223083 User submitted reviews online!!
New Point RV Resort was rated 5 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (804) 725-5120
CGID3073

New Point RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
335
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   8   10   6   8   6   3   1   7   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2014
$48
As others have said, most of the campground is permanent sites and we found that most were in decent shape. The non-permanent sites were very small, can you say packed like sardines? Our awning was only a few feet from the slideout of the camper next to us. The constant traffic from golf carts and pedal cars was extremely annoying and their speeds and driver ages didn't appear to be monitored. The permanent sites at Q4 and Q5 have installed their own halogen streetlight on a 10 foot pole which they turn on at sunset and were not receptive to conversations asking to turn it off since it lit all adjacent sites like daytime. The office was not much help with this issue either. We do not recommend this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$50
The 'ocean view' available was actually a boat slip. Staff said we wouldn't like it and sent us to space near the beach. It was grassy and dirt filled that turned to mud during the rain storms. Many permanent trailers, some not in the best condition. Laundry facility was very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
As of 2013 this RV resort on the Chesapeake Bay is owned by Sun and previous negative comments were while owned by Morgan. It's rural. Nine miles to the small town of Mathews about 30 minutes from Gloucester VA. The road ends at the bay with fishing, boating, swimming, bird watching, and crabbing. We have camped here in two types of RVs. Sun has done wonders to this place in only 4 months so anyone that was here in the past should come back! New pool, landscaping, pool furniture, baby pool, new activities director who goes all out to appeal to all ages, laser tag field, new playground, golf cart rentals, live band many weekends, music in pavilion and on beach, and rental units. There is a dog walk, marina and good sized sandy beach. We were once short termer's now seasonal's looking forward to this resort just getting better and better. Beach and location that is right on Chesapeake Bay brought us and kept us here and we are glad we hung in there! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$38
This campground is definitely geared to the seasonal camper, as approximately 80-90% of the sites are seasonal. Some of them are very well kept and others look like they have been there for years with little regard to their appearance. We talked to some seasonal campers and they said that in the last year there have been some big changes for the better, when the campground was sold. They had only good things to say about the current manager. It appeared to us that the changes that were happening involved adding some park model units that will be rented, and some of the sites appeared to be in the progress of being worked on. Some of these were previous seasonal sites with old add-a-rooms still on the site (ugly). This place has potential as it has a great white sand beach with shallow water which I'm sure is great for kids. We stayed on site H-4, one row back from the beach. It was between two seasonal campers. The site itself was OK sized and nearly level (one row of leveling blocks), but it was mostly all sand so was very dirty. Utilities were well marked and worked without problems. There is no cable TV, but you can pick up several channels from the Norfolk area via antenna. The town of Matthews is about 10 miles and has a Food Lion and other necessities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$47
I was a guest at New Point RV Resort, New Point, VA over the Labor Day Holiday weekend. I have read other reviews posted about this resort and was shocked at some of the comments. Upon arrival we were greeted with friendly management that was most helpful in answering all my questions. There was a store on site that was fully stocked for immediate needs. The sites were a good size and many of them with nice shaded trees. While walking around the park everyone passing by would wave and seemed to be very friendly. I was pleasantly surprised on the cleanliness of the bathrooms/showers. They were by far cleaner than other bathrooms I have used while camping. The park looked very clean and from asking questions it seems as if the new manager of the park is attempting to make many changes for the seasonal campers and quests. I had such a great time during my visit that I am now considering becoming a seasonal member of New Point RV Resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$47
Morgan RV oversees this campground and we found the website to be misleading. The number listed is a Virginia area code but it goes to the Morgan RV reservation center - not to the campground. We called to get clarification if the sites offered picnic tables or fire rings (yes, and yes but no fire grates). We also found that the campground seems to be 98% permanent campers. The bath house and pool were clean. We had an "oceanfront" site but you have to cross the sand dune to get to the beach - it wasn't exactly oceanfront or ocean view. The beach was by far the best part of the stay - the beach was very clean and the water was great. We have 3 school age children who loved walking 100 yards from shore and were only in knee deep water. We had a great time fishing. The campground was quiet (we were there during the week), the pool was clean, and the playground was entertaining for my children. There is no privacy as the sites are rather close together. We didn't have any issues with the water/electricity and we had the AC on the entire time. We will come back again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2012
