223422 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Fairfax Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (703) 471-5415
CGID3078

Lake Fairfax Park

Camp Information
Sites
136
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   8   8   7   8   7   1   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2014
$29
Total sites shown includes lots of tent sites. About 40 sites for RV. Fill your tanks at a central spigot, and dump when necessary at the station. Spacious sites (gravel, and 1/2 are level, other 1/2 not level) have electrical pedestals only. The park is clean, quiet, and about as close to Washington tourist attractions as you're likely to find. Price shown is with senior discount, and county resident discount. This park is not run by RV'ers as indicated by the following. Time to dump. We went to the dump station, connected and pulled the dump valve. Sewage all over. On calling the office, was told "Oh yes, I heard this morning when I came to work there was a problem." She had known since 8 AM of a sewage stoppage, and others knew before, but no-one had posted a sign. We had no indication of a problem, as we were the first to dump that AM, and the sewer pipes had drained slowly overnight. Reinforces the adage: " You don't get anything you don't pay for." My numeric rating reflects this event. Otherwise would have been an eight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$45
Beautifully situated only 1.5 miles from DC Metro Station Wiehle. Large park. Great for big rigs. Toilets/showers very clean and spacious. No WiFi at all but good Verizon LTE coverage. Government run multi use park. Skate board facility near the entrance of the main camp ground so I would recommend a site on the back end. Great place to stay for exploring all the attractions in town. No water or sewer hookups at that site but easy access. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$40
This was our first time here and we used this park to visit DC. It's very convenient and easy to get into town. Park is heavily used by locals. We stayed on site 9, good satellite access is on the right side of loop A. Lots of trails and good walking. Restrooms have shower and toilets in each. I would stay there rather than Cherry Hill if I did not need water/sewer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$43
This was my second time here. About 42 RV sites, 6 group camping sites and about 50 tent sites. Electric only. But they do have a very nice bath house with water and a dump station. If you do camp here and have a satellite dish, request a site on the right side of the 'A' loop campground as you enter it. A better shot at the southern sky. I didn't and could not get my dish to work. However, I had a Turk Amplified Portable Antenna as a backup. I was then able to get about 40 TV stations. I walked the 2.6 mile round trip to the new Wiehle Ave. metro station. Very nice. There are trails that you can walk through the park to get to Sunset Hills Drive, then Wiehle Ave. via the W&OD Trail. But you need a park map or you will end up on a side trail and in a residential area. Don't ask me how I know. We tried fishing in the lake but there was too much hydrangea. We caught nothing but 'seaweed' so we returned to the camp site shortly after we arrived. On the whole this is a nice park. At $43 in an urban area I think that is an OK price. There is a water park, swimming, hiking, skate board park, fishing, and camping. The only things I didn't like were that the camp office only has ice and wood, There is no camp store. That and the poorly marked trails. But for a place close by to just get away to, Lake Fairfax Park is a nice campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$45
This is a large, beautiful county park in the middle of the high-tech Reston area with dozens of fine restaurants and shopping within a mile or two. Large, level grass & gravel sites, picnic table, and fire ring. The county park itself has a skateboard park (we were close to the park but the noise didn't bother us at all), water park (extra fee), many nice trails through the woods for hiking/biking, sports fields (active every day with soccer and other sports), and more. Very large and clean showers/bathrooms. Would probably rate it a 9 or 10 if they offered water/sewer. The fresh water fill and the dump station are on opposite sides of the road near the bathhouse. The new Metrorail station in Reston opens in July 2014 and is only a mile or two from the park, giving easy train access to DC sightseeing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$45
The park is very spacious and clean. If you are not a county resident, the park is very expensive. Easy to get to considering the traffic in the Washington area. Brand new bath house with restrooms. Water is available at a faucet at the camp host site. We stayed 4 nights including a weekend. Park was almost empty on weekdays and full of several big rigs, fifth wheels but mostly tent campers and Boy Scouts on the weekend. Everybody had fires and it was smoky. Nice hiking paths. We would stay here again if we have business in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2013
$45
This campground has a good location about 25 miles from Washington, D.C. The staff was friendly and helpful. The bathrooms and showers are brand new and very nice and clean. There are a lot of trails to walk on around the lake. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2013
$45
What a beautiful campground, close to Washington, D.C., to be ruined by management's decision to put a skateboard park at the edge of the camp. Gone is the quiet serenity in the woods while you sit in your lawn chair. Swish, bang, slide all day long. Wow! They even have lights for nighttime skateboarding. Forget those peaceful evenings too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$35
