219848 User submitted reviews online!!
Westmoreland State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 40 user reviews. Phone: (804) 493-8821
CGID3068

Westmoreland State Park

Camp Information
Sites
133
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   7   7   10   9   8   9   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$27
This is a great park. We purposefully went Sun-Tues when empty was an understatement. Of the 40 sites in Loop B we were one of two campers other than the Park host who we only saw early AM and evenings. By the second night we were the only transient camper in the Loop and Loop A only had two. Camp host lived in Loop A and visited daily, cleaning up empty sites prepping for weekend. Rangers patrolled frequently. Check in was painless and consisted of picking a site (even with reservations) and then notifying the visitor’s center where we were. Sites are close together and little ground cover and brush remains. You will get to know your neighbors if the campground starts getting full. Not too many level sites and not all will take the larger rigs so get there early on arrival day. We were in site 13 with a 32 foot MH with no problem. Some pull through sites are available, but without jacks some would be tough to level on just blocks. Water in our site did not work but plenty of empty sites around to pull water from. Bath house was clean and kept up. Loop B bath house appeared in better shape than Loop A. Loop A sites are older and not as friendly to larger rigs with similar leveling issues and a number of reversed services. Visitor Center was open, but all other park amenities other than trails were closed during the week. Park trails are well marked and good hikes. Two are bikeable and they are relatively easy. Road to beach has a steep hill/walk bikes warning and its for real. Ride back up will test a seasoned mountain biker. Few bugs this time of year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
Westmoreland is the first ever state park, so it is old, has no sewer hookups, no 50 amp and no Wi-Fi - BUT it is very clean, the staff is extremely helpful & friendly, and it's absolutely gorgeous! Fees are extremely reasonable and there's nature all around. A really great park to get away from it all and get back to nature. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$27
This park is one of the original CCC parks in Virginia. It is quite large and has three CGs. CGs "B" and "C" are better suited to tenters, pop-ups, and small campers. There are W/E sites in each CG but also many primitive sites. CG "A" is where you should go if you have a larger rig. Even this CG is very tight to get around and some of the sites are very difficult to enter or leave. While we were there, the inch worms were in season and they were very aggravating so beware in early May. It was very quiet and the CG was almost deserted during the week. As with most Virginia state parks this one is nice and the staff is great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$31
This park is absolutely gorgeous. The campsites are spread out with lots of privacy. This is a slow time here and therefore you could hear a pin drop. The visitor center is lovely and the staff were very helpful. The trails were wonderful as well and we did see bald eagles every day we were here. The only negative things were the bathrooms in campground A, need lots of attention. The window screens were torn and covered with dirt and bugs. The water pressure is very low. We ended up filling our fresh water tank and used our pump to increase the pressure to take showers. They are working on that problem though. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
Great State Park! Amazing trails (Beach Trail, Big Meadow Trail, Fossil Beach, Big Meadow, Rock Spring Pond) very well maintained sites (we stayed at 28 AE W/E), fun family activities for families (eagle walk, fossil hike, shark tooth necklace making), friendly camp hosts and park staff as well as fellow campers, awesome soaring Bald Eagles filled the sky each day we were there - can't wait to go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
This park is located along the Potomac River below DC. There are three camping loops in the park two with hookups. The bathrooms are older but clean and the sites look like they were redone a few years ago, with sites for long RV’s and the most of them are level. New Visitor Center this year! There is a pool which campers can use about ¼ mile away near the picnic area and boat area. Hiking trails throughout the park. Sites are well shaded. We stayed here two nights so that we could visit the George Washington Birthplace national Monument 4 miles away and Stratford Hall a mile away. Home of the Lees of Virginia and birthplace of Robert E. Lee. Good stop and we would return to visit some of the other attractions in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$31
Rustic with several options of camp sites. Sites were everything from large to small, level to not level. Area in general was clean with little in the way of downed branches. The rolling hills and woods around the park were great. This park has a great beach area (dog friendly) with cliffs nearby. We were there when tornado warnings were issued and the rangers came to every site to warn the campers and suggested buildings to go to. The rangers stayed with us and kept us informed of the weather reports until the warning was lifted. This park is located between George Washington's and Robert E. Lee's birthplaces. (approx. 5 miles each way). Shower and restroom were clean but need to be updated. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
