214755 User submitted reviews online!!
Prado Regional Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (909) 597-4260
CGID307

Prado Regional Park

Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   5   9   8   3   9   6   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
We're very pleased with this park and highly recommend it. A lot of shade beautiful trees and very green. This park is very clean. Only complaint which is not campgrounds fault is that they have very feisty skunks here, ranger warned us on way in that they have skunks who like to spray, our dog got sprayed by a skunk and was only laying down when it got her. We smelled skunk spray every night, I will not bring my dogs again, but will be returning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
The park is spacious and fairly well kept. Sites are easy to access and maintained. The restrooms were horrible and the showers were even worse. If you just use the facilities in your RV you'll be golden. Ants are an issue here. Woke up both mornings we were here to not just a few, but trails of ants inside. The old comet cleanser trick didn't seem to help either. Be forewarned! Park does get busy on the weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
We liked this park. The sites are spread out and not like a parking lot. Our site was level and the utilities worked well and we didn't have any trouble getting in and out with our motorhome. We were able to pickup dozens of TV channels using our antenna. The park was very clean and has a lot of walking paths and a few ponds. There is no WiFi available but our Verizon worked well. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$30
This park is beautiful and the staff members were very nice. The only problem we had was with a stray male dog running lose. It's sad that the local animal control can't do anything about it. The park ranger said it was a pesky problem. We could not stay there because we had a female in season with us. The park people were happy to refund our money with lots of apologies. So shame on the county, not the park. We would like to try again to stay here. The sites were spread out and not real close to each other like in some parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
A below-average municipal RV park, though park grounds and lake are pleasant and so is the staff. Site was trashy; we picked up litter (plastic, paper, old shoes, etc.) but it took 3 requests before the staff picked up the dead refrigerator left by previous campers. The sewer didn't drain but after a couple of days they responded to our request and fixed it. The local mice found their way into our MH; that hadn't happened before. If you get one of the lower-numbered sites (1-12 or so) you should have all-night light from the nearby prison and may even be able to hear announcements from its public address system. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Great park for the Riverside/Corona area of the LA basin. TV reception was great using the antenna, got over 60 stations. Sites are spaced far apart, with firepits in most. Only complaint were the ants that got into our hummingbird feeder. Had that problem on our visit last year. Park is so big that you don't get city noise from surrounding roads. The RV sites fill up on weekends, so reserve your site before you come. No Wi-Fi, so you'll have to find a Starbucks close by. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
I visited this park to see if it’d be a good place to camp. I walked nearly the entire park with my dog and found it pretty bland. It’s well taken care of and the staff is friendly. It even has a laundry facility. Upon arrival, I noticed the cow smell so often mentioned, but it became less noticeable over time. The south loop is pretty peaceful with the southern most sites facing a large empty field. The drone of civilization is constant, with helicopters, planes, and other miscellaneous machinery. If you want a basic spacious park to stay in, this is it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$14
Well maintained park with friendly staff. Sites are spacious, most with shade trees. Our site had a wonderful view of the lake. Freeway close and shopping nearby. We will come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
This campground is basically a good get-away-from-it-all place for the entire family. Because it is in the country, it's a beautiful, rustic setting with a lake for fishing and paddle-boating, a playground with a water slide for the kids, and various soccer, archery and equestrian fields for the athletically minded. Most of the campsites are spaced far enough apart to be secluded, and many look out onto open grassy fields and are shaded by trees. While some allow tents, many of them don't because of their irrigation system. However, there are a few sites where your doors face the road rather than the open field. The main problem is – because it is in the open country – there is a real problem with flies and ants, and an occasional waft of fertilizer smell (although nowhere nearly as bad as when there was a dairy farm next door). Also, the restrooms – while they were cleaned daily – lacked soap and paper towels, and the ones with high ceilings had trouble with nesting birds leaving their “mark.” Even though we most likely will not be back, it is still a good campground for family and group situations. Just make sure you bring PLENTY of bug spray, insect repellent and ant powder with you! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
This was our first stay at Prado Regional Park and we were very pleased with the facilities. You are in the middle of the greater Los Angeles basin and you'd never know it from the campground area. Access to the park is very good. Camp sites spaced very well apart. The camp site areas are grassed around the parking pads with concrete "patio" pads and fire pits at most sites. We stayed 4 nights. They have laundry facilities, but we did not use them. On-line reservation system was very easy to use. We will be staying here again when we're in the L.A. area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$37
This time of year the weather was great and the adjoining hills were all green. No ants or bad dairy farm smell as previous reviewers indicated. Easy pull through spots and perfectly level. We'll stay here again. Book early they do fill up during this time of year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$35
I read reviews on here first before deciding to stay. I stayed in November and though I saw a few ants, flies were more of a problem. I read about the shooting range and new of the dairies but did not know about the women's correction center with announcements during the day. Park roads were a little narrow and not all sites are convenient for openings on the right for awnings fortunately we had a descent location with a fire pit and table that was a pull through. The bathrooms were dirty though I saw lots of maintenance crew, they are public park style with no doors if that bothers you. I did not see the showers but the cost is $1.50 in quarters. Next time I stay I'm bringing fly strips. I would stay here again though people were friendly and the park for small kids was great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