Nice place for staying to visit family. Office is hard to find it is the circular state park building near entrance,not at campground. Dump station no sewer, water and electric, no Wi-Fi. Office let me pick my own site and call them, as camp is about one mile from office and water park. Well kept and entrance stays open at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$45
This park is also listed in Fairfax. Reston is the actual address but it is in Fairfax County. We stayed here to be near family and it was very convenient. The rate is high considering you only have electric. We have no complaints about our stay. Park staff was friendly and campsite was clean and neat. Will stay here again when we come back to visit family. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2010
$45
We were quoted $42.00 per night and were charged $45.00 per night when we arrived. The showers are horrible. They are extremely small with mold and mildew plus there are no shelves or hooks. The dressing area is a common area with no privacy. Drainage is a problem. I dressed in puddles and my husband (in the men's room) waded in ankle deep, soap scum water to pull hair out of the drain. But the worst experience was the rude park patrol. During dinner the park patrol insisted that we move our guest's car out of the camping area immediately. He did not care that we had gotten permission from the park office for our guest's car (that was parked on our pad with no obstruction issues). Our guests left without even finishing dinner. I will never ever use this park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
Great public park in suburban Reston. Easy access off 7100 parkway. Probably the closest campground to D.C. Train/subway station is approximately 7 miles away. Interior roads are mostly paved with gravel and grass sites. Some sites are open and a few sites are heavily treed. Satellite TV reception was no problem on open sites and Verizon Wireless signal was strong. 50 amp sites are mostly level. Some of the 30 amp sites have some slope to them. There is a central dump and water station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
We love this park which is only about 1/2 hour from DC. It is in a very well-kept city park of many acres of woods, with playgrounds, nice-sized swimming pool/ water park. There are no water or sewer hookups, but potable water is available on the way in. There are many big rigs here in pull-through sites. The bathhouses are close by and clean. We would recommend this to anyone wanting to access the DC area conveniently. Shopping is a block away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$42
After selling our house, we moved here for the last two weeks before retirement, because it was the campground nearest to work. In the middle of a large county park, the park itself offers fishing and canoeing, picnic grounds, lots of ball fields (all in use each day/evening), and a water park. Wildlife is abundant and highly visible, walking right through one's site. As lively as the overall park is, the campground itself is quiet and deliciously dark after the ball fields close. However, while pleasantly situated, with large sites, this campground is outrageously overpriced for what is offered (no discounts!). Electric only at each site, only one car allowed (overflow parking near entrance). Had to leave the park for supplies of any sort. Luckily for your pocketbook, maximum stay is 14 days. If we are ever back in Northern Virginia, we would still stay here, but only for a couple of days, purely because of the cost. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$42
Great park with many level sites. Sewer dump and water available near restrooms. Nice hiking trails. Quiet. Very convenient to Metro for DC excursions. Easy access. A bit pricey. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
We've camped here several times and overall it's fine for what you pay. Of course we'd like full hook up, but it is what it is ... a nice cg with level sites (esp. on the right of the cg as you come in)and a few sites with trees. Within 10 mins. of the cg is Reston Center with a Harris Teeter grocery store, shopping, (including Home Depot) and restaurants. Great location and good access to DC. We stayed most recently in sites 115 and 119 (119 is longer) but 115 had a tree. The area is heavily wooded, but the cg is not. Staff was friendly and helpful if we asked for directions, etc. Lots of 'kid friendly' things to do if you're into that. We will stay here again. NOTE: they are strict about only ONE car at each site. We appreciate that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$42
I had trouble picking a rating for this one. I don't have any complaints. It's not my favorite campground but was fine for a base camp for seeing the Washington area attractions. We got in late and left early and didn't have any problems with the workers. Quite busy. A lot of coming and going. A surprising number of tent campers which was nice to see. Not very much privacy or shade though. The only sites that offer this are 50 amp and they cost more. I knew this going in thanks to mapping websites. Very cool looking water park which we regrettably didn't have time to use. I'd stay here again but would try some other campgrounds first. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$42
This campground was over priced. A lot of money for no sewer. It was a major inconvenience. We had to pull up the jacks and unplug every few days, and it was a hassle. The staff were not very helpful. In fact it seemed they were looking for ways to nail you as they patrolled the parking lot. It was not good. The overall location and the park were fine although overpriced. The sites were OK. I would not use this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$42