$41
Park has potential surrounded by water and very shallow beach perfect for children. Not a resort, biggest disappointments were the pool was not open on Memorial Day weekend as stated it would be and the bath houses are small, outdated and stayed disgusting the entire weekend we were there. SOME of the staff is friendly, the new manager seems to be very nice and trying to fix things. Ran out of ice cream for the little ice cream social planned. The site says planned weekend activities, I would say those are a joke. Did have a DJ on Sat night. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2012
$53
This is not an RV resort as is advertised; it is a fishing camp. Most all sites in this campground are permanent. They have very few beach sites for other campers and those are blocked by a sand dune. The interior roads are very narrow. Sites are too close together, and 50 amp service is only available on the beach sites. The bathhouses were not clean, and the shower only had a single on and off handle. Could not adjust the water temperature. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$41
Pool, lovely low tide beach. Great for kids of all ages. We did not use but marina and ramp. Area well known for fishing and crabbing. Rural, rustic, Middle Peninsula of Virginia. A destination campground. Recommend arriving in day light as rural roads narrow and deep water run-off channels on each side. GPS worked. Closest town is Mathews (10 min) and Gloucester (30 minutes) nice for a meal, movie, groceries. Local main street shops in Mathews fun and very friendly. Campground having a beach on the Chesapeake Bay makes it a special place IMO. I posted in 2009 a not so positive review. Although still an older campground with it's issues hearing help is on it's way! Campground committee's are being established and a good idea. We made the decision to move a travel trailer to New Point for 2012 season so we are giving them a chance. Customer Relations support in NY has been very understanding and helpful to us. Some people complain about dogs on the beach but haven't observed a problem. A dog run in dog walk area would be great and place to refer owners if this becomes an issue. Gates closing at 10PM can be inconvenient. In campgrounds like this one with lots of seasonals feel those residents should take active role in trying to make it better. We were in one for several seasons in NC and great place for all. Campground owners, managers (and residents) that welcome temporary campers should work at "full of seasonals" not being a dirty expression on forums. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2010
$41
On the plus side, the campground was clean and the beach was great. On the downside, the campground was mostly seasonal campers who did not seem to mind the rules put in place to ensure all campers have a good experience. During our 3 night stay we were kept up well after midnight every night by loud campers. Quiet time was to begin at 11, but was not once obeyed. Our final night we ended up sleeping with the TV on just to drown out the outside noise. Additionally lots of people on the beach had glass bottles and dogs (signs are clearly posted disallowing these items on the beach). This was one of the most disappointing camping trips we have had and we will not be returning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
I didn't notice that the sites were all that small. There were more than 75% seasonal renters so very few sites available for the rest of us. Everyone was very pleasant there (they moved us to a better site upon check-in). My two issues were there was no hot water in the showers (apparently just on and off) and no wi-fi available. Seems a little backwards in this day and age not to have wi-fi. The beach was nice--no lifeguards on duty, but the water was relatively shallow and very warm. Pool was nice as well, although they could use some more chairs, and the water was a bit cloudy from all the chemicals. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
This park was one of the worst parks we have ever stayed in. The sites are entirely too small and the roads too narrow. Trucks have to park on the street and then you don't have enough room to back into your site. Almost all of the sites are permanent and while some are nice, we could not put up our bedroom shade because of the junk, and I do mean junk, on the lot behind us. I would not go back to this park again and would not recommend it to anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$26
The Web site made it sound wonderful. We were able to stay on the beach. The beach was very nice and clean. The water is shallow way out into the water and there were few waves. The bathrooms were not very clean. The showers have no temperature control. The showers next to the beach were very cold and dirty. The were not very clean and most of the stall doors were broken. The showers by the the camp store were cleaner however they were very hot and again no control over temperature. The sites are extremely small. We had to be so close to the camper on our left that we could not open our basement bins. The camper to our right was so close that we could not open our main awning all of the way and the sewer for our neighbors was under our picnic table. The laundry facilities were too small and there was always a line waiting for a washer or dryer. I gave the this park a five because the beach and pool were nice. Most users of this park are seasonal so I found the other campers less friendly than I am accustomed. If they made their sites bigger and fixed up the bathrooms I would come back but as of now, I would not! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$42