We enjoyed the park for a Spring Break getaway. Most of the amenities were closed, but the few people and good weather made it very nice. We stayed in a pull through spot, but still a little tight. The Camp hosts very nice. The bathrooms were clean, but being serviced for a day. The new visitors center nice but bare. Overall a great place to center a vacation or weekend in the Northern Neck. We went to Lowery's in Tappahannock for dinner. It had good seafood, but was a long drive. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$30
Very nice state park with plenty of activities. The sites were nice, but due to the fact that it is very wooded in the loop where we camped, there wasn't much grass. The hiking and biking trails were nice. All of the rangers were very nice and the new camp office is very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
Nice park. Mostly clean, though there was some trash left on our site from previous residents. Roads were narrow, so the site was very difficult to get into. Many sites have the patio area at the back of the site and your door would open into trees and bushes. Electric was not working correctly, but the ranger fixed it as soon as I told him. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
Very nice park; we have camped here on several occasions. Has good interpretative programs for all ages. A hunt for sharks teeth at Fossil Beach. We found a few, so can you. Has a BIG pool and it's well life guarded. Good biking, deer and small animals. Near George Washington's and R.E. Lee's birthplace. Great area. Fee was $28.75 per night, including reservation fee. Camped in B15. No complaints. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
We stayed two nights as a "R & R" from home life. The park is very nice, well kept up, and clean. For a state park it has a lot of amenities. Only 30 amp, not 50; but that did not present us with any problems. Water but no sewer. Well maintained dump site that was close to campground. We could not reserve a specific site but we could reserve one with water and electric. Site B17 had the hookups and picnic table on the same side. We noticed other sites set up the same way but not all. Just an inconvenience not a problem. They supplied firewood at a charge of $.50 per piece but I don't think everyone was paying (honor system). They have a nice swimming pool and non-powered boats for rent. Both were closed; we were late in the season. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
What a pleasant surprise. Very nice State Park with spacious, flat, wooded camp sites. The best thing about this campground is the access to the Potomac. Amazing scenery (stunning!), fun beach, and fishing. There is also a nice pool right on the beach with a gorgeous view of the Potomac. All around a great campground and we'll return here many times. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
I would have given this park a 10 but the water pressure and power were a little anemic. There were a ton of ticks but that's a given during this time of year. The campground was very nice and clean. We liked Campground A better than B as it seemed to be laid out better. We were in a 39 Foot RV and they had some nice pull through sites. We loved the trails and walked on all of them. It was pure enjoyment! There was something for all to do and enjoy. We will most definitely go back again. Go prepared with food though. We left home without stocking up thinking there was a Walmart nearby. We never did find one. We were also looking for a place to eat but the only place in town was Angelos and that was mobbed so we drove several miles and found a Food Lion. We didn't see any fast food. It's in a remote area. I am not sure I'm in agreement with the fact that they mention asking for $5 per pet in all VA State parks. If they enforce this, we will not be visiting a VA State Park anytime soon as we have 4 dogs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$34
Nice clean campground we had a great time here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
This is an older park with poor water pressure and electric power. Weather turned cold and we needed to use electric heater, but amps were very low. When you make a reservation it is not for a specific site, which may or may not be a good thing. We were in Loop B which has some very tight turns for larger RVs. We got a pull through site which was fairly level but poorly laid out. Look site over very carefully to see if the directional arrows along the road really put the utility hookups on the correct side of the RV and check for low hanging trees. Some of the "big rig" site had vegetation so low as to make them unusable. TV reception was poor, usually doesn't make much of a difference to us, but with the cold weather, being indoors was desirable. Modem worked but not at broadband speeds. Cell phone worked. Overall a nice park and not sorry we came, but severely down rated due to water pressure and low electrical power. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$26
We camped in a pull-through site. The sites are really big and spread apart from each other. Our site had a separate picnic table area that was framed by timers and filled with crushed stone. Our site was slanted and required help from a neighbor to get our camper level. I would say it was off by about 12 - 14 inches. The park rangers and park hosts were super nice. They had activities such as hikes and lectures at a campfire. The pool is HUGE! The views of the river are stunning. It is a pain in the neck not having sewer, but the bath houses were close. My biggest beef was that the bath houses were not cleaned very well. All-in-all this is a great park and a great place to camp. If they had sewer it would be 10+. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
