221664 User submitted reviews online!!
Newport News Park Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 50 user reviews. Phone: (757) 886-7912
CGID3074

Newport News Park Campground

Camp Information
Sites
188
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   8   8   7   8   10   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$34
We stayed here twice two weeks apart. On our first trip we got to pick our site and got an excellent level site close to bath houses on C loop. On our second trip it was a holiday weekend and we got a reserved, not so level, site on water. For the price, we really enjoyed this campground. Lots of activities including biking, hiking, archery, golf, boating with rentals, fishing. The local area can get busy but inside the park it is easy to forget that. We were very pleased at the condition of the bath houses considering they are a little older. Regular ranger patrols. Free firewood gathering. Lots of nice things to say about our stay. Would have preferred to have sewer on site, but it wasn't a major inconvenience. No wifi but our Verizon and US Cellular data were just fine. We will definitely return to this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$34
This is a rustic park near Busch Gardens and Water Country in Williamsburg. It's also conveniently located to Yorktown and not too far from Jamestown, Colonial Williamsburg and other attractions in Williamsburg. The sites are large and several have lots of room between them and the next site. The sites are paved but the area under the awning can be either grass, leaves or dirt. We went in without a reservation and drove around and picked our site. Lots of sites to choose from not all are level. The sites on the water seemed to be the most unlevel. The bathrooms were clean and recently painted with wonderful water pressure. Bike trails to ride and bikes to rent if you don't bring one. I really loved this park and we will definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$32
I agree with the previous comments completely. Very easy on/off access from I-65 but far away enough not to hear road noise. You get to do a drive-through to select open sites. This is a "must do" since several sites are too un-level to be used. No full hookup sites, but most are water/30 amp. Bath house was clean and heated. We camped in loop A, but I drove to the loop B bath house where the water pressure and temp was much better. There is a boat rental, archery range, disk golf, and bike trail at the campground. Down the road is the main park entrance. Jamestown is about a 30 minute drive, Williamsburg is a bit closer and Yorktown is an easy 15 minute drive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
This is a hidden gem of a campground near Busch Gardens and the Williamsburg attractions. Considering the cost to camp here, it is amazing how, on an August weekend, the campground could be nearly deserted. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The sites are a mix of level and not so level sites, you have to look around to find a good one, but since the place was fairly empty there were plenty to choose from. They are well spaced, and some back right up to the lake, making easy access for kayaking or canoeing. The bath house was fairly clean, water was hot with decent pressure. We will camp here again when in Williamsburg. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$31
A nice surprise for a last minute stay for 1 night. Heavily wooded. Saw a few deer as soon as we pulled in. Restrooms and showers could use a little sprucing up. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Spent 3 nights with a waterfront site, with electric only, (our choice). Torrential rain and humidity for 3 days, but zero mosquitoes. The park is gorgeous, a biker/hiker/walker/joggers paradise a sportsman's dream. Saw deer and wildlife everyday. EZ in EZ out from Rt 105/64 and Jefferson. Bathhouses clean and adequate, but no paper towels or driers. our site was level left to right but had about a 3' drop front to back. Had to level with tongue nearly on ground, must have shore power ext. cord, boxes are too far way. Staff and Rangers are friendly and helpful, will stay here again, and recommend. No Wi-Fi, no cable, no satellite due dense woods. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
Given what it is, a municipal park without some services (sewer, wi-fi), it is a beautiful park. We were in a heavily treed area close to the reservoir. It was pristine woods camping at its best! The sites are very well spaced for maximum privacy. It was, however, a challenge to back our trailer in between the trees, but once we got there, we loved it. Our site was fairly level. There is a bike path attached to the park that was great for touring the woods, even went to G. Washington's headquarters site! We would definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$33
This is an excellent campground. For our family, it is the benchmark. With the exception of sewer hookup (which I typically do not expect at a government-run park), this park has it all. One could spend a week at the park alone. Biking and hiking is excellent and can go one for hours without seeing the same place twice. The sites are paved and reasonably level. There are two playgrounds within the campground alone for the kids, one of which is huge. The campground promotes recycling (not often found). The dump station is setup very well. The sites are very well separated...good privacy. There is an abundance of firewood available for gathering. The grounds crew cuts up downed trees and they are free for the gathering. The whole campground is densely wooded. There is a large lake with paddle boat rentals or bring your own boat. There is a full city park with planned events on the other side of the lake. Best of all, the park is a very rural setting but is right along I-64 with easy access to all of the attractions in the area. Top notch in our family's opinion. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
