221563 User submitted reviews online!!
Battle of Cedar Creek Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (540) 869-1888
CGID3065

Battle of Cedar Creek Campground

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   5   5   2   5   7   10   7   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2014
$35
No one answered the phone and no sign of owners or management, but did speak to a cleaning lady who couldn't assist In any way. Roads rutted, causing tow vehicle to drag. Had to drive over fire pit to get into/out of site. Lots of long term campers in the park. Has LOTS so potential but looks like owners may have given up. Don't know how it's rating manages to be so high. But! Convenient to I-81 for overnighting on the north-south migration route. Smaller rigs would be much happier here. We are 65' with tow vehicle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
This is a very basic campground. It may be a little over-priced for what you get, but this is a very expensive area. The owner is working hard to make it a success. While it is convenient for an I-81 stop-over, there are too many permanent residents and leveling is almost impossible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2012
$35
This is one of those parks that could be a real gem if it wasn't full of full-timers with rundown trailers and barking dogs. There are new managers recently as of september, and they are working to clean the place up. Very friendly folks. The area isn't a vacation destination, so I imagine that parks in this area have to allow full-timers in order to make a living. However, having some rules in place and enforcing them would make things better. Pros: Close to main highway, good water pressure, long spots with plenty of room on the sides, pretty creek running through park. Cons: Busy road right next to park, full-timers with rundown trailers and barking dogs, our power surge protector was constantly flashing red letting us know that the power source wasn't steady, dirt spots and very muddy due to recent rain. I think the new managers are on the right track with this campground, but I don't know if they plan on cleaning up the clientele of the park at all. It worked for a couple nights stay so we could go into DC for a day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
This campground has many permanent campers. Place was not well kept. Bathrooms were dirty. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
It was our good fortune to be very busy for the 4 days/nights we were camped at this campground, so that we didn't have to spend much time here. We had site 11, which was the smallest site I've ever seen. If we had pulled our awning out, it would have been over the neighbor's fire ring. The interior road to our site was treacherous with an extremely narrow path over a small creek. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
The campground is well kept and has a very friendly staff. The lady behind the counter drove to the site with us and helped us in parking since there was a tree close by where we needed to park. There was a good mix of tent campers, trailers, and Class A vehicles. The campground is good for anyone, including families, who wants to stay on the grounds and not go on extended bike rides (very narrow shoulders on Highway 11) or hiking. For children, there was a clean pool, a playground in good condition, a grass area for running around. There's also a miniature golf course, canoes and paddle boats. My wife and I took a paddle boat ride up the creek, which, at this location, is very slow moving. The water was very clear. Overall, a very good (but strenuous) experience. We also took a couple of bike rides in each direction on Highway 11. Going north toward Middletown, we visited the Battle of Cedar Creek site. The view was very scenic. The road had a center turning lane, so it made the small shoulder less perilous. Going south toward Strasburg (and I-81), the road is four lanes. Both towns are within a couple miles of the campground. I didn't give a higher score because a number of trailers / RVs, that were clearly there for extended stays, looked run down. Also, the campground is adjacent to Highway 11 resulting in a high level of sporadic traffic noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$8
We had both tents and pull throughs in our group of 25 (15 camped, plus 10 came down for the day) people, so had the opportunity to experience both the hook up sites and the group camping area. Every person in our group fell in love with this campground. The managers have done an EXCELLENT job of rehabilitating this park: the unwanted element that plagued this location prior to the new owners taking over have been removed. Yes, some of the trailer sites are tricky with the narrow bend at one end of the campground, but there are a few more sites that are above the office that are easy to access with full hookup. We enjoyed use of the paddle boats, canoes, swimming pool, rec room and large group area all included in the price of our group. VERY reasonable pricing for a nice, quiet park. Friendlier service can't be found anywhere. If you are looking for a park with stores and lots of attractions onsite, this isn't it. But there is enough to do here if you want to keep active, and plenty of beauty if you just want to soak it up. Our group will definitely come back next year, and after hearing about our experience here it will most likely be much larger! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$17
The rate of $17 reflects a weekly rate of $120. We stayed at this park approximately 3 weeks. The campground is a little rough, but this is more than offset by the price considering it is about 75 minutes from D.C. Management was very friendly and helpful. Some of the residents are struggling under the current economy. A couple were living in tents or deteriorating trailers; however, everyone was friendly and we had no problems. The managers keep a close eye on things. I am calling this campground big rig friendly, but there are limited big rig sites. We have a 40 foot fifth wheel pulled by a semi - Overall length of 67 feet. The one site that was long enough for us and had sewer happened to be available for us. There are a couple other long pull through sites that do not have sewer. When we left they were starting to put in 50 amp service into the bigger sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
We stopped here for one night on Labor Day weekend. This was our first trip in our travel trailer, and the owner couldn't have been kinder, or more helpful to us. We arrived after dark, and were able to secure a pull-through site. The road that went around the campground was rather narrow, and had a sharp bend, but we were able to pull our 35' trailer through it. The owner said that they purchased the campground recently and were working on many projects to improve it. It was a great place to stop for the night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
New owners took over the park in Nov. 2008 This is strictly a bare bones type of park. The road leading into the sites was very narrow. The pull thrus are very short. Big rigs would have a very difficult time maneuvering around. Fine for a overnight visit. Definitely not a destination park We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
This campground is under new ownership. The new owner is working hard to overcome the reputation of the rough full time residents, and is cleaning up and renovating as quickly as he can. I feel comfortable staying there now, and plan to use the campground for storage this winter. This is one of the most appealing campgrounds, near charming towns, stream running through, large meadow. The nearest full service campground costs almost twice as much, so this will be my choice since I am through here frequently. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
This family-owned campground caters mostly to full-timers and year-round residents. I called ahead to make a reservation 2 hours before I was to arrive. One of the owners met me at the office and remembered me by name. I had walked around before registering so I new exactly which site I wanted. I selected a site that backs into a stream (Cedar Creek). It is close to US 11 but the shady spot was so beautiful! When you first arrive it looks like a ghost town but don't let that scare you away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
Owners rarely on grounds, left young daughters to register people. Five full time residents; four full timers appeared rough with unsightly rigs and surroundings. Mold in bathrooms, no toilet paper or paper towel. Recreation building not in use due to vandalism and disrepair. Three sites occupied by tenants with no tents, one of which had a cargo trailer seemingly for business, saw plastic containers when door was open. Two of the three tenants with no tents/rigs asked for secluded sites in trees, piled supplies around pickup trucks. Observed aggressive/rude behavior on part of male owner on neighbor's property. Pool and miniature golf were not usable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com