We looked at New Point Campground or so called RV resort on the computer via its website. It advertised daily and hourly events for kids and some for adults. It's a lie. There are absolutely NO events offered. The bath houses are ancient and dirty. The site we were given was so muddy that we got stuck in more than 2 feet of mud. After we finally got out, we had to move to a site that had no sewage because it was all that was left according to management. The swamp behind the site left us so bug bitten that we had to leave a day early and take antihistamines for days after to combat the itching. This campground doesn't even spray for bugs or bother to cut the grass on the sites. It is a pitiful example of a family campground. The website makes it look wonderful. It lies. It says that there is a bait shop on the grounds. Another lie. It says that there is a place to dump your motor home. Another lie. Since we had to move to a site without sewage, you would think someone would bother to tell us that there is no dumping station. The website claims there is! Most campgrounds had out trashbags for their guests. Most campgrounds run a jeep or truck to spray for bugs at least once daily. Most campgrounds actually cut the grass on their guest's sites. This is not most campgrounds! This place is a dump! The sites are terribly small. In fact, I don't know that I've ever camped anywhere with sites so small. The "beach" front sites must be only for seasonals because you sure cannot reserve one. The state parks or national forest camping spots that I have been to are more equipped than this place! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$42
Good campground with a very nice and helpful staff. The sites were a little small and could be maintained a little better but overall it was very enjoyable. The pool was great but the best feature was the beach by far. Updated bath houses would put this campground over the top. We will definitely camp here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2008
$55
We camped here last year during the off season (Mother's Day weekend), and it was perfect. This year, not so much. When we reserved we were given a site one row off of the beach but when we arrived we were given a site over in with their seasonals. We were told "that was the only site they had." We tried to get a refund but they don't give refunds. After making much noise they "found" a site on the beach side for us. It was small and served as a throughfare for fellow campers accessing the bath houses as they left the beach. Other campers did not respect your campsite or your privacy. They would ride up on their bikes and just drop them in your parking spot. One camper even parked their golf cart in our parking spot and then was upset when we had security move it so we could park our TV there. We left a day early and will never camp here again. The natural beauty is awe inspiring, but the other campers are just disrespectful and rude. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2008
$40
Water and electric on the wrong side for easy hookup and the sewer was over 30 feet away uphill. We were "on the beach" but could not see it. Had a bunch old boys that partied well into the night and not a word was said by the management. Many old seasonals. Would not return, much too far out of town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$40
We enjoyed our stay here, but do not think we would like it in the busy season. Sites are VERY close together to the point of slides almost touching. It would be hard to sit next to your vehicle when the park was full, and they tell me it is full from Memorial Day on. In our case, it was not crowded, and we had lots of room. We were front row with a beautiful panoramic view of the Bay. The sites all had grass on them, and they were nicely packed so sand was not a problem. The beach is beautiful. They keep the park clean, and the one time I used the toilet facilities, they were fine. As others mentioned, probably 80% of the park is seasonal/full time, but those sites are kept fine. Staff was busy doing fix up projects so the earlier comments might have taken effect. The staff is very nice. Utilities are reliable. They say Wi-Fi is coming but no guess as to when (you have to go to the town of Matthews and use the library’s system). Some people complained of poor cell phone service, but our Verizon worked well. Satellite worked fine from the beachfront sites. Beware when you call for reservations, that you are not talking to the park…you are talking to someone in New York that has never seen the place so they cannot give you counsel on which sites are best. This park is part of a chain (can’t remember the name). We have not found another park with an ocean/bay view as nice as this one. For that reason alone we’ll be back, but it will again be in the off season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$40