The good: Nicely treed, good distance between paved sites (70' on average), hiking and biking trails, easy access from the interstate. Canoe and paddle boat rentals available, outdoor children's jungle-gym. The bad: We had to swerve along the access road to avoid low branches (we are 13' 6" tall) and even then, some were unavoidable, but small. The paved portion of each site is quite narrow with broken edges, which is not a problem except that some sites have trees growing immediately adjacent to the pavement, which would cause a problem for slideouts. Other sites are so uneven that it would be impossible to level the trailer. However, most sites are OK and we had our pick, as only 3 other sites in the 50 amp (B) loop of 40-50 sites were taken on Sept 5. Recommend that longer units (we are 39' fifth wheel) do not enter the parking lot when coming in to the campground entrance, as it would be difficult to negotiate the curve without riding up on the curb. Instead, just bear left on the main road and then park on the road beside the office. The bathroom floors were clean, but the walls of the bathroom and showers looked like they had not been cleaned any time this year. There are no dryers or paper towels. There were only four showers (2M, 2F) per 50-odd sites in the loop. Not a problem for us, with 90% vacancy, but if the campground was full, it would be insufficient. Similarly, there appeared to be only one dump for the entire campground (188 sites). As there are no sewer hookups, the lack of showers and dump would have been a big problem if the campground had been close to full. One very unusual thing: The office staff required that we have vaccination papers for our dog before they would allow us to check in. We had selected a site per their instructions and cycled back for the check in process before they informed us of this. They required that we cycle back to the site and return with the papers before they would check us in. In summary: the trees, site spacing and trails would bring us back here again, but only if the campground was close to empty. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$24
Pretty hiking trails. Site pads were a little worn. Be sure to bring leveling blocks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Our site was sufficiently large for our Class A motorhome and towed vehicle, and was clean and reasonably level. Bathhouse facilities were close by and clean. Park rangers at the office were friendly and helpful. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Interstate 64, Exit 250B. Very easy access from the interstate. Numerous trees but very little low foliage for privacy. Paved, narrow interior roads. Each site is different with varying length, utility location, proximity of trees, and degree of level. We had some problems finding a site long enough, level enough, with an accessible distance to the utilities. A small to midsize camper would have minimal difficulty and a large rig can be accommodated but not in all sites. Some sites are on the water or have a water view. We watched people on the water in paddle boats, canoes, kayaks and small boats. Only one loop, B loop, has 50amp. Located about 4 miles south on Jefferson is a variety of restaurants, Wal-Mart, and Costco. The park’s location and easy access makes it ideal to visit Jamestown, Williamsburg, and Yorktown. During our weekday stay in July we practically had the campground to ourselves. Although there were other campers, there were so few we could not see anyone at all from our site. The park is certainly more rustic than the commercial campgrounds but it’s a clean and pleasant place with plenty of room to roam. Water and electric only, no sewer but a dump station is available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
This is a beautiful park and we were surprised how few people were here in the high season. We realized why when we used the rest rooms. We were in B loop and the smell of mold hits you before you even enter the restroom area. The building is cement block that is painted but apparently the paint they used was not an epoxy base that would not support mold growth, as should have been used. It is not really fair to say the restrooms are not clean, as they are cared for every day, but there is no working ventilation (fan was too small, and broken) and there are not enough screened windows to let the building ever dry out. I thought perhaps that it was only this one bathhouse that was this way, but we only found one within the entire campground that was borderline usable, but since the campground has no sewer-ed sites, we had no choice but to use it. The other reason this campground was nearly empty for the week we were there is that there is no water access. The campground is built around a reservoir and you can not swim (or enter) the water from anyplace unless you are in a boat. A large swimming pool would have gone a long way to making the intolerable heat livable. Bottom line, use this campground for weekends only, and off season when it is cooler. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
