left first. You gotta sit at their kitchen table and fill out the forms first. Nice, friendly lady here in the "office". This is a very nice campground at a very nice location next to the Blue Ridge Parkway. The bathroom and showers are among the best we have used anywhere. And, EACH RV spot had its own 2 trashcans. Never seen that before. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
I agree with a review from a previous camper; the check-in is really weird. Yes, you must park on a hill to check in but even more weird is that the office is the campground owner's house. One must go in a side door which goes into a mothball smelling storage room. Then there is another door that we had to knock on. It goes into the kitchen where it also serves as an office. You are walking into their house and is a little unusual. Once past all this, the owners are really nice. The campground is surprisingly nice with a very quiet and quaint atmosphere. The sites are nice and the grounds are well maintained. Trash cans and sewer at every site (except tent sites) is really nice. Restrooms and shower area is one of the cleanest but like other campgrounds, the toilet paper is really thin and hard to get off the roll without tearing. Sites have a fire ring as well as a grill. TV reception is over-the-air with several decent channels. We spent 5 days here and can't find one complaint. If the owners had to make any improvements, I'd say the office and check-in area needs a complete makeover but for $30, it is a great campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$30
Clean, quiet campground. One web site said it had Wi-Fi, but did not. Limited TV reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
This was my second stay here this year (previous was in late April) and both times have been extremely pleasant. Quiet and peaceful campground in a scenic setting right next to the Blue Ridge Parkway with well maintained facilities. Verizon 3G signal provided surprisingly good bandwidth for a seemingly out of the way location. If camped in the wooded area, be aware that many of the big trees are oaks and in the fall they drop cluster bombs of acorns! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
The camp ground was very well maintained. Great access to the Blue Ridge Parkway. Entering the camp ground is a little awkward as you must park on a hill to check in. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
This was our 4th visit to this beautiful, wooded, campground hideaway less than a mile off the Blue Ridge Parkway. It is family owned and operated; has an immaculate, modern bath house and laundry room; spacious, level, graveled sites which can easily accommodate big rigs; but spotty cell phone coverage and no Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$26
Sites are adequate, but not large in the wooded section of the campground. Our site was not very level, no picnic table at our site initially - borrowed neighbor's after they offered it up as they were leaving. Bathrooms are spotless and up to date. Playground consists of small metal swing set and badminton/volleyball net. Nice large field to play in. Very convenient to the Blue Ridge Parkway. Quiet, simple campground that provides the basics. It is a beautiful area and this campground does a nice job at preserving a natural setting. Not for those who need scheduled activities and lots of amenities. Staff is very helpful and pleasant, knowledgable about the area. We look forward to a return trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$26
Right off the Blue Ridge Parkway. Very quiet and rather secluded. Grounds are kept up nice and very scenic. Gravel roads are easy to negotiate and we had no problem pulling in and out of our pull through site. We would plan to stay here again. Friendly people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$26
This worked out as a great stay for me as I was heading north on the Parkway. Being able to stay close to the parkway in a scenic, quiet, safe campground with full hookups was good enough. But it was great being just a couple of miles from Mabry Mill. That put me there in the morning when I was fresh and able to really enjoy walking around the beautiful grounds there. I'd definitely stay there again - only problem is Verizon cell phone and air card for internet access rarely worked and reception was terrible. But if you can do without that for a while, this is a fantastic stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$22
my good sam club was just there 31 may thru 4 june-we had 11 couples there, 9 rigs and 2 in Cabins--this place is "very "nice up on a hill and beautiful.near the Blue Ridge Parkway the owner keeps the place spotless-full hookups,fire rings, nice tables,trash cans,kids swings, badmitten net,Horse shoes,just a great place to go and relax, NO store. YES i will return rich in Va. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$24
When you pull in there's a house to the left that says "Office"; it's a short walk away. Don't be put off by the condition of the back porch or the kitchen(it's the office folks). You'll sit at the kitchen table to complete your registration and be sent on your way. Very pleasant hostess. Sites are varied but large and fairly well separated. Bathrooms are clean. Sites in sun or trees available. Good stopover while traveling the Blue Ridge Parkway. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$20
Number of sites on top of hill in full sun, the rest are inside trees with gravel roads and level sites. Office is a house near hwy. You have no place to park as you drive in; it would be nice to have a place to park rig. Park is free of noise day and night. No pot holes in roads but a couple of sites did need a little work due to wash out of gravel. Not a lot to do here but that is always a good thing. Water was very cold and very good to drink. Staff was very nice. Number of places to visit near by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$22
Cleanest restrooms I've ever seen. Nothing to do but sit, read and relax. Excellent! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2004
$24
This is a friendly, family run campground. It is sparkling clean and beautiful. No frills, just a wonderful, relaxing place in a great location only a stones throw off the Blue Ridge Parkway. A place to visit over and over again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$26
This campground is a restful place to relax. There are no pools etc., but nature is the beauty of this campground. The roads are gravel and the place is small and growing, but the lots are large, shaded and not close together and the owner/managers live onsite, always ready to help you with anything you need. There are no closed gates to impose a curfew on you. Everyone was quiet and respectful of one another during July 4th week. The campground is just off the Blue Ridge Parkway. We do plan on staying here again. Many times. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$20
It was cute. It was small. This campground is nestled in the mountains and just has an aura about it. I thought it was relaxing. My campsite was tight, but I did not mind. This is a nice weekend getaway. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$20
This is a delightful small (only 20 places now) park that is building several small cabins and adding a few more pullthroughs, although those will be in the open, but will have satellite access (we did not in the woods.) The site is in a "hollow" so is nice and quiet, surrounded by farmland. The Blue Ridge Mountain Parkway is less than a mile away. The owners were friendly and kept a clean campground. The bathhouse, though small (2 stalls and 2 showers for women) was clean. The laundry room had a washer and dryer that were clean and the room itself was neat and clean. There is a phone there for local calls or to make calls using a phone card. We had a 40' RV and found sites #6 and #5 were easy to get into (back in), and the 4 or 5 new sites on the top of the hill that were pullthroughs were fine, but lacked atmosphere. There is a swingset for children and a horseshoe pit. You are only a mile from The Mabry Mill which is a "must see" on the Parkway. You are 10 minutes from the Olde Mill Resort We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com