This is an old campground. The site we had was very shady but an odd shape and extremely unlevel. Water pressure was very low. We had to use leveling blocks 5 high to get level. We had to park at the back of the site to hook-up and have enough room to open our awning but the picnic table and grill were at the far front of the site and off to the side. The bathroom was always dirty - water on the floor, mud, toilet paper all over. The showers were OK. We've camped in other VA state parks which were much nicer. Don't think we'll go back here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
We love, love, love this place! I have been coming here for 35+ years. My kids have come here and now my grandchildren.It's a wonderful family atmosphere and the staff is always friendly. I love to sit at the pool and watch the river. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$36
My be the best VA State Park! Awesome staff, camp sites, and amenities. The pool is awesome. The waterfront makes for a very nice picnic. Very biking and hiking friendly. Will definitely go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
Nice shady Park (B loop) with plenty of hiking trails and roads to bike on. Appears to have nice pool, but it was not open due to time of year. Has public beach, though no swimming. Can rent pedal boats and canoes. Fishing is abundant on river. Enjoyed park overall, but bathrooms could have been a little cleaner. Will camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$24
Beautiful park! Stayed in Campground B as other two were closed. The children enjoyed going on the nature trails, but they spent most of the weekend playing in the woods with the children from the camper next to us. Who would have thought a fallen tree could provide a weekends-worth of entertainment? We stayed one time last year (in Campground A) and experienced very low water pressure, but we did not have that problem this trip. However, several sites had electrical problems. The rangers ended up putting one family up for the night in a cabin until an electrician could come the following day. Our awning lights blinked on and off most of the evening. I'd rate this park a 10 if the hook-ups were reliable -- and if there was sewer hook-up. Regardless, we enjoyed our stay and will definitely return again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$24
We liked this park. They are very strict on the rules...No Alcohol, Dogs in leash at ALL times, NO swimming in the Potomac river. They have an awesome Olympic size pool right on the river bank and it is kept spotless. Lots of fishermen along the banks. If you like fishing bring your tackle and cut squid. Rangers very actively patrol the park so you will definitely feel safe. My only complaint of the park is the water pressure. we couldn't get more than 20PSI out of our hookups. the bath house seemed fine but we had to fill our tanks and use our water pump to get enough pressure to shower. All around good park to spend the weekend! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$60
This is a very large and beautiful park. I would not recommend big rigs, at least in the "a" loop. The water pressure was very low as previously described. The pool and activities all have to be driven to since they are so far away. I would strongly recommend that if you are in the are to stop by the Westmoreland Berry Farm. The kids will love it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$24
Second time camping and as lovely and peaceful as we remembered. Some minor issues detract: low water pressure at our site so we had to fill the tank and use the pump (took a LONG time to fill) and similar low pressure at the bathhouse shower. Not all sites had low pressure, but several did. Swimming pool was wonderful and we noted that the guards seemed to know the young kids and interact with them, which seems like a good idea. We hiked to Fossil Beach and did some beach combing but didn't find the desired shark's teeth. Oh well, maybe next time. Sites are shady, spacious and mostly level. Highly recommend this to those who don't need high energy theme parks with arcades, cartoon characters parading around, and lots of noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$24
Great state park. Large sites, each site has an attached pad which includes a fire ring/grill and picnic table. Sites are separated by trees. Lots to do with hiking trails, fossil cliffs, beach, picnic areas, paddle boats, pool and playground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
This Is a very nice park. We stay here several times a year because it is very close. Campground is waterfront even though there are no water front sites. Very large pool. Lots of history in the area so there are lots of things to do. Very highly recommended campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$25
We spent one night just to check out the park. It is a well groomed state park. Currently some amenities are under renovation. Sites are well spaced and some are very private. There was some trash around the park, I wish people would take care of the public parks. Water pressure was low and had trouble with the faucet. Has nice beach but you can only swim in the pool (closed when there in April). They also have non-power boats for rent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$25
The park was beautiful and very clean. The park rangers were great with the kids. The beach was great and lots of room to play with the kids. They also have a great playground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$24
This was the first time we camped at this park. We stayed on Loop B (only loop open), and found it to be very pleasant. There weren't many people there, and it was very quiet. The site was large with a nice gravel pad with a picnic table, fire pit and lantern pole. Our only complaints were that the water pressure was low, and the voltage would drop to low levels as well. The view from the cliffs is gorgeous. We will return here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$25