Must say we were very disappointed in this place. We stayed based on previous posts. We would appreciate if people that post please tell about Train noise: yes there was. A lot, highway noise, yes there was a lot. Some of us do not sleep well with background noise. Also the sites take some very creative levelling, also very tight turning due to the amount of trees. Now the good. The staff was AWESOME!!! We had to go through 5 sites before we found one that would work. The first night the group across from us had a Beagle that was in a crate outside all night. Well, lots of opossum, and raccoons along with deer, and what is a Beagle going to do. You think!!!??? Well in the morning we let the rangers at the front desk know on our way out to explore and by the time we got home the Beagle was gone. Also this place is a good location to explore Jamestown, Williamsburg & Yorktown. All a MUST see. Very good Verizon, roof mounted dish will more that likely not work, we were lucky and have a Vue cube, moved it around a few times and got a good signal to watch the BBall playoffs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$35
Very nice city park. We came in late and were assisted by a park ranger. We could not get the MH level in the site we had. But we stayed the night and the next day they let us move to a better site. This was fall so leaves were everywhere. They had cleared all roads and site pads so it made it much easier to park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
We love this campground. We consider this our "home campground". It is very close to the house and an easy get away. There is a ton to do in the area. The campground itself is awesome. The sites are fairly far apart so you have privacy, but close enough to be friendly. It is "woodsy" with a lot of hiking/biking trails to do. Fishing in the lake is okay, and you can rent john boats, canoes, and paddleboats. The bathhouses are always clean, done every day. We will without a doubt stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
It had been some 7 years since our last stay at this campground. This campground is very peaceful and "rustic," with completely wooded sites all of which are shaded. The bike trails are fabulous. You can ride to Yorktown, VA without getting on a highway (approx. 20 miles away). It's close to tourism sites (Colonial Wmsburg, Jamestown, Yorktown National Battlefield). The bathhouses have just been upgraded and were very clean and well kept. Some highway noise and the occasional train, but what do you expect I-64 is less than 200 yards away, as is the R/R tracks. The ticks were a problem however, you ARE in the woods if you clean the area around your campsite of leaves and that type of debris and spray Yard Guard the pests are minimal. I was here 10 days and found 2 ticks, both while hiking in the woods. Yes, there are other sites within 20-25 miles of this campground but none with the same natural beauty. I give it and 8 only because it has no sewer. Everything else is fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$31
We’ve been coming here for years. Each year it’s more expensive but no money seems to be going back into the park. Pavement on sites is deteriorating, grills are rusted out, bathrooms clean but very old and badly need updating. Good park for hiking and biking but no pool or children’s activity except a small playground. There is boating on the lake (no gas motors allowed, no swimming), rental boats are available. Campground is heavily wooded with lots of deer and squirrels. The mosquitoes and ticks were worse than ever on the dogs and us and we saw quite a few snakes along the water’s edge. Campground was built before today’s big rigs and most sites are very unlevel and better for smaller trailers, pop-ups and tents. Some water/electric hookups are located too far forward. The staff was okay but not overly friendly. Regular park ranger and local police patrols keep the larger weekend crowds quiet. The closer to the lake, the more noise you hear from the highway and there was train noise/whistles on a regular basis throughout the night. A good place if you like rustic. Look elsewhere if you want entertainment for kids, sewer, cable TV, modern bath houses, pool, etc. Next time we will stay in Williamsburg, with full hook ups for the same price and hopefully not have the mosquito/tick problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
Beautiful park. Somewhat rough, but I consider it rustic. Felt safe with rangers always on patrol. Bike path is nice. My son loved fishing there. He keeps bugging me to go back again, and we will. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
Shady sites, dump station is in loop B, poorly marked had to ask for directions. Take your mosquito spray and be sure you have treated your pets for fleas & ticks. A bit muddy when it rained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
Beautiful park: it's well kept but there's nothing for the kids to do other than a playground. They got bored, needed more. Not as family friendly as other campgrounds. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Newport City Park in Virginia is a beautiful park. Spacious sites, very secure. The deer came right by our site. We camped in a 38' motorhome in May of 09. But, be prepared for the ticks. Both of my dogs were covered and my husband and I both found them on ourselves. Make sure you have have protection for you pets! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$31