We happened to stumble upon Marching Through History weekend here and were pleasantly surprised. he park was well maintained although we did not visit the restrooms or showers. We could not hear anything from a women's prison nor did we even realize one was near. The shooting range was noticeable, but not annoying. The campers were courteous and at 10PM everything shut down and it was quiet! The water park was great for our young child and the playground too. We did have an experience with the ants (couldn't figure what all the chalk outlines were in the empty spaces at first) - they came down a tree branch touching our RV - Took weeks to get them all out after getting home - will bring DE next time. We camped here in an RV and will be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
Except for a major issue with small non-biting ants, this is a great park. Rare to find full hookups and 50 amps in a county park. There are no flies and no cow smell but a major ant problem. Even though we used Ajax and later, Ortho Spray, around tires and other parts of motorhome touching ground, they still invaded the inside of our motorhome. Only the use of about a dozen inside ant-bait disks finally controlled them. Staff was helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
We have stayed here several times in the past and were thrilled to find the dairies have closed down. Instead of the side of the motorhome being plastered in flies, we saw maybe four on this last trip. The smell is gone as well. It is a very spacious, well maintained park. There is a shooting range nearby which causes a lot of "popping" sounds throughout the day, but is quiet at night. The lake is small, but offers activities from pedal boats to RC boats to fishing (in separate areas). This is one of our favorite urban campgrounds. Although it is close to several large cities, it feels secluded. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
This is a great place. The sites are huge: easily 100' x 75' on average with a picnic table and fire ring. All sites are paved and virtually level. Many have paved "patios" as well. This park is really nice with excellent facilities. There's a good sized lake that offers fishing ($7/day) and paddle boat rentals. There were lots of people fishing so the fees must be used to regularly stock the lake. There are ball fields, a shooting range, and a golf course nearby. We did not notice any dairy smell or flies as some have posted. However, we were completely infested with ants on the second day. Took two hours of spraying and vacuuming to get rid of them. Judging by the amount of white trailer outlines on the parking spots (DE or Ajax), this is an ongoing problem so be prepared! Great value and a really nice park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
Great close get away in Orange County. Nice level sites. Great for kids to ride their bikes or skateboards.Family oriented environment. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
An excellent park with large sites quite a distance from each other. It is full on most weekends but you have it to yourself almost during the week. Several very large dairy ranches to the east that will almost gag you if the wind is blowing from that way and you are in the eastern campsites. There is lots of grass, trees and open space which makes up for the occasional smell. The sprinkler system timer seems odd (700 PM on Friday??). Time in camp limited to 14 days in a 30 day period so there is no long term junk around. It is very good value for the bucks! We had great reception with ATT and verizon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
I've read other reviews that the park was overrun with flies but we didn't find that at all. It may be because we came here early spring, but the weather was warm (low - 80's)enough for flies to be a problem, but they weren't. It was very peaceful and felt like we were far away from the city. We camped here with 4 other couples (1 class C; 2 travel trailers and 1 5th wheel) and were all near each other - but we did have nice open space between us all. We were not crowded in. We liked the activities available: paddle boating, fishing, soccer/baseball field; horseback riding. We would definitely recommend this place to others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
This is a lovely park with nice trees, a small lake, and large, well spaced sites. However, each camping loop is one way, so half the pull-through sites will end up with your door facing the street instead of your patio. Also, nearly half the sites have the utilities on the patio side. If you look closely at the site photos on the website, you can see the layout for a site you are considering. Only sites 51 and higher have paved patios. We camped in site 56, which is lovely. There are some flies this time of year, but the cows appear to be gone from the neighboring dairy farm, so that situation may be getting better. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2008
$25
Assigned site had a view of a dairy farm instead of the nearby lake. Site was huge; a pull through with lots of space between other sites. The utility posts in some of the sites are not located very well. In many cases you open your door to the street side with the picnic table on the opposite side. The campsites are at the end of a mile long road from the entrance. When registering you have to supply vehicle registration, insurance, and your drivers license. This is the second county park I have encountered this requirement. Hope it is not a trend. There is no cable TV, but lots of off the air channels anyways. There were no Wi-Fi internet connection that I could find. There are a couple of great aviation museums nearby at the Chino airport. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
Lots of flies. Campground is right next to a large dairy farm with hundreds of cows. A little wind in the right direction helps for the smell, but the amount of flies and other crawling critters is unbelievable. The spots are paved, large, level and have grass around them. The lake is a short walk, but the playground is a much farther walk (would recommend riding a bike). Overall the campground is nice but the overwhelming amount of flies, spiders and bugs, makes it hard to enjoy the park. If you do visit this park, I would recommend plenty of bug spray and sites #73 and #75 are two of the better ones. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$22