Great Park. We will be back. Great sites level and large with table and fire pit. Clean everything. Quiet and beautiful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$26
This park remains one of our favorites in the Virginia State Park system. While the park dates back to the 1930's, and there is not much to attract the younger set (there is a great pool) from a commercial standpoint, this is a great place to help the youngsters begin to appreciate the nature around them. Osprey, heron and Bald Eagles are common along the Potomac and the park offers some great hiking trails, including one very accessible to those confined to wheelchairs (paved and gently sloped). The sites are clearly marked and the interior roads can be a bit rough, but there is generally good drainage. We were "treated" to a particularily violent thunderstorm one evening. One lightning strike damaged the pool's filter pump motor, so the pool was out of commission for the week. For kayaker's/canoeists, the Northern Neck has a wealth of small ramps and out-ins on both the Potomac and Rappahannock rivers that offer a lot of opportunities for viewing nature at its best. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
Hmm, what to say about this campground. Well, it is hard to give it a 100% accurate review as the day before we showed up the pool was struck by lightning and it was out of service. We tried to make the best of it deciding to go to the river and swim: WELL, you can't. Apparently a dock broke in the water and there are pieces of wood and nails floating around and they were sued, so, no swimming there either. They have a decent campground. But, with 2 teenagers, hardly enough to keep us occupied. We stayed in a back-in site and it was small. The awning went out, but, not enough room between our door and the railroad tie to put out our fake grass carpet. VERY woodsy. It was OK, but, not what I was expecting. Apparently they added some new cabins and they seemed nice. We won't go back, but, I would recommend it for someone who is totally looking for peace and quiet with no kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$25
This is a very nice state park. We had a full hook up site. They do not have sewer hookups. Only issue we had was that the water pressure was not very strong at all. Not sure if it was the site we were at or that is how all of them are. But sites and roads are gravel. Each site has a fire pit. Site was very level and was a nice place to ride bikes. Has a nice playground for the kids. Pool was not open, but looked very big. Nice beach to play on or picnic. We will be going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$23
Campground is lovely. Eagles soared overhead, the swimming pool was large and not crowded (Labor Day weekend, yet) and we kayaked on the Potomac. Down side was restrooms looked unkept at end of season. Some stall doors in need of repair and showers not in best of shape, though wife thought they were fine. Also, perhaps because it was Labor Day, the staff was dwindling. Went to the nature center and one person there who seemed tired and not excited about telling us what was available. But for a pure camping experience, the park is great with wonderful layout and good intermingling of RVs and tents. Lots to see and do close by if you are interested in history, touring wineries, or fossil hunting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$25
Nice trails, nice pool, bring your boat and you can launch it here. This was our second year staying here and would recommend it to anyone. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$68
Very nice state park located on the Potomic River. Hurricane Isabel caused considerable damage to the park and clean up is ongoing. Hiking trails and campgrounds are closed due to storm damage. Some camping cabins also sustained damage, but a few are available for use. Close to Robert E. Lee's birthplace, George Washington's birthplace, and a winery that is open for tours. Not many places to dine out. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Campground Cabins.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$25
We have stayed at this State Park 3-4 times per year over the last 5 years. It was great 5 years ago and has only gotten better each year. We currently have a 35 ft motorhome and have no problem getting into sites in either the A or B loops. Lots of trails and paved roads to walk, wildlife to see and water to paddle - we also kayak. A boathouse with rental kayaks and guided tours adds to the attraction. A beautiful olympic sized pool at the beach on the Potomac River is great on the hot days. The staff is friendly and unobtrusive. A fairly well stocked camp store is open at convenient hours. Additional facilities include cabins that range from rustic to fully equipped, air conditioned modern resort style. Restaurants and shopping close by are fairly sparse other than antique stores and small gift shops. A couple of excellent family-run restaurants are within a few minutes drive. George Washington's birthplace and Robert E. Lee's birthplace are very close by and well worth the visit. On our last visit (Aug '03) we were entertained by sighting nearly 20 individual Bald Eagles during one 3-hour paddle on the Potomac. Virginia has great State Parks, and this is among the best. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$23
Sites are level and clean. Some very nice hiking trails. There are three camping areas. We stayed in campground "B". There is a beach with a fishing pier and boat rentals. We were there in March and it rained most of the weekend. Definitely going back when the weather is better. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$21
One of Virginia's largest and best parks. Many hiking trails with several bald Eagle sightings. Nice clean, quiet park in a woods setting. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com