Sites some with electricity and water $31 plus tax, Loops A through F, our site 114 D Loop with a 25 ft RV. This is a huge county park run by Newport News with easy off and on I-64 at exit 250-B. There are campground signs to direct you but make sure you take Campground Drive not the roads that go to the visitor center and the rest of the park. This park is on a reservoir with boating, hiking, disc golf, archery, fishing, playgrounds, hot showers, laundry, and fire pits. Many sites are not level and would not take a RV over 25 feet but there are some sites that are very level where a big camper or trailer would fit so if you make reservations ask them for a site that would fit whatever your camping in. Easy drive to the Yorktown National Battlefield and it’s visitor center. Biking trails (5 miles) around the park and it also connects to the Yorktown Historic Battlefield at the George Washington Headquarters encampment where you can continue to bike on the park roads. This is a beautiful ride especially on a nice day much nicer than driving your car around the battlefield. The showers were clean and hot. The only negatives are that it is close to I-64 and train tracks so that you can hear the trucks at night and sometimes the trains. We had a site overlooking the reservoir and it was not crowded during the week actually we were the only ones in our D loop so it was very peaceful with a beautiful sunset. If you have a car you can take the Historic Parkway from Yorktown right into Williamsburg or take I-64. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
This was a very nice campground. The sites are huge and the park is nicely maintained. It is regularly patrolled by security. Access and egress are very easy. Excellent location in regards to attractions such as Busch Gardens and the Williamsburg Winery. I will most certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$41
We loved our stay at this campground. There is a nice amount of space between sites and it is a beautiful wooded location. Right next to highway but very quiet. We were going to stay here for a week but our stay got cut short when the park was evacuated due to Hurricane Hanna. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
Huge county park with many amenities. Even has an R/C flying field. Large sites. I did not care for the water taste. Some antenna signal but no way to see the satellite. Watch the pets for ticks/fleas. Office staff great and helpful with local info. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
Great campground. Very nice hiking/biking trails. Beautiful views from Lake. We live nearby and mostly use this place as a day hike/bike and picnic location. Highly recommended as an option to staying at a Williamsburg campground. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$30
Very clean enjoyable park. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, even provided us with some firewood for free! We will stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$30
Beautiful forest setting with lots of room between sites. Very friendly staff. Very quiet and peaceful (never heard I-64 noise and was out a lot). The CG is part of a huge park complex so plenty of room to hike etc. Had no trouble maneuvering in and around in a 35' MH with TOAD. In February they had many piles of split firewood available throughout the park for free! Paddle boats, canoes, etc for rent on the lake. Sewer is not avail at any site...1 dump station. For military, Ft Eustis is minutes away with excellent commissary, PX, library and an interesting transportation museum (the museum is open to all). Great park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$26
We only stayed here for a night to meet up with friends before heading to Virginia Beach. All sites looked shaded and fairly decent in size. The restrooms were cleaned but showing their age. Traffic from the nearby interstate could be heard but wasn’t bothersome. Only 10-15 minute drive from Williamsburg area attractions, we plan to stay here again in the Fall when we return to the area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
We stopped over at this campground on the way to the Outer Banks and were very pleasantly surprised. The sites were spacious and it was heavily wooded. Some of the pads are in need of repair and full hookups would be a definite bonus but for a county park, it was very nice. I wish we could have spent some additional time at this campground and would definitely stay here again if ever in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
Campground and park are an unexpected gem in the middle of a highly traveled and congested area. NN is to be commended for maintaining this park! Blacktop on many sites is broken and needs repair. Traffic noise from nearby I-64 can spoil an otherwise perfect solitude. Lake does not allow gas motors (good). Bike and hiking trails in good shape. Civil War earth works preserved in campground are interesting. Other historic areas close by. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$26
We have a 45' motorhome and we stayed in the "B" loop to get 50 amp electric. Campground is lovely, older city park with nice facilities. Some low branches which the staff removed. Some very unlevel sites near the lake we could not park in, unfortunately. But many nice level sites throughout. Could be very tight turning in some sites. We reviewed prior to parking and choosing a site. Note: Entrance to the entire park is very hard. Very tight right hand turn then another right hand turn in a few feet. You almost have to go over the curb to get in. Having said all that, we'd stay again. Wish they had sewer hookup's however. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$22