We camped here because it was close to our old house. We moved out of a house in Fairfax and stayed here in order to finish up work and say good bye to friends. It is a beautiful park, the location is great and the neighbors were good. However, it was outrageously priced for no sewer and no water. Plus, the staff don't seem to get it. They offered no information about the park itself or trails nearby or other information when we checked in. They also did not forewarn us that park personnel would go through the campground at least 3 times a day looking for those sites with a second vehicle. We did not know that they needed to be parked 200 yards away in the parking lot instead of near the campsite. The common theme among the campers were how badly this place has been managed. No concern for the campers, only obeying dumb rules. One camper had to move his RV 3 spaces because someone had his site reserved for the weekend. His comment, "These people have beat me down over the years, I just do what they tell me to do." Apparently they don't have an eraser to put the weekender in the other site. Nuff said: you get my drift. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$42
A very nice park near DC. Camping is part of a county park that has a water park (extra fee but discounted for campers) lake, stream, playgrounds, and sporting fields. The sites were very nice and very well kept. The only reason for less than a 10 is no water or sewer sites, you must us a dump station and water fill that are located nearby. They have just opened a new park office and are upgrading the overall facilities. Overall a good place to stay for DC. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$34
We stayed in a 50A electric only site that was large and level. Many of the electric sites are clear for satellite. The nearest metro station is about 10 miles away and is an easy way to get to downtown DC. The check in person was very helpful and gave us good information on local places. We will recommend this park over the more expensive campgrounds near DC and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$34
We camped here only because it was close to our son who lives nearby. The campground was quiet this time of the year, but did have more campers than I expected. Sites were level and most were deep. We didn't have a fire ring. Camp located in a county park where other activities are held for the local community - ie - soccer and softball. This was not a problem though. We used the camp as a base not as a destination. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$34
This is as basic an RV park as you are going to find. But it is close to D.C. and it is clean and well kept. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$42
This campground is a Fairfax County park and is located in the Washington DC suburbs, I found this campground clean, convenient and close. I thought the sites were large enough for even the biggest rigs and shady enough for the smallest of tents. I found the cohabitation of Big Rigs and Boy Scouts a delightful change from the RV parks we usually frequent. The 50 amp sites were mostly level the sites don’t have water or sewer and the bathroom was somewhat dated but clean. The water park and carrousel were as good as you’ll find in any campground and a petting zoo was very close. Shopping and site seeing within 10 miles of this campground would be unsurpassed in any campground anywhere. I would recommend this park and will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$42
Non Electric: $25, 20/30: $34, 20/30/50: $42. Senior 62+ is $20, $27, $34 respectively. Comments in other reviews very accurate. We stayed here a month. Updated sites with 50 amp are very nice, level, cinder gravel wood lined patios. All sites have firepits and picnic tables. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$27
We used this park as a base for seeing Washington DC and surrounding area. Staff was friendly. Park was very clean with large spaces - open and shaded. Large grassy and wooded areas around campground. Rate of $27 was a senior rate. WiFi available for a fee. Park is closing for 3 months in November 2007 to upgrade to 50 amps. Since we were there in September, water park was closed and most of the campers were like us - retired and sightseeing. The campground is in a very large county park but was very quiet and dark with no other traffic going through it. Would stay here again on another visit to DC and recommend it to others for this purpose. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$27
Pros: Sites were large enough for big rigs. Most sites provided shade. Good TV reception. Close to several Metro stations. Waterpark was closed. Cons: Construction currently going on towards the front of the park. Only one bath house for the entire campground. Paid for WiFi, but reception was so poor could not use. Our site was surrounded by trees that made it difficult to back into. Overall it would be a toss up as to staying again or not. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$34
Nice county park campground. Most sites level. Bathrooms dated but clean – scalding water in shower when toilets are flushed. Water Park was nice - $9 discounted camper fee per person includes rides on carousal. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$34
The park itself is located adjacent to the Reston Zoo and a water park is located on the park grounds as well Water park rates are $9.00 per person (camper rates). The campground is in the back of a large county park. The lone bathrooms were dated, but clean. If taking a shower be prepared to swat the nozzle away if someone flushes a toilet (you will get burned if you don't, the water became that hot, that quickly). This was the first time we camped somewhere where there was only electric hook-up. I think we could live without the sewer, but having to refill the water tank is a chore (I purchased two 7 gal. water jugs from Wal-Mart and gravity fed my tank to refill it, on two separate occasions during our 4 day stay). The campground personnel were very friendly. There's a lot to do in the area including Great Falls National Park, the aforementioned Reston Zoo (partial petting zoo for the kids) and the small water park that's located right within the gates of the county park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