The park was very clean and well maintained. It was all grass with trees scattered throughout the park. The sites are paved with concrete fire rings and picnic tables. There is a lot of space between you and your neighbors. The bathrooms didn't have any doors on the stalls but they were clean. We didn't have any problems with the flies but the day we were leaving there seemed to be a lot of flies. Their website said they have boat rentals but they didn't have any when we were there. I asked them about it and they said the ones they had were vandalized and they are in the process of getting some more. The kids loved the big playground. We will definitely go back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$22
The park is very quiet and spaces are far apart. There are nice fire rings and tables at each site, which is nice, and the price for full hookups was great! All sites are pull-throughs, and the playground and small water play area was exceptional. Since it is a regional park there is lots of green area and things to see and do outdoors. Drawbacks are the flies and smell of the cow farm occasionally. I would hesitate to camp here in hot weather for the flies, but other than that I would definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2007
$24
I have stayed here in winter and this was my first time in warm weather. The heat really made the smell of the cows strong. The flies were also much worse this time (early Nov, Yes it was warm) than in early spring of my last visit. Overall, the place is decent for the price and location. Sites are level, hookups good, fire rings and tables. It's not really in Chino, but rather Chino Hills, and therefore very close to Orange County and a good alternative to the much more expensive (twice as much) choices just a few miles down the freeway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$27
Great price, spacious pull through sites and the grounds are well kept. The only down side to this place is the smell. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2007
$20
I have read all the following reviews in both review areas. What was stated is correct. However the experience we had was extremely bad. We arrived here to stay a week. After three days the Santa Anna winds blew dirt and flys over the campground. We came back from visiting family and had decided to move because of the violent winds. The inside of our trailer was literally covered with flys.. The park does not have cable TV so we used our Directv. The winds blew our antenna across the road several times even when weighted down with bricks. I had to tie it to the trailer. If it had not been for the violent winds and flys we would have stayed the entire week. The personnel here are very nice and friendly. They offered us a rain check on the days we did not use. They would not reimburse us for the days we did not use. We have moved to another campground and still have a few flys in our trailer. This really is a nice park but because of the winds and the flys we will never stay at this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$30
This is a nice place to stay with a couple of exceptions. Sites are spread apart and most are pull throughs. The downside to this place is, the flies were terrible when I was here, not to mention the other flying insects. The other problem was the odor from the neighboring dairy. I understand the dairy has been sold and will be removed, that should help with the fly's and odor. This will make this park closer to a 10 rating in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$24
Park is great, only problem is the ants, everytime we have stayed there we are infested with ants. Bring your spray and ant traps, some people put boric acid around tires and cords, etc. Lawn area could be watered more at the RV parking, but the lake is nice, and lawns around lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
This is a very beautiful and well-maintained park. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. We stayed a total of six weeks, in two-week increments. The large, full hook-up sites are paved and level, with picnic tables and fire rings. The pull-through sites are huge. There is a lot of room between the sites, especially in the south loop. Most sites have very lovely views, including of the lake, which is stocked weekly. Non-motorized boats are permitted. There are lots of trails for biking, horseback riding and hiking. The campground is very quiet, especially at night. The staff was nice and helpful. They patrol the grounds regularly. The negatives are that the bathrooms are spartan, there are no doors on the stalls, there is occasional odor from the neighboring dairy farm, and lots of flies. The campground was otherwise so wonderful, however, that we were happy to deal with those issues. Did not use the showers. Unusual for a public campground was the laundry, with two washers and two dryers. We will return to this campground whenever we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$22
We camped here with our club for 2 nights and really enjoyed ourselves. The campsites are huge and the ones that we had were paved and level. There was a fire-ring and barrel trash can at every site. I made the reservations for my group on short notice so all they had available were the sites that ran adjacent to the cow farm. We were all really worried, but it wasn't too bad. A steady breeze kept the smell near the cows. The only problem were the flies, but the candles, fly traps, and insect repellent kept them at bay. The sites were really spread out and the grass and trees had died from lack of water - I think they are working on the plumbing. I will definitely go back to do some fishing in that huge lake. The sites further away from the cow farm are ideal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$27
This is one of the nicest campgrounds I have been to in a while. The spaces are very spread out so you are far away from all your neighbors. At night it was very peaceful. The only downside was some of the trees needed to be trimmed because my antenna would hit them. There is a field of cows to the east so don't camp here when there are off-shore winds. The Southern most sites have a wonderful view of the valley. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2006
$25
Nice park but has a problem with the bathrooms and showers being vandalized by the nearby soccer players. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2006
$15
Rented the recreation hall too which was nice but full of spiders and roaches. The campsites were not as well maintained as in previous years. Lots of weeds and millions of bugs. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$20
If you want a place to hike and walk dogs, ride horses, this is great. Many acres of trails, lake for fishing, etc., 50 full hookups, 25 water/electric only, dump station available. Forget laundry, showers, restroom. Not in good shape. Prepare to be self-sustaining all the way. $16 for water/electric only. Long term residents take up most of the full hookup spots. They allow 5 month stays out of every 6 months. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com