The location was great, right on the beach, but for $40 a night I thought that there would be a little more. The bathhouses were broken and looked very run down. The beach was very clean and the water was great for little kids because there were no waves. We will return to this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
The park has a wonderful view and is right on the Bay. Sometimes there are jellyfish and swimming is not advisable. The beach is cleaned daily. Stay away from the sites right on the beach unless you have a motorhome, and even then beware that you are right on the sand. There is little shade, and summers are very hot. The bathrooms are very dirty, and they don't clean them during the week. When we camped there, toilet paper was often gone, and showers did not work properly. They had overhead valve systems for which you had to hold with one hand. Most had no chains, and you could not regulate the water. Dogs are allowed to walk free, although they say they enforce the leash rules. While there, management allowed people to walk their dogs through our site, and people don't respect individual campers right to site privacy. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
The view was absolutely great! A great place to relax. The "cosmetics" could have been improved. Little things like weed eating and cleaning the pool each AM. The people we met were very friendly. I think the new owners will be good for this campground. We plan on coming back next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$33
We just returned from a great weekend at New Point, camping with our Good Sams chapter. I have to see, we were a little leary about this campground due to the previous posts, but I'm happy to say that we were pleasantly surprised. The campground has new owners, which has improved everything. We were one row back from the sites on the Chesapeake Bay. The site was wide and level, but not all that deep. We had full hookups, but no cable or Wi-Fi. We did get about 10 channels with our antenna. The majority of the sites are seasonal, but are well-kept. There was a nasty taste and color to the water, but those in our group who had filtration systems seem to have no problems with this. There was a nice beach at the bay: soft, white sand. Once I saw my first jellyfish (common at this time of year), I headed for the pool. Overall, we had a great time, and would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$30
This campground has A LOT of seasonals, some quite grouchy. Very small sites, our tent was right up next to one of their rental travel trailers and I could hear the person in it snore! They also let a group of half drunk guys set up a tent site around 11 pm 2 sites down from us. I don't have to say how loud they were. On the good side, the beach is great and the bathrooms were clean. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2005
$19
This is a city owned campground and needs work badly. The restrooms and showers had either rusting or poorly kept partions. It needed mowing badly as the grass at some sites was waist high and the park was infested with ticks and chiggers. I would not rcommend this campground to anyone as it is in complete disrepair. I must mention that it did suffer a huricane in 2004, but the clean up work has not been done satisfactorlly yet. The employees are very friendly except when it came to mowing the grass and I received several excusses when I asked them to mow around the restooms and playground area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$26
We found the overall condition of the campground to be in need of a lot of routine maintenance. The owners had the mentality to only fix things around the campground when they broke and preventative maintenance did not seem the least bit important. With the age of the campground there were many items I will list that we would rate as being very poor. On a scale of 100 and 100 being the best and 1 as the lowest, we would rank New Point Campground in the 25 to 30 range. On the good side, the campground was in a good location and had a beach that could be very nice, if taken care of properly. We must say everyone who was staying there was quiet and had respect for the other campers and when it came to the campground rules. We had no one be rude or obnoxious for the whole week. The following list of objections sure outweigh these good features. Owners, Prior to our trip I sent them numerous e-mails for information, but were just over looked and had to call just to get any information. They were friendly but couldn't provide much information of the surrounding area. We asked about their 4th of July activities, she couldn't tell us when they would start and couldn't find a schedule in the office. When reporting items needed to be repaired, most were ignored or just superficial corrections were made. Public restrooms, Were cleaned once a day and with 400 people in the campground, the two units got in a real mess by the next day. The showers had only one spring loaded faucet a person had to hold the lever to get the water, so a person had to take whatever temperature they had set the mixture at for hot and cold. Then you had to stand there without water while cleaning yourself and hold the faucet a foot over your head to rinse off. They had no seats or holders for your clothes, soap or shampoo, just one little hook to put all your clothes and towel. Even though the showers worked and tiles were in place the roof was rotting and shingles falling off. Just reflected how things were being kept up on