220830 User submitted reviews online!!
Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 132 user reviews. Phone: (540) 337-3920
CGID3084

Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA

Camp Information
Sites
158
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   9   9   9   8   4   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$35
This was a well-maintained campground. We were placed in the newest section which had large, level pull throughs, but they lacked sewer. Can't understand why you'd construct new sites without sewer. Additionally, to exit the new section required drivers to pull back into the main campground, circle it, and then drive out again. They had a large, new nice grassy, shaded dog park. Might return if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$44
It's actually a pretty nice KOA, tucked back in the woods, easy access down a paved county road but our stay wasn't without incident. It looks like the one-night stayers are at the very front of the park which was nice - easy in, easy out and mostly pull-through sites. We stayed in the upper level to the far right, back of the park. When you get assigned a "pull-through" or "back-in" site make sure it's actually full pull-through or single back-in, not pulling in to be bumper to bumper with an RV in front of you (site 74). That would have been fine but there was not enough room for our 40' MH and full size truck. When I made the reservation I was very specific about the size we needed but did not get what was promised. They did not charge extra to park our enclosed trailer, which was nice, but getting it parked in the spot they wanted it wasn't all that easy. When I complained about the site I was told there was a 30 amp site available but no 50s for our size. We expressed our displeasure with the arrangement seeing as I'd made reservations for 3 days and told them upfront what we needed. After a lengthy discussion they allowed us to park in site 83, which is 30 amp, but use the 50 amp service from site 82. It really wasn't big enough for our needs but was better than site 74. (And even though site 82 wouldn't be rented out they would not allow us to park the truck or trailer in that site). With all that being said, it is a nice park, they have lots to do, and we didn't have any trouble getting around with the MH. We talked with another camper who had the same problem we did - called ahead with specifics, told no problem, then got put in a site too small for their needs. They'd been there about a week and watched the site next to them be vacant most nights and it would have fit their rig. They asked to be moved and the park refused. Not sure if the person who makes campsite assignments knows how to fit people in or not. But we would not stay there again and the other campers said they would not return either. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
We've been RVing for many years, and this is one of the nicest places we've seen. Check-in was easy and the staff was always pleasant and helpful. The grounds were immaculate and everything seemed to be in good repair. Remarkable for such a large place with so many RV sites, tent sites and cabins. We walked around the park and the small "lake" every day and found it to be a very family-friendly place. Everyone seemed to be having a great time, and they even have a fenced in area for your doggie. Over the weekend the place was full, with mostly VA license plates, which suggests that it's a popular local getaway. We stayed a week and it was $245. This website insisted on a nightly rate and I don't have that - so I divided by 7 - it might be a bit higher. I'd rate the park a 10 but the Wi-Fi in our location was consistently poor. Cable was OK but spare, (not a lot of channels) and some channels were not clear, but if you're coming to be outside and camp I suppose those aren't big problems. They do have a number of newspapers available too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
Gravel level site. Very helpful staff; clean restrooms and showers. Family friendly. Quiet and away from traffic. We will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$62
The previous recent review doesn't seem consistent at all with our experience. This a beautiful park with a ton of attention to detail by the owners. The office store is hands down the cleanest and most sensibly stocked store I've ever seen in many years of RVing. We had absolutely no sense of narrow roads or sites. Yes, some roads are single tracks but they are also one way. We maneuvered without any concern whatsoever. Now, the park is well off the Interstate and those country roads do take a while to navigate at slower than highway speeds, but once you arrive, you are greeted by a very happy staff, impeccably clean facilitates and a very spread out, safe, attractive and well appointed park. We would not hesitate to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$39
Led to campsite, which was helpful because lanes are windy and our site was on a hill. Back-in site had many trees; however, access was not bad. Immediately situated in front of another occupied site so kept the back window shades down for privacy. Gravel interior roads, level dirt site with shade. Laundry house clean, but limited number of machines, which were often used. Bath house clean. Lots of open grassy space. Staff was friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2014
$46
The staff is great and helpful and the surrounding area is beautiful. Unfortunately this campground is not up to standard KOA quality. The roads are very narrow and dusty and you need to make 3 hairpin tight turns to get to any of the sites. The road up to the "hill" is a single lane for in and out traffic and if you meet up with oncoming traffic someone will need to back up a few hundred feet. The "lake" is really a swamp with an odor and scum film covering the water. The dump station is poorly designed and on the exit road, so if someone is dumping you need to wait to exit the park. We have been going there 3 consecutive years and notice that there has been ZERO upgrades or improvements; even dead tree limbs over sites are still hanging. Its obvious that the owner could care less. The showers and restroom need attention but the pool is nice. This could be a premium KOA. but it's not. We will not be returning to this KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$55
Full hookup site right on the lake. Great morning view watching the ducks swim about. Level sites that were easily accessible. We would come back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$42
Without a doubt one of the cleanest campgrounds we have stayed in. Staff was very friendly and all the amenities first class. The pond-side sites are awesome with lots of friendly ducks to entertain you. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
Pleasant helpful staff. Well maintained grounds and good interior roads. Wish the access to the large pull throughs didn't require going through the campground to turn around. No sewer but didn't need it for a short stay. Lovely, quiet environment. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
Lovely Staunton-Walnut Hills, a plantation from the past, camped along the beautiful pond, my vision much surpassed. A warming sun, quacking ducks, winter fades to green, a gravel pad, and easy set-up. So, sit back it's time to dream. Different tiers to choose from, not a site that seemed forlorn. Road-weary from a day of driving, a chance to feel re-born. The only downside I could find is that the internet was weak. It beckons so come relax enjoy. To serve is such a pleasure, a traveler's delight, they've earned a "9" for such a rambling man's pleasure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
We camped in a 40 foot motorhome in a pull through site in the front section of the campground. In order to get in or out of that area you have to drive into the main part of the campground around tree lined curves through a tent area. It is doable but not comfortable. We were reluctant to do it with car attached which required that we hook up in front of the office. They would only let one rig hook up at a time because we would be blocking traffic (which we did anyway while waiting for the prior rig to hook up). Other than that, the hosts were friendly, utilities good, and the other part of the campground was lovely - pond, upper sites with good views. We would not stop there again because of the logistics. Recommend coming in from Rt 11 vs 340 because of angle of turn into campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
We stopped for one night. Narrow gravel interior roads, some potholes, not laid out good for 40 ft MH. In the area we stayed, no sewer which was OK for the night, but getting in to our site and out in the morning required circling a lot of the campground. The bathhouse was clean, but the stalls were small, a step down at the door on the mens side which was not indicated and from what I could tell there was only one bathhouse and it was a long way from some of the sites. Not sure we would stop here again. Not impressed with this KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$48
Efficient office staff. Our Verizon Mi-Fi did not work, but the park Wi-Fi did. Would rate higher, but a few drawbacks for us: horrible dusty road going to the upper sites, even at 5 mph. Did not care for the showers, which would be better suited to Munchkins. Inconvenient dump station location. Caution: an entering RV and exiting RV could not pass one another near the office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
Older park. Hookups badly placed on small sites. Trailer stuck out to the edge of the road. Not much room for parking truck. Staff tried to provide a better site (back ins) on return trip, but it still didn't work well. Would not stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
