223325 User submitted reviews online!!
Loft Mountain Campground (NPS Campground) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (434) 823-4675
CGID3081

Loft Mountain Campground (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
202
Date of Stay
October 2012
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   8   6   10   9   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$15
Another wonderful campground in a beautiful national park! Much has been written already about this campground, so my comments will focus on our particular campsite, which was E118. This campsite was the only reservable big-rig capable site available when I made our reservations. We discovered why when we got there (I wish I had read more of the reviews, as the issues with this site are covered by at least one other reviewer). To cut to the chase, there isn't a level spot anywhere on this site. It's not just a little out of level, but a lot! I used every 2X10, every Lynx leveler, and every inch of travel of the hydraulic jacks we had to level up our 40ft motorhome, but I still could not get it level front to back. The bottom edge of our front bumper was at least 2.5 ft off the deck. The last step out of the motorhome was a doozy! I wish I could post a photo here because our motorhome looks like a 737 rotating for takeoff. I was able to get it level enough that it wasn't uncomfortable, and we were only going to be there two nights, so we stayed. Otherwise, I would have moved somewhere else, even if it meant leaving the campground altogether. In my opinion, E118 is not a suitable campsite for a tent or a large TT or MH, and Recreation.gov should not list this particular site as big-rig friendly . Perhaps a pop-up or a small TT would work better. Regardless, I still give the campground a very high rating because it is such a wonderful place overall. We will be back again, again, and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
Very beautiful. So nice to be where there is little commercialism. Good space between sights. Saw a bear. Had a view of the valley. Well stocked camp store within a half mile. Easy to walk. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$15
This is an excellent park, well-maintained and peaceful. The sites all have paved parking areas and grassy spots for tables, tents, fires, etc. The showers are a long walk or a short drive and are $1 for 5 minutes (which felt more like 3 minutes) but the cost of getting water up the mountain and dealing with waste water is expensive. The dumpsters were emptied regularly, and the hosts were friendly and knowledgeable. We were there over Columbus Day weekend and the weather was perfect; the campground was full both Friday and Saturday nights, so book early for busy weekends. The only point lost is for our particular site (E118); it was spacious but the most unlevel site we have ever dealt with. It sloped both side-to-side and downward; we did not have enough leveling blocks to make it level and we carry PLENTY of blocks. It was just a function of the location of our site; other sites looked fine. Overall a great campground; we will go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$15
We enjoyed this park for just a one night stay while passing through on our way home. The park is nice and well kept but is very busy. The sites feel isolated, but the crowd noise reminds you that it is not. I caution people on the "pull thru" sites. We had problems in a site in the B loop getting in (and out) in our 24' motor home. I would call ahead if you are in a big rig and reserve a spot that way. We ended up in E94- Nice spot and close to a bath house for restroom facilities. Generator hours are limited, so keep that in mind if you have a medical need that would require longer use. Over all it is a nice park and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$7.5
The pull throughs are paved and are adequate for a 30' TT and tow vehicle. It was very easy to level both side to side and front to back. It was hot when we arrived but there was a nice breeze all night with cool temps. It was buggy sitting outside so take the insect repellent. The only place for potable water is at the dump station. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$8
Very well kept campground with very good privacy. There are numerous pull throughs to make parking your RV easy. The drive to the campground is on Skyline Drive and is very scenic. With the Appalachian Trail next to the park, there is plenty of hiking opportunities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$15
This is a great park for dry camping, big rig friendly a lot of pull throughs and spaced out for privacy. The only drawback might be the showers are a drive if you need them, other than that we will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$15
Very well kept campground with very good privacy. The rangers are very personable yet professional. The drive to campground is on Skyline Drive and is very scenic. With the Appalachian Trail next to the park, there is plenty of hiking opportunities. The only downside is that the showers are located a significant distance from the campground sites and cost $1 for 5 minutes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Love, love, LOVE this part of the park! We tent camped, many times. Best area of the park. The bathrooms are clean. Coin-op showers. Beautiful views! Easy access to the Appalachian trail. Some tent sites are downhill. Plenty to choose from. You can even check out the sites before you choose. Super awesome bear-proof boxes make it convenient to store food. Camp store is fully stocked, except for feminine products. But they sell beer and wine! A++ all the way. The only downside was some Park Ranger gave my husband a hard time entering the park. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$7