site. Drinking Water, (This is my expertise and profession) We had to drink bottled water because the levels of raw water iron and manganese were way over the EPA limits set for water supplies. Drinking water iron levels were just over the Maximum Contaminant Levels (MCL) but once you add the Manganese to these levels, which were 20 times the MCL. The water left a nasty taste in your mouth that could not be hidden with tea or coffee. You could tell it was really high, because it left all the fixtures reddish brown. There are no chlorination facilities at this site, even though they informed me they chlorinated the drinking water. I tested the water myself and found no chlorine. I then check with the State of Virginia and confirmed the water had no chlorine. Pool, The pool was one of their prized facilities, because they actually removed the iron and manganese, but once again there wasn't much evidence of chlorine in the pool. To bad they couldn't put some of this water in the drinking water system! Miniature golf course, We couldn't understand why they spent so much time keeping the grass mowed in and around their miniature golf course, because a person couldn't golf if they wanted to. All the edges of the astro turf had come unglued and turned up so high a golf ball couldn't be putted if you tried!! All the holes were full of overgrown grass. Couldn't find golf balls or clubs either! Laundry, Don't expect to get very much laundry done without spending a fortune. The 2 washers and dryers were small and cost $1.00 a load. If they were like everything else, I wouldn't trust the equipment to get the load clean. Lot sizes, On the residential side ( campers fixed on site) of the campground they were spaced about 8 paces apart. If you are planning to only stay for a short period be aware these sites ranged from 3 paces to 8 paces between lot spaces, with the average being 5. Also, be ready to back into very narrow slots because of the number trees in the area, the hodge-podge set up of the sites and close quarters of all the other campers. Beach, The beach was really nice and was close, with a nice cool breeze coming off the Bay. Would have been nice if someone would have taken the time to clean it up!!! We found dead seaweed most of the time covering a large majority of the waters edge and one time it was 6 inches deep and covered the whole length. They just let it be washed away along with any or all the dead jellyfish. Boat ramp, The dual boat ramp look really too small for the size of boats being launched. The two ramps had a curb splitting them apart, which made them too narrow and looked too steep. We watched pickups or the boat trailers get their wheels hung up on the curbs and have to back into the water to get off the ramp. Some of the trucks had to be in fourwheel drive to pull the boat out of the water and one even burned his tires trying to get up the ramp. Docks, were just okay, but won't last too many years. If you plan to do any crabbing in the area, don't expect to get very many. We only saw people get a couple, so you would have to collect them over a couple days for just one meal. They say in their campground advertisement you catch them and we will cook them, don't think they expect too many people to catch that many. RENTAL TRAILER As I said before, maintenance was not a high priority. Air Conditioning For the whole week we spent at the campground the air conditioning was on its last leg. As soon as we pulled in the neighbor let us know the A/C was having a hard time starting, but would eventually start after clunking and banging a few times. This went on for the whole week but it never went out. This might have been the reason we never heard any noises from the surrounding area. The neighbor on the other side did lose his A/C on his last day in camp. Both times the maintenance just washed the filters and cleaned all the pine needles out of the units. Which appeared to be around a half-gallon of them from inside the AC housing. Still they don't get the hint do a little maintenance before they quit!! Lights, only half the light bulbs worked, guess no one checks things out before the next person show up. Hot water, this quit on us the last two days, by then we just gave up asking to fix anything. Windows, all the mechanisms to open and close the windows were broken, so we had to use the A/C. Stove/Oven The electronic spark to light the stove and oven didn't work, but no one had the insight to tell us upon arrival. When we ask for assistance to light these, we were treated rudely. Front step, this was bent and would almost cause a person to fall when leaving the trailer. Our four-year-old granddaughter never could get out on her own. Shower was one more item that didn't work. Bed was so worn out you had to wiggle around to keep the springs from poking you in the ribs or arm or other parts and yet the springs still poked you. TV antenna was broken and wouldn't move to get good reception and was hanging over sideways. The closets must have had mothballs stuck in them most of the year, so all your belongings stunk after just a short time. The mothball smell was so bad in the bedroom it felt like we were being gassed the first 2 nights. Then to top the whole thing off, we keep getting bug bites. From what I know they were either fleas or bed bugs. So as you can see our opinion of New Point Campground is far from favorable and we would like to warn others whom venture to the Mathews County, Virginia area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com