We stayed for one night and then stayed another night on our return trip south. This is a quiet campground laid out on a spacious property that offers different views and conveniences. I needed a quick in and out site so I got reliable water, electric, and cable and level gravel with no sewer hook up. This is a destination campground with plenty of outdoor things for kids to get involved with. It was not difficult to get to from I-81 but not right off the exit either. We made reservations both times and had no problems. A local Italian restaurant delivers to the park office and that worked out great. The staff is friendly and the place is well maintained. I know some people like to bad mouth KOA's but I think I got a quality product that was worth what I paid and did not include any ugly surprises. I will stay here again because I will continue to drive up north on I-81 at least once a year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
This was our first KOA and they were wonderful. The hosts were very friendly and helpful, and in fact called me in route to suggest a better campsite. They were right. This is a very well laid out campground and you can see the owners care about their facility and making your stay pleasant. Most of the campers were repeat campers often from several states away. We would highly recommend this campsite. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2013
$45
Great new owners and staff. We stayed for a month on business and got the typical monthly rate site. Bathrooms, showers and laundry were cleaner than clean. The cable was poor, so we purchased a satellite system. I need Wifi for business. After several attempts to get their provider to fix it, we had Internet access-but it was slow as a turtle. I have to mention the staff again. They rocked. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
This formerly private park was taken into the KOA family a few years ago. Have stayed here several times over the last 4 years. As we are transiting and only need a site for one night, we ask for "out front" where the sites have 30/50 amps and water. The sites are clean, unimpeded, and the checkin process always seems to go well. I would highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$33
Exit #213, not what GPS said. Easy to get to from this exit. Big sign when you arrive, problem is you have no indication you are supposed to make a sharp right. A simple sign or arrow would be helpful to first time guest. We spent one night on the way to DC. We would stay again. Narrow one way roads, no sewer at site, dump hard to get to. Stayed out front, but due to the angle and narrow streets had to drive around the back of the park to get in and the same to exit in the morning. 42' MH We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
About 4 miles off I81, easy to find with KOA signs in a beautiful area. Campground in a small valley with a small meandering stream ending in a man built lake. 90% long stays close set about the lake and up the hill, and only about 6 small ill definded over night sites in a low area about the stream. Unfortunately had been raining and ground was soggy with very little gravel on site. One way roads confusing and dump station wrong side for one way and van ends up blocking an intersecting road. Good was a nice store-office and a very clean and shining tiled bathhouse. Good for an overnite stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
From Hwy 81 the campground itself is not hard to get to. The employees were friendly. They did not have full hookups available so we settled on W/E. We were in the 100's section of the campground which meant we were toward the front away from the lake in an open lot before the registration office. In order to get to our site we had to go through the actual campground itself which consists of one-ways. The one-ways are necessary because the roads are narrow and a few tight turns. The dump station is located in an extremely bad location. There is no pull off, you are in a bend and you are blocking the road. I know they value their trees, but we could not fully extend our awning because of the low branches. If you stay in the 100's just know the closest bath house is quite a distance. It would be nice it they had one closer. I gave them a 4 because of the employees, they have a pool, and the activities they have to offer for kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$44
We had a drive-through site up on the hill that we shared with another RV who was behind us. The site was level with a full hookup and we had a great view. The bathrooms and showers were clean, although somewhat dated. They were convenient to our site. The staff was friendly and helpful. The Skyline Drive in Shenandoah NP is a ten minute ride from there. We would come back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$55
Very nice campground with friendly and helpful staff. Restrooms and showers were clean and well stocked. Our site was a very long pull-through, which could also be used as a "double" site for smaller units. The grounds were well kept and the view was great. The CG is relatively close to the Natural Bridge and Luray Caverns which we visited. There are lots of activities for kids and plenty of room for them to play. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
I can't add anything to the prior positive reviews. For long time travelers of the Shenandoah Valley please be aware that the original franchise has changed locations. The old one still exists under a new name. Both are lovely and deserve your patronage. Except for the bull-frogs this location is extremely quite. We hope to return often. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$38
We stayed her 2 different times while visiting the area. First 2 nights we were in a pull-through site in an open field (no trees/shade) and a long walk to shower/bathhouse. Park staff patrolled regularly and made sure everything was safe/secure. They were helpful and pleasant. Facilities were clean, and sites were level, although a bit close. Our 2nd stay was on the way back after the trip, and we asked to be closer to showers. Nice back-in site near a stream. Ducks were a bit noisy and made our little dogs crazy, but it was a lovely spot. Would definitely camp here again. One of the nicest KOAs we've been to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$31
What a great park. We were only there for one night as we were driving through but I would stay longer. The country side is beautiful, the park is clean and well run and the sites were even. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$32
Pretty spot,convenient to interstate, but no road noise. For one night we had long level W/E pull through in the lower section, which was perfect. Other sites may be up a hill (road is paved). Restrooms were spotless, folks were friendly. Lots of space to walk the dog, but pond had too much algae for swimming -- she did enjoy wading in the creek. We camped here in a fifth wheel and would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$40
We really enjoyed this campground and stayed right on a lakefront site. This was our first excursion in our travel trailer and it was very nice. All employees were kind and caring. Housekeeping staff kept bathrooms and showers very clean. We will be returning here the end of this month. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$37
This is a very nice campground with all the facilities. My only caution to travelers is it is difficult to get to and out of to the interstate. The interior roads are are a maze and it's quite a climb to some sites. For a one night stop they need to have basic flat sites set aside with water, sewer, and electric. Don't need all the frills that they want to offer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2012
$42
If you are lucky to get one of the level pull through sites be the lake, consider yourself lucky. If you get another site it is not worth the money spent. We checked in right before a snow storm and that is only reason I stayed so long at this campground. We had one of the monthly sites and it was so out of level side to side I had to use 2 sets of leveling blocks , and the site I had was grass, no gravel, so when the snow melted a day later (this is Virginia after all, wait 5 seconds the weather will change), I was back to being out of level. The Manager was new when we came, and I'm hoping he'll clean things up. Since there was melting, all of the tent sites were under an inch of water. The Bathrooms and Laundry were clean, and cold so we didn't use them. They do have site to site trash pickup. Though their WiFi is excellent, it was an extra $2.50 per 24 hours on top of the fee stated. This CG is about 2 miles from I-81. I do recommend the Kangaroo Express Gas Station if you need to fill up. We have a 38' w/ toad gas Class A and were able to fit and fill with no problem. They also have a separate Diesel Station in the back for trucks that will fit any size Diesel pusher you have. Overall I wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
Good access from I-81. Level site of packed earth. Stayed in a site without sewer for one night while transiting. Quiet. Enough room. Everything worked. Would stay here again, if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2011
$50
Upon arrival with the group I was camping with, I went to my assigned campsite. The site was so small, I couldn't even open my awning because of a tree approximately 5 feet away. The sewer connection was more than 50 feet away and the picnic table was by a storm drain. I called the office about moving and the first thing I heard was, "There might be an additional charge." I went to the office to talk to the manager about the site. The manager so was arrogant and rude. I explained that the site was just to small for my travel trailer. His comment to me was that I should have made my reservation earlier. I told him that I made my reservation in May. I also explained that the sewer connection was more than 50 feet away. He then stated he would have brought me some more sewer hose. After talking to for about 10 minutes, I had to just walk away. I had been camping all over the country and have never met a staff member so rude! It is a shame because the campground amenities were nice. To say the least, neither I or the parties in my group will ever stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$38