We absolutely love this park and camp here all year long every other weekend. It's our favorite and we brag on it often. Our favorite of course are the waterfront sites which are a good size, perfect for large family cookouts. They are the best sites but the pads need some work, they are getting smaller every year. Sometimes it's frustrating that they will let a tent reserve the best waterfront sites and they don't even use the utilities or need the space . The larger trailers have to squeeze in smaller sites. We feel that they should restrict these sites to no tents and with a minimum of a 2 night stay. A tent will reserve the waterfront campsite for just Saturday night and spoil it for others that want to stay from Friday until Sunday. We love the security of the Rangers and most are friendly and will leave you alone unless you are absolutely breaking the law, but there are a few that nit pick and look for things. For the most part we love our local park and will continue to camp here and will continue to recommend it to all campers we meet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$21
Campground is far better than most "local" parks. Heavily wooded and the trees kept the park much cooler – especially during the recent heat wave. Big rig access is reasonable up to about 40'. About 1/3 of the sites can accommodate big rigs. Chose carefully since many sites are not very level. We were given "waterfront" site A8 and told it was on the water and level. The site actually sloped downhill; the water was about 100' away and couldn't be seen because of the trees. But the personnel gave us a list of the available sites and we were free to pick one out. You can rent boats, go hiking or biking, frisbee golf and fishing. Playground is next to B Loop, no pool and no swimming allowed in the lake. Some hiking trails had information on civil war battles and civil war embankments can be found running through the park. There was noise from I-64 and Jefferson Avenue that run in front of the park, but not enough to bother us. The main roads are in good condition. Pavement on camping loop roads and sites is beginning to deteriorate along the edges. Bathroom buildings are old but recently painted and clean. It appears the toilets, sinks and fixtures are recently replaced. There was a four trailer back up on Sunday waiting to use the dump station. Sewer hook ups would be appreciated. No cable but the moho antenna worked well for about six local stations. Too many trees for satellite TV. Electrical (30 amp only) and water near the front of sites required extra cable and hoses. For the price the park was a bargain compared to others in the area. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$21
We spent two weeks here in May 2006. Overall, a very nice CG; rangers made regular patrols, nice and safe CG. The kids loved the playground at the entrance to the B-Loop. Only drawbacks were lack of a sewer hook-up and lack of internet access. Cable hook-up would also have been nice. However, rates were considerably cheaper than CG's that provide more and cost more. We will stay there again if I have to travel back to Fort Eustis. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$22
Nice campground, large shady sites, lots of beautiful trees. Only reason I didn't give it a 10 was the fact that it was very noisy (from nearby freeway) and the fact that the sites were not very level. Shower and bathrooms were clean. There are plenty of nice paths for walking. Great place for a stopover on your way through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$21
We are regulars to Newport News Park, Campsites are very large, The bathrooms have all been redone for 2006, A major improvement over last year. Rangers are very friendly and helpful. Very nice place to relax and have a good time. For the kids not much to do unless you rent or have a canoe or have bikes to ride. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2005
$23
We stayed overnight at this campground on our way home from Florida after picking up our new motor home. It is a easy and short drive from the main road. On our way down we had looked at other campgrounds in the area and this one was by far the best. As we plan to stay in the same area again we spent sometime the morning before we left walking around the entire campground and checking out the various sites. We did not ask about any activities and so can not comment on what is available. Camp fires were allowed while we were there. There are several hiking/biking trails that look very inviting. There is no pool and while it was not needed in November, summers in Virginia are very hot. We had little interaction with the staff, but they seemed normal. Overall, this is a very nice, clean campground and I would have given it a "10" except for the bathroom issue. It isn't so much that the bathrooms are not clean, as they are old. Paint is peeling, metal things are rusted, and locks do not work on all the doors. Nature seems to be taking over and winning. The sites were wooded, roomy, and paved. The interior roads were paved and in very good shape. Trees were cut back from the main road and it was very easy to get our motor home (28-feet) in and out. Larger rigs would have no problems. Good surfaces are important to us as my husband runs and I walk every day. Many of the sites are level, but the ones on the water were not. If you are in a tent, this will not be a problem as while the paved part is not level, there always seemed to be a level spot elsewhere on the site that would fit a tent. If you are in a recreational vehicle check out the sites first to see if you will be able to adjust your jacks sufficiently to be level. We could hear some highway noise when we were outside, but it was faint. It seemed louder near the second loop of sites on the lake. There was a very nice playground located in a shady area and the dump station was clean and easy to get in and out. We look forward to staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2005