Price reflects Federal Handicap Access Pass rate of $7.50 per night (50% off). We camped here for 12 nights and really enjoyed it. However, most sites are very un-level and are backwards (your awning will be on the wrong side unless you drive the wrong way in like we did). Lots of wildlife to see in the camp... deer, birds, snakes, bears, wolves, etc. Bath houses are small but adequate; showers are at the camp store and cost $1 for 5 minutes. Laundromat is available and very inexpensive to use. Church services are held each Sunday morning at 9:30 in the amphitheater. Cell service is spotty at best; TV reception was good with just an antenna. It is 20 miles to town, 41 miles to a Walmart so come prepared. If you want to get away from it all, this is the place to come. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$15
My new favorite place to camp. Bluebirds, goldfinches, peeping frogs, pleasant little border of green around each site hides the neighbors from view. Sunrise and sunset were both breath-taking. Meandered a bit on Appalachian Trail. We want to go back soon. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$15
It is a very nice NP campground, fairly large, well separated sites. It seemed the more level sites were in A Loop, where we were, next time we will bring the toad, as the amphitheater, Camp store & showers were quite a walk away. The only real problem was, all the sites on the inside of a loop, (left side of the road), are backwards, you have to get turned around, & go the wrong way into your site, to get your awning on the right side. But all in all, a great relaxing weekend away from the constant upper 90 degree heat. We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$15
Overall this campground is nice. Our biggest complaint was the toilet and bath facilities. The Men's restroom on our loop had only one stall toilet. This is the largest campground on Skyline Drive for goodness sake! At the camp store, the Men's bath house had only one working shower for the entire weekend. As it is now, I would not stay here again. There are better choices. It's time for updated facilities at this National Park campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$19
A beautiful campground. Lots of trees, shrubs and grass. Very quiet. Large, private sites. Lots of deer and rabbits. Raccoons can be a problem. One tried to steal the graham crackers off the picnic table while we were sitting around the fire making s'mores! No hook ups, but the dump station was nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$15
Excellent campground for big rigs. Easy access. Loops A and B are best for big rigs, most level and large sites. Loop C very unlevel. Super large driveway and grass area at almost every site. No hookups. Very beautiful and nature at its best. Feels like you are in the middle of nowhere. All roads and pads are paved. Lots of birds singing, no traffic noise. Access to Skyline Drive via Rt. 33 very easy. Park Rangers all very nice, no problems. Rate per night is excellent for what you get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
This is a fantastic NPS campground, and a remarkable escape just 2 hours outside of the Washington, D.C. metro area. I agree with the other reviewers: quiet, remote, natural feel no matter what time of year. We've camped here many times over the years, usually in tents. Now that we're in a trailer, I do wish they had a few full hookup or at least electricity sites available. But the tradeoff is worth it. Many great day hikes within a short drive. If staying for a longer period in the park, recommend splitting time between here and Big Meadows, which is also fantastic and offers even more close-by day hike opportunities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
Quiet & peaceful, even on a holiday weekend. Spacious sites, well situated and private. We spent two peaceful nights here, hiked the nearby trails, and completely relaxed. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$6
No hookups at all but there are restrooms and water and a campstore with laundry and showers. This campground is one of four on the Skyline drive in Shenandoah National Park. There is also another one that is for groups only. You can make reservations here for about 30 of the sites. Most of the sites are pull through and good size even for the largest campers, but there are a number of sites that are not level. Real nice tent sites. We moved from reserve site to a non reserve site only because it was more level, but actually this site faces west so we were able to look at the views looking down on the valley, and at night one can see the lights of the towns in the distance. Great views! The Appalachian Trail goes right around this campground so easy to get on to go hiking either way. We arrived on opening day May 15 a Friday and it was quite interesting within 6 hours most of the sites in the campground were taken. Lots of deer roaming through the woods and through your sites. Very nice campground! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$17
No hookups, but who cares. This place is awesome anytime of year. We've camped here in the spring, summer, and fall and are never disappointed no matter the weather. Reservations are easy online but usually some spots available b/c of no-shows. Can not recommend this place enough. (Also Big Meadows is just as awesome!) We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
We had a good time here... would definitely go back again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$40
It was OK... nothing spectacular... will explore other avenues We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