Not your typical KOA where the main building contains office, store, bathrooms and showers. This campground appears to be an older one that has been converted to a KOA. Most sites including the one I had were very small. The electric & water were shared on one post for three side-by-side sites. My electric cord barely reached and ran through my neighbor's site. Very friendly staff, tons of activities for kids, and appears to be very family oriented. Of course we were just looking for a place to sleep for a couple of nights while attending the Fall Festival bicycle weekend, thus all the CG activities were of no advantage. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$38
We've stayed here before and it is a great place to stay. Staff is friendly and helpful. Cable TV and Wi-Fi worked very well. We had to stay "up the hill" because full hookup sites were not available on the lake on the weekend. The interior road up the hill was very rough and needed resurfacing. If planning on staying on weekend and want a lakeside site, make reservations early. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$37
Very level. Need to drive around in circles to get to and leave pull through site. No shade. Good cable TV and Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
We stayed here two days in a lakeside lot. I had to ask a guy to move his vehicle to get back into my assigned site. Other than that the management and staff are great and the park is very well maintained. My wife wanted to stay an extra day. I would recommend it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$38
We stopped here for an overnight on our way home. We phoned ahead for information and the gentlemen who we spoke with was very helpful. Same at check-in. The park is nicely landscaped and has a lake, lots of trees, and some nice natural areas. The downside for us was that the roads are narrow and rough, and the sites are quite close together in some areas. It wasn't busy when we were there, but I imagine that during the summer things could get a little cramped. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
Great park for over night on I-81. Has large pull through sites. Very nice treed area with a creek and a lake if you want to stay awhile. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
Easy access off the freeway. Beautiful, park like setting. Love it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
What a disappointment! We had camped here a couple of times about five years ago and liked the beautiful campground very much. There have been numerous changes since we were here last. We felt very much like sardines packed in tightly. The roads are topped with limestone gravel and are very narrow, rutted, and rough with some fairly tight turns. To say the units are packed in tightly is an understatement. We could hear the conversations of campers on both sides and directly behind us. They advertise free W-iFi, but we were charged $2.50 for the connection. On the positive side, the hookups are easy to reach and in good shape. The landscaping is pretty, and the owners have obviously tried hard to make it nice with extra touches like fire pits, picnic tables, and grills. We will not return here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$59
Thanks Staunton Walnut Hills KOA for a remarkable July 4th weekend. The campground is very nice. Camped in upper section in the shade. Probably would not camp around lake due to limited shade. We utilized the "buddy sites." This is an extended site with two sets of full hookups so that folks camping together do not have to pull in backwards. Both campers share one very nice patio with round picnic table, swing, light post, and gas grill. One person pays premium site fee and the other pays reduced fee. This is the first CG we have stayed in that had this feature. Site was very level and only required minor (1/2 block) leveling. Planned activities included crafts, movies, a band, and fireworks for the 4th of July celebration. Staff escorted us to the site and were visible all weekend. Locals are permitted to pay a fee and use pool facilities, but we did not feel crowded at any point. Bathhouse was very clean. Only suggestion would be more planned activities. Other KOAs have had ice cream, watermelon, etc. Very convenient to Staunton and Stuarts Draft. We would definitely stay at this campground in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$47
We really enjoyed our stay at this campground and took advantage of their tandem sites on the hill. We travel with friends and they offered a discount as a buddy site. We shared one of the long pull throughs with both campers in one site (with two hook-ups). This worked perfectly for us, we had one huge site and access to both campers very easily. The site was about 100' long, very level and included a concrete patio, gas grill and swing. The road is a bit long to get to the sites, but we had no problem getting our 32' fifth wheel to the site. My only complaints would be that the pool is open to the public for a fee, which makes it pretty crowded, and the water pressure was a bit low for us. Otherwise, it was one of the nicer campgrounds we have visited. Very clean and neat, friendly staff, lots of activities, and we really enjoyed the free fireworks show for the 4th of July. Some of the sites around the lake were a bit small, and some sites were even on the side of the road around the lake. Didn't like those sites, but we definitely intend to camp there again as long as we can get up on the hill. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
Very nice campground. I liked the topography of this place. There is a lake in the middle of the campground and a nice hill with some sites on top of it. I think it adds nice character. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$37
We stayed one night. The grounds are beautiful - there is a small lake with fishing, staff is cordial and our site was level and packed. We were unable to get a clear view for our satellite dish, but the cable worked OK - the connection was stripped and we had to tape our cable to it. We were unable to get a full hookup but we used the common dump site as we left. We did not use the laundry (although it looked very clean) or showers etc. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
Great campground for the most part; grounds well maintained with spacious sites, showers and restrooms the cleanest we've seen, staff very helpful and friendly, there are organized activities available, and the ducks are a lot of fun. My only complaint: don't plan to use the (beautiful!) swimming pool on holiday weekends. Memorial Day Sunday there were so many local day visitors we couldn't get to it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$39
A very nice facility. The overnight site was in a relatively new area/section. It was obvious there was/is attention being paid to site surroundings. Water/electric/sewage facilities were very accommodating. The site itself was level and clean with more than adequate gravel. Restrooms were impeccable. Note these comments apply to the newer section above and to the rear of the campground. Would definitely return if able to obtain one of these newer sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$36
This campground is off the beaten path but it is worth the trip. The staff is friendly and very accommodating. Lots of trees and a small lake/stream runs through the lower level of the park. We were here off season, so not sure what it's like in the summer, though the brochure mentions many activities. At this time of year, the store was pretty empty of staples, pool was closed and no activities-would have been reasonable to offer a reduced rate. Good hot water and water pressure in the showers. Free Wi-Fi if only staying 1 night for 1 computer-need to ask for another code if you have more than 1. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$47
This was our third stop here and improvements are made every time. This is a well run campground and very pretty. We took one of the full hook-up sites on top of the hill overlooking the lake and were very pleased. There are also new deluxe sites going in on top of the hill. Staff is very friendly and works hard. WiFi worked great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
Nice campground, staff were friendly and helpful. Not far off Interstate, stayed 1 night. Site we had did not have sewer, had to use dump, dump station is at other end of campground. I would use this campground when traveling thru the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$40
OK, first off the price KOA charges I think is to high. I mean four extra dollars for each adult after two. I think is a bit much. This is a very pretty campground and has a cool little lake in the middle. Good Wi-Fi, store has the basic stuff. Nice place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$38
When we arrived they were very busy. The young man who registered us sent us to a pull-through FHU. We had to go a long way and up a hill and when we finally arrived didn't feel safe pulling into the site. Our pick-up would have to be parked pointing downhill. I called the manager from the site and asked for a pull-through with W&E only and were sent to that section. Once we arrived back at the office (it's a long trip!) someone was waiting outside with our new receipt which was nice, as there was still a line inside. Only complaint was that they didn't escort us to the site. Also, the 50 amp didn't work and we had to use our 30 amp adapter. It was quiet and clean and we would return if we can afford $38/night again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