$20
Our Good Sams Club camped here and had a nice weekend. The people were very professional and friendly. We used the meeting room for breakfast and dinner. We stayed on section B, nice area and I would come back again and I think our club will come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2005
$21
Newport News holds its' annual folkfest first of October and this is the second year we've camped here. Campground was fairly full due to the festival, but the sites are spread out over the campground, allowing you not to be "cramped" as some of campgrounds are. Water and Electricity are the only provisions the sites provide. We used the restrooms and showers because my water heater didn't work, and that's the only reason I gave this campground ranked a 7, the facilities are old, concrete, and need of updating. I saw no signs of cleaning while we were there. Otherwise, mild temperature days, cool nights made this a wonderful weekend. We will camp here again next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2005
$20
This is a great park except for the restrooms. The sites are huge and beautiful. There are fantastic walking trails and biking trails. There are civil war earthworks throughout the campground and the people are very nice. The restrooms, however, are an absolute disgrace. They are the worst that we've seen, period. One of the two stalls in the ladies room on loop C was clogged and gross and we reported it early Saturday. Their solution was to block it off with a trashcan. That left only one working stall - and the door wouldn't shut on it because the hinges were falling off. One shower had no lock on the door and the latch on the other shower door fell off each time you tried to lock it. We left Sunday afternoon and nobody had done anything about the toilet. If you can do without the restrooms, you'll like the park. If you have to use the restrooms, you'll be disgusted. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$21
Nice for a city park, pretty quiet, we had a BIG colony of ants climb up our shore power cord. Needed extension cords to make power reach, but would definitely stay again. Good dump station, clean restrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$18
I have to come to the defense of this campground. Newport News City Park is the largest public park on the east Coast (8,000 acres). It is estimated that the park (including the campground) lost 12,000 trees during Hurricane Isabel (Sep 03). City employess are working hard to clean up the park and make it a better experience for campers. I do not think it is at the top of the city's prioities, because the entire area was hit hard by the hurricane. The bath houses are old but are cleaned daily. This is close to our home so we camp there several times a year. It is located on a lake. If you have a Virginia fishing licence, boat rental is just $4.00 per day per licenced fisherman. It is also close to Colonial Williamsburg and Busch gardens. Give them a chance to get their act together. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2004
$30
I chose this park because of reviews I have read on this board, and I was very disappointed. Half the park is closed because of last years hurricane. The sites are very wooded and gravel. Baths are nasty. They allow dogs to be kept in pens. One site had 3 tents, a inflatable swimming pool and a dog pen containing 4 dogs, including a Rotweiler. I checked out and went to the Williamsburg KOA, which turned out much better. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$18
We just got back from a three night stay at the Newport News Campground. I know that lots has been said about the campground previously, but thought that I would add just a few comments about it . First of all, we really enjoyed our stay. The sites in B Loop are large and spacious (where we were). It looks like loops E & F might get a little tight, but still not at all bad. We were right on the water, sites B44 and B46 (with friends). These were great sites in that they were huge, right on the water, & very level (some sites in B are not so level). The bad thing is that they are just across the water from I64 & the road that goes through Newport News which made the traffic noise pretty bad. We were in a pu with no a/c, our friends were in a hardside with a/c. The traffic noise bothered us, but not them so the noise level will depend on what you are camping in. We noticed that the sites away from the water did not have as much noise (which makes sense since water does make an excellent sound carrier). A Loop is pretty close to the road, too, so road noise may be an issue there as well. It is in the woods (which may deaden the noise) so I'd hate to say. All of the sites are well shaded. The bathrooms were as clean as could be expected with a rainy weekend. They are old, but very serviceable (the shower stalls are huge - wish more were like them). The kids had a ball fishing from both boats & the shore. They caught some nice fish, which we released. John boat rental is $4 per hour if you are "just riding around", $4.22 per day if you are fishing. Now for a couple of what we considered to be fairly bad things. First, my son is very much