This was a very clean park in close proximity to D.C. We were in a small but private spot with good tree screen. There is a huge playing field adjacent to the park, which makes a great dog run area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$34
Lake Fairfax has become our favorite "quick trip" destination. We live fairly close and camp here for very short trips. The children have been eyeing the nearby water park called The Water Mine and can't wait until it's open for the season. The park is kept clean and has everything we need for a relaxing evening or two. We really don't care about its location to Washington D.C. and Tysons Corner since we live here, but to others that may be a big plus. We tried to book a site at the last minute over the June 16th weekend and it was full-so plan ahead. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$29
Part of the Fairfax County Park system. Clean CG, clean bath house, good spacing between sites, other county park amenities (water park open in the summer, paddle boats on the lake, soccer and ball fields. CG store is limited in offerings. Grocery and Home Depot are within 10 minutes. Quite even though in the middle of Fairfax county. Good location for getting to DC for sightseeing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2006
$49
Although this park is very pretty, the amenities are nil. It was the only park in the area which could accommodate our motorhome. The only hook-up available was 30 amp electric. In order to fill our water tank and empty our holding tanks, we had to move our RV to the bathhouse. The campground advertises as having security but, no matter how late at night we returned, the gates were always open. We never saw any guard. This campground is much better suited to tents than to motorhomes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2006
$27
We stayed here because it's the closest CG to where my son lives. It's at the back of the park and dark as pitch at night. A tad dusty. Wish we'd had full hook up, too. Otherwise, it was ok for a night or two. We would stay there again, but would check out the sites before going to the office as many are not very level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2005
$27
We camped here for 5 days in June 2005. The campground is fairly clean, bathrooms are clean but older and nothing that great. The shaded/wooded sites were very muddy, the sites in the field were better. The gravel roads and campsites needed a few inches of new gravel as it looks like it hasn't been done in quite a few years. During the weekdays we found that there were quite a few construction worker sharing tents throughout the campground. I guess they were working in the area during the week and were far from home, however, it didn't make it feel like a family campground, and my wife was a little put-off by it. When the weekend came, the construction crews left and more families came. Many came with there dogs and apparantly the teenagers working at the office there are not going to enforce the leash rules so most dogs roamed free. One van full of 4 or 5 construction workers would park at the bathroom and let their Rotweiler roam around the bathrooms while they showered. My small kids are afraid of dogs so this made for a very unpleasant experience. Our neighbors were up and talking and partying past 2 a.m.-- office closes at 8 so there is no one to report them to -- not that the 17 year olds working there could do much. Oh yeah, the police did patrol the park 2 or 3 times during our stay -- in fact they made a drug bust one night, that was not something I've seen while camping before. Just shows the type of people that this campground attracts. Overall, the campground was worn looking, had no rules enforced (either quiet time or leash laws), our site was very muddy as most of the gravel was worn away, the sites are very unlevel so bring your leveling blocks. If you value your safety and a family atmosphere, this one isn't for you. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2005
$29
Campground is located within a beautiful county park in suburban Reston. We were there during off-season, so the small camp store and water park were not open. Be advised that while some of the sites looked pretty level, others (like ours) are very sloped - bring lots of blocks. There are no water or sewer hookups, but you can fill up on the side of the bath house before parking your rig. Restrooms were 'public park' quality, but very clean - lots of hot water. WiFi worked great. We tried public transportation to Washington one day - two buses and the metro - took at least two hours. Note that the rate is the maximum you would pay - off season and 15amp are a few dollars less. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$15
This park is handy to Washington D.C. the Metro station is about 7 miles away. There is fishing in the lake and a swimming pool. Good playgrounds are in all loops. Deer, rabbits and other small animals can be seen. The grounds are kept neat and the sites are fairly large. The showers are clean and large. Water and the dump station are easy to get to. The help are friendly. Call for reservations (703)471-5415. Computers are available at the Reston Library for internet hook-up. They allow a half hour use. Printing is charged for. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com