This was a typical KOA that we've found. It wasn't awful, but it wasn't great, either. We didn't find directions very easily and had to call for directions. It was quite a way from the Interstate. The people there were friendly enough and led us to our site. It was a long way up a hill loaded with pot holes. The sites were tandem sites for the big rigs. It was a gravel site and wasn't particularly easy to get our motor home level. Cable was not good, and there were too many trees to get satellite. We didn't use their facilities, but it was fine for an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Our pull through site was a little quirky but by going in the "wrong way," we achieved a grassy lawn with shade trees. Lovely setting on a former plantation with mature trees. Creek winds through and spills into lake. Has lots of helpful staff, a large store and a nice pool. They showed movies at night in an open air pavilion for children. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
We stayed here one night. Since we had no reservations we got a site with water and electricity only. As previously stated the roads are narrow, full of potholes and you do have to wind around the entire campground to get into a site, or out of your site to leave. They definitely need to re-think the routing here. I wouldn't appreciate the constant traffic of people coming and going by my campsite and the dust generated. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
Management is obviously working to improve the area by bringing in new units. Their money might be better spent by upgrading the showers & toilets. There should be a paved path to the bathrooms, and roads need more than patchwork. Location is convenient to Staunton, and Charlottesville is about 45 minutes away. The park itself has an open airy feel to it. The little pond is frequented by those who like to fish & ducks. Cute for the family! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$34
We have stayed at this park previously but it was not a KOA. Since we had a KOA card we did get a discount. That said, the price is too high for this park. Roads are narrow with lots of trees. They also have lots of potholes. Long winding road to our site which was not level. Will probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
The roads were in very bad shape, very narrow and full of pot holes. You had to circle around the whole campground just to get in or out. The sites were very close together. Our original site was at the top of the hill and was not very level. You had to pull half into another site to get to our site. It was too small for our trailer. While the camper sat at the top of the hill, the truck was halfway down and we could not get disconnected. We would have not been able to open our awning or sit outside the camper as it had a hill on that side. We spoke with the woman at the office and she had 2 sites available around the lake. We moved sites and had no problem from that point forward. The staff was very friendly. The grounds were very clean. Lots of activities for the kids for Easter weekend. This KOA will probably not be a place that we will return to. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$37
When we first got to this campground I said, "Oh No, not this place" from a previous experience before it was KOA. We were surprised with the new crew that took over and started running it as a KOA. The sites are large and the staff was outstanding. Water pressure and electricity were great along the FREE Wi-Fi and Cable TV. My wife and I have now added this place on our must stop at list as we travel around the country. I would have given a ten, but there are still things here being worked on and maybe next trip it will be done. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$33
There was a snow storm in the area and Walnut Hills was the only campground in the area that had cleared space and accepted customers. There was a foot of snow, yet we had no trouble navigating the grounds. The snow covered facility was absolutely breathtaking. Our dog was allowed free run, as only two others were here and she had the greatest time leaping through the snow. The ducks and geese were in the lake and it was picture perfect. The people were so kind and helpful and the facilities were immaculate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$34
You have to circle around half of the park on narrow roads to get out. Plus, we were in a site in the front section which meant we had to go past the office and around the park to get in as well as get out. No sewer hookups this time of year because water was disconnected. O.K. for a day or two and it was the only cg open in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2009
$33
I was not a happy camper here. I was given a pull-thru FHU site made up 2 sites situated back-to-front. These sites are on top of a high hill. Access to these sites is on a narrow, rough dirt road in heavy woods. Road curves up around the back of the hill for perhaps 400 yards (seemed farther since you must travel at a snail's pace). Once up on top, site required boards to allow coach to level without lifting wheels off the ground. Water pressure was low and some cable channels were fuzzy. Campground should not assign these top-of-hill sites to large motorhomes without warning you first. Not a good experience. I would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$36
This campground was recently acquired by KOA. Our site was a pull-in (two rigs/site) not leaving much room for the car. The laundry was spotless, the grounds neat and well cared for Sites are close together with many trees so satellite reception is spotty. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The campground is easy access from route 81. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
We had been here a few years ago and not much has changed now that KOA has arrived. We were next to the entrance road which means you go through the park to get to your site and to leave. The park is OK, but it is showing its age. The pull throughs are narrow and the roads are narrow and the turns have trees on the edges of the road. It just is a pain. OK for a one nighter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2009
$37
Electric and water only. The site was OK, but about 1/4 mile to the shower/bathroom. The park was clean but the interior roads were narrow and hard to follow. The dump site was hard to find. We would not stay here again for a long stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$37
When we arrived we were sent up the hill, in the woods, to park behind another unit. It was not what I had asked for. The next day questioned it. The woman at the desk said she forgot. She remembered my request. We then moved to another area where there was not full service. The Cable was terrible. Fox news was about all. We had paid for our daughter to come and visit overnight $8.00. After seeing others get in for free we told her to park in front along side our car. Nothing was said until the next morning around 11. She was leaving at 2. She was told to move her car. How petty. The area had emptied out and she wasn't blocking anyone. I called the office and complained. Then I complained about the dogs running loose, even the owners, others coming in off the road and not paying, people emptying their grey tanks. They said nothing except she needed to move her car. Well, they lost us as customers and she was checking the place out for a future rally. I don't know how it use to be, but we will not stay at a KOA again. They are too expensive and we have had too many bad experiences. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
This is an old campground that appears to have recently obtained KOA certification. We were left to find our site by ourselves which is not consistent with KOA campgrounds that we have visited before. The roads are gravel with potholes throughout and very dusty. Speed bumps are hidden with gravel buildup which could damage one’s rig. Sites along one side of the lake actually sit in the road which makes it difficult to maneuver in that area, especially in a larger rig. The lake is overrun with algae and weeds. Sites along the lake are nice but there are a lot of flies and ants. We had to hang our trash outside after experiencing ants in our rig. We asked a staff member if they had anything to eradicate them. He said he would get back with us but never did. Pull through sites by the office have no shade. You are allowed one free hour a day of Wi-Fi service but you have to go to the office and get a user name and password. They offer a daily plan for $2.00 per day but don’t bother as the Wi-Fi does not work. This could be a great campground with modern upgrades. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$34
We stayed here a couple of years ago and it was okay for an overnight stop, but this place clearly needed lots of TLC at that time. In April 2009, they converted this to a KOA franchise (usually I hear about campgrounds *dropping* their franchise or KOA drops them), so this was a surprise. I was impressed with the positive change that has occurred here - the somewhat confusing and complex interior roads now have excellent signs (desperately needed on our last visit) that make navigation significantly easier. The pull-through sites are only water and electric, but convenient if you don't want to unhook. Everything looked neat and very tidy. The interior roads are either pavement or gravel and what I saw was in very good condition. Check in was friendly, efficient, and fast. We will definitely stay here again! NOTE 1: They are honoring the Good Sam discount for the rest of the 2009 camping season. NOTE 2: Choose pull-through sites 112/113 or those pull-throughs closest to the office for good satellite TV performance. As you get farther away from the office, there is a row of very tall trees that will block your signal (starting around 122 and continuing to site 126.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