into archery. The campground offers an archery range - terrific! My son packs his archery equipment and is all set to shoot. Oops, you are only able to use the archery range if you take their 1 1/2 hour safety course. Well, that still wasn't a problem - we were more than happy to have him do that... After all rather safe than sorry... Oops, the safety course is only offered certain days and the next one isn't for 2 weeks... Okay, on to the next activity that we planned to do - model airplanes. My son has an Air Hog model airplane (for those that haven't seen these, they are airplanes that use air to make the engine work, really neat!). We ask where the model airplane field is so that he can fly his plane. Oops, it is only available to members of the area's model airplane club. Now to be honest if those are the rules for those activities, fine. I have no problem with that, but, it should be addressed in the brochure and their website, rather than saying they have these activities & then for young people (can't say kids anymore - my 15 year old doesn't like it ) to be all set to do them and then find out they can't. It kind of takes some of the fun out of the weekend especially when they have planned to share the activity with a friend. On the upside, the bike trails and walking trails are really nice. There had been a lot of rain down there this week (including several hard downpours while we were there) so part of the bike trail was underwater. Which didn't matter, the bike trail was still open anyway. If you go down there now, be prepared for the skeeters! Lots of rain = lots of water = lots and lots and lots of the monsters! Of course there is nothing the park can do about that, just something to be aware of. Also, if you have used this park alot & have specific sites you use, be sure to ask about water before you reserve. Lots of the sites had large amounts of water standing on them. Again this has nothing to do with the park - just something to be aware of. Overall, we would certainly go back to the campground as it was nice and we didn't get to do the walking trails. It is a super place to stay if you want to do Busch Gardens, Water Country, or any of the historical things in the area! I would just say that if you plan to do any of the stated activities, call before you go to make sure of the rules involved with the activity so you don't get disappointed. I rated the campground at an seven because of the activities being listed, but not available because of rules. If the problem with the activities had not been something within the campground's control, I would have felt differently and would have rated the campground higher. An example would be that they had to close boat rentals on Saturday because one of that day's storms had knocked a tree over onto the boathouse! That was out of the campground's control (they fixed it as quickly as they could) and I certainly would not "knock" the campground for that. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$18
This is a very nice, heavily wooded campground. Sites are spacious, but trees many interfere with deployment of slides and awnings. Electrical and water service was toward the front of the site. Consider bringing an extension cord and extra water hose. No fire rings, but campfires are allowed on the ground. Bath houses are old, but cleaned daily. Dump station was full due to the high rainfall experienced in this area the past several months. Park officials were prompt in calling in septic service to correct the problem (we did not wait around). Great place to walk, bike, or fish. Near interstate, but noise is not a problem. Road construction on I-64 is an ongoing nightmare (12 years) and driving to and from the campground was stressful. We will return to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$18
Our family us this park for weekend getaways. the sites are large with water and electric , but sorry not sewer, but with easy access to the dump station it evens out. there are trails for walking, biking or a romantic stroll with your better half in a peaceful rual setting. all sites and roads are paved. the rangers will allow you to go select a site and then come back and register. rangers patrol all campsite areas throughout the night for security. We love this place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$18
Very wooded but clean, well laid out sites with room between sites (not right next to each other). Lots of biking and hiking trails. Many sites are NOT level. Fishing from shore virtually impossible with trees and debris, but boat rental is 4.20/person/day. Noise from I-64 on other side of lake. Beautiful place, will be back again for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2000
$17
The park has easy access from Interstate 64. Access to the park is hard paved and the (Ranger) clerks at the registration desk are very friendly, Your information is placed on computer for ease of registering during a revisit. All roads are paved and all sites are level and paved with tables and grills, large sites with plenty of room between sites, very shaded,has 5 mile bike & hiking trails, archery range, boating, fishing, washers & dryers at office, pay phones, bike, canoe, paddle boat rentals. close to tourist areas and amusement parks in Williamsburg, Newport News, 40 miles from Va beach. Wonderful campground your kids will love it. Without sewer hookups I still rate it a 10, a San-I-Tote is a must for more than a weekend stay. There is a dump Station with cover and hose for cleanup afterwards. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com