I stayed here for the Labor Day 2007 weekend in a group site. There was allot of confusion with park staff whether I booked a regular site or a group site. I showed them my reservation noting a group site with up to 15 people with 3 cars. It's funny that with all the confusion the marker by the road at this site said Group site. There was only parking for two cars and the reservation said I was allowed three. They asked me to park my third car at a nearby site. This was a major pain since all food has to be put in cars at night. My site was beautiful and cozy but very unlevel for tent camping. It would also never work for a popup. The parking spaces were very small. This campground is much quieter than Big Meadows. We originally looked at big Meadow but decided on Loft Mountain because of the group site availability. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$15
Great park! Quite large for a NPS park but really well laid out so you aren't camping right on top of each others. They has a lot of really secluded tent sites but they are a bit of a hike if you take a lot of equipment like we do when we tent camp! The RV sites are nicely wooded and fairly well separated, too. Lots of great hiking. Nice ranger programs nightly during the summer. Showers are only available at the camp store which is a little bit of a walk from some of the sites. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$18
I'm used to camping in the Midwest, but the sites seem so very close together! I felt like I was camping in my back yard (not very wooded) - besides the beautiful mountainous views that you could take a short walk to see. You could definitely see/hear other campers very easily. I wish the sites were more secluded because they aren't at all!! Shower is also quarter/coin operated at the camp store which is sort of off the grounds. Can see that being annoying if you have kids... Lots of hiking/sightseeing activities to do in the park. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$19
If you like rustic this is the place for you. Roads throughout campground are all paved. Site was large, level, shaded and fairly isolated. Ours wasn’t, but pull thru sites are available here. Rest rooms were modern and very clean. Our site was near the restroom and the exhaust fan was rather noisy, so keep that in mind if you are looking for absolute quiet. The best part of the trip was all of the wildlife. Deer everywhere, also spotted skunks, vultures and a family of wild turkeys. Kids really enjoyed the Ranger Programs, they were well prepared and very informative. Overall a great place to come and escape your everyday routine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$7
OK, I admit we are " resort " people and prefer the upscale resorts versus the rustic CG's. But we found a hidden gem on Loft Mtn. If your looking for a great quiet getaway, you need to check out this NPCG. It sits on top of Loft Mountain and provides you with some amazing views. Even during the 4th of July weekend we found it to be quiet, peaceful and stress free. We had deer wander right through the camp sites and it added even more to the overall enjoyment. If your in a big rig like we were (40 ft. quad slide) try the sites on "A" Loop. There are several pull thrus there and they offer you a great deal of privacy. No need to worry about mud or dirt as the park roads and camp sites are all paved. The Skyline Dr. trip was uneventful. Just take it easy and watch for deer. They are everywhere up there. We cannot wait to get back here and camp again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2005
$16
This no reservation CG is at mile marker 80 on Skyline Drive in the park. Nearly all of the sites are pull arounds and varied in how tight the turn is and level they are. The roads to and throughout the CG are paved and in good shape. Bathrooms are simple flush toilets; there are no hook-ups, laundry or showers right in the CG but there are pay showers and laundry at the campstore nearby. We have a 30 ft class A and had plenty of room for the RV and our toad. We saw some sizable RV's in some sites but the curve of other sites could give big rigs some difficulty. Sites on A loop were crowded but offered a view off the mountain. We liked D76 for being level and the spacious grassy area to the right of the RV. There were trees and other greenery between many of the sites. Campground closes the end of Oct. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$19
This is a quiet and peaceful park, with deer wandering all about. We had a site on the edge of a high cliff, with a view out over the valley far below. Very nice. Our site was situated right on the AT, so hiking is possible right out of your door. Pay showers and a camp store are available, but no electricity. The generators were loud at times and run far too long by fellow campers. The sites are large and pretty private. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$16
What a wonderful campground! This is truly a way to get back to nature - while we were sitting at our site 3 deer walked right by - what a treat for the kids! There are no hook-ups but the sites are paved (most are pull-thrus) and it's very quiet. Our site was level. They don't take reservations but as long as it's not a holiday weekend, the ranger said that you'll probably be ok. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$14
On top of the world! Beautiful and clean. Better have a dual battery on the RV cause there's no elec. ;) Nice and peaceful. If you want a CG that's relaxing this is it. If you want waterslides, arcades, and mayhem you'll have to look elsewhere. Plan to go back yearly! We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$13
I love Loft Mountain! Wonderful programs put on by the Park Rangers. We have been there four times this summer and never a negative experience. Campsites are designed to provide some privacy, but there is still ample opportunity to visit with your fellow campers. The wildlife is wonderful, lots of trails to hike, or just plain peace and quiet to enjoy! We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$14
The wild life comes alive especially after dark! Lots of Deer and a few bears. The campgrounds are manicured wooded lots, mostly pull throughs. The showers are in a central location and are coin operated. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com