I liked the campground. We visited The Skyline Drive from here and saw some nice wineries in the area. It was fairly convenient to the main highway. Our site did not have sewer but we were OK with that. The only real objection to the campground I had was getting into the front group of sites where we stayed. The entrance to the front area is a hairpin curve. You cannot turn the corner to enter the camping area and you have to wind around the rear of the park on other roads and then come back to the exit road to enter from the opposite direction. You have to do the same thing when you leave the campground. The layout could be much better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
Great location off the interstate. Grounds are well kept, although the roads were dusty. Clean campground overall. Many sites are very close quarters and witnessed RVs having to squeeze themselves into sites. Pool was small, playground was primitive, lake/pond needs attention, roads need some repair, site #'s are not clearly marked which is difficult when arriving at night. More cons than pros here, but "OK" for the value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$39
We camped here with a Good Sam Chapter. Our sites were grouped on the top of the hill, close together. As others have mentioned, these are called "pull through" BUT, only if you are the first one in. If you are second, you will be staring into the back of another rig. Since we were all together, it wasn't so bad, but since we were the 2nd ones in, we would have preferred to see mountains and scenery, not the back end of someone's coach. Sites were level and utilities easy to reach. However, due to tight nature of the sites side to side, fire pits set in the ground were close to the picnic table and/or close to the rig and awning. We didn't mind the drive up, and others in the group had bigger rigs and had no complaints. Management was good and helpful, check-in fast and easy. Sites along the creek (tents and pop-ups) looked good and there were sites along the lake that looked nice. Some tent sites had NO level ground, but overall, it was very acceptable. Lots of shade trees and cool breezes on the mountain top (@1100 ft), so very enjoyable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$42
This was a very nice park. Lots of activities for family groups, fishing is free for campers. We stayed in a full-hookup back-in "lakeside" site. From our rear window there was a good view of the lake and the ducks but side neighbors were quite close. There is a $2/day fee for WiFi - less/day for a week or month. Our site was level and had easy access to utility connections. We did drive the long and winding road to the upper level sites - would not choose to stay in those. From the site map you cannot tell that there is a steep hill to access those sites. Overall we would stay here again - in this same are of the park. The fall or spring might be less crowded. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
This campground was disappointing to us. We were assigned site 78 which is on top of the hill. To get to this site, you must drive on a narrow, winding, gravel, potholed filled road with two difficult turns to make along the way due to trees near the road. Once you arrive at this site, you will find that there is another site, #77, in front of you. As I sit here at my table in my 40ft motorhome, I can see into the back window of the 5th wheel directly in front of us. It's about 4 ft away from the front of our coach. In order to depart this site, we will have to back out of it making a 90 degree turn. Also in the last site, #82, sits another motorhome with it's driver's side slideouts protruding into the narrow exit road. We were told that most of the other 50 amp sites in the lower part of this campground do not have sewer. The view we have here consists of other campers, motorhomes, or trucks. No beautiful Blue Ridge Mountain scenery here in this site! Also, the site is narrow, ie, the fire pit is 3 ft away from our slideout. We will not return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$43
Very pretty and quiet park. We had a back in site by the lake. Wi-fi cost extra. Everyone was nice and we would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
Beautiful campground, only problem, "pull thru site " was only pull thru if no one was in front of you (site 74)! This should have been stated at time of reservation. Well kept, had to pay for Wi-Fi...was iffy at best. Very slow, my ATT&T card, without 3G network, was faster. Restroom very clean (did not need to use them). Very well kept, grass cut, trimmed, clean sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$38
Recently flipped to KOA. Overpriced; narrow sites. Large grounds, many acres, but rigs side by side. Not worth an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$38
This is a very quite campground. I booked this last minute as I was going to the Virginia Fly Fishing Festival that weekend. The upper pull thru sites are setup strangely as you have both a pull thru and back in, depending on who gets their first. We were told to pull into the site behind another camper. This person was leaving the following morning, so we were able to pull straight out when we left. The restrooms were very clean. The pool was closed, so cannot comment. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2009
$35
Note: Have never camped here, but system made me enter a date. Made a reservation over the telephone for Memorial Weekend 2009, in January. Called 3/27/2009 to cancel and was informed we could not have our deposit back. They do not refund deposits for what they call "Premium Weekends". This was not told to us over the phone. We received the information/confirmation via email, but by that time they already had our card number to charge us. Beware. They provided very poor customer service and were downright rude. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2009
$36
This is one of the worse Campgrounds I have been too. We just recently came to stay as a monthly and we had no water at our site. Got into it with one of the Employees for turning off my water at 4:00 p.m.? I don't understand why if you pay your rent why don't you have water? We refuse to stay here any longer packing up and leaving! The customer service here is terrible. They have 2 Bath Houses and only one open at the bottom of the hill and it looks like it hasn't been cleaned in 5 months! They have no heat in the Bath House so, you freeze to death after bathing. The owner isn't there to talk too about my concerns and the place looks dead. I hope you'll think twice about staying here. The Roads are in terrible shape many, many potholes and only two areas are paved but, old. The place is run down and not well maintained. The Employees act as if they don't need your money to stay in Business. I can only imagine what the Owner acts like if the Employees are like this. The Brochure and Website looks inviting until you arrive here and see for yourself it's all a big Lie! I noticed a lot of empty sites upon arriving and now I understand why. This has to be one of the worse Campgrounds in the State of Virginia! Do yourself a favor don't go there! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2008
$30
We did some cold weather camping there Dec 5-7 in the pup. First time there and first time with the pup. We had a great time, the campground is clean, the bathrooms are clean and nice. Hot water was available in the showers, but the bath houses are not heated, so you freeze your butt off when you turn off the water. There are some water hook ups still open but I didn't use it since it was below freezing and it snowed on us Sat night. There are a ton of ducks and they suck. They are aggressive so I had to get aggressive back to get them to leave us. They conveniently have milk crates of firewood for only $5 so that was nice. The fees they tack on are endless, and will make me have second thoughts about going back. If you have more than 2 people per site, it's $5/day for each person. More than one vehicle is extra too. So we had 4 Jeeps and 4 people, our $60 weekend quickly turned in to $90; I guess that's how they get you. You can only have 1 vehicle at the site at a time. We found this very annoying. The sites are level at least. I did like the campground but those fees and annoyances might cause me to skip it next time. The attendants were very nice, but there were like 2 sites being rented. Would it really have been a big deal to let us park our Jeeps at the site during this extremely slow period? Use some common sense. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$34
Good Sam rate for a 30 amp P/T with water, sewer and cable TV. Did not try the Wi-Fi. OK place, we were up on the hill which overlooks a nice valley with a pretty view. Probably a good place to have a rally or hookup with friends. OK for an overnight stop which is what we did. Needed to use the laundry which was clean. We would stop again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
The pull through sites are tight. Some spots are serviced for two rigs in one pull through spot if you know what I mean. Just trying to cram more units into an already small space. We did not have sewer in our "pull through" and the dump is in a really odd turn-around that everyone must use to exit the pull-through section of the park. There are some nice back in spots on the lake for smaller units. Wi-fi is $2.00/day. It was fast enough on downloads but forget about uploading anything. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$36
This was our first time to Walnut Hills, and we were camping with our Good Sam chapter. We really enjoyed our stay. The staff was friendly, courteous and efficient. The roads were windy, yes, but were well-marked with good signage. There is one point where there is 2-way traffic, and the road is not much wider than one lane at this point. We did not encounter any problems here, however. Our site was up on the hill, and we found our site to be spacious, level and shady. Cell service was excellent, and wifi is offered for $2 a day. We will definitely return! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$32
I cannot imagine how they could have been rated as highly as they were in Trailer Life. Then I saw the size of the ad, and I knew. The roads are narrow and poorly maintained. The sites were not level, and when we were there it was very muddy. The sites are hard to navigate in and out of. We stayed there one night and had not planned to unhook but we couldn't get out without unhooking. It is woefully overpriced for the condition of the facilities. Unfortunately, there are not many choices when you're in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$29
We really enjoyed Walnut Hills. Our site was along a stream that feeds the lake. Ducks were around constantly, and since we didn't feed them, they were not an annoyance. Our site, site 7, was very shaded. There is a lot of grass on each site, which makes it feel more natural and cooler. The bath house was always clean, though the showers were a bit cramped, which is typical. There is a large playing field for the kids and kids at heart with a playground and volleyball net and area for throwing frisbees, playing football, etc. The staff was very nice, and they loaned our daughter a volleyball free of charge for the entire holiday weekend. The swimming pool was very nice and clean. The park was mostly quiet, which was a surprise considering we were there over Labor Day weekend. There was a haywagon ride for the kids each evening, a horseshoe tournament, and there was a concert one evening. There was plenty to do. We would stay there again. Our only real complaint, and it is a small one, is that the fire rings are pretty small. It was tough cooking hobos for 8 in the fire. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
I have previously reviewed this park, last time I stayed on the lakefront, this time I was up on the hill in a site that was shady but had no view. Please don't get me wrong, this park has a lot going for it, some things in the area to tour, a nice pool, decent sites, a pleasant staff, and reasonable rates for the area. But for the life of me I cannot understand how this park is rated by Woodals and TL as high as it is. The roads are difficult to negotiate, mostly gravel, and very dusty. Most of the sites are close together, some pull thrus are two sites so if your neighbor leaves before you, you have to back out. CG activities are good but certainly not fantastic. I went back and read my last review to see if I missed something but the best I can rate is an 8...a good park, but certainly not worthy of the ratings. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$37
Very overrated by Woodalls, and the park's own ad. We reserved a lake-front site, but when we got there they gave us a site nowhere near the lake, plus another rig was already in our assigned site. (No escort to site.) Unhooked our toad and drove back to office where they gave us another site that was only 30 amps. Drove back to the office and they gave us another site that was so narrow that we couldn't open our slide-outs. Drove back to the office and asked for our money back: Then they escorted us to a nice site by the lake. Other than a nice pool, park is only average and we will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$44
The campground is spread out. Our site was at the top of the hill overlooking the lake and was very scenic. Some of the sites further down the street seemed a little tight, but ours was satisfactory. The roads were part paved and part gravel and could use some work. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2008
$36
Way over rated by Woodalls. They advertise as "BIG RIG" friendly. Sure they have long pull throughs with water, electric and cable. But they made us run through a virtual obstacle course getting to our campsite. What this place needs is an owner who understands the operation of a chainsaw. Several trees are quite close to the main access drive to the "BIG RIG" area. This route, through the trees is the only access in and out of this part of the campground. This was also the 1st time in 30 years of RVing that we've had a person registering us actually call Good Sam to see if our discount card was valid. I guess the $3.60 discount was worth the call to them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$32
This was our second visit. Our 42' MH was fine for the park. We did not need to unhook in the pull thru site. It is apparent that the campground continues to keep up improvements such as a new or refurbished swimming pool, tree and limb trimming, new sand for the playground, etc. No sewer hook-ups are available. Easy access to I-81. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$28
This park is very clean and appears well maintained. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had a lakefront site and it appears the lake has been cleaned up based on other postings. The sites are a bit tight and the roads are unpaved but we did not have a problem. The traffic flow is a bit strange...getting to the dump station takes some maneuvering around. Overall, a good place. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$32
Overall, we liked this campground. Our site was rather tight and had a tough time moving our truck off the camp road so others could pass. Not sure if it was just our site but all the connections, sewer, cable, water, electric were at the very front of the site and had to use extensions for everything. WiFi is only advertised to work at the front office but worked well there. The restrooms were some of the cleanest we've seen. Owners seem to go out of the way to make your stay nice. We were there a little off season so there weren't any activities. Pretty convenient to the area and easy to get to. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$31
This RV Park is advertized as the best rated campground in Virginia. If this is true, I don't want to stay in the rest of the Virginia campgrounds. The roads are dusty. The staff employee that waited on me was not able to talk on the phone and check me in at the same time. WIFI is advertized, but you have to take your laptop to the office to use it. The cable TV service is a joke. 21 channels. I wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
This campground is very pretty, clean and well landscaped. Managers are very friendly and take pride in keeping the campground beautiful. Sites are gravel with grass. Some are overlooking lake/pond. If you are an overnighter and need a pull through, the sites are nice but the way you must enter/exit is differently a hassle - this is the reason for an 9. Otherwise would give this place a 10. Very peaceful and definitely easy from Interstate 81. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
Beautiful, clean setting with spaces around the lake and on a hill overlooking the lake. We had a pull through above the lake - only draw back is that you share it with another unit. The other folks were there before us and had the back of the pull through so we had to back in. Nice and clean, you can walk your dog anywhere and it was very quiet! Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
Upon making reservations, It was not disclosed that if you cancel you get no refund. I cancelled 16 days before arrival date but they claimed it to be a holiday weekend and gave no refunds. This fact was not disclosed when the reservations were made. I would never even think about visiting this place now that this has happened. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
This campground was somewhat of a disappointment, although admittedly we didn't take advantage of all it has to offer in our single-night stay. On arrival, we found the staff courteous but obviously stressed and overworked by a rush of late-afternoon check-ins. Between campers and the telephone, they had no time for more than the most basic of civilities. Moreover, while realizing it was a weekend, we found we felt extremely crowded and wanting just a bit more space. If you're over the age of twelve and want to catch an occasional newscast on TV, you won't like the cable system; not even a single network station. Finally, no WiFi, unless you want to make what could be a long trek to sit outside the office at a picnic table. On the whole, not a particularly unpleasant spot, but we don't plan on staying there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$36
Consider this campground as a possible destination, especially if you have kids. The owners seemed to work hard to provide large, grassy fields, play areas, activities for kids a bit older, and reasonably clean bathrooms and showers. Furthermore, the kids probably will not mind staying near one the most disgusting lakes (ponds) in the entire state. Kids don't have to worry about cramped sites, no place to park your truck, or worrying about whether your awning will be in the way of the next rig to go by. We were in a 22 foot B+, and still stuck out into the road a bit! They have the slowest WiFi I've ever experienced, but you have to sit outside the camp store to use it. In other words, I do not consider this a good overnight stopping place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
A very pretty area but certainly not the 'luxury' cg that they have billed themselves. The lake/pond is disgusting. Glad we were given a site on the hill away from the lake. Speed bumps on interior roads are unneeded due to pot holes & bumps which will keep speed to a crawl anyway. Good enough for a layover stop for a day or two but not what they claim to be as a destination. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2007
$36
We stayed in campsite #28 and it was spacious and nice. It was lakefront. The owners were very friendly and there was a problem with the water one night, which was fixed within a few hours. The playground area and pool was nice. This is the only time we have stayed here and we understand from other campers that the fire rings were new; they were very nice. This campground is family oriented and all areas were clean. There were no wild partiers around us. Some teenagers were loud, but they were just having fun and were not a nuisance. Please beware that the pictures on the website are apparently old because there are now lots of grown trees at most of the sites around the lake. The lake is nothing like the picture. Seventy percent of the lake was covered in algae and what appeared (for lack of a better term) other organic material floating along the top. The lake had a bad odor and was not at all clean and clear like the picture shows. Unless we hear of the lake being cleaned up, we will not likely ever stay here again, nor recommend it to anyone. Even though cable TV was available, you have to have a female adapter because cable connection is a male connection. Also, there is only one local network available (ABC). The roads are typical country roads getting into campground, but easily manageable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$33
Tent, small trailer and cabin oriented family campground with nice landscaping and large grass areas. Many planned family type activities. There are some gravel pull thrus for larger motorhomes, but in a parking lot style area. The prettier areas of the campground are tight for larger vehicles and have very limited parking for tow vehicle. Storage of old vehicles on the property detracts from overall attractiveness. The "lake" is very shallow and was full of weeds on our visit. Large price list with upcharges for 50amp, sewer, cable, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$36
We stayed overnight at this campground. The manager on duty was extremely helpful. Large pull-throughs in the lower level do not have sewer but there are sewer sites. Cable is a bit limited, but satellite does work. The grounds were well-maintained considering the winter temperatures and weather, but we experienced no problems.There are no concrete pads, but lower sites accommodated our 43 foot MH comfortably. Could not get any wireless, but if close to the office, it would be available. The pool, playground, and lake areas are very attractive.Lakes sites all have little decks, one has a gazebo. This would be a great spring/fall/summer campground for families. Manager created a booklet for campers which contained much needed information. We would camp there again, but in warmer weather. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2007
$30
It was OK for one night. Access roads are typical rural roads. Narrow and twisting. In and out access for pull-through sites for overnighters was through the campground (you had to go out and through the campground to get to and from the sites). The pull-throughs were at the front of the campground just off the highway. The bath house was clean. The roads in the CG were very rutted. I had a problem with the 50 amp service. My surge guard would not allow the connection. I reverted to 30 amp. As I said it was OK for an overnighter, but I would be hard pressed to stay there any longer. It certainly was not worth the rate they charged. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2007
$33
When I phoned for my reservation I specifically asked for pull through full-hookup. 2 adults 2 children. After checking in presenting my Good Sam card I was told $33.15 including discount. $3.50 was for child who was 15. Then the clerk who smelt of alcohol told me although I paid for full hookup I would be in a site that does not have sewer well that is not considered full hookup and they charged me for full-hookup. It gets better I can go to the dump station but no water. The roads are in a loop around bathhouses to get to the site and to exit the park and potholes everywhere. Who ever rated this park must be friends of the owners. Also the rating in Trailer life is a lie but then again look at size of the ad. After being on the road for over 9 hours and close to becoming dark we stood. We will not recommend to others. Nor will we stay there again or a travel park system. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2006
$34
This was our first RV park experience. I thought it would look like the website and I was very disappointed. The lake is tiny, there is only one site that actually has the gazebo on the site and the sites are very close together. If you weren't careful, you could walk out of our camper and roll down the hill to visit the camper right below. On the bright side, the bathrooms were very clean. Understand the owners let all the local kids use the pool in the summer. Won't go back - it's not our scene. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2006
$39
This campground did not meet our expectations. First, it is VERY expensive for what you get. We had to pay $39 a night because we had 3 children with us. The campground roads are horrible. They are the worst we have ever been at, and we are fulltimers. Next, our particular site was at the top of a very steep hill. Although the site is level, it is not easy access. Fortunately, we were not in one of the sites in the middle of the hill. For those, you have to back in while going down hill. That's got to be a trick! Finally, the laundry machines are small and expensive. The upside is that the park is clean, the utilities worked without any problems and it is a nice looking place. The lake is beautiful and the ducks/geese/cranes are fun to watch. It is also close to major shopping areas. It's not bad for a short stay, but it's not great. One more important note. The park does have pull-thru sites. BUT, they are for overnight guests only apparently. Everyone else is sent further back into the park, which is back-in sites only. laundry machines are SMALL and EXPENSIVE. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$29
Very nice park. Convenient to I81 and open all year. Park staff are very cordial - came by to make sure everything was meeting expectations. Bathrooms look like they have new tile. Great place for an overnight stay if traveling I81 or to spend a few days in the area. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$42
An excellent park particularly this time of year. Close to the major tourist attractions. The park itself is nicely laid out with great views for most of the sites. While the park claims to have pull throughs, they are really tandem sites with two RVs. The site is only a pull through if no one is in front of you. The restrooms and showers while few and far between are well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$34
This was our second time to this campground. Both times we stayed in the upper area, which are the premium sites. The sites are adequate in size and most in the premium area have a small grassy area bordered by landscape timbers for the kids to play. The playground is basic but serves its purpose for our 2 and 4 year olds. The campground is very wooded and close to I-81 but secluded and quiet. Since the premium sites on the hill have limited access, there only traffic is from those with sites on the hill so it's quieter and safer for the kids. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$32
I'd have given Walnut Hills a "10" but their wireless internet needs work. This campground is a short drive off of I-81 and, while you do hear just a bit of road noise, the campground is just lovely. It is one of the prettiest "natural" campgrounds we've stayed in. Not lots of landscaping, but just a truly pretty site. The managers/owners are pleasant people who love to laugh. You just know they love being there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$32
This is a beautiful park. We were lakeside, and the geese left us alone. We enjoyed having a fire. The lake is nice, but vegetation getting heavy. The manager says they will probably dredge the lake soon. The manager, is VERY nice and helpful. There is a nice playground area. The showers are a little tight. Location is great - convenient to a lot of scenic drives, but is secluded and quiet. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
Overall this is a well maintained campground. The interior roads are a little rough though. Over the Labor Day weekend they had many activities going on and it is convenient to many area attractions. The only complaint I have is our site was way too small for our 36' MH. We were along the lake but not lakeside. It seems that every one parked along this road was in a site too small for their rig. It did not leave any room to park a tow/towed vehicle. And for those that did park in front of their RV, it did not leave any room for others to back in their site. We arrived at 9:00 pm in the pouring rain left from Tropical Storm Ernesto and had to try to jockey in our site because of a van parked in front of their travel trailer. Because the site was too small, we had to back in at a more severe angle. We ended up straddling the gravel pad which meant more leveling. We also had to use an extension to reach the power pole. Not fun in the rain. We ended up parking our car down the road in an open grassy area. We would stay here again but would definitely request another site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$35
I liked it so much I went back a few times already. If you like to walk around for exercise it has a nice layout. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$30
Lovely campground. We had our tent right on the small lake, so my husband just walked out the door to fish. HUGE tent sites. Everything was very clean, including the bath house. Nice playground, which the kids enjoyed. Game room a little old, but fine. The pool had not opened yet, but looked good. The only thing that prevents a 10, when we got rained out, and I had to dry out everything in the laundry, the dryer was quite expensive for the time received. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$30
A very nice, older, but well-kept campground. We arrived after a thunderstorm and the potholes in the roads were full of water as were the sunken fire rings. It was not terrible, but you definitely had to travel slowly. Some vehicles flew past so fast they hit the water-filled potholes sending mud flying through the air. The one way roads are a little convoluted but are not difficult to understand as long as you go slowly enough to see the signs. We were there on Good Friday for just an overnight stay, but many families apparently were here for the Easter weekend. They seemed to be having a fun time fishing on the lake. We had luck and caught (and released) many large bass. The bathrooms are updated and spotless. The shower stall itself is very small. The wood "shelf" that a previous reviewer was speaking of is actually a bench to sit on while toweling off and dressing. However, because it does not fold out of the way, it definitely gets in the way when you are trying to get dressed. It was very quiet in the section we were in. There were activities scheduled for the families for the weekend. The only complaint we have is one that would easily be remedied--the office reeked of cigarette smoke. Although the young man who checked us in was pleasant and had a great sense of humor, we couldn't wait to get out of there and away from the awful smell of smoke. In this day and age, it is inexcusable to subject your guests to second-hand smoke. This, and the lack of WIFI, is why we didn't rate this a 10. We loved the campground. It's beautiful--but please, make all buildings non-smoking. Despite this and the lack of WIFI, we definitely would return when traveling this way again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$42
Pros: hospitable staff, level site, nice environs. Cons: confusing roads, new sites in front without sewer h/up are far from bath house. One miserable experience trying to use shower. Stalls are very very small by any campground standards with a strange wooden shelf protruding into very small dressng area. Nozzle occluded spraying ceiling--only. Impossible to shower. If they clean bathroom, wouldn't they see the broken nozzle? Bathrooms did appear clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$33
This is a wonderful campground nestled in the mountains of Virginia. The surrounding countryside as you travel to the campground is very scenic with mountains and beautiful farms and cattle fields. Just a few miles from the campground are scenic highways, The Blue Ridge Parkway and Skyline Drive. Our camp site was on a nice hill overlooking the lake and other campsites. Our site was shaded. Roads throughout the campground were gravel, well maintained, and easy to travel. There is a nice fishing pond, pool, and plenty of activities for adults and kids such as hay ride and karaoke. This was just a wonderful camping experience and one of the best campgrounds we've ever stayed at. What a what a great atmosphere! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$34
Very nice campground. Staff was courteous and helpful. The scenery is great and there is plenty to do for kids. The only negative comment is that they nickle and dime you for everything. Kids are $3 extra, an extra car will cost you, visitors will cost you. On the flip side, the place is clean, well organized and very family oriented. We will come back in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$31
This park is definitely a get away from it all campground. It is quiet and cozy. The lake has good fishing. We camped along the lake. Shady sites, with gravel and grass. Has a fire ring at each site for those of you who do all your cooking outside, like we do. The staff couldn't be nicer or more helpful. We were there over the 4th of July and they had a pancake breakfast on the weekend, along with hay rides and games for the kids to compete in. We will be going back again next year. We were here for 8 days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$31
We enjoyed our stay here and will definitely be back. We had a lakefront site, back-in, and could fish right off the bank. The ducks and geese would come right up to the trailers (kids would love it!). We're empty nesters (except for our two dogs) so I couldn't tell you much about the pool and playground except that they were being used quite a bit. The campsite areas were quiet all day and night and the pool, playground, and pavilion areas were far enough away from the campsite areas that none of the noise bothered us at all. Very nice CG and we will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$37
This is a great park. We stayed here in June 2005 in a 39 footer. We stayed up on the hill on site 74 in a full hookup, pull through site. But if the park is full they will park a travel trailer, 5th wheel, or small motorhome in front of you and the office staff will let you know this when you check in, but this would be no problem if it happened. Our site was shaded so you could not pick up satellite. The park does have open pull throughs at the entrance that offers electric, water and cable TV, which would be good for one night stays. The bathroom and laundry rooms were super clean. The campground does have a pool and that was well maintained also. They also offer a fishing lake. There was also a game room for kids. I would definitely go back to this park for longer stays. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$31
This is a very family friendly campground with a great staff. We stayed up on the hill, overlooking the lake at one of the "back-to-back" sites mentioned in a prior review. There was plenty of room for our fifth wheel camper and truck. The campground is well maintained and strikes a good balance between preserving nature, while providing a good quality campground with modern amenities (our site had cable hookup). The playground equipment was also well maintained and, though it could use one or two more pieces of equipment, it kept our 2 and 4 year old children busy. One previous review commented about the need for attention to the roads, but they were adequate for us. They were dated but maintained and not full of potholes, etc. Moreover, although some roads are hilly, our trailer did not bottom out. I would recommend this campground and we are definitely going back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$28
Very clean, nice owners, well run park. We stayed in the newer section located at the front of the park. We actually liked that better. The sites were large pull through sites with water, electric, and cable. We found these sites a littler larger and further apart than the rest. These sites are further away from children's activities but was much quieter than the rest. Some sites were pull through, but pulled practically to the bumper of another RV. Therefore, in a motorhome you are looking into the back of another RV. Could probably resdesign these sites a little better. Overall enjoyed the stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$32
We enjoyed a Great Weekend on a Lake Front Site. The grounds were well cared for, and campground was in Great Condition. The office staff was great! We will be going back again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2005
$22
Little late in sending this in, but we tented here in April 2005, and enjoyed it very much. Very friendly staff, extra clean restrooms and showers. We camped in a primitive site, and it was very quiet and good security. Washrooms were just up behind us. We are planning on going there again this year in April. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2005
$32
Beautiful Campground, in a valley looking up at the mountains and a small lake. Some sites have a little stream running around them. The staff was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2005
$30
Nice campground, sites are relatively close to each other, roads are decent, lots of area to take the pups for a long walk, gravel areas should be larger, and better aligned with the hookups. To be hooked up properly, half the truck had to be on the grass instead of the gravel. We will probably try another campground if we are in that area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$22
Good overnight stop. Roads in campground need attention. Sites overlook lake but, when we visited, lake was green and full of algae. Access roads very confusing--one way roads running into one way roads going the other way. But, overall, not a bad place to spend a night or two. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$24
Great park! Beautiful setting, in a valley looking up at the mountains and a small lake. Some sites have a little stream running around them. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We went on Memorial Day and they had a Kids olympics, very funny. We stayed on a monthly site because they were full. The hook-ups were different, sewer was behind us and everything else was in front. Make sure to ask about this when going so you can bring enough cords and extensions. If your in the area go here, you won't be sorry. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$25
This park deserves its Trailer Life rating (9, 10*, 8). The web page is a pretty accurate description of this park. Like most private parks, the sites are close together. The restrooms were clean, the campground well maintained. Dark skies, not a lot of street lights, great for star gazing. It fills up on summer weekends. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$28
Beautiful campground nestled in the valley of the Shenandoah Mountains. Full hook ups including phone access (+$2.50 a day). Lots of activities for kids. Visit Frontier Culture Museum and Grand Caverns. Super clean restrooms and showers. Very nice layout, nice camp store. The only thing keeping this from a 10 rating is the road needs repaving. Will definitely visit again. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2000
$29
This is a very nice park. The two items that were not good are the roads and dust, sites on top of hill have end to end parking. One motorhome pulls in site and other pulls to rear of first. Not all sites were this way. We had to move up to point power wire would fit and other person moved to 1 foot of our rear to get out of road. Cars were moved to anyplace we could find to park. No road noise and staff was nice. Park